The Exile of Aphrodisia

Author: Judoo
Version: 0.1.10.1
Last Updated: 2018-05-15 21:46:35


Review by BBgun20
Version reviewed: 0.1.10.1 on 2018-06-30 15:55:39

I agree with danime91, it's a cool little game and it would make it even cooler if afflicted party members stay partially afflicted even after getting cured.

 


Review by beast5200
Version reviewed: 0.1.10.1 on 2018-06-22 21:24:26

Your Downloads are broken or something. I follow the link and go to download then select the version i wish to download and I just get a malware warning screen for w3g3a5v6.ssl.hwcdn.net. I click view this sight anyways and I get a blank page with a yahoo search bar embedded at http://search.dnsadvantage.com/main?. So I can't even play it. It might be something on my end though. I'm not sure.


Review by danime91
Version reviewed: 0.1.10.1 on 2018-06-02 23:56:33

Not a bad game. Only complaint I have is that all the transformations I've encountered seem to have only two outcomes: cured and completely back to normal, or bad end and lose the party member. The only exception to this is genderswaps. I'd like for potions to be more effective, and for afflictions to have lasting effects depending on when the potion was applied. Like the cow TF event, if I apply the potion midway through, I'd hope for a chance that the transformation stops and I'm left with a cowgirl, not a completely cured party member.


Review by MilitaryAaa
Version reviewed: 0.1.10.1 on 2018-05-17 03:52:53

I thought this game was great, I never knew an Oregon trail mixed with porn/transformations was going to work. It was a real trek near the end having to sell everything I could just so my group could mostly make it. It made me play it again and see if I could do better.

 

The only errors I saw was that sometimes it would refer a man as a woman and vice versa, and the epilogues for all the people who stayed behind don't always show up. Same for the player character despite being transformed.

 

But still this was a great release compared to all the games here that most aren't even half finished. Good job.


Review by Skyrimkillerehh
Version reviewed: 0.1.10.0 on 2018-04-29 23:49:35

This game is really nice and has good art, however, my only complaint is that it simply feels vastly too difficult to complete. There is a chance that I am simply poor at this game, and can't manage the shop, or my people to any decent degree. I wish there were more encounties that could lead to wealth. I just can never seem to have enough food for the trip, and when I buy horses, cows, or chickens, I am unable to buy amulets to prevent afflictions. Overall this game feels too difficult to have any hope of completing. If I am simply doing something wrong, or is there a strategy I'm unaware of, I'd love to hear it.


Review by gamer8363
Version reviewed: 0.1.10.0 on 2018-04-29 01:13:44

That's an interesting game so far. I've been a fan of simulation games, and when ya mentioned that it was like Oregon Trail. I had to try it. I found it a bit difficult at first, but after I maxed almost everything out, expect landmarks, I was able to beat the game. I can't wait to see what you add to it


Review by StacieMeier
Version reviewed: 0.1.4.1 on 2017-09-23 19:41:53

Love the game. The transformations are nice. I so love the Dildo one. Wish you plsce in  Statue and possibly mannequin ones like the Dildo one. Over all, I love the game, one issue I see, it is random and thats fine but I wish you allow us to choose the transformations at times. Like an option or something to choose which transformation would be in game. Still one of the better games I have played of late... Congrats :D


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 0.1.4.1 on 2017-08-02 12:36:06

v0.1.4.1:

Writing was good, character customization was alright for what the game was, transformation possibilities were good and suitable to the game, transformation images in the game were acceptable given the current version release (it was quite obvious that there are still more to come to show off the different steps of the transformations that can happen) and overall it is a very solid game.

However be aware of what you are getting into: it is a sim. If you've ever played the Oregon Trail or any of its variants (such as Organ Trail), then you know the difficulty is stacked against you and your initial decisions at the start of the game mean EVERYTHING. Trying to beat this game with less than eight party members is extremely difficult as all it takes is one afflicition and you are screwed to gambling on the cure potions that are very low chance of working or hoarding your gold and hoping for the next town before the afflicition takes your party member.

Certainly this game is well worth playing. But go in with an open mind.


Review by pepez
Version reviewed: 0.1.4.0 on 2017-07-30 07:31:45

awesome game!! Maybe best one on this site!!

But i hope there is more  sexy female enemies.  One have to be is Succubus who try to lure your companies on her side By corrupt them.. Maybe they attack at night time in theyr dreams??


Thank you for this game! I cant wait what  more is coming!

PS. If you gonna make M/M do it like it can disable it  on options yes/No style :)


Review by MrValdac
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.1 on 2017-07-19 22:19:10

Yet another amazing game by Judoo. Would still like to see some things like saves and more detailed character customization (ability to select traits for characters could enhance the roleplaying/rpg aspect). But regardless, it is still a great game that boasts far more content and replayability than most of the games on here. Certainly worth trying out at the very least.


Review by RandomKonto
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.1 on 2017-06-02 21:45:38

I like it! It's really different, and has a lot of hot transformation to it.


Review by art926
Version reviewed: 0.1.2.0 on 2017-05-30 03:05:16

No m/m ? :(


Review by hexxuus
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-26 09:50:59

The game has a lot of potential, the base (core) is very stable. You start at a point and automatically travel to your destination, during your travel you have random chance to encounter all kinds of events and every so many miles you hit a town where you can get supplies and a drink. You have to rest and scavange for food. As an elf you are leading a party of random humans, who have certain skills: scout,soldier,farmer, priest, etc, which you can use in certain encounters along the way However it's not really XXX at this point, it's mostly PG rated, the transformation scenes themselves are really short, 4-5 lines to describe a transformation and the events don't last for more than a minute.  The only you thing you have to do to make it more interesting is to write extra scenes and events to make it a succes, alo include the possibility of the elf being transformed for bad ends.  All encounters are noted in the text files within the instalation folder, so if you want to encounter something you don't have to wait for the "random" encounter.


Review by Taenil
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-26 05:00:09

I actually adore this game, very much. It's an outstanding start to what i hope becomes the next big hit here. The lack of overall difficulty could use some fine-tuning, and more could be done about your stats through more transformations and small events. I would also like to see the ability to set your characters how you like them, instead of just randomly throwing them out there and hoping you get a group you like. I really hope to see a lot more from this game in the time to come!


Review by ufjoif
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-24 07:18:40

I really liked this game. I think it really hit the nail on the head about what the themes of this sort of game should be, the random aspect lending an element of unpredictability - it feels more authentic when you're not actively trying to lose so you can see the sex scenes.

Furthermore, unlike some games here, this is fully finished and works properly. And kudos to you for making your own engine for the game, and not just using Twine or something like that. I also love the choice of music (Kevin MacLeod does have some good tracks!) and the subtle landscape art. The character drawings could use some work, but it's at least there, which is more than I can say for some games. I also liked how at some points, I was genuinely worried for my party. I made bad decisions, and we were starting to run out of food - I didn't know if we'd make it or not. It was very exciting, which is a good thing for a sex game like this.

If I had any single major complaint, it would be the lack of a volume slider. That would be the one big, easy-to-fix thing that bugs me.

In terms of more complex criticism, I'd say that the game becomes too easy once you know how to play. Buy a few minor potions, and about three hundred kilos of food. Apply potions whenever someone gets an affliction. And once you've gotten every event at least once, you know exactly what decisions to make, so you can basically rush through the game and win with only one or two losses. Health is lost very slowly, and never became an issue. Lust, too, didn't seem to have any effect to me. Morale also never became a serious issue, with morale-decreasing events being few and far between, far enough to top up low morale party members at cities.

Basically, I'm saying the game is too easy. That's it. Other than that, it's great.

Overall, I give this an 8/10. Very good, far from perfect, but much closer to it than a lot of games from here.


Review by baumannt
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-18 08:41:26

A nice concept, easy to learn, funny and somewhat sexy transformations, only a few illustrations (but nice ones) and okay music.
All in all a nice and relaxing game.

 

Though, if I should mention a thing or two that might be improved on, it would be the following bullets:


Review by PlatonicNebula
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-18 05:07:33

This is a hard game to review. First of all, it's commendable that it's already a complete game. I have to applaud that regardless. The hard part comes from comparing it to Oregon Trail, for better or worse. If I had never even heard of Oregon Trail, then I would probably judge this game harshly. It's actually quite appropriate for the game to be randomly cruel and hard to figure out in reference to the older game. On the other hand, in reference to decades of good games (that'a a dig against Oregon Trail, not this one), more transparency would be appropriate. It's impossible to know what the actual risks of your choices are unless you've seen them play out before. It's particularly troubling when you can't tell whether an encounter will be resolved by a dice roll or simply play out in a prescribed manner. If you choose to have a party member do something risky, are you technically choosing to lose that party member, or are you choosing to roll the dice on it? It depends on the encounter, apparently, and you can't really tell which is which. A notable example is the attack by the demon with the pack of hounds. In my first attempt, the character who tried to sneak up on him was a soldier, which made perfect sense to me, but I played it cautiously instead. In my second attempt, a carpenter snuck up on him, so I thought, "Well, that sucks. If it's not always a soldier, then I probably gave up a rare good chance to beat him last time." Nope. Unless I misread the text, this is just a gotcha. It looks like you have a chance, but there isn't one.

Sometimes you can choose which party members are involved at the start of an encounter, but sometimes they're picked at random. If their skills come into play in either kind of encounter, I couldn't tell, but I don't think they do. Some encounters do progress to a point where you are able to choose among party members with particular attributes if you have any, which actually makes me more certain that those attributes don't matter otherwise. It's a shame, because it feels like you might benefit from sending certain members on certain missions, like a soldier in case there's an attack, but if that doesn't really matter, you're best off sending your most expendable members any time you don't have to pick a certain profession. There's no reason to risk anyone useful unless you just don't have enough pawns.

I stopped playing my first attempt when it was clearly impossible to win it. I overspent on food at the beginning, but not enough on salted meat. Then I couldn't afford to spend gold in any encounters, and of course I was curious enough to take unnecessary risks. On my second game, I won with only the one casualty. I probably got lucky on a couple of encounters, but it really boiled down to saying no to obvious traps, not wasting money on food that spoiled or unnecessary healing items (only potions for afflictions were actually necessary), and keeping enough money available for encounters. The damage done by eating salted meat isn't anywhere near bad enough for it to be worth spending money on any other kind of food. Only nymphomaniac characters seem to be in any danger of maxing out lust, and even they aren't likely to do so unless they're involved in more than their share of lustful encounters.

The transformations are either immediate losses from bad encounters or magical afflictions. This is all analogous to Oregon Trail's snake bites and diseases, so it's again hard to review. One the one hand, that's clearly how it's meant to be. There is a clear vision, and the game meets that goal. On the other hand, it feels like so many lost opportunities for nearly every transformation to be essentially the same as a death. The one exception I've encountered so far only affected the character's permanent record. No changes impact the game in any other way.

Overall, this game is a standout on this site. It scores high marks in presentation, in being complete, and in actually being a game. I'm just not sure about the fun factor. It's a TF take on a classic, which is awesome to see, but the classic in question was only ever popular because it was the only game kids could play on classroom computers other than some awful typing trainer. I will probably play it many more times until I've seen all the random events. I think it would be better if there was more risk vs. reward decision making in the game instead of boobie traps masquerading as risk vs. reward decisions, but any other suggestions I want to make would be moving away from the game's apparent purpose.


Review by dramoxe
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-17 02:38:14

Pretty interesting, well polished, and most importantly complete game with some good TFs.  I also didn't find the game particularly difficult, unlike some of the other reviewers.  

The lack of a tutorial or much information on the game mechanics is what I think is making other people have a hard time with the game.  Food management is fairly important because most food spoils quickly, so you want to stock up on salted meat and make sure that your party is eating that last.  Since they eat food on a first come first eaten basis (unless you tell them to do otherwise) - if you buy a little bit of salted meat and then later scavenge a lot of venison your party will continue to eat the salted meat while the venison spoils meaning you go from a lot of food to 0 very quickly, when telling them to eat the venison first would cause that same amount of food to last substantially longer.  Just buying 150lbs of salted meat at the start can last your party the entire game with a little bit of scavenging and proper food management.


Review by Zerofoxy3384
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.2 on 2017-05-16 22:58:30

I want to like this game...I really do.

 

However, the lack of a tutorial...not actually being able to choose your party...and the daunting difficulty ruin it for me.

 

Having to click random for my party is just...why? Why can't I choose my own party? Why do I have to have a random number of random people and a random number of starting gold?

 

Moving on....I played 3 times...and 3 times I didn't even get half way. It was just one bad event after another...and the scavanging mechanic is awful. The resources shouldn't deplete unless you actually get something....I had no food for my party for 14 days! Yet for some reason, despite finding absolutely nothing...there were no resorces to scavange. Then there's the RNG of using potions to clear afflictions....if I use a potion to clear an affliction....it should NOT come down to RNG deciding if the potion works.

 

I want to really like this game, it's got a good idea and some interesting events...but the steep difficulty, depleting resources, and inability to really set your party up just kill it for me.


Review by zerocatch22
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.1 on 2017-05-16 17:30:16

In  short, I love this game!

It's heavily influenced by "The Oregon Trail," so if you've ever played the MECC classic, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Your band of randomly-generated travelers (you can change the names if you want) need to prepare for a long journey and use all of their skills to get to the portal before time runs out. Along the way they may contract a disease that will slowly transform them into another creature -- once they succumb entirely, they will leave your troop and you lose their skills. Most of the transformations are non-human (which is refreshing in an age when those seem to be in short supply), and the order of the landmarks and most of the encounters are random each time.

It's challenging to get ANY of your humans safely to the portal, and though I thought the number of scenarios were rather limited, I have been surprised by some of the new ones you encounter on subsequent playthroughs!

Is it perfect? No. Well, at least, not yet. Not all of the TFs have artwork, and those that do don't usually show the stages of TF (for example, a picture of a rabbit girl will not update as the transformation progresses), the descriptions of males and females as they transform isn't really different (they are usually gramatically correct), but these could easily be fixed in a future update.

It's not entirely bug free, either, I think... Although I can't say if it's a bug or something that I did that was wrong (the game doesn't always give you the best feedback). The scrolling animation stopped on me at some point and wouldn't advance, although the hours kept ticking away. But after three playthroughs it only happened once, and I'm not entirely sure if an event triggered it.

Man, I'm going to play it again right now! Thanks for posting it! I hope to be able to support it at some point in the future.


Review by Forejarwr
Version reviewed: 0.1.0.1 on 2017-05-16 14:10:57

Black background and black text on my computer. Have to select text to read it. Also, an electron app, really...


Review by Robin
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 19:47:40

Usually in games like Oregon trail, I'll do my best to get everyone to survive. I hate when anyone is hurt or leaves the party. Not so much for this game. I made it through to the end once... but now that i've managed to do that, i have no more incentive to "win" and now i'll be seeing just how many ways there are to lose.

 

The game does take some time, and is fun! Little things, like in the lost party member screen it should show the start and end portrait so you can see what they were turned into at a glance, as well as a breakdown to their change to their final form if you click on the details. I'll be playing again a few more times just to see if there's anything else fun, like if a guy gets turned into a girl, they still stay in your party with a new portrait. If that's not there, i'd likd to suggest that.

 

Thanks for writing the game!


Review by darkestlink
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 18:22:37

it's pretty good, thoguh I wish that either the encounters or the rate at which the infliction progresses would get faster as the game goes on. 


Review by Launchernine
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 15:17:25

I'll post a review shortly, but to those suspicious, jsut pay attention to who uploaded the file. I highly doubt Judoo would put anything risky on there.


Review by khinzaw
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 12:34:23

I can confirm that the download is legit. 

 

Overall, I really like this game but it could definitely use some fleshing out. More pictures, more interaction etc.... Having it be more involved with minigames such as hunting like the actual Oregon Trail would be tough but would really add to the game.

 There are also a few bugs. When checking the reason why some party members didn't make it sometimes it shows a wrong reason. For someone who was turned into a goo girl it says that they were turned into a satyress, for example. Also, lust reduction potions increase lust which is kind of gmae breaking.

Good work and I hope to see this game grow.


Review by kiutbmg
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 10:40:12

no wayam i toucing that until its on some other download that doesnt make you download what looks like an app

 


Review by Sol
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 06:27:42

Very entertaining game that can already be played through from start to finish. Can't wait to see what else is added!

Keep up the great work! :D


Review by theclosetmonster
Version reviewed: 0.100 on 2017-05-15 05:46:03

Wow! Very cool and lots of potential. Basically Oregon Trail with strong TF themes. Could use a bit of polishing in the systems but I had a lot of fun with the playtrough and watching people be turned into things is a lot better then dying of dinsentary.