The Hero We Need

Author: brandygang
Version: 6.19b
Last Updated: 2019-12-01 17:26:21


Review by Zaknod
Version reviewed: 0.6.12a on 2019-05-02 02:28:27

Been laying this game for a long while, and although the gameplay is excessively repetitive and the map has bugs all over it, IE enter a specific map icon and you can't leave until you complete an impossible challenge(library). After the certain event of me giving a spoiler>MC breaks Main Baddie's mindf**k< there is ZERO guidence on where to go next....just wander aimlessly? maybe return to the original castle? Go off in search of frolliking elves? No idea where I am suposed to go, though I like non-linear stories, the lack of dialogue or a quest journal pointing in possible directions is what kills me with this game. Dunno where to go  and the lack of depth put into character personalities plus the extensive dialogue/volumes of books on the game world's lore is all out of balance. I can overlook the gramatical and spelling errors, however, direction after certain events as well as the ability to leave certain areas or notification of "UNABLE TO ENTER DUE TO UNFINISHED WORK" woud be nice...

Overall, the quirkyness of the characters interactions is mildly humorus at best. The story itself is a bit vague, but still there. Wondering why the illusion of choice is there if it only leads to a game over scene(i get it, game over rape fetishes). It is a really good?? game that seems hollow, but has the potential to be among the greats if the dev pauses on the expansions and pays attention to the reviews. Going through everything and polishing up what is already there would help them in the long run, moreso than mashing out updated for expanding on what is there. There are devs out there that don't really post updated games that often, but are more polished because they took a little extra time to clean up what is already there before expanding on it. That and they had to fix bugs in their games themselves.


Review by Reiruu
Version reviewed: 0.5.99 on 2019-02-01 01:53:14

The game seems to be updated quite frequently, so I decided to give it a try. After a rather lengthy, and extremely dialogue heavy, introduction where you are shown off to the game's frequent non-choice "choices" the game gets you into some very generic area maps filled with NPCs who, in many cases, don't even have default dialogue set. And this is just the beginning. I ran into 2 "game over transformation scenes" one after having to complete a rather stupid mini-game of sorts and the other after getting blasted with another dose of the game's frequent use of the hypnosis spell effects -- and from what I could tell in that second one it wasn't even the MC or his companion who were the ones TF but some other random person. I will also have to admit, like  I was with MOnline, I don't really like TF "game overs" but... MOnline does them better if that's your thing.

The game seems to try to make fun of itself in some places, but the times where it does just kind of fall flat and aren't very funny. The writing, in general, is okay at best and from the limited time I spent with the game before losing interest, I found many of the characters... just kind of dull and unlikable. Could they change and become fantastic in the future? Sure, they could. But, I didn't really feel compelled enough by the game to be hooked and want to keep on playing to find out.


Review by Saveloy
Version reviewed: 0.4.71 on 2017-11-01 14:40:13

Note to self: you can beat the first User, but the game doesn't like it one bit. At all.

Writing here is good enough.


Review by Kadark
Version reviewed: 0.4.4 on 2017-10-27 02:40:51

A thing that is a no deal for me with all RPG Maker games is bad level design.

I don't care if it's badly decorated, but if you make stupidly big maps just to have the scenes scale with the environment or whatever, it sucks.

At the start of the game, in the castle, I went to the side door, saw that it took some side scrolling in an empty hallway to reach ANOTHER door and said ''Nope, I got better thing to do than playing running/walking simulator.''


Review by brewster432
Version reviewed: 0.4.4 on 2017-10-26 20:35:50

This is the first review I have ever written. The game is a 10/10, and the endings are excellent. Hell I would love a 'cheat' where one could simply go straight to an ending or repeat ones already found. 

My reason for writing this review though is I am stuck where Luma enters the main protagonist's 'heart' or 'subconscious', navigating the portals, the '9 circles' and so forth. I know there are hints, but seems I am awful at it. 

Any help from anyone (or a walkthrough guide) would be much appreciated!

**(Update: found the help I needed in the forum, so for anyone facing the same problem, just search for The Hero We Need in the TF forums!)


Review by hartmannsyoukai
Version reviewed: 0.3.7 on 2017-09-12 14:25:26

For all those stuck on the 6 switches puzzle in the tower, there is a note outside the tower on the ground that you can examine. It reads, among other things:

5L-1   2R-2
6U-3   1D-4
3U-5   4D-6

Each of the switches has a number of cat statues next to it to let you know which number it is. The numbers are as follows:

1   4
2   5
3   6

So, to open the door you hit the switches in the following order and from the right side of the column (as noted by the letter designations L, R, U, and D for Left, Right, Up, and Down):

1st: hit the 5th switch from the left side of it
2nd: hit the 2nd switch from the right side of it
3rd: hit the 6th switch from the top of it
4th: hit the 1st switch from the bottom of it
5th: hit the 3rd switch from the top of it
6th: hit the 4th switch from the bottom of it

 

As for the actual review of the game, I actually just got to this tower part and was stuck for a while haha. I'm not caught up to current update yet, but so far it has been a pretty decent theme park type game. Explore around and check out all the miscellaneous scenes. Don't expect anything to crazy as far as game-shaping decisions or anything, but if you want a little world to explore and lots of various MC themes I think this is worth a try.


Review by Zer0zero
Version reviewed: 0.3.7 on 2017-09-02 01:01:46

Are you here for dirty games?  Are you into a game punishing you for wanting to choose the naughty option?  This is your game... not for me though.


Review by dim62
Version reviewed: 0.3.7 on 2017-09-01 19:42:30

A+++ game

How to pass pazle with 6 switches in the tower?


Review by Deviate
Version reviewed: 0.30 on 2017-07-31 07:57:23

My anti-virus programm instandly deleted the version 0.2.990 and said it contained a virus (shocker!).

I never had any problems any of the others games on this site, so can you make sure your games is virus free and reupload it?


Review by bond567
Version reviewed: 0.2.999 on 2017-07-25 14:00:05

Its a great game, I love the tfs and endings, though its a bit rought around the edges,  im enjoying it and it could use a walk through, I'm on the tower puzzle and i can't find the switch to unlock the next level, and all the switches i did find just trigger the lighting and turn me into a statue

 


Review by dronekiller99
Version reviewed: 0.2.999 on 2017-07-01 13:43:44

Great game

Any one know how to the aerotown puzzle in the tower?


Review by Seleroan
Version reviewed: 0.2.6 on 2017-02-28 18:51:21

What I liked:

Creator seems to have put a lot of thought into back story of the world they have created.

Demons.  Maybe vampires later?

The "good guys" seem to be rather morally shakey.

 

What I disliked:

The gameplay.  Which goes something like this...

Player enters room.

> Would you like to see something vaguely erotic, which causes a game over?  Or not?

I would like to keep playing, please.  

> Oh?  Are you sure?  Okay, then...  Well, here's another room.  How about now?

Rinse.  Repeat.


Review by vasadariu
Version reviewed: 0.2.6 on 2017-02-27 16:57:32

Is all the game for this release just the ending ? 


Review by Arxyn
Version reviewed: 0.2.60 on 2017-02-17 23:35:18

A short demo as of the time of this review, but with solid writing so far. The dialogue is pretty comedic and each character has their own manner of speech quirks, something you don't see very often in RPG Maker games. I hope to see more of where this game goes.

 

Edit 2/17/2017

The game is progressing very well. Fans of mind control and identity death endings should love it, as well as anyone looking for a bit of unique humor in the main story. There is a fair bit of content to experience as of now, and the author is consistent with updates. Definitely worth watching.


Review by rubberdolltami
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2016-12-05 19:26:42

If you are a fan of MC then it is definitly worth checking out. The bad ends sometimes come a little abruptly, would be nice to drag them out a bit, but all in all a fantastic game thus far.


Review by Shorty93
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2016-12-03 13:16:02

Have not downloaded the game yet, I am writing to suggest that you need more stable places to upload your game, for which I suggest MEGA as that is the most popular among other game developers.


Review by JoeW
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2016-12-03 04:47:24

I found two bugs so far. Both in houses. You can enter a house and not able to leave it.

One house is by the castle with two people in it and a mirror.

The other is in the village agter you go through the bees.  It is the one with the mother of the two twins  playing cards.

 

 


Review by Sengroth
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2016-11-24 09:39:34

4SHARED SHOULDN'T BE ALOUD ON THIS SITE, DON'T DOWNLOAD IT AT 4SHARED.

 

Many Games here on this Site seems to me only 4Shared available, but what other say is true 4Shared is a cesspool of Viruses and Trojans (i ignored the warnings only once, and regret it).

The Game itself is great work so far, hope to see more.


Review by Th3Ch053n0n3
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2016-11-23 01:10:59

I had to wait for a while to download from the dropbox link, but boy was it worth it. The current content is a little small, but the quality is perfect.


Review by Yato
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2016-11-21 17:26:16

Would love to try it but well 4shared...


Review by Joe Steel
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2016-11-20 18:39:37

DO NOT GO TO 4SHARED!

They were once a download site, but are now a cesspool of worms and viruses.  I went there recently and the trojan downloader "Update your flash" actually locked up my computer becuse I wouldn't click "yes" and accept the trojan.

The author needs to use another download site, unless this is just another vaporware attempt to get gullible users to click on the links and download the trojan.  We've seen that before at this site.

DON'T DO IT!  AVOID!