Alone Amongst Demons The Change

Author: gjbindels
Version: 7.0
Last Updated: 2019-10-09 01:48:54


Review by Ambi
Version reviewed: 6.1 bugfix on 2018-02-22 04:21:18

As this game is developing, it is becoming more and more enjoyable!  The author, Gibendels has spent quite a bit of time and attention to detail so the story is progressing smoothly and people you meet and interact with change over time.  The overall story is fun, well paced and straightforward, the characters are likable & attractive and the overall layout of the game/maps is nicely done!  I definitely enjoyed playing this game, especially after the end of what seems to be the "first chapter" of the game, which sets the table for the rest of the game, and whatever else is to come.  There are some wonderful hints about what the author has planned for future versions of this game, and it looks like the "unlucky" protagonist will have even more wonderful dilemmas facing them soon! 

So the game is good, but  I'd also like to make two suggestions... 

During its later parts, the game uses a quest system, which I like alot.  Gibendels added a questbook that makes sure the character can't get too far off track, and also adds dialog and hints in the game text.  Honestly either one would suffice to keep the player from getting too frustrated, and sometimes making things a little vague lets the player 'struggle'  in a good way and enjoy the game a little more when they succeed at a task.  Where many authors don't give enough hints, I think there may be too many in this game.

The main characters in the game pick up some very interesting things during the adventure, and some of those manifest themselves as "Key Items" during the game, but aside from one weapon, hardly any clothing, equipment, jewelry or other items find their way into the character's inventories.  I'd love to see some clothing and other character-appropriate items make their way into inventory, especially the ones that seem to be the centerpiece of some of the (very enjoyable) scenes in the game. Items would really flesh out the sparse character-equipment screen and add a bit of depth to the characters as well.

Liked it!  Subscribed for Updates!  Thank you for making good games!


Review by hathios
Version reviewed: 5.0.0 on 2017-09-17 10:08:58

I like the game even the twist in the middle.

For those who have trouble sneaking passed the guards the Inn you need to enter has a backdoor.

Don't try to hard it is easy to pass them you only have to watch their movment it repeats itself so you will find a gap.


Review by coc121
Version reviewed: 5.0.0 on 2017-09-17 09:47:14

an enjoyable game so far but I have to say the game ended for me at the sneaking past the guards event, namely you can't sneak past the guards! I tried everything, saving at literally every pixel and still no go, either you reduce the nmuber of guards or their movement speed or you may have others like me giving up


Review by Web720
Version reviewed: 5.0.0 on 2017-09-08 14:12:18

Refuse to load. I tired double clicking many times and running it as admin, even check taskmanager to see if the process at least started but no.


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 4.0.0 on 2017-08-10 00:40:33

Like the first game, this one looke like it will be good.  Not much content atm, but enough to say "here I am, play me!"  A nice continuation so far... no bugs noticeable so far, no crashes, no music going weird and skippy on us...  the trolling with all the empty chests is cruel tho!  And the mimic *somewhere* gave me a heart attack, remembering the mimic from the first game... laughed tho, afterwards!  Good job combining a callback with a jump scare! After this is finished, maybe think about making an all-in-one version with this and a remastered AAD1?  Would be interesting, maybe switching perspectives between days, paralleling Juka and Jack.  Really loving the more save slots in this game, but the music is worse imo (but then, I am a sucker for the piano track from AAD1... so nice!).  Looking forward to seeing where this takes the story, and tyvm for the good games!


Review by zarock
Version reviewed: 4.0.0 on 2017-05-30 10:16:59

A decent game thusfar. It fixes just about every problem I saw in Alone Amongst Demons (the item that tells you where to go is an absolute godsend, I think all RPGMaker games should have one), but despite that I still prefer the original thusfar (the whole theme of the original was just perfect for me, I have a soft spot for transformations into succubii). Still, a good game that I would love to see progress. I'll be excited to see what new characters enter the scene in the next update. 


Review by Freyja
Version reviewed: 4.0.0 on 2017-04-29 01:18:34

EDIT: No point NVM


Review by Number25
Version reviewed: 4.0.0 on 2017-02-22 07:24:34

(Warning, spoilers ahead, read at your own risk)

The game seems to progress nicely as more updates are posted.

 

[EDIT] : I was a massive moron, and I should have read properly before posting that part of my review. I deleted it now. Sorry !

 

I am sorry for the priestess though, I did like her as a character.  It's interesting to compare what happened to the two protagonist when you compare between the first game and this one.  I hope  the sister of Juka will get punished, and that our MC now will  at the very least regain control of herself. 

Though, I suppose that would involve a pretty hefty amount of guilt, still. That's sad =s

 

Also, scenario wise, after this one, I really have high "hopes" for the next "arc", in a way I hope for some reason the changes are not going to be reversed completely X)


Review by Bluts
Version reviewed: 2.0.0 on 2016-11-11 08:34:57

 Because I'm a fan of the first installment I just had to try this one and so far the story is awesome! The art, well it's definitely not as good as the first one, but I'm aware it was not your art in the first one, so your art is non the less good :) Found lots of typos, some loading map bugs ( the zone with the lingerie shop was loading way slower ), some misplaces portraits bugs ( i.e. the house after the city u get " the house is locked" with female portrait while still male, or while with Jane you get Jack's portrait on some places). No crashing bugs found. No game breaking bugs found too. Fights are good so far. Overall I like it so far! Keep up the good work! :)


Review by Lazarus
Version reviewed: 2.0.0 on 2016-11-09 11:36:34

Hmmm what to say for this game... The story is interesting but not much happens with it at the moment. The art work is different but I kinda like it, though the sprite used for the succubus needs a little work. 

 

English in the game is alittle hard to read, using the incorrect wording in some places but I did understand what you ment in the context of the wording.

 

I hope you keep this up, I managed to get the MC back upto level 7 and I would like to travel back to the lingerie shop! :D


Review by agnostic
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-10-24 19:06:07

A fantastic start. A lot of references to the first installment and a lot to like so far. 


Review by warsat
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-10-23 13:02:11

not so much but its still alfa i play your Alone Amongst Demons and like it,i expect nothing less.

 


Review by MajorTF
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-10-22 19:28:48

A continuation for my favorite game on this site, and so far I'm not dissapointed! ^.^ It has a few bugs still, nothing unexpected since it is still an alpha version, but none that are game breaking, the current content is fully playable and enjoyable.


Review by rudeawaken
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-10-22 15:46:12

Starting out good so far, seems to be at least 2 hours of content to start with. im extremely interested to see whats going to happen to jack and amy in the future.


Review by Blaziken
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-10-22 09:14:44

I'd say its good
those typo there and there is accent?

i'm excited to see where this story is going to