Cursed

Author: AnonymousMan
Version: 0.5.3.2
Last Updated: 2016-04-08 12:19:53


Review by aloopy
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2020-12-12 21:56:01

If there's one thing that leaps out about Cursed in the tail end of 2020, it's that RAGS is horrible. It has not aged well, and it was never ideal for these kinds of games in the first place.

While Cursed does an OK job of working around it, RAGS is never helping, and the navigation systems constantly annoys.

The basic premise is that you're instantly transformed into a woman and have to live a normal life. A rather sad, lonely, normal life at that, because there are very few characters you can form any kind of relationship with.

This is complicated by the oddity that you are transformed by the slightest whim or thought. See a woman with big boobs ... you could get big boobs. See a tall woman ... you can get tall. The slightest stray thought can turn you into a freak. A single encounter with a dominant can turn you into a submissive doormat. Except ... when it doesn't ... because random!

In terms of gameplay, Cursed is ... deeply flawed ... you invest hours and hours in grind to eventually get different irreversible outcomes, many of which are only accessible at random.

A few games have copied this kind of thing since. Some take on more of the Cursed concept than others. They have a nicer user-interface, and usually more and better things to do.

Hard Times in Hornstown is probably the best game with a lot in common with Cursed, and No Money Down Blues is probably the most obvious example of copying the thoughts-create-transforms approach, and is a far more fun and interesting game - flawed in some ways, but not as flawed as Cursed. Neither game has the whole Cursed package.

Cursed was probably awesome back when it was written, but things have moved on. It seems to lean heavily on ideas from Girl Life, which IMHO is fundamentally composed of tiny needles of sheer horror hidden within a massive haystack of pure boredom. Girl Life has a lot of loving followers who probably find that statement absurd, so I'll be more specific. GL and Cursed are both fixated on simulating tedious details of day to day actions of normal life. And in both games, most of the time those actions are incredibly mundane and uneventful, and sometimes, rarely, very rarely, something weird happens that takes the hours of time you spent grinding boring mundane chores and turns everything upside down, and the next thing you know you're being gang-raped by an entire crack-house of junkies, or you're dead, or you're a cat! Cursed has that kind of mechanic ... you labor away hoping something interesting will happen, but when it does it comes out of nowhere, you don't get any meaningful choices and it's virtually game-ending. And in Cursed, the sex scenes aren't even written most of the time! Not just sex, but many other important or potentially interesting scenes were never written and are just "Blah blah placeholder..." ... and I mean this literally. It really says that, or something very close to it.

One day you can find the game has declared your character "shy", despite the reason you're wearing dowdy clothes is that you have no money. Reading a couple of magazines and putting on some higher heels cures you of shyness. Everything feels arbitrary and changes come on suddenly and without warning. There are very few interactions with NPCs, and what is there is limited to a few pre-canned scenes with no choices involved.

A more recent take on this type of game is Accidental Woman, which retains most of the flaws of its predecessors and adds happiness mechanics that make you constantly kill yourself if you don't follow some non-obvious paths to avoid it. It's a genre that is beset by questionable game design choices and an OCD-like obsession with simulating the most uninteresting tasks in uninteresting ways. While some other games let you do those dull tasks, they always add some erotic element, but the simulation genre seems to abhor anything that would make those tasks more fun, or relevant. I guess some people really like that, and if you're one of them, Cursed may be perfect for you.

In 2020, or 2021, I don't think it's worth going back to RAGS to endure a game that drags on forever only to reveal it was never finished. No Money Down Blues is finished (sort of), and much more enjoyable to play. Hard Times in Hornstown will probably never be finished, but it's so big, there's so much to do, and the interface is good, so it's overwhelmingly a better choice. Either of those games is dramatically more fun than Cursed.

I think the only reason to play Cursed now is historical curiosity, which is basically why I looked at it. Cursed was clearly influential on the entire tfgames ecosystem, so if you want to understand that better, maybe you need to play it. If you're thinking of playing it for any other reason, I advise against it. While playing Cursed helps understand why AW has gone down such a bad path, it isn't a huge amount of fun in itself. If you're going to endure an old-fashioned clunky interface you may as well play Trap Quest, which offers far more choices and feedback.

Then again, you might think the unreasonable time investment required to get some of the weird transform outcomes is worth it. Or you might just really like that simulation of mundane chores with lots of mouse clicks genre.

The gameplay is woefully uneven, and often non-existent, erotic content is not written, the interface is awful, and you frequently run up against missing or incomplete content.


Review by prismgoy
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2020-04-18 08:29:24

A TFGS classic. While the game is in a state of eternal development limbo, there's more than enough content to keep you busy. Story content ends around the lab heist, but it's a good bit away from the start. Definitely recommend if you haven't tried it already.


Review by knerf999
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2017-10-16 06:09:14

Not sure if the game is still in development or not.
But i'm sure it doesn't matter, it might not be finished but there's enough to keep your dick wet.


Review by Cptn Spalding
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2017-07-02 07:27:29

   This is the game that brought me to the gender bender game gendre dance. I started playing a few years ago and by virtue of it's writing it's still lightyears ahead of most games out there in this gendre. I love this game so much which is why it pains me to see it sit for so long with no update. There are aspects of this game that are begging to be fleshed out ( like the magic aspect). Anonymous Man ( the author is known for taking lengthy hiatus from the writing of Cursed (usally attributed to IRL events, which shouldnt be held against him) which is why I am still hopeful for an update in the not so distant future ( I check his blog everyday just to see if he's been active).

   To those about to play Cursed for the first time, the story may seem a little bit dated but it doesn't detract at all from the quality of the game. I've played it for 3 years and going by the wiki I still haven't gotten through all of the content. The sex scenes are a bit  short but descriptive enough to fap to, but what really sold this game to me is the main story ( being forceably transformed into a women then either resisting your new life, enduring it, or embracing it) and the traits which you can develop based on the choices you make during the course of the game. There are very few adult games which go into detail like Cursed does.

  Please Anonymous Man, I hope you find the time and the desire to work on Cursed again because a game this good deserves to continue to be developed.


Review by zerocatch22
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2017-03-19 00:35:20

This is one of the most involved, well-developed games on this site. While the initial TG transformation happens within the first few minutes of gameplay, the transformations that happen afterwards are a nice, slow burn that require you to perform a number of actions to trigger them. It's challenging and written really well. The transformations themselves are among the most detailed, descriptive and sexy that you'll find on the site. It's a definite gem, but like many gems it does have its flaws, and you should be aware of a few before spending the time with the game.

For one, be prepared to spend a lot of time with it. The slow nature of the TF content means that you have to do a LOT of repetitive non-TF actions to kill time and keep your character healthy, alive, and housed while you wait... And you can wait a long, long time (and I'm actually understating it, I think). The sheer amount of text needed to advance the story can push RAGs to its limit, slowing the game engine down to the point of frustration.

If you do manage to trigger a subsequent transformation, at this stage in development they don't seem to affect the game in any way that matters. Just for example, let's say that you transform your character into a dragon-woman. The description of your character will make it very apparent that she is very clearly non-human at that point, and yet the non-player characters don't react any differently, the sex descriptions remain exactly the same based on your gender and equipment, and the barest minimum of new content is unlocked. The same is true for the cow transformation. So the TF is supposed to be its own reward, but once you've achieved it there's not really much incentive to keep playing.

Don't get me wrong: It's completely playable, and figuring out how to trigger a TF is half of the fun. I just wish there was more consequence to doing it. I was a little disappointed that the game still forces your digitigrade or hoofed character to wear shoes at certain points even though the text clearly states that they are not physically capable of it anymore (stop covering up those sexy animal feet, yeesh).

I know, I know, it sounds like I'm nitpicking, and I guess that in a way I am; but it's because I really like this good game, and want to see it develop into something great.


Review by skyline_pj
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2017-03-18 19:30:34

This is DEMI-GOD Game!

If only photos were added ... it would have been a GOD game.


Review by randomwave
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2016-05-14 17:36:10

OMG this is so much furn...love the Bikini contest. I will do whatever it takes to win it...hehe. Soo much is going on in this game.  I really only check on a couple of games on here this one and whatever Sorrow puts out.


Review by devilbimbo
Version reviewed: 0.5.3.2 on 2016-04-13 22:25:38

This game is just plain epic. The amount of time that has to have been spent to create this is mind boggling. I have played a little with RAGS developer and used to be a decent hand at programming, but this is just fantastic. I usually require pictures in my tf games but the descriptions and the gameplay make up for that. Hell, I don't think it will ever be a requirement for this game in my eyes. Thank you for your hard work and for what you have given us in this game


Review by Preggy Sue
Version reviewed: 0.5.1.10f on 2016-02-06 05:42:07

As far as the rags games go, this is by far my favorite.There is a lot of untapped potential left in this one as wellThe last review I made was 100 percent true,but I did stop playing for a while after I ran into what seemed to be the end of the story. I just played for a solid 9 hours back through the game and I am amazed at how well this game plays out. Keep up the awesome work,


Review by Wookieman
Version reviewed: 0.5.1.10c on 2016-01-31 20:38:49

One of the best games I've played here, Keep up the good work.

 


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 0.5.1.4 on 2015-12-25 11:13:04

This is a great RAGS game. I've spent many hours playing the previous versions of this game and I'm glad to see it has continued.

First off before getting deeper into the review, your old save games will not work. The version jump is too high, so if you've been committing hours to the game you'll just have to bite it and let it go: should you try to play your saved game, it will revert back to that version and you will not see any of the new stuff (park, fight club add-ons, new date option, bug fixes).

There are many transformation options behind this game and they all stem from your initial choices when you begun playing. Naturally you can have yourself modified through cosmetic alterations and drug alterations, but almost everything in this game has a condition connected to it and going too far with your fetish choices will impact on your character and possibly transform them beyond a point of no return.

While playing through the game on my main save I hit that myself with the Bovine transformation through abusing the lactation feature and it was a surprise to find myself deep into the transformation progress so soon (yeah, I was really abusing it and using the necessary items at any opportunity) to the point where I was a Cow Girl and couldn't hide it. Affecting my pregnancy as well was a surprise given I'd been fine when the pregnancy was started, but by the end of the term all of the babies were affected (abusing the fertility TF as much as I could too for my amusement). On the flip-side though, if you're careful you can eventually figure out how to modify your character however you wish without suffering too severe consequences (other than trait habits being picked up, but they're part of the story and your character development).

Story so far seems 33% done, but it's difficult to lock down without being privy to the author word-of-god plan. Still this is well worth a shot, but be warned: just like Free Cities, you'll easily find yourself burning a lot of time on this beta game.

My record so far is max size multi-breast, amazon cow girl with six babies from random street events (none from bar hopping) and almost always at 75% arousal at all times with constant lactation and still working professionally in an office environment (freaking funny too). And that was from going through all the current story available, getting good results on everything (except one spoiler point where I badly had little choice but not comply to counter how far my character had bent) and having a fun time doing it all.


Review by Dragon1Warrior123
Version reviewed: 0.5.1.3 on 2015-12-19 06:16:55

glad to see you picked it up again the game is one of my favorite tf and favorite rags game

you did an awesome job and every part of the game for me done almost perfectly

only thing i dislike is that you have limitations in breast size for fight club

but all in all grat game 10/10 ign


Review by SuzyDoodle
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-11-06 12:54:56

I have to agree with anyone who says this is well made, I mean, don't get me wrong, I wish there was a lot more to it (stuff that the dev himself said he'd never add) - but overall as it stands now it's very enjoyable as a life simulator and I'd strongly recommend it for anyone who wants to get into RAG games.


Review by VoidRunner
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-09-07 20:25:31

In my opinion, this is the best game on the site.

 

Cursed is a great simulator with a great premise to get the transformations going. Unlike other games where changes are sudden and random, in Cursed the changes happen over time and result from your play style. Extremely well done.

It does have its downsides though. Progress is slow and often tedious. You will quickly get to the point where you find yourself doing the same things over and over again just to pass the days. The time it takes to get pregnant and give birth is somewhat ridiculous. Fortunately, most the content is front loaded so you can try different things without too much hassle. Nevertheless, a way to accelerate events would be great.

 

Development of the game seems to be dead, which is a shame, but I still hope for more updates some day. Fingers crossed. 


Review by ovenbunny
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-08-06 05:02:20

I have to agree. It started as a simulator and then became an addiction. It wouldnt be too difficult to finish the storyline


Review by vkozyrev
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-05-10 13:43:46

Some of the best sim games I have ever played. I can hardly imagine the mount of work put in this one. 8-()

There is one anoynace that I am not sure can be fixed or not - if I click on any action the the whole text is scrolled from the top to the bottom and it is tough to find the piece of the text that we added. Is it really necessary? Or is it some sort of the RAGS features? Can it be fixed?

Some additional request/features/ideas:

Oh, wait, it calls SIMS 2/3/4! LOL

 


Review by Dragon_ANGL
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-05-04 12:44:47

@Valhalla12

No, Cursed isn't a quick masturbatory aide. And no, there are no images - because the if there were, the file size would be HUGE. It is more of a sim than in-your-face erotica (which is good in of itself at times). Judging by your comment, it seems you didn't get to/past the thief/robber mission (depending on how you took care of the guard)?


Review by Valhalla12
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-04-03 18:09:40

my game seems to have glitched because there are no pictures at all. atleast i hope its a glitch because otherwise it was a pretty boring game...


Review by Yaxy
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-02-06 10:53:31

I somehow love the real life approach on this one, yet it seems a bit out of whack. Sure your body can dev into some serious pain state but other then that it seems the dayly routine, once gotten to it, is not being shaken off.


Review by HeWhoIsMany
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2015-02-05 14:05:03

Ninth game on the list, and the first TG game I ever played. This is what led me to this site in the first place. It's a classic of RAGS and TG games in general. And it mostly holds up. The transformations are some of my favorites from any game. However, the slow pace and drudge of the game makes it less palatable to me over time. It's still amazing, it's just not really my favorite anymore. Still, it deserves 4 stars out of 5.


Review by monkey8475
Version reviewed: v0.4.1c on 2014-10-30 06:54:23

This is the first game that I played on this site and I wasn't disappointed. My only complaint is that every time I play it I want to startover to try another path. There is a definant immersion factor in this game and I believe that helps to set it apart from the others. Most certainly worth checking out

 


Review by Omega228
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2014-05-27 21:07:48

RAGS crashes before I can even open the game to play it. So not much to even say about it since I can't even experiance it


Review by broom12
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2014-04-11 13:33:08

Great Game.

It takes a while to really build  up speed, but it is worth every minute.


Review by quiverclaw
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2014-04-02 16:30:23

Definitely a fantastic game.  Huge amounts of details.  The story goes on quite awhile.  The only thing that keeps me from 5/5 is the pacing.  It's just a little, too slow for me.

About 20% faster would've been perfect.

 

On the technical side there are few, minor glitches but nothing that hinders game play that I can find.  

 


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2014-03-12 10:18:13

Cursed is one of the best game around. It has contents, other than a long written story, and I am sure the wording excess anything but CoC. It has complexity, a game that you can actually pick what actions to take instead of following the path of story line, with consequence that make enough sense. Not e that Cursed actually has a Wiki for the game. There is a story line somewhere in the game which will hit you when the time comes and you wont miss it. It is probably the only RAG game out there that have replayability value because it is never the same. I played this game for over 3 months.

I know. It is a princess maker type game. The progress is slow. The daily chords are repeating themselves, although sometimes with surprising outcome. If you are looking for a quickie then it is probably not something you are looking for.

However if you are looking for a little bit more than an AIF that you want a "game", this is a game.

Last update: version 0.4.1d


Review by tg1908
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2014-01-29 15:55:51

This is definitely a unique game... but there's not much to it. Short writing, but endlessly addictive. It takes forever to advance plotwise and most of the game is simply wasting time and going about your daily life. Not in any way linear... but then there's not really a narrative at all.


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-12-07 22:29:15

I'm going to disagree with the other reviewers here.

This is a game where you get to simulate life as a beautiful woman- going to work, going to the bars, shopping at the mall, getting your nails done, getting a tan at the beach, having sex, etc. That's... all there is to the game, as far as I can tell. More interesting than watching the grass grow, but not by much.

The writing is okay. It's brief and to the point, which can be a good thing, but the meat of an erotic game is the sex scenes, and many of the sex scenes in Cursed feel like placholders (or are explicitly labelled with "this is a placeholder" or "blah blah blah").

The game is somewhat addictive, but there's not really much to recommend about it.


Review by Narcissa
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-11-30 19:03:23

Very fun game with HUGE amounts of detail and content. My only complaint and the reason it gets only 4 instead of 5 starts is because (and I admit, it may be because of my choices) no matter what I get to the point where like every action I take my character ends up maxing out her arousal and I end up having to see the same sex fantasy over and over and over and it gets tedious. Buuut I admit  .. I may just be a bimbo at heart. >.>


Review by HoneyTide
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-08-21 18:26:53

Easily one of the most excellent games in all of the TFGame system. The sheer amount of content within this title is mind-boggling. I can't even imagine the amount of work that must have gone into the creation of this stellar game.

Personally, I love any game that allows you to make slow decisions that bring you into whoever you want to be. And this game has that and so much more...though my characters seem to always end up with a cowbell around their neck.

While it can take some time to get things going, especially with the whole money aspect of the game, it's worth the effort.

I cannot wait to see the next phase of updates for this game!


Review by Jindo5
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-05-17 18:48:09


Hands down the beast TF/TG game I've ever played.


Review by annika
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-05-02 12:15:25

Quite well written and pretty good RAGS game that already has lots of content. The only major drawback is the amount of clicking you need to repeat just to get from one day to another. Still, all in all well worth to try out.


Review by Taxouck
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-05-02 06:04:51

Review by eCric
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-04-13 18:51:21

One of my favorite TG games, I could play it for hours.

It's like an open-world TF RPG and you can do almost anything you want. Very well made and deserves 5 stars.

 

 


Review by baatzu
Version reviewed: 9/20 on 2013-02-20 22:41:42

I've been very pleased with this game. It has fewer fap moments but is far more interesting than most games. Can't wait to see what else AM adds.