Riley's Magic Swap 1.0

Author: jessmarco50
Version: 1.0
Last Updated: 2019-01-22 13:07:43


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 0.0.11 on 2019-01-02 03:15:29

Came back to this after idk which single digit version...  I THINK it was to Lilac City, but not much was there.  Much progress has been made, and every bit of it is enjoyable!  LOVE the *spoiler spoiler* with Riley and the fairies!  (can't say WHAT it is, bc spoilers after all...  =^_^=  ) 

Seriously, with each update, this game becomes more and more enjoyable!  What started as little more than a forest romp that ended at the first city has grown into a rather enjoyable story, with several game mechanics that, if they aren't unique, haven't been seen often! 

If there are bugs, couldn't find them, and when you get to the end of content in a certain quest/story line, the relevant character will say something like "not done yet."  Really REALLY helps, right there...  no wandering around going "did I reach the end of content yet?" 

One thing that was actually REMOVED was a clown that insta-killed you if you chose... poorly... in your convo.  Part of me misses that, but could make you cry if you didn't save for a bit...  REMEMBER:  Clowns in fiction are usually going to BE EVIL!!!  You can thank the Joker and Pennyworth for that prolly...  most of me is glad it's been de-murderoused.  Maybe he can be reworked into an optional boss somehow...?  I could see an adventure guild quest:  A wild Clown has appeared!  Stop him, before he destroys Got-- err... Lilac City!  =^_^=

Amazing game, even unfinished.  Worth the time to play, altho time will be minimized if you SAVE OFTEN, in MULTIPLE SAVE FILES!!!  CANNOT stress this enough, since some fights are pretty much guaranteed death at least the first time around, until you can know what you're up against.

Character art in convos and cutscenes has improved, I think, feels more polished, maybe cleaner edges.  Might just be fuzzy memory, but they feel improved to me.

Looking forward, as always, to what's going to happen next!

Oh, and did I mention that the fairy storyline with *cough* spoilerspoilerspoiler *cough* was probably my (current) fave, and rlly RLLY awesome?  bc they are!

Orc camp might be a close second.

=^_^=


Review by thumper
Version reviewed: 0.0.9 on 2018-11-28 10:29:24

I love the game and look forward to future updates.  There are a lot of quests with fun play throughs and bad endings.  The only thing I would wish to see would be long term consequences for actions.  Maybe the maid scenes leading towards a more subservient path, or the gloryhole action leading towards a more slutty path.  But great game overall.


Review by caf3in3
Version reviewed: 0.0.7 on 2018-09-30 11:11:25

cute game. and fun . there is enough to do even at this early stage .


Review by otherwise-six
Version reviewed: 0.0.4 on 2018-06-17 03:08:57

In it's current state this game is a lot of fun!

Pros:
-The combat is balanced and doesn't overly hinder the progression of the story like in so many other RPGMaker games on the website.
-The 3DCustomgirl models used in scenes look great.
-The story thus far has been intriguing and the main tf has it's purpose within the world.
-A lot of fun options (and even some hidden routes!)

Cons:
-The writing is a little barebones at the moment. Not really a huge issue considering it's an early release and I personally don't like my games too bogged down with dialogue regardless.
-Soooooome of the paths may take a bit of suspension of disbelief to get into (like maybe a certain hidden one, but I still really enjoyed it!)

I'm really looking forward to more! This is a great start! :D


Review by FrozenWave
Version reviewed: 0.0.3 on 2018-06-14 08:57:47

It's a pretty good start, but I've noticed some problems in the difficulty balancing as well. I was nowhere near prepared for the Zombie fight after you find the Journal/Notes. The art style is great in my opinion. Too few games use this type of character models. Brings up good memories of a long-dead game Despair Labyrinth.


Review by Damacyn
Version reviewed: 0.0.3 on 2018-06-14 05:14:24

Looks fine for a first game, it needs some gameplay tweaking like the groups of enemies with stunning attacks while you are alone. The sex scenes need to be a little better, I'm aware of the limitations of the engine, but at least some less stilted and less repetitive descriptions would be nice. The 3D art is fine, seen better, but the serve the purpose, altho I'm not a fan of the "ghostly technicolor guys" in place of the males.


Review by ZevJimmu
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-06-14 00:43:22

You need to work on the balancing of the battle system, some problems I noticed:

1) In the battle with the Zombie and the two Bats in the abandoned house, having enemies that can both blind and poison a character, especially at low levels, when they do not have any status removal ability is a problem. While the heal spell is nice, the fact that the poison persists outside of combat raises issues when trying to return to town afterwards.

2) Enemies which can stun player characters should not appear in large groups together unless you have a full party with AOE capabilites. The switches that cause groups of 3 "rates" to attack should have that number reduced (at least down to 2). Bad luck on these encounters resulted in the main character having their health reduced by 2/3rds before any combat actions could be taken on multiple occassions. Likewise "Rates" and "Starving Orcs" should not be encountered together as they are both high-hitting creatures with a moderate amount of health and high speed.

3) The Lust-filled Orc is overpowered, a critical hit from it is enough to outright kill the main character at maximum health, and the support character when she's at about 3/4 health. Pair that with it's ability to summon a starving orc to support it, and the stun capabilities, and the battle is heavily reliant on RNG rather than any utilization of the heal-vanish combo that your were obviously trying to set up in the party.

4) Make MP restoration items available at the shop, or give an MP recovering TP move to the main character. It will make the amount of backtracking in dungeons less necessary.


Review by belk
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-06-13 22:17:56

Well looking game but too much forced battles made it grindy.


Review by kris.harley
Version reviewed: 0.0.2 on 2018-06-13 19:42:39

the story's really good but the 3D models aren't so great kind of ruins it for me