The Anax: Call of the Cursed One

Author: Anaximanes
Version: 1.0.0
Last Updated: 2017-10-21 12:57:03


Review by lord_rashiel
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-11-02 14:44:55

"The Anax" is yet another very solid story from Anaximanes, and if the cast of characters, including the protagonist, can get a bit bland and two-dimensional, the villain makes up for it. The Anax is a very well crafted monster, and if he ultimately might not be that scary, his personal story is very well made. Both the photographs and the sound are of the highest quality, and the game has an open ending that somehow doesn't make me want to strangle the developer.

Full review can be read here: https://beliar-cos.blogspot.lt/2017/11/the-anax-call-of-cursed-one-review.html


Review by Higheh
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-27 08:45:20

Absolutely superb piece of work. Very specific fetishes, as is often the case with The Anax's work, but amazingly well told and such depth throughout. The various ends are good and the ability to replay very easily after reaching a bad end is a nice touch. The amount of music and voice acting makes it really special. The presentation of piece goes well beyond anything I ever expected and I have to say I was hooked from start to finish and will play through all the avalible content when I have time. Looking forward to you finishing your other pieces and it has been a pleasure to see what you can achieve after watching your works for the past 18 months. Keep up the amazing work. I will also sacrifice my soul to The Anax if you manage to complete Giggle Night next.


Review by themscra
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-26 07:23:21

What a pleasure it was to play this game. I've been looking out for anything by Anixmanes since the equally enjoyable Slugs and Bugs, so have spent a fair few hours immersed in this. I've unlocked all the endings to Eve's story and am now going through the Epilogue/Anax's story, unlocking all the characters.

It really stands out how much time and effort the author has put in to writing this story. If you've played Slugs and Bugs, plus all the previews of his other stories, you can appreciate how he's tied them all together in a shared universe. When you consider all this work has been put into games that are released for free, I'm amazed. Plus this game has been released in finished format, no releasing a bare bones concept and asking for funding to produce more.

Others have mentioned the lack of sexual content and that is probably fair. If you enjoy corruption and mind control, then there's plenty here for you, the same if you are a horror fan. There's not so much in the way of outright porn. There are plenty of different fetishes catered for in the epilogue, not all of which are my bag, but Anax has made it clear what's coming and made it easy for you to skip if you wish. Personally, I loved the epilogue focusing on twisting someone's political beliefs, both because it was well-written and mind control is a fetish of mine. I'd suggest it's not the game to play if you want to get off quickly, but as long as the themes included interest you, I can't see why the game wouldn't arouse you.

There is a lot of choosing one branching path, then reloading to an earlier point and choosing a different path to see everything, but the author makes it easy. I do the same in RAGS games and find it much easier to do so here. The various story paths and endings are interesting and the manips are all of a very high quality to my untrained eye.

I put this game up as one of the best on the site, not least because it's very different to the majority of the content here (which I also love) and it's nice to enjoy a change of pace now and again. Thanks Anixmanes and I look forward to future releases.


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-25 19:11:37

I admit I didn't read through every page and probably skidded at blazing speeds at time, but I cannot diminish the whole. The fonts, the magical text, the diversified characters (mostly and pleasingly women), the depth of corruption, the many endings, the mysteries unraveled and occasionally kept at bay, the eerie and time pieces that form an atmosphere of horror and finally the well polished and complete work. Bravo!


Review by manarak
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-25 06:39:00

nicely made interactive story, yet it's not the style I like.

I played the first story, the adult content is rather tame, there is no cock in the entire story.

the story would not lose anything if nudity and lewdness was removed, it feels like pasted on a horror story.

again, nicely made and I'm sure many will enjoy it.

 


Review by Razieal
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-25 02:32:58

I can not express in words adequately enough how entertained I was by your work, and thank you for sharing it with me and everyone else lucky enough to find time to pour through it for free.  I spent all of last night, until almost 6 or so (i lost track of things  hypno4 ) playing, and most of this afternoon... I look forward to what follows, wishing I had any money to spare to offer.  I suggest to anyone here reading my post, give it a read, give it two... I still need to find some characters I some how still haven't run into, or unlocked.

Some notes from me: I LOVE, the fact that you let us go back when making choices, to experience all you wrote, no need to save spam or rush through what I've already read.  I wish more CYOA did something like this, not just to save time, but sometimes it's just frustrating, being a completionist and not always knowing where you made the last 'wrong' turn, though I do enjoy me some 'bad' ends.  I Like some of the warnings, but I wish there was an option to turn them off, at my own 'risk' of course, just to keep from knowing or having some 'hint' as to the result of the choice until after it's made... but that, is really my only criticism that I can really think of as a major thing.  The other that now comes to mind is, sometimes how to unlock what I have seems, off, sometimes running into a character that wasn't unlocked until running into them much later again, but then again, i could just click and unlock them all (nice feature, and thanks for the warning on that one, i almost ruined half my fun) so really if it ever becomes actually frustrating i can just click a button, so i don't think it's that big a deal.

Well done, just exquisitely well done Anaximanes...


Review by HypnoKitten
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-24 18:34:11

Fantastic and stunning interactive novel, love it :). The characters are pretty cool (there are a lot of them but I got by with only caring about a few), the audio is on point, the environment creates some tension, and the plot is cool, engaging, and has the elements of an actual story.  It's nowhere near as squeaky as slugs and bugs (great for many, kinda sad for me), the plots are one-pass (limited tree and no need to back through - bad ends play out quickly and give you helpful links back to 'the choice'), the images are slightly too dark in some places (may be problem with my monitor), but overall totally worth a playthrough.  Love that the ending is 'happy' more in the context of... Well, most of the people on this board I suppose.  Very neat

 


Review by pukl
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-22 19:29:42

So what can I say? I'll make it short. There nothing to loose here, give it a try, there's much to read here, so you gotta catch up. It is a massive story with some choices later. True, Slugs and Bugs was more like a game. This is an interactive novel. The music, pictures and story create an eerie atmosphere and altough it is not totally my kink, it all makes it up to that.


Review by PsychoFox
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-10-22 15:44:13

This is by far one of the most ambitious yet well done interactive novels I have ever seen. I give this 10/10. Definitely lives up to the all the hype. The story, manips, atmosphere, branching paths are just perfect. What I didn't expect was the banger soundtrack! Loving it a lot. Anyone into sexy mindcontrol fetishes should certainly give this a try.