Dream Therapy Series, by Logan Scodini

Author: logan.scodini
Version: Dream Therapy 3 (v0.8-public)
Last Updated: 2019-07-31 16:48:27


Review by Tizzzy
Version reviewed: Dream Therapy 3 (v0.8-public) on 2021-04-07 19:32:02

lovley game, amazing art, good custom story. Two chefs kisses out of Two


Review by Eschation
Version reviewed: Dream Therapy 3 (v0.4-public) on 2019-06-16 01:03:57

I have some issues with what I can't do/can't avoid in this game. Obviously, I would expect to be limited, but some of the limitations make little sense even within the context.

Early in the first game, I get the option to go lesbian. Sweet, I can avoid all those MF scenes that I don't want to see. Especially handy since my character is a guy behind the scenes, which means these are effectively MM content. That's something I want to see even less than MF content. However... doing this will, as far as I can tell, lock me out of getting 100% on the next scene.

What the hell is 100%, anyway? Like, it seems to be "most closely matches what my spouse/mother-in-law would want." I wanted to go for 100%, but being locked out of it so early...

And then, I hit DT2, and if I go full 100%, I suddenly have no choice but to suck a dude's dick... why? My fiance is female. Not only that, I was literally given a choice, but I was so "submissive" and "obedient" that when I was literally offered a choice... I couldn't choose... what the fuck?

Why was I even acting as a housewife to a dude to begin with?

You gave us the option to avoid sexually interacting with males early on... then you link it to story success in two different ways. Try to stay off the MF path? No 100% for you! Go for 100%? MF forced on you!

A couple of bug reports on the "complete" games. In Dream Therapy, the scenes just after you meet the guide, before you choose whether to go with the male or female guide, are just black screens. In Dream Therapy 2, I encountered a situation where it would flicker images repeatedly between the past scene and the present one. It may have been triggered by the "skip" function. It's not game-breaking. I consider this part of a "review" because an author going around calling their games complete when they still have bugs is noteworthy. I also really want them to be considered incomplete so the issues I have with them can be fixed.

In both DT1 and DT2, there are scenes where you build up certain stats like submissiveness and corruption. These are odd because: 1. The effect of the stats is not obvious, other than the aforementioned submissiveness and obedience = dick sucking scene I mentioned earlier, and 2. The stats are reused, but the amounts are not. I forget which stats in particular, so I'll use a fill-in word, "sparkle." So, in one scene, I get my "sparkle" to 100%, then in a later scene I start at 30%? Maybe the idea is it was 100% of the possible "sparkle" at the time? It's not explained.

DT3 Issues:

It's a prequel, despite being numbered like a sequel.

Strongly implied that there's going to be unavoidable intimate male interaction... again.

There's a conversation rating system that's just ridiculous, because while I can sometimes tell what the correct option is, other times it is a complete guess. You also get two at some points for some reason, making it even more confusing to find what you're missing.

I suppose I should mention that while I find this series to not really qualify as games so much as interactive novels, and don't consider some of your choices to make all that much sense, I do enjoy most of the process of progressing through my character's corruption.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: Dream Therapy 3 (v0.4-public) on 2019-05-31 02:25:12

The last time I played it, it ended at chapter 1 scene 3, or 5, I couldn't remember. I was glad that the first two chapters are finished and shined some light on what the story was all about.

First of all, the review. Dream Therapy is a visual novel, with stat-wise cyoa elements. The visual, and audio, part was done in great excellency. There is little doubt that it is a game with top notch 3d images. That said, that is about all of the positivity I am going to throw at it.

Now, here comes the bad part. The story was slow... and I am not talking about the story progress. I was talking about the text display. It goes with the audio and visual to act like a subtitle... but since the game is not really a movie, the forward button recived 5 clicks per seconds from me all the time since the beginning of the launch of the story. My fingers are very sore at this moment.

I am sure that the author noticed this problem. What he, or she, used to solve it, was a cut down of story telling. I had little idea what the story was all about. I knew it was a therapy, I knew it was a dream. May be my character was drugged. May be he was hypnotised. The story was like a dream and I had no idea where my character was, why he was meant to be there, where he was going, etc. If we take away the sex scenes, the story I made out so far was that my character visited a therapist. He then visited his mother in law. He was then drugged... and... that was about it for the first two chapters.

I don't know. The theme of this game can be very erotic but it isn't clicking for me so far. I wish that the game would be more playable in the future when the author decides to look back at it.


Review by Noknet
Version reviewed: Dream Therapy 2 (v1.00-final) on 2019-04-28 12:38:52

Uhuru N'Uru wrote that this is a visual novel rather than a game, and that if you make the "wrong" choices, the game will get the results it wants to get (by drugging you into compliance) anyway.


I won't argue that Uhuru is wrong, but I doubt that Logan Scodini would argue either.  There is no deception here.  Look at the graphics provided above.  Early on, it's described as "a game of submissive fantasies", then as a "reverse trainer" (not sure what that means)...but by the time we get to Dream Therapy 3, it's described as "A Visual Novel by Logan Scodini".


So yes, it's a visual novel.  Logan is telling the story that he wants to tell.  We are just the audience.  Free will is an illusion...but then, it is a "submissive fantasy".  That will obviously limit replay value, unless you just like the story told so much you want to see it again.
If that lines up with your interests, great.  If not, keep looking.


=-=-=


One thing I wish the game would explain more is why different stats matter.  It will tell you when submission and corruption are increasing, but it doesn't tell us why we should be concerned about it one way or another.  Do we want these values to be maxed out or do we want the opposite?  Should we have her resist with every fiber in her body...or should we just go with the flow and become as submissive and corrupt as the game will allow?  What difference will it make?  I couldn't tell you.


Review by Uhuru N'Uru
Version reviewed: Dream Therapy 2 (v1.00-final) on 2019-04-28 08:20:39

A pretty graphic novel, disguised as a game, with no actual player choice, Time after time, I chooae a "Wrong Answer", get "increase drugs" and then forced to choose the only actuial answer.

The onl;y choice you really get is choose rioght first time, or get drugs to "Choose" for you, No real player choice at all, and as the story progressed even the pretense your choices matter, is gone.

If you want to make a graphic novel, make one, don't pretend to make a CYOA game with no choices that matter.

Dissapointing, and not worth playing.

{Edit} Chapter 3 Just came out today, and I haven't played it, but what was described as a game in Chapter 1, and Chapter 2, is now called a "Visual Novel".

So the major issue i had with this pretty graphic novel, has been addressed by the author, at least in the "Marketing", to determine if fake choices are also gone will take anotrher playthrough.

Well tried playing it, and the lack of any real choices hasn't changed, seems it's not for me, as I just get too annoyed with the fake choices to keep playing, but if you are OK with that aspect, this "Visual Novel" is very well made.


Review by GreatJT
Version reviewed: Public Update 13 (Scene 3-7) on 2019-01-17 19:02:22

I used to be a big fan of Logan's games, but over the course of the last couple years he's changed priorities in development. I loved Transformed in Wonderland, which had actual, detailed, interesting transformations, meaningful interactions and kinky scenes. I actually contributed to his Patreon for a few months while it was in development. But active development ended on TiW shortly afterwards, and ever since his games have shifted to focus more on the (admittedly excellent) graphics and on much more vanilla kinks like BDSM and light hypnosis, which just doesn't do it for me. The games feel like a mostly linear clickathon without much payoff to me now. I'm sure someone loves them, but they just aren't for me anymore, and I'm not entirely sure what they're doing on TFGamesSite at this point.


Review by Fraxo
Version reviewed: Public Update 9 (Scene 3-3) on 2018-09-03 14:53:23

Too linear game with very limited choices. I never understood games that forces the player into a singular path with no chance of a different outcome. What's the point of making it look like a game? Make an animation or a click-your-way-through-novel instead of disguising it as a game. Certainly not my cup of tea.


Review by becomingtgirl
Version reviewed: Public Update 8.1 (Lesbian Path Update) on 2018-08-09 13:16:58

Logan has been creating quality lewd games for long time, but this one is definetely his best. 


Review by sissymaid_louise
Version reviewed: Public Update 8.1 (Lesbian Path Update) on 2018-08-09 13:01:42

I love the game and the update was great but I rather had more chapters added on to it and maybe got the update, later on, I am just maybe being impatient which if I am, I do apologise but I want to get right involved in the game and hopefully experience more of it.  

 

Keep up the great work ☺☻☺


Review by LenioTG
Version reviewed: 0.5 Public (Scene 2-2) on 2018-06-26 10:56:49

I'm liking this game more and more! Can't wait to see how it goes on (and I hope it'll have a lot of MtF content)!! :D


Review by mysteriousforce
Version reviewed: 0.5 Public (Scene 2-2) on 2018-06-25 15:59:02

Author seems to have spent a lot of time polishing CSS and adding animations to buttons and such. Only the order of buttons in the panel below remind you of default sugarcube Twine. Apart from adding fancy colors and animations which slow everything down there isn't much here. Author holds his players as some kind of drooling morons who need explaination on how to press buttons, he even made a tutorial for that, but created few actual content or mechanics.

If you browse other games of this author you'll notice that this is the same stuff as all other games of his: similarly complicated CSS with uselessly long animations, annoying tips and pop-ups, and very few content both story-wise and gameplay-wise.


Review by Tinman
Version reviewed: 0.5 Public (Scene 2-2) on 2018-06-25 10:09:57

Visually fantastic, but there's very little that the player can control.  If you're hoping for some kind of lucid dream fantasy, or even just the power to avoid obvious traps and avoid sexual situations with characters you're not interested in, then this game is definitely not for you.  This is very much a story about the MC submitting.  Regardless of whether the player wants to fight it or not.  At the moment, all you can really do is end sexual scenes early.  If submission and cuckolding are something you're into then this game is for you.  Otherwise the lack of control is probably going to be a turn off.


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-16 13:20:04

High standard visually, content wise there is just 1 stage but that one gives a glimpse that player choices will have strong effect on how the plot progresses. I agree with the other reviewer that the dialogue text speed should be higher or adjustable to cater more impatient players like myself even though the renders surely required huge amounts of work which  the author probably wants the reader to appreciate by not rushing. Played other of the author´s games before, I think I like this one the best so far.


Review by fresh
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-15 10:36:52

Currently there is not much content to provide a proper review, I would say it has potential but as it sits now is barely a proof of concept. So until there is more content basicly any review including this one is meaningless.


Review by HypnoKitten
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-14 21:09:14

The really bad review made me curious, so had to try what was publicly available and.. It's not bad.  It's CG graphics which I accept but are never might first aesthetic preference - but they're decently done and animating them is above and beyond so props. The text is slightly slow and the skip button doesn't always enable right away, but it's not a giant problem for a game at this stage, certainly something that will be easy to iron out.  The writing is lite on depth but that's not unusual, it's just a different part of the erotica spectrum.  For people who like it straight to the point this should be fine.  

So, not enough here to do an in-depth review, just one quick proof of concept scene really, but so far not bad.  I'm curious to see more, and I like that the author pushed themselves artistically, with 3d fades and so on.  Good job, keep going  :)


Review by Legi0n
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-10 05:35:21

Compared to Concubine (the only other LS-game I've played), I am already enjoying I:DT more. I:DT is both less verbose AND more descriptive, and importantly the fetishes seem so far to be tigher and better defined, and that bolsters my interest. Liked and subscribed so far.


Review by elizaclaire
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-09 07:53:41

This has emense potenial .  I'm really enjoying the gameplay and visual effects.  The animated sequences are great.  love to see where this will go.


Review by uytrewq
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-09 07:14:32

I enjoyed this a lot, but it's just too short.


Review by RM750
Version reviewed: 0.3 Public on 2018-05-09 00:29:29

I'll start off by saying that I don't know if I have anything positive to say about this game. In a word, I'd describe it as "Obnoxious".

- Long pauses between dialogue meaning that anyone with a higher reading speed than 3 words per minute will suffer endlessly.

- Stiff talking animations. This isn't voice acted and so these animations where the person poorly lip syncs the soundless dialogue are horrendous.

- Stale, dry writing. I've never particularly loved Logan's writing but I've never thought it was bad. That has since changed. I can safely say that the writing in this is bad. It's painful to read, particularly when there are typos which are especially egregious due to the fact that are approximately 5 words per line. 

- Mediocre graphics. I can appreciate the attempt at a visual medium and I do like something to look at, but the animations as mentioned are bad; the way the characters stand might as well be a T-pose; the scenes are plain and uninteresting; and the camera cuts/zooms are abritrary and whimsical at best. 

- The concept is ok, I guess? "Dream therapy" seems to be a free-pass to do whatever the story needs to do and there is little exposition leading up to this. The exposition that does say anything is cheesy oversharing "This therapy is being paid for by your step-mother who wants you to be a perfect partner for her daughter." Ugh. My eyes could not roll any harder. I'm not looking for hyper-realism or anything drastic, but at least give me some handwavy "science" or something. Anything at all. I need some suspension of disbelief.

- Characters are bland and their actions are ridiculous. About as far as I got before I seriously could not handle any more was the guy whipping his dick out nonchalantly, then the PC(who looks way too young imo which is kind of a monkaS) goes "What is he doing? Is he taking his shorts off? I cannot help but stare? Am I horny now?" or something horrendous like that.

I could probably continue going, but I digress. Never have I felt so personally offended by a game on this website. I am outraged at the 5-10 minutes that I wasted sludging along through this game, and that's saying something given that I have spent damn-near twice that writing this review. For an author who has 8 other entries onto this website and is taking at minimum $710(Although the exact number is hidden) via Patreon, this is absolutely criminal.

 

I wholeheartedly do not recommend this game to anyone in its current state.

 

0/10