Do it for the band Man!

Author: agnostic
Version: 0.3.6
Last Updated: 2019-07-31 07:57:43


Review by Candy51
Version reviewed: 0.3.6 on 2021-09-13 19:29:49

I would definatley love to see this one continue , the concept and charaters are great , it leaves you wanting more .....


Review by alwaysagirl
Version reviewed: 0.3.6 on 2021-08-29 12:58:58

Please dont take the Negative Reviews too seriously.  they must of Woke up on the Wrong side of the Bed lol.  sure this game is not Perfect, but what game is for 100% of the people?. i am sure there is a lot more people who like this game then don't like it.  i still hold out hope that you continue this game =. and we can find a way to turn the other 2 guys into girls  and make it a Chick Band :)  i don't mind the grinding at all.  i really do love this concept and is one of my top 3 games that i look for an update every single day.  I love your style!!! ;)


Review by aloopy
Version reviewed: 0.3.6 on 2021-08-29 05:06:43

The prolog takes time to set up the main character, describing how they are not large, or muscular and have a feminine voice.

We get a plausible rationale for the MC dressing as a girl, and then the possibility of continuing that charade.

But then, just as we've been shown the promise of a good "no magical nonsense" story, with a character who has to make a genuine transition (of some sort) and a whole host of possibilities of how that might go... a dumb instant magical transformation occurs, everything goes a bit "succubus contract" and what was best about this story was just thrown out of the window.

Then once the game gets started, we're faced with the worst parts of the whole "girl life" genre, down to and including counting the uses of your blandly generic shampoo bottle.

No.

Just ... no.

A game needs to do a lot to overcome a terrible game cliche like that, and it didn't do anywhere near enough - the meandering writing of the prolog wasn't enough to overcome the obvious choice of exhausted cliches. Some games can get away with it, but they have more spark, or better visuals, or they are old enough to have inspired the cliches. This is not those one of those games.

Reaching the convenience store was enough to turn me off this almost completely after the awful reversal.

I'd heard some good things about this game, but I don't see them borne out in starting to play it.

Overall, a real pity that this didn't go for a realistic, slow-burner transformation. As a premise, it's a great idea; pity there was no real attempt to follow through on that.

Also a pity that it appears to replicate some of the worst elements of Girl Life/Life Choices/Maria Wardrobe Freedom etc.

 

I continued to play, despite misgivings, and wasn't really rewarded. There's a pared down version of Life Choices, where none of the economics makes any sense and where there is not much that can happen. Almost everywhere you go and everything you do, you bump straight into a "placeholder" or a "not yet implemented". I ground through it for a good while in search of any content but there wasn't much to be had.

So that irritating shampoo counting, and other stuff, is not even important - the economy is such that you'll never worry about consumables. Literally, never. Also, the rent payment is bugged and can fire twice. 

 

I guess some people will like this game. They will enjoy a magical transformation, or the (probably) succubus elements, or counting their shampoo uses, but it's not for me. It's also so obviously missing any content besides what is very easy to access early on. There's not a lot of point playing it at this point. It might become worth another look if it gets developed further, otherwise there are likely better ways to spend your time.

 


Review by LenioTG
Version reviewed: 0.3.6 on 2020-11-28 12:48:06

Honestly, I was expecting more content from such a classic game.

After the intro, the game feels very grindy, but maybe that's just because a lot of planned content has not been created yet.

I'll be curious to play the final version! :)


Review by Tilla
Version reviewed: 0.3.6 on 2020-07-24 01:21:40

A bit year since last update but I wish this one would get finished!


Review by freya102
Version reviewed: 0.3.6 on 2020-05-10 06:53:01

its a fairly ok game but its too under developed to be enjoyable I found myself hitting dead ends far too early on in playing.

Has a lot of potential though.


Review by ff87
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-07-06 06:01:53

It's a good game. Very interesting concept, the pact with the devil, sorry "Evol records". The game mechanics are good, it's a shame there is no ending yet.

It has lot's of possibilities to develop: MC can have second thoughts, disbelieve, trouble hiding her manly bits(maybe punished by Evol records), more girly thoughts (being unhappy with messy hair, unclean appartment, loving boys), more girly problems (hit on by boys(while having a penis), periods, pregnancy).

I'm very curious about next versions.


Review by Cptn Spalding
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-04-09 20:21:30

 This has the makings of a great game. Please keep the updates coming. It could use more sex scenes to break up the grindiness, and the energy mechanic really slows the game down at points (maybe cut the energy costs down to 1-3 points increments instead of 5-10), but those are my only complaints. Great game, please keep working on it.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-03-09 19:33:35

A very slow MtF transformation game with a dark theme. You struggle your life as a band hoping for an audition and life hit on to you, hard. Money is an issue. You band relationship is an issue. Your parent company, your landlord... If you don't do it right, you suicide.

Some of the bugs I mentioned in my first review were fixed right away. It means that the author is active on the project, which is a thumb up. Shampoo and  soap correctly used, along with a few other minor glitches. BTW, Bath Happiness +2 is not working and clothing display is still at fault when you try to wear the clothes you bought from the mall.

I tried working in the music store and it was hell comparing to the waitress job. The music store job is 8 hours per day comparing to the 6 hrs shift as a waitress. The pay is $25 ~ $40 per 8/hrs comparing to $70~/6hrs from waitress, making the that $2000 monthly rent seems to be some very heavy burden... It also makes me run out of time everyday: sleeping takes 8 hours, work 8 hours, guitar 2 hours, house cleaning 3 hours, exercise 3 hours, showering 15mins, makeup, brushing hair... add that all up and that is more than 24 hours a day... and you have to explore the area, talk to your bands, go to the live house, masturbate and do other things.

I tried on the second run as a waitress and life is a lot easier. There was even a random event. I guess the waitress job is the default job in this game.

I hit the current end of development after the first audition. There are also a few placeholders around the game. I am looking forward to see this game turning into something bigger.


Review by Malhavok
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-03-08 14:01:55

I pretty strongly disagree with the people who are complaining about the suicide game over condition. If they are going to be upset by something like that, then frankly, perhaps the game is not for them. I have my own game that many people have had both praise for and some harsh criticism like "I just can't play this because of X'. Well, that's fine, go play something else. My point is - hold on to your vision of however you want the game to be. Art isn't a comitee process.

That being said, I'm going to agree with some other comments

I like this game conceptually. In fact, it really stuck with me even though I played it months ago, so I think you're heading in the right direction. Just keep working on it.


Review by GraphiteShores
Version reviewed: 0.1.5 on 2018-08-25 12:57:59

The biggest issue with the game I have is that it includes a mental stability value that, if it get's to a low enough number, will cause the player character to commit suicide. 
I mean...I get including the mental stability trigger and having a game over, but to have your player character kill themselves is rather harsh and just cruel. There are plenty of more creative and erotic ways to write a game over with mental stability.

Otherwise? The game is rather simple but does have interesting ways to do time, jobs and travelling. It is currently bare bones but seems promising and worth a look for anyone interested in twine.


Review by mixedveggies
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 on 2018-02-14 14:32:40

Played for a few hours. Chose to always pay rent and got the guitar shop job. At this point I have no idea how to make any sexual content appear. Otherwise, look forward to more choices such as clothes.


Review by EuropeanRedFox
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2018-02-07 21:38:59

I really enjoy the band element along with the mtf transforamtion. I have always wanted to play a game that had some sort of musical career. so this is scratching that itch. Hopefully it continues to develp and add more depth to what it currently has.


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2018-02-05 22:09:46

For a game that is just starting up, the potential is immense. The author found inspiration from MtF and the anime Beck and it shows. I have great and high hopes for this story. It has a bit of a ring similar to a fanfic I once read. 

The Sidereus Prophecy

Not quite the same premise, but I sure hope Beck, that fanfic and other things inspire this author to greatness and beyond.

 


Review by exprmntle
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2018-02-05 15:25:16

I am falling in love with this game.  I like the mechanics, I like the basic idea, and I really like the cheat menu because it allows you to avoid becoming an insta-girl!  I'd much rather have a long, slow transformation that maybe ends with the sissy main character asking for gender reassignment.  

Still, there's not too much content so far, so I'm looking forward to advances in the plotline.  Story is the main reason why I play these games, rather than the game part, per se.  The writing is clear and concise with few of the "early version" typos.

I look forward to the next versions!

 

<ORIGINAL REVIEW BELOW>

OK, I have really mixed feelings about this game.  At one level, I LOVE the initial premise, of a boi convinced to dress as a woman so his band can succeed.  I seem to recall a couple of great stories on Fictionmania with this premise and I enjoy that general idea.  I also like the idea of the main character struggling to make it in the music business in the big city.  I love the sand-box interface and I can see how additions could be made that would allow for progression and new encounters.  So far, so good.

However, I was a bit disappointed that, despite that great initial set up, it turns out to be just another poof-instagirl game.  I may be in the minority on this, but those games just don't have the same kind of appeal as the idea of the MC slowly changing himself into herself.  I just like that kind of slow change.  

Also, the MC has to reject his original band, the guys he liked so much that he/she was willing to risk humiliation to change for them!  I don't think the MC should do that and I don't think the MC would do that considering what little we know about the MC.

If you like the idea of the main character instantly and without apparent consequences, then by all means check this game out.

 


Review by korc
Version reviewed: 0.0.9 on 2018-01-26 21:22:46

Game broken.

 

You remember as you leave your bedroom that today is the day rent is due.

"Fuck, what the hell am I going to do. Maybe I can talk to him and work something out...hopefully"

Head to Bills' Room

 

Pay Rent placeholder

<<52 -=30>><<943 = 0>>Bad Outcome

 

used cheat for money and same result. There is no gonig back, game stuck.


Review by Terrone 2
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-06 14:20:15

very, very good indeed, for a concept is very to much, but i will see always the money stat and energy stat XD, wow you make a great work it is unexpected for a simple concept


Review by Joe Steel
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-06 11:56:37

Thanks for sharing this.  As you observe in your intro, this game is inspired by a host of similar games, which are fun and mostly fairly well-developed.  As a designer, you are rightly modeling your work on what has been successful.  Your writing is excellent (the equal of more polished games), and you have an interesting and credible opening scenario.

The problem is that the game IS following in the fotssteps of great games that have been around for a while.  Someone looking at this game will be asking themselves "why should I play this, rather than the much more developed Cursed, or Sim Girl, or Accidental Woman, etc?"  The answer would be story, I presume.  And this is where I would advise the to reconsider how they are handling the story.  I write about this in the dscussion thread.  The problem is that there is an intersting intro, then, bam, MAGIC!, and then the story completely shift to a pedestrian life sim barely distinguishable from its predecessors.

As for the game itself, it works pretty well mechanically, but the player doesn't have enough information to make the choices correctly.  One has to constantly open the "you" tab to discover how happy they are (to know whether to choose the happiness actions or something else), and only discovers how much money they have when depositing or taking out money from the bank/ATM.  Similarly, energy is the currency of the game, but the player never knows how much energy they actually have.  Key parameters should be shown in the left column.  See pretty much every game like this for examples.

So, the premise is interesting, the writing good, but the mechnics flawed and the ongoing scenario (at least so far) fairly bland.  This is a good game for a short playthrough, but could be much better.  I'm sure that it will be better following on what the designer obviously plans (dream sequences, random encounters, etc), but it could be great if the story is deepened and the promise of the intro is followed-through on.

 


Review by beccara
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-06 07:01:15

Heya...

 

as many before me i would've loved to actually see a possible transition without magic.

I liked the idea of being "forced" by the bandmates to land the gig and to make it due and because of the transition.

That'd be a very fitting scenario for the name of the game. Nevertheless the idea of setting it in the business of breaking out as a musician with all the hardships and backstoríes we always hear about our favorite musicians is really great.

Although the game is still a mere concept with loads of placeholders it can turn out a great success.

The skeleton and construct of the game looks great, just waiting to be filled with content and life, so i look forward on your output.

 

xo beccara


Review by randomwave
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-06 03:12:12

Very good game. The magic part .....poof your a girl. I would like to have seen a slower transformation. Choices during the process would make it a little more fun in my opinion. Still a great game.


Review by Jindary
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2018-01-02 10:14:43

1st off, I like the game.   I like the games where you have to live and survive and build up your skills etc...

 

I really liked the beginning the prolog and then the 'magical' part happened and I was thinking I really liked this game up till now.  Only because the prolog is written really well and no hint of magic.  However, I played on and once you are into the city, it has a lot of potential.

I hope to see updates. I would not nitpic about things like the description as it's early on in the game.  Lots of potential!


Review by The_emperor_protects
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2017-12-30 16:28:33

So far the game has been well written and I am interested to see more.

Of course it will be great to be able to actually do something like singing or some gigs as soon as possible instead of just waitress work, but of course propper

developement needs time.

Also, it could be great to add viduals or more details on the appearance. Just "You look okay,..." with little description of the actual body is

a bit boring. But maybe it will follow in future updates.

 

In total I liked it and will look forward to see future updates


Review by vamprince
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2017-12-30 08:21:31

First Snow- After a well written and creative prologue, I was a little disappointed when the actual game appeared to be another lifesim.

agnostic does state in the synopsis- It plays out like a lifesim

Thought that was a little funny, but anyway as for the game so far. I like what you have so far, I do agree with exprmntle, in which I would have enjoyed a slower transfermation but the "poof-insagirl" is fine. All in all, so far so good. Keep up the good work. :p


Review by First Snow
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2017-12-29 22:11:48

After a well written and creative prologue, I was a little disappointed when the actual game appeared to be another lifesim - don't get me wrong those are actually my favorite games on the site, I just expected more originality. Hopefully, you'll continue to exercise your creativity as the game develops and take create new and interesting events/decisions. 


Review by elgrecko87
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2017-12-29 21:56:09

It's a very nice start but it's just that - a start. Looking forward to see where the journey goes.