Unyielding

Author: MercernaryMage
Version: 0.2.13
Last Updated: 2020-07-30 06:09:50


Review by fndom
Version reviewed: 0.2.11.1 on 2020-07-04 09:02:49

Due to the many positive reviews of the game, I gave it a try with high expectations. But what I first found was a wall of text with an almost-unreadable tiny pale brown font over brown background.

After skipping that and playing the combat tutorial I got.. another wall of text, sorry but I'll stick with the games with ugly but responsive UIs.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 0.2.8.1 on 2020-05-24 09:39:11

v0.2.8.1 (PC):

I am very impressed by this visual novel. I found the artwork to be fantastic and enjoyable, the story to be overall very coherant and the interactivity from the game events entertaining and at times challenging.

The main character is someone you can empathise with, but their motivations are very erratic. One moment they're seeking independence from their "lot in life" off the encounter that started the entire story, but from the decisions you make it can be very easy to have them flipped mentally to be a bimbo hussy with the effect lurking in every future encounter you come across. While it does create some mood whiplash at times, by large it's acceptable under the story: they're suffering from the effects of wild magic after all and it's still active.

The NPCs and supporting characters you run across all to this current version have personality and developed back stories. Their motivations are all different and their effects on the main character do link in to the transformations on offer with this game. Your choices do matter and if you are careless you can find yourself at a Bad End (and you'll typically be warned right when you're on the edge of one) or causing discord within your social circle. I did find it a little strange how rape-happy two of the supporting characters are, but again I can give it a pass from not looking at it from the perspective of the story world: they're a lot more liberal than I expected.

The interactivity within the game can be limited or left a full, depending on your preference. Combat is optional if you so choose but turning it off can affecte events. There are items you can buy from a shop to help you in combat and all of the NPCs and your avatar can be levelled up with additional skills to use in the combat encounters. Active CYOA is in play in the game, much in the way that choice selection occurs in any visual novel, but there are consequences to your actions (transformations chiefly) and do risk leading to Bad Ends. Fortunately if you hit a bad end without saving, the game will take you back a step so you can see the other paths.

The artwork is top notch. While there is still development work going on and some of the artwork I was being shown did not exactly match the current state of my character, for the most part it was correct. I was quite amused to find that certain transformations do affect the story world past your avatar to maintain the "reality" being set around the wild magic at play (later main story event): it was a really nice touch. The backgrounds though frequently get same-same in both the visual novel sections and the combat sections, but it's not enough to be anything other than a passing observation nuisance.

Bugs are currently in the game the further you go. Got to see a strange exploding fireball graphic at one point that kept going throughout an entire fight and at a later fight against two special enemies with 2x2 grid hitboxes, the game didn't let my avatar or some combat actions that should have been working trigger. And in a much later game exploration section the Sleep and Rest buttons were broken. But hey, beta: I was able to cope with it and I am sure you can too.

TL;DR this is a great visual novel/interactive CYOA game to go through at least once with good transformations and the artwork makes it all worth it.

 


Review by MercernaryMage
Version reviewed: 0.2.7.2 on 2020-05-14 00:36:18

@Rust Kaiser

Combat is supposed to be disabled in the android version!  Thanks for bringing this up.


Review by Rust Kaiser
Version reviewed: 0.2.7.2 on 2020-05-13 15:41:51

Quite enjoyable content so far. Only real complaint is that the Android version seems unstable with glitching text on the battle screen, unresponsive settings button with said button disappearing entirely after the first battle.


Review by AoS
Version reviewed: 0.2.7.2 on 2020-05-11 05:18:21

This is a great game. While things seem to be fairly linear, the story it tells is good enough and executed well enough that trading off a less linear approach for them is worth it. The art is some of the best I've seen in a game like this and I love it.

Combat adds to the game, reinforcing what is already a very well fleshed out world and characters, while still being light enough not to make the game feel slow, grindy and frustrating.

For the main character, Catelly, I particularly love the angle her curse takes in making the game erotic. To explain, often in erotic games like this with MTF transformation, it's either an 'embrace the changes' or 'resist the changes' option. While in Unyielding the choices are similar in that many are whether on not to give in to the curse, neither option feels unrealistic. 99% of games here, either one or both feel completely out of character to take, breaking immersion in the games world and story. Unyielding doesn't have that problem, both giving in and resisting feel natural and progress the game.

Definitely worth playing! I took me awhile to get through all the content present at this stage, and I loved every moment. One of those rare instances where I'm looking forward to future updates not just because I love the erotic parts, but also because the characters are likeable and interesting, and I geniunely am engrossed in the unfolding story.

Thanks a tonne for all the effort and sharing! I've really enjoyed Unyielding so far!


Review by johnpacifist1
Version reviewed: 0.2.7.1 on 2020-05-07 11:47:32

One of my absolute favorites on this site! Great content, frequent updates. If you're into main character M->F and ensuing mental/physical changes based on your actions, you're in the right neighborhood. 

Great pictures on many of the routes. Above par writing with fleshed out characters, believable interactions, and world-building. Scenes follow a cohesive narrative in the fantasy setting. There is even a pretty cool combat system if you're into it, but you can skip it if you're not interested. And plenty of smut.

Fantastic game! Would recommend to pretty much anyone into main character M->F.


Review by willnotwork
Version reviewed: 0.1.21.1 on 2019-12-02 15:02:41

Super-aggressively updated, with some neat gimmicks. In short, if you're looking for a fun zappy game with some plot and isn't all sex, this is a good one to try.


Review by mysteriousforce
Version reviewed: 0.1.16 on 2019-09-23 03:56:47

The game is not so short now, as it was a year ago, it got a decent amount of content - at least 20-30 minutes of pure reading without fights (well over an hour if you take care to check out every possible route). UI looks pretty nice, even if the spacing is off sometimes and clickable buttons replicating keyboard functionality (e.g. esc and ctrl) are missing. It got twice as hot just in the last update alone (where Cat can get preggers from Lizette), not to mention all the content and graphics added to it over the course of the past year.

The only place which still requires a lot of work (and not just adding more and more content infinitely) are the minigames - its still pretty easy to lag through the wall (almost inevitable in some fights, e.g. against the Flesh crafter as Carol her sprite just pushes yours outside the grey box), some fights are insanely hard when they shouldn't be and some are too easy. Unity engine also has performance issues - if I skip a lot of stuff with Ctrl key sometimes weird graphical bugs will happen like sprites not disappearing or icons from fights being stretched (I think my laptop's powersaving video card can't keep up, but I don't understand why would I have to enable the discrete card for a 2d game, RenPy games never have these troubles).

But if you just disable the fights and ignore performance issues? This is a great game. Hot plot, good writing, pleasing style of pictures, a consistent universe (not just stuff happening convenient to the plot "because magic", but there's an attempt to flesh out how magic works and how it doesn't work, very much appreciated).


Review by bsharp
Version reviewed: 0.0.25 on 2018-11-20 21:28:22

The author writes very well, even though their english is not so good.  They have a very clear and consistent view of their universe.  I love the characters and the story, but I wish I could have some impact on it.  Everything seems predetermined and linear.  I will keep coming back to this one to see what happens next.  The pictures are very good, but I wish there were more.  Sometimes, the text is describing something I'd really like to see, but the images remain unchanged.  


Review by EyeLoch
Version reviewed: 0.0.24 on 2018-11-01 13:30:46

This is getting better and better - I hope work on this game continues to be enjoyable :)


Review by Khorothis
Version reviewed: 0.0.24 on 2018-11-01 08:04:08

The artwork is very nice and the story does its job well. Once it's done I'm certain it'll set the standard in its genre, not by being exceptional (except for the artwork), but by being consistently well done. If you've been on this site for a few months you'll know exactly how big that is. There are few people here who can do a solid job, so I'm always happy when I find another.

The only thing this game needs is a human spellchecker. I'm a grammar nazi, so I admit that I have a strong bias here, but when you're going through a scene with pleasant-looking characters and background, and even with a fitting ambience (it seems like a small thing but it makes a lot of difference in the long run), and you see otherwise perfect language use, spelling mistakes (like "woman" and "women" getting mixed up) stick out like a like a sore thumb.


Review by pedoune
Version reviewed: 0.0.23 on 2018-10-21 23:25:13

 @caf3in3

That's actually a common problem I have with Mediafire lately - when the download page finishes loading it sometimes reverts to a previous download page. No idea why it happens, but usually the problem can be solved by simply paying attention, and hitting your browser's back button.

Oh, and this game is really cool. Try it.


Review by Jetsmets11
Version reviewed: 0.0.21 on 2018-09-20 16:11:55

Lots of potential in this game. I absolutely love the story and the art. The only thing I don't really like is how character images flip and flop but the images stay static, hopefully this gets updated in the future. Love the story and am very excited to see it all the way through. The characters are great too and sex scenes are well written (also hoping for more of those in the future). Maybe along this line you could give the character the option to just go to a tavern and fuck a random guy but if you do it too much or too often then it gives a bad end? Love your game and I just want to see it keep growing since I love it so far.


Review by Terrone 2
Version reviewed: 0.0.21 on 2018-09-20 14:53:53

for now is a conversation simulator with a undertale minigames ( i like the minigame), for now this game is boring i hope you make some implementation ad upgrade.

 

i have one question, why you don't make this game on renply


Review by relattic
Version reviewed: 0.0.20 on 2018-09-04 03:17:45

Great game so far. It obviously needs to go on like that a lot longer, but the story and transformation content so far is good.

The UI needs serious improvement though. The default Unity UI is ugly. But it works, so... not too big a deal.


Review by Umaro
Version reviewed: 0.0.17 on 2018-07-11 11:07:48

I would enjoy this game far more if I didn't have to spam clicks to move through text. I don't really understand why that's mapped to left click and not one of the bind-able keys (like Fire 1). With the tendinitis on my clicking hand, the amount of clicking required makes this essentially unplayable for me. 

Also, echoing what another has said, RenPy makes a lot of sense for this game, perhaps moreso than Unity. 


Review by satoshi1
Version reviewed: 0.0.14 on 2018-06-07 23:08:27

Mostly just text and standing images.  The mini games could use some work.  Not much at the moment.  Try it out if you'd like.  There isn't much but a wip UI and a couple of scenes.


Review by anyoldguy
Version reviewed: 0.0.14 on 2018-06-06 06:57:58

Several versions later you are still thrown into the minigame with no explanation of what you are supposed to do.


Review by xkira1995
Version reviewed: 0.0.6 on 2018-03-02 00:39:08

Game isn't working for me and I'm using a 64 bit. Furthest I get is clicking new game.


Review by Cinnabar
Version reviewed: 0.0.5 on 2018-02-24 22:35:22

I am very glad I managed to find this game, because it hits on almost all my transformation fetishes. Although I doubt this'll happen, breast expansion would be like the cherry on top for me.

The combat is very interesting, although like another reviewer said, it could use a little tutorial before the start of the game. I was lucky enough to quickly realize what you were meant to do with the coloured orbs, but others likely won't as quickly.

I am very much looking forward to this. Cheers.


Review by Ver Greeneyes
Version reviewed: 0.0.4 on 2018-02-15 07:49:03

Pretty good so far, looking forward to see where this goes. As far as I can tell there's no save system right now, I hope that's planned. The combat system could use a little tutorial as I didn't realize the color of the orbs mattered until I took a peek at the walkthrough.


Review by zerocatch22
Version reviewed: 0.0.3 on 2018-01-31 03:30:01

Just an FYI for other people trying to play on a 32 bit Windows platform: This game seems to only be built for Windows 64 and will not run.


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-21 23:18:37

interesting... not sure how I feel about this one tbh.  Good story, and the curse is reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle in a big way (a plus! Hayao Miyazaki really knew his stuff!).  Not too crazy about the minigame however... rlly hard to know what to do at first, altho it got easier...  Unique among minigame gimmicks I've seen here tho, which is a plus!  Also, is there a save function I'm missing? bc esc just exits the game completely.  Whichever way this goes in the love/hate scheme of things, rlly looking forward to further developments!  Side-note: I have endured minigames I hated before for a good overall game, so even if I decide I hate the minigame, it might be worthwhile for the game itself... like the bug slide from Donkey Kong 64!  Most annoying minigame evur, but worth it to finish DK64!


Review by youisme01
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-17 21:27:51

I like this game, more of this pls. Hopefully we can get a few updates in, what's there currently is quality but not too much content.


Review by Crissa
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-01-17 14:17:23

Previously:  Doesn't support anything but PC.  Which is weird, Unity allows you to build for multiple platforms with a single click.

Currently (0.0.2):  Mac version in Forum thread; fixes fixed display width.  Interesting concept, but the game/mission sections don't explain themselves very well.  It starts with the character being turned into a girl, but it's just exposition.  So much exposition...

At any rate, a fairly interesting mechcanic, if very alpha at this point.  Nice to see people trying different UIs even if they don't really work out.


Review by Smisenost
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2018-01-16 03:10:21

Game is formated in such a way that smaller screens (such as laptops) will have important information cut off the top. Unity allows you to change the display window size as well as make it windows instead of full screen. From a testing stand point you may want to consider using this option to see what others will see when playing your game.

It is so pronounced on my primary laptop that it is just this side of unplayable. If you intend to design for a specific screen size or range of sizes, please include them in the game description so that people know what to expect, and also test for the declared ranges.


Review by Narcissa
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2018-01-16 02:58:03

The writing is really good, granted with a few minor grammatical errors (using Lose where Loss should be, etc..) but overall its really well written. However, the presentation leaves a bit to be desired. Its likely a fault of Unity and the way it scales but I frequently couldn't read the text at the very top, and overall everything was very almost 8 bit looking which while the art that was there was very very nice, it only made the contrast worse. Also though I enjoy the combat mechanic, it took some time to understand with no kind of tutorial or explanation given. I also felt the writing style would of lent better to the first person, but that is neither here nor there. Totes gonna subscribe through. It has a lot of potential.