The Proteus Effect

Author: Proxxie
Version: 0.8
Last Updated: 2020-11-15 05:12:15


Review by love2suk
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-11-28 22:05:38

love this game so fun and funny!  the tanking montage rocks! 


Review by parya
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-11-21 20:09:40

you can spend whole evening and do not reach even for the second sex scene. So it is for some kind of fanats of this fighting games, difficult one


Review by JustSomeSissy
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-11-21 11:59:28

This game is fun. Good isekai style gender change, characters are actually pretty funny. Good Hentai scenes, thought there are good amount of gaps between them. There isn't really fighting and you can mostly run through the dungeons without doing much, and the fights are easy if you don't. Good rpgmaker game I think.


Review by SUPERtwinky
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-11-17 02:15:59

Loved this game, not just for the H content but also just as a game.  It's quite funny.
Also love the art style of the 3D models.
A solid 4/5


Review by dercas
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-11-16 02:27:17

Super happy to see that this is still being developed!  Gorgeous art and witty engaging writing.  Keep up the great work!  Definitely one of my top five favorites on this site!


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-11-15 07:09:38

yay its back from the dead

dont get me wrong in glad its back


Review by kazer
Version reviewed: 0.7.2 on 2019-12-17 23:51:44

There's funny story and great dialogue between characters, nice cutscene renders and good atmosphere (light-hearted).

This has plenty to like about it. Recommended.

 


Review by bsharp
Version reviewed: 0.6.4 on 2019-01-28 08:17:43

I really like this game.  I love the sense of humor, the premise, and the story.  The writing is exceptional.  The main character's personality has me laughing out loud at times.  The HR scene with the soldiers was awesome!  I hadn't played this game since an version 1.2 so there's been enormous progress.  I don't remember having a companion in the previous version.  That's an awesome improvement.  I also love the art.   The style is perfect.  

 

The battles/dungeons are ok.  Their purpose isn't to be super-challenging, and I like that.  They exist as part of the story and that's fine with me (loved the part where she runs from the flames).  I think I played through all the current content (have the orb of illusion), yet I'm still 1st level with 0 experience.  I'd like to see level advancement (perhaps with a TF or naughty twist?).  I've also accumulated piles of gold with nothing to spend it on.  

 

The only thing that would make this game better for me (other than continuing the story) would be to increase the ratio of naughty content.  As it stands, there's a lot of normal (entertaining, but G-rated) gaming required to get to the adult parts and, once you get there, it's over too soon.  I love the characters' innocent (compared to most games) approach to adult content.  I'm not asking to see incongruous XXX smut.  That would ruin the atmosphere.  The current style is great.  I'd just like to see it more frequently as the story progresses.  Maybe let the main characters have 'encounters' with peripheral NPCs, or maybe there could be adult-oriented side quests.


Review by Smite
Version reviewed: 0.6.4 on 2019-01-26 12:41:32

Wow!! I remember playing (and being a tad bit disappointed) with the original release of this game--it's come so far!  I spent a good 2-3 hours playing it last night, and from what I can tell, there's a good 1-2 hours left before I hit the end of the public content. And it's good, too!  There is some quality story here,  and I would say it's unique amongst the other games on this site. It's cartoonish yet X-rated, and even if futa isn't your usual link, the characters are so charismatic and well-written that is hard not to cheer along.

The combat can very monotonous/grind-y, but I would say the combat is 95% avoidable, so it's not a big deal. It's also a slow-burn, so if you're looking for a quick fap you might want to try elsewhere. In general, though, I heartily recommend this game--we need more like 'em!


Review by BluBlab
Version reviewed: 0.5.2 on 2018-10-13 05:54:36

Wow. I'm genuinely impressed. This game is actually really good.


I've been a lurker on this site for quite a while now, but never felt the need to write a review on anything. Until now at least.

 

Now first of all my tastes are pretty vanilla (at least by this sites stadards), so I usually end up getting turned off by the games here after a while, because I end up feeling bad for the characters. In this game it was not the case. The game's light-hearted tone felt really refreshing to me, and led to an overall much more enjoyable experience than I usually have with most similar games.  If you, like me, like your games to be nice and wholesome, this is the game for you.

Generally speaking this game is a lot more fleshed out than most other things on this site, with no real game-breaking flaws. I did find a few typos in the dialogue, but that is to be expected in a project this ambitious.

The characters were likeable, relateable and memorable. In my opinion there is nothing left to be desired in this regard.

The setting is a rather unique twist on the "trapped in a virtual world"-archetype, with a well designed map full of sights and characters that make exploring it feel rewarding and overall more believable than what you usually come to expect.

The dialogue is also a particular strong point of this game, being genuinely witty, funny and outright hilarious at times, and is packed full of references, not only to popular culture but also to historic events, literature, and other topics which adds another layer of enjoyability to the game, especially for a more educated playerbase.

The only thing that might even outdo the writing quality are the 3D art assets, which I would simply describe as amazing, for the lack of a better word.

I found the ecchi-scenes quite enjoyable, as they appealed to my tastes quite a bit, though I can imagine that they might seem a bit dry for those of you with wilder preferences than me.

The music also added a nice touch to the game, though the standard setting was a bit loud in my opinion. Good thing you could change the volume in the settings.

There isn't much to be said about the combat, as it is a fairly standard turn-based system, though making it a bit more challenging and adding a bit of variety with more skills and gear that isn't simply "superior" to the previous one, so I would have to decide which stats are the most important to me would be a nice touch.

 

Overall I have to say, that this was the first time that I played a game from this site and actually, genuinely enjoyed it from start to finish.

 

I can't wait for the full game to be released, so I can enjoy the story in its entirety.

 

9/10 I'm saving the last point for the full release.


Review by Rheavon
Version reviewed: 0.5.2 on 2018-08-26 03:23:36

There is a lot to be said for custom art that looks amazing. I like other games that reuse art and smut from porn, but the art for this game makes me want to keep coming back. Good job and keep up the amazing work!


Review by RM750
Version reviewed: 0.5.2 on 2018-08-25 01:19:33

This game is great. The art is good. The writing is simulatenously engaging, funny, and interesting, which is not common. Gameplay wise I have no complaints. It didn't seem to suffer from that "RPGMaker unnecessary repetitive combat" plague which is great to see. Definitely play this game. I kept avoiding it for the longest time and I don't know why because it it genuinely a good game. Props to the author.

 

I think the version I played of this was 0.3. I'll probably wait until it's closer to completion before I give it a play(mainly because I lost my save and the game is long) again.


Review by ddongssanda
Version reviewed: 0.4.2 on 2018-06-12 15:26:06

Funny. Definitely funny. This game can be regarded as a comedy. It is so funny that it might be a mood breaker if you want some serious erotic fantasy, but other than that, it's wonderful.

 

It still feels a bit short. On the other hand, if you are lost, it may feel painfully long. Walkthrough may be helpful (personally, it happened to me at the cookie stage).

 

I'm waiting for the progress!


Review by CelticMoonShine
Version reviewed: 0.4.2 on 2018-05-14 17:33:58

This is one of my favorites on this site. A lot of people have done virtual world adventures, but instead of the common "Welcome to the World, time to change you" (which is fun dont get me wrong) this is different, way funnier and over all better written. Theres development into the character side by side with some fantastic sex scenes.

8/10 cause Im waiting till its done


Review by tenant
Version reviewed: 0.4.2 on 2018-05-06 20:32:03

Easily one of the most fun and polished games here. The character development is interesting, the anti-objectification messages are appreciated, and the writing is funny. I was genuinely disappointed when the current content ended!


Review by quiverclaw
Version reviewed: 0.4.2 on 2018-04-27 10:05:49

Have to say, this is one of my favorite games on the site.  I liked it enough to support it on Patreon anyway... 

For an RPGMaker game, the combat isn't overdone and there's no grinding required. So that's a big bonus given the platform.  

The use of 3D Renders for cutscenes and avatars is becoming pretty prevalent but the author's style is nice and unique.  It blends quality with cartoony/anime style in a visually appealing way.  Including great use of facial expressions to add humor and context to the text throughout the game.  There's a few solid hours of play here if you go after everything there is to do.  Make sure and check your quest log and talk to EVERYONE to see it all.  You may have to save-scum to get to some of it because different choices lead to different paths.  

 

This should be obvious given this site, but most of the content seems to be in what I'd call the "acceptance path", make the pervy or girly choices to see it.  That's nothing new for games on this site though. 

All in all a fav and one I surely download every new release as soon as they become available.

 

 


Review by Grimdog
Version reviewed: 0.4.2 on 2018-04-26 18:08:14

This game is good so far and the music is vary soothing.

The problem I hide before was from being stupid; but I got past it.

Thank you

   


Review by Proxxie
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2018-02-15 01:29:27

Since there is no site mechanism to respond to reviews, I'll simply respond to some here.

To Zaknod:

Version 0.3.1 has 3-4 hours of playable content, and to compare its length to new games "a week after release" seems bizarre. 0.3.1 has 2 "real" dungeons, one much smaller one, 7 H-scenes with between 3 and 13 renders each, a sizable town, minigames, numerous skits, and 15 different quests. If you consider that a tiny amount of content - I'm really curious what your basis of comparison is.

To address another of your criticisms, this game has a conspicuously small amount of combat for an RPG Maker game. I do not use the leveling mechanic, so you don't have to grind through levels. None of the fights - except for the single boss battle - are particularly long. Of the little combat there is, most of it is avoidable. There are, in fact, only 4 creatures that you're required to fight in order to advance the plot, and you can complete every single quest while only fighting 12 of them. If you believe this is excessive, I have to question what you're comparing it to.  Lastly, some people did find some of the challenges too difficult, which is why the current public version includes easy modes.

Some people do not find this game funny. I get it. That's fine, humor is very subjective. I would simply note that many do find it funny, and one of the things you specifically complain about was the thing that garnered the most praise in my first release. 

Finally, I literally have no idea what you're talking about when you complain about dick jokes. I don't remember writing one, and if there are any in there, it certainly isn't a common motif. The humor in this game is not of an overly crude variety.

 

To sissyDe:

Thank you :D

 

To JustJustin:

Thank you for the thoughtful review.

 

To apewty:

I'm glad you like it!


Review by Zaknod
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2018-02-14 22:33:42

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS read at your own discresion.

This game, while not having an original concept, does execute it in an interesting way. Although with the current content lacking in certain aspects such as transformations(other than playing a male in a virtual female body and having a female in a virtual futa body), it seems more likely that this game is going to be based more along the mental transformation theme rather than 'in game' transformations. 

Plus Sides:

Down Sides:

All in all, until more progress occurs on the game, I can't say I would recommend it to people. It may still be in alpha, but even for an alpha release, I've seen others with more content a week after release, so this is probably a leisure project for the creator.

Suggestions: Bull Milking scene for humor instead of being told it is male and having it follow you everywhere for....tests.....

Add a possible sceario for getting the futa/herm NPC to give affection points prior to starting in testing chamber to alter her perception of the MC.

Make the "Hero" sprite say something dumb rather than stand like a statue and have a vacant expression. Like have him say he is a pretty farm handler with a dead expression, might be humorous to some people.

No, and I mean ABSOLUTELY NO DICK JOKES, they are tossed around in RL left and right, and it gets annoying when I play a game and have to read one after hearing all the ones under the sun during the day.


Review by sissyDe
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2018-02-14 09:01:09

Funny and erotic!!!! 5/5

can't wait for more :) :) :)


Review by JustJustin
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2018-02-13 20:36:30

The premise of this game is not the most innovative, and will likely have been seen before by many on this site, but it shines through in its execution of that concept and its quality.

All of the current content looks professional, well-made and scripted, and the dialogue and events are at times refreshingly humorous. The game has a certain charm, its creator cares for it and does not allow himself/herself to push out mediocre content for the sake of merely updating more frequently. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I find this to be far more polished than other games on the site, and it will likely capture many hearts with its aforementioned charm.

My only possible complaint is that there is at times a lot to do before you can get to meaningful interactions or make progress; this is relative, but precious seconds can be wasted spamming/holding spacebar or enter, depending on which you prefer - in honesty this is in many ways not a problem, and shows time spent on making the game more of its own piece than something to be breezed through on your way to the next with as many or more likes.

Recommending this is very easy, it is in my opinion one of the best games on the site, and I look forward to further updates.


Review by apewty
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2018-02-12 18:27:02

Red is obviously entitled to their opinion, but I disagree. I wasn't rolling on the floor, but the medium doesn't lend itself to maximum laughs. I felt the pacing was a little slow, but that's not unusual for the game platform. I felt that, overall, the writing was actually very good and so I have no problem with how the story is unfolding. To be clear, there are many succesful authors that I don't enjoy their style or the way they craft their prose. I know it's just my preferences, and I don't insist on criticizing their work as much as I admit my personal preference. Instead, I see how well the writer works the actual plot and details, the meat of the story and focus on that.

Proteus Effect is doing quite well when it comes to the meat of the story. And, it's a game so there's more than just story telling. There's graphics and design. Sure, I suppose design could be a little more polished. However, never expect any of these side project games to reach top quality level. I certainly couldn't do it in my spare time. As such, I consider the game's overall quality. Proteus Effect is doing quite well in that regard as well.

Definitely worth a look, provided the content tags match your preferences.


Review by Red-XIII
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2018-01-10 19:13:15
The quality level of the humour is passable for what would be required from an occasional joke in an otherwise serious game. The quantity of it overwhelming though. It's not the kind of game one could or should take seriously, and for that kind of game the humour level is sorely lacking. The game is NOT capitalising of the site's theme, and as such you'd expect it to add something worthwhile as a replacement. And it doesn't. Whatever it is that was supposed to keep you interested other than occasional rated content and the cheap overdone humour is just not there. It's definitely not the worst game on this site, and it's not all that much below average, but all that praise from previous reviews... I don't see how it deserves that. If the author yet opts to persist my advice would be - do not attempt to write when not inspired. Even pros can't handle creating decent quality content when there's no spark driving them. And that's more or less how your humour (and the game as a whole) felt - the way it does when someone is trying to force creative results out of nowhere.

Review by Shayoko
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-12-20 20:56:35

Is this a game or a VN? the intro is long and not very interesting (at least the grammar is great!) i dropped it before getting to the main plot.


Review by hathios
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-12-17 10:59:54

For version 0.3

 

In town there is a problem with the guards you are going to fight.

If you leave town to do a different quest first and then return and check for the guards the guards are standing on the roof of a building and you can't finish the quest.

 


Review by renonymous
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-12-02 13:24:18

This game is awesome. As of this review, the game's playtime is probably just over two hours, but it's a perfect 2 hours. The writing is clever and funny, the minigame shows promise for the game's future, the hentai content is a little slow but very promising. You can tell a lot of love and attention to detail is going into this game, and the plot is original and fun enough to make it a very exciting project to watch. If this game finishes, I have no doubt it'll be a 10/10.

 

My ONE complaint/concern with the game is with the lengths of the scripted scenes--but maybe it's intended. When a game makes you sit through 5 minutes of scripted dialogue and railroaded movements without being able to save, and then prompts you to make a choice that will affect your character or trigger an H-scene, it puts a lot of stress on the player and forces them to sit through the same 5 minute scripted event if they want to explore the other choice. True, it does make every choice even more important, but I'm not fond of it as it cuts into my ability to fully explore a game.


Review by Noknet
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-18 09:31:42

I think this is a brilliant game.  There isn't a lot of "smut" in it - only two scenes so far, and you can skip them if you want to.

 

The game is comedy gold.  It doesn't NEED the "smut".  If the author wanted to - assuming they keep up this quality - they could take the smut out, to provide a smut-free version (for a wider audience) and it'd probably still be awesome.

 

(Also, since the game was updated on November 15th - only 3 days ago - I don't see how someone could claim the game is dead at this point.  I'm sure it takes longer to write the content than to it takes to tweak the second dungeon to make it less annoying)


Review by Toraneko
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-18 03:01:05

First thing first... I Really like this game (and yes that did have to be an R rather than an r). The plot has some initial similarities to another game that i liked, totally immersed, but that being said, they are definitely 2 totally different games... and while that one seems like it is dead, i have high hopes that you will finish this one. Game play is fun, and there doesn't seem to be anything missing to complete any of the quests or anything, the dialog is hilarious, even if i'm not a huge fan of the PC being an idiot most of the time. my only complaint is that at this point there is no exp gain, and no leveling up in any way... i did notice that in the status window that it has an exp to next lvl, so i'm hoping that is something that will be implemented later on... or at least that there will be more frequent points where the characters will become more powerful... don't want the game to just become a grind fest as those get boring, but leaving the characters where they are strength wise could end up making things frustrating too. but i might just be jumping the gun on that, as it is still really early in the game, and there is a point where the PC gets a new spell after the portal, so we shall see where things go.

keep up the great work, i really do want to see where this goes, and would absolutely love to see it be completed (which would make it one of the few games on this site that was complete... lol)

Take Care


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-17 19:30:03

With version 0.2.4, The Proteus Effect has released a Mac version (link can be found on the Pateron page) and so I've had the opportunity to play it. The game so far is short, but it's a polished work that makes good use of CG character models.

The important thing to tell you, dear reader, is this: Proteus Effect is laugh out loud funny. I was often left doubled over with laughter and gasping "oh god".

I was worried that I wouldn't like the game at first. The game's hero, Alex, is a moron, and his co-workers at the game testing company are (with one notable exception) all terrible people. The entire company is a workplace harassment suit waiting to happen.

Thankfully, Alex's heart is in the right place (usually), and now that he's trapped in the game world, he has the chance to explore being someone else, someplace else, to develop and fill out—What? No, well, yes, but, I meant as a character—and his travelling companion also has a lot of room for growth—no, I meant personal growth not—ugh, nevermind. Pervert.


Review by lurkingnobody
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-17 10:06:54

Phenomenal work. You have made here a game that is fun to play and engaging to read. Honestly, even if it didn't have porn, I probably would've enjoyed the Proteus Effect. Not that there should be any reduction of that porn—your artistic style is eye-poppingly delicious.


Review by wat
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-17 06:21:18

Very promising. Felt a little silly sometimes at the start. The silliness made a lot more sense after the prologue.

 

Cute art. Author seems to have a good idea of slow and sexy based on what we have.

 

Relatively short as it stands.

 

Could honestly be as good as noxian nights when it is done. One of the rare games that actually suits RPG maker.


Review by NovusPeregrine
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-17 04:25:51

I'm going to be blunt, I hated this. However! The reason for that hate was because I felt like I was losing IQ points every single time the main character opened his/her mouth. Added to the extremely limited amount of content and overly long fights, and I just couldn't bring myself to like it. For those that don't mind a brain-dead idiot for a protagonist though, it's probably fine. Writing quality seems...decent, at least. If rather cliche and overly reliant of references that it really didn't need. 


Review by fuzzbuddy
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-16 09:10:25

I have to agree with the other reviews. The writing is great, the characters are likeable/immersive, and the models look quite good.

Even the minigames feel well-done (something I consider very rare).

My only complaint would be that the map is kind of bland, but everything else is so good that it I'd rather have that time go to writing/story anyway.

Thanks for sharing, and please keep up the great work!


Review by JoeW
Version reviewed: 0.2.4 on 2017-11-16 00:19:54

For the first part I love the  game.  The writing is snappy and a bit humorous.  Great start. I am already into the characters.

I do have a suggestion before the release of the next part.

Allow us to save the game after we jump through the portal. There isn't a chance to save after the mini-boss fight. This way we can load up the old save and continue withoug having to do all the fights again.

 

Update... One now can get to the end of the update. I have only played one path so I don't know if there is a different dream at the end of this update or not.

 

 


Review by edanpisan
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2017-11-12 16:05:39

This is by far the best game in this website that I have played.  Some pros of this game:

-Fun storyline and dialogue, it's really engaging with plenty of good comedic conversation. Most other RPG games in this website have a rather boring and dull dialogue. 

-Awesome 3D models that looks really alive and lovely. I have played a lot of tf games, and this is one of the best 3D models I have ever seen. And the main character are just so cute <3

Cons :

- still short, well kinda excpected though because this game is at v0.12 when I wrote this. But damn, this game still has a lot of potential.

My personal opinion , I agree with other reviews to just keep combat minimal and add more quests that doesn't involve combat. Combat in RPG Maker are sadly not too fun for me because the lack of combat animation, they just punching the air and the enemy magically disappeared.

Profesionally created game, I hope you continue developing this game. This game is so exciting !

 --- Update v0.23

Haha the update is great, a new storyline, much more gameplay mechanics and an excellent story writing XD. Although the new H-content is good, but damn it's just a teaser to make us a hoping to get more content, still very good and well polished tho.

But what makes this game diffrent is it's humor, it's very funny and gave me a lot of laughs :D 


Review by DTainted01
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2017-11-10 04:07:57

I absolutely LOVE the writing!

It took me about 45 minutes before i got to the first 'boss battle', with almost no sexual content, but I had to laugh out loud so much that I didn't care.

An automatic safe point (or the opportunity to manually save) before making a choice that abruptly gets me to a bad end would have been appreciated.


Review by jfrancois323
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2017-11-09 03:48:33

never been able to open it, got a bug directly after the new game screen several times, even after download it again and again

 


Review by vagabond
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-06 17:08:12

I love the story, but unfortunately, I've hit a few different showstopper bugs.


Review by Wittyusername
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-06 14:14:45

you can maximize the window, thats all you need to know
best rpgmaker game 2k17


Review by JNBackup
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-06 11:06:34

Been a while since i've played a game on this website thats this well made all around, every aspect is great.
The story is Elegant,the artwork fits very well with existing assets, the 3d H models are cool, but most unique of all, i did not notice any noteworthy spelling mistakes, something that's suprisingly unique on this domain.
I will definitely be following this, and i wish the best of luck for it :3...


Review by asapien
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-06 10:35:55

Liking it so far, but seem to have run into a game breaking bug.  When you heal the chincha everyone gets stuck in the door.  Save scummed (which sucked do to it being the end of a lengthy scene) 4 or 5 times and finally got out the door before the elian randomly walked into it and blocked it.  Good stuff the parody and satire is pretty on point.  Not alot of sexual content atm but its still early. good writing, occasionally tedious puzzles.

 

 


Review by anyoldguy
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-06 04:15:13

This game displays a well written, funny story and some quality art. It's not trying to be a vehicle for delivering smut but an entertaining and titillating game. In those respects it reminds me of BoneHead. I hope to see a lot more!


Review by That_What_Is
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-05 19:02:36

Fantastic game. Cannot wait for more.


Review by toofine89
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2017-11-05 07:06:19

Solidly one of the best games I've seen on this website.  With a little more content I may move it evern further up the list.  Decent story, good dungeon design so far, great visuals, and promises good H-scenes to come.


Review by GateKeeper
Version reviewed: 0.2 on 2017-11-05 00:44:13

I'm going to be honest here.  I used to play a LOT of RPG maker games, and there are simply so many abandoned RPG maker games out there that I find it very difficult to get excited about one, and its very rare that I even bother to download one unless its either got an insane number of likes or is complete.

That said, when I just saw the update for this crop up, I realized something significant:  Not only was this a game that I had enjoyed playing the first build of and was looking forward to seeing more of, but I was actually EXCITED to see an update. 

 

This is not your typical RPG maker game.  Yes, it uses the same mechanics as almost any other game created with the program, the sprites, the maps, all of that.  But that's really where the similarities end.  The art is special, working perfectly with the game, and the feel of the creator's writing.  I like the art in a lot of games, but this is the kind of thing I actively look up for myself because I REALLY like the style.  But even saying that, where the game shines brightest is the writing, its fun and natural, with good flow that pulls you right along.

 

This is one of those rare gems that sweeps you up before you even realize its happened and no matter how much content  was there, it would never be enough.

 

Top notch work, please keep it up!

 

I'll be diving right into this new build tonight, and I suspect I'll be every bit as excited about the next update as I was to see this one!


Review by Duncan26
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2017-10-25 00:00:00

I've just played the game and I love it. Nice writing and a goofy, fun main character, the CG art is lovely and the intro sets up everything nicely.

Hopefully the next update continues after stepping through the portal as I forgot to save before the dungeon.

Keep up the great work, I'm very eager to see more.

 


Review by munchlax
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2017-10-23 18:28:27

I loved the cg art quality as it has a definite cute, stylized feel.

The story is also very well written, complete with attention to spelling and grammar <3

Yes, the intro does go on a bit long but it's all useful information to establish and setup for later (this early in it counts for a large chunk of the game -- but the quality of the intro and following gameplay was very good and I'm excited to follow for any future updates)


Review by First Snow
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2017-10-21 12:23:35

Light hearted, fun and excellent art, whats not to love. 


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2017-10-20 03:36:44

I hate RPG maker games.

I was so happy about this one when it made fun of it. I could use that laugh.

The story dragged on a little bit but it was fun.

Downside: 1. It is pretty linear. 2. It is short. About 1 hour and a little bit more.

Upside: 1. The 3D models are above par. 2. The dialogue is entertaining 3. The flow is good.

This is definitely on my Ace list. Finger crossed.


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2017-10-19 04:06:41

Came for the wank, stayed for the comedy. Really funny dialogues :) Don´t play RPG maker like games normally but this one is really nice and makes fun of itself and the genre as a whole. Nice!


Review by compaan
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-15 09:13:49

great start

i like that you start as what is actually an npc

hope to see this game finished


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-10 02:11:54

Good game, great story premise!  Would be nice to have a skip for the long intro for when you come out with new versions tho...  and I hate you forever for stopping right at a cliffhanger!  T_T  Seriously tho, got kinda wrapped up in the story, and eagerly looking forward to what was going to happen next, and *WHAM!* end of current content!  The screams of agony echoed throughout the house, waking family members and pets alike!  Laughed a lot at the bull chasing the MC during the tasks, I'd run a 6-minute mile to get away for sure!  Please keep going with this, it was really fun!  =^_^=


Review by Joe Steel
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-07 18:10:33

This isn't a new concept, but it is handled here better than in any of the other games of it's type.  The scenario here is a lot more believable than most, and the idea that the PC is testing the game while the player is learning the game is really well-done. The writing is crisp, the dialogues natural, and the characters blievable.

I'd advise the author to avoid combat as much as possible, since RPG combat is about as much fun as watching paint dry.  There should be plenty of story opportunities that don't involve killing lots of minions and then a boss.  Caliross and Claire's Quest do that well.  Learn from the best.


Review by Gaia6800
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-06 23:38:13

I love the game and can't wait to see more! Please keep working on it! It has a ton of potential! 

 


Review by spadge
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-05 23:59:38

An excellent beginning.  Loving the setting, loving the characters the story and the humor.  Graphically, this is one of the best rpg maker games out there, phenomenal.  As the opening paragraph for this journey, I can't really fault it other than the fact it ended and I wanted more.


Review by Derilk
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-05 19:20:26

has potential, but need more work, and cut down the intro, more than 5 mins of exposition don't entice the player


Review by cr33py
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-05 18:23:50
Wow, what a great start! I liked the artwork and the last half of the story. Some of it made me cringe, but it was still really good. Thanks!

Review by navigator_dan
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2017-10-05 15:43:33

I'm not a fan of RPG but this one is very good. Excellent writing, humour, good pictures. Can't wait to see/read more. Thanks !


Review by Werofive
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-05 10:13:28

When I read the plot I thought it was going to be something like "monline" but this author clearly has a setting and a story thought out.

Good lighthearted writing with a ton of humor, particularly the bull bit had me laughing. Many of the characters however seem to be tropes and the main character seems to be written as an idiot, which i find bit annoying. I hope this is because of the initial lack of content and that it will improve once the characters get more depth. The game has a few choices that hint that there will be multiple routes in the future but these choices don't seem to influence anything major just yet.

The rendered images are of a surprising high quality, the best I've ever seen in a rpg game or a free erotic game for that matter. Really top notch. There is only one sex scene implemented as far as I can tell but it's worth the download.

The combat is still a bit basic. You'll combat a few mice armed with a broom and basic attacks which makes these early battles tedious. Especially because the mice have a lot of health making each battle last ~1 minute. 

 

Only about 40 minutes of content in version 0.1.0 but the quality is really high. The game has a polished look for a first release and it has the potential to become a site classic. My biggest concern is the combat which will hopefully get more challenging and offer more variety later on. I hope the patreon kicks off and the game will get regular updates. 

8/10 ,recommended. 


Review by Zer0zero
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-05 00:33:14

Holy crap.  Well done!!! Where to start?

 

Dialogue : A - Absolutely defines the characters and is really well done!  Beautiful script.

Game Play : B - Awesome job! Not mucht here yet, but whats there is really solid.

Cut Scene Graphics : A++.  Compared to the other games that use 3D cutscenes - facial expressions ON POINT.  Smoother character design - not blocky and 3D model feeling.  The best part might be the damn backgrounds - very immersive.  I don't know if you are making them yourself or not, but well done to whoever did make them.

Sex Scenes :  ?? Too early to know.  Hopeful though!

 

Overall : For whats there - A.

 

Keep it up!  Set a decent release schedule - keep up the this level of work and I'll be a patron.


Review by Wyrnfrae
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-04 16:56:41

It's a good start, intro is long, and content are few right now, but what did you expect ? It's a first release.

Art is good, characters are introduced and have potential developpement. On the downside, we have no way of knowing what's to come, (pretty expected for a first version) and wether choices have an actual impact (thinking about the little girl here) or will only be side contents. It's also a shame that we don't have full body pics of the characters when they are introduced, but it might come in following versions.

fights are sincerely not that long, mices are 5-6 turns(250 hp), heal in-beetween, boss is a hp bag(2000), but he hits weakly, so it's not even hard, you fight up to five mices, but can do with three, It does feel bad to  charge tp but not use them, we're still lv. one though.

MV hates me or my computer hates MV because for some reasons I lag. insanely so. the intro should be about two minutes long for most people, it took me ten... Please create a skip intro button (unless it's the kind of thing rpg maker hates because it forgets to initialiazes some values, in that case please don't).

All in all a short first version, though I'd bet a lot of us have seen worse (I have, on this very site), probably clearable in fifteen minutes, showcasing a good start for a potentially good game. I'm ready for whatever's next


Review by Kuskusur
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-04 16:19:06

This game is definately going on my "to watch" list.

First, I am not sure if this is the games main goal, but I laughed my "lower back" off. Honestly, I still have no Idea where it is.

Secondly, this game might still be in an early development stage, but it has been made with great care to the detail. The game seems completely done, as long as there is still content (so no running around for hours searching for the apple that has not been integrated). The story is, though completely wacko, stingent and understandable. The humour is very well integrated into the game and it doesn't seem forced.

I am really looking forward to see how the story is going to unfold.

Thank you for creating this game.


Review by lucastito1
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-04 13:44:26

I love! But as an early review already said, enemies has a lot of HP


Review by missrachellane
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-04 12:25:57

I'm not very big on RPG Maker games but this one has a plot I'm very interested in so I figured I'd give it a go. It's off to quite a damn good start. Looking forward to seeing more down the line.


Review by phoenyxfrost
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2017-10-04 09:29:08

The game is really fun, I really like the story and the characters. I can't wait to see more.

 

2 drawbacks though :

-> I know it's early but not enough sexy time ;)

-> Enemies are HP bags. Cut down their health by 2, the fights are way too long.