Not my Body!

Author: pululon
Version: 0.5.99
Last Updated: 2020-09-14 04:44:44


Review by prismgoy
Version reviewed: 0.5.98 on 2020-08-04 13:44:35

I love the comic book style art in this game, but I have many problems with the obviously non-native English. The author seems to be tricked by the usual I am and I'm difference. Some sentences are something along the lines of, "Who I'm?" when it should be "Who am I?" I don't blame the author, English is just quirky like that, but it bugs me to no end. Outside that, the story is interesting once you learn the basics of the game and start getting events lined up. The tutorial is informative, but the UI is just awful. Not the UI itself, however. It's not possible to adjust the text size, or modify the UI scaling, so those with eyesight issues might have problems reading it. I have to strain my eyes just to see it since it's so blurry.

Instability is touch and go. Using the 'seduce' action seems to lock the game up for a moment, if not outright crash it. I don't know if something is wrong with the code, or if it's the engine the author, but something is slowing it down.

I recommend this, but with some reservation. If the UI were scalable, or at the very least the text, and the game were stabilized, I'd consider it among the best on TFGS. For now though, it's something I'm going to keep an eye on.


Review by Excanda
Version reviewed: 0.5.9 on 2019-01-18 20:36:15

Interesting game, though not as clear what to do as I would have liked.

My biggest problem is the blurry images and text especially the intro. Most of the game is good readable, but the intro and the parts where you have no control it gets blurry.

Another thing I noticed is the second screen that shows this game has a lot of errors. I mean just about every action you perform in the game gives an error message in the second window.

I give this currently a 3 out of 5 and suggest you clean up the game before you add more as the errors shouldn't be so many.


Review by MikeMike
Version reviewed: 0.5.8 on 2018-11-21 05:12:02

OMG I really want to like this game! The art style. The idea. all plusses. But the number of crashes. The number of times when I get stuck where the game just freezes, or when dialogues fail to appear is just incrdible frustating. The lack of a common guide on what to do in the game were urgh! The lack of information about using hearts to level up the character is just.... no!... (you do that by clicking on the character picture to the left)..

I'm going to follow the game, because I really feel that it got a lot of promise and I love the idea and art style, but on the other hand it just leaves me so incredible frustrated that I want to scream as well.

 

 


Review by becomingtgirl
Version reviewed: 0.5.7 on 2018-10-09 02:31:11

Doesnt work under a virtual machine. Requires OpenGL 2.1 but even with this installed (Virtualbox's 3d acceleration + OGL2.1 registry patch) it fails.


Review by jimmybob
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2018-06-27 12:49:57

This game shows a lot of potential. The art is good, and the comic style is nice.

The game seems less complete than the 1.0 version would suggest, It feels more like a ver 0.7 or 0.8 than a 1.0 considering the missing images, placeholder minigames, and incomplete stat implementation, but what is there shows a lot of promise.

I look forward to updates to this.


Review by abartfast
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2018-06-26 17:30:58

I really liked the visual style - very effective and it suits the story well. I especially like the use of graphic novel conventions and multiple small images on a screen to show aspects or changes over time.

(Minor art quibble, I know the main character is supposed to have very large breasts, but these are drawn even larger than very large. They are not to scale, and so to my eye they detract from the overall visual appeal.

Like several other reviewers, I had trouble figuring out what to do and what the game was trying to do - I understand that this is part of the immersion, and on my second start I did get the dream that pointed me over to Mikaela's house. So there is some guidance, but perhaps a little more would be good.

My other complaint is the amount of mouse movement - far too many screens require clicking through diaglogue or continuing from one sub-panel to the next. And each of these means finding the correct little spot on the screen and clicking on it to move ahead or to close the current window. A couple of keyboard commands - like space to continue and escape to close - would make playing this on a device with a keyboard much easier and smoother.

I played through version 0.1 and so was willing to accept that many of the minigames are currently placeholders and that a lot of the text has not been fully copy edited or proof read. 

I am looking forward to seeing and playing more of this.

 


Review by anyoldguy
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2018-06-26 10:25:12

This is an excellent first release, with significant content already rather than a linear introduction and not much else. The English needs some polish, particularly in the introduction, but it's not a barrier to gameplay once you get into the gameplay. The hand drawn visual style is very striking.

 

It starts out a bit mysteriously, with your character having to navigate around an unfamiliar neighbourhood with no real purpose, but after a few days the plot links start to fire and things become really interesting. There are still crash bugs so I recommend saving daily to avoid losing much progress if you find one. The UI takes a little getting used to because navigating around isn't handled consistently, but game this is definitely worth a look if you can put up with a few rough edges.


Review by sadarsa
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2018-06-26 05:00:15

You know, you'd think that someone who took the time to have all this art hand drawn, and the game coded how ever it was done... would at least take the time proofread their written work.  I'm no English teacher or even some grammar snob... but HO..LY... Shit. Even if English isn't your first language you could at least get a native speaker to go over it real quick and make it so it's not so bad. Such an amazing work... ruined by piss poor proofreading.


Review by fakani
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2018-06-23 11:53:16

So I'm not normally one to do reviews, I don't feel qualified. But this game has just wowed me! The art is amazing, and there's a ton of detail put into it. For a just released game, (at least to my knowledge) It has lots of characters to interact with and content. I've only played the first week so far and haven't gotten to the point of unlocking anything. I really look forward to continuing this game.

The story scenes almost play out like a comic book and it's excelently excecuted. The only thing I dislike is navigation is not easy to learn at first. I much prefer all my options to be in a single pane instead of hovering around the scene. but that's just me.

 

Awesome Game, I love it, I hope to see more of it and I haven't even finished the content that's avaiable! except for the club, that is fun, but once you go there once or twice there's no new suprises that I can tell.