Better Earth

Author: Hito125
Version: 0.13.0
Last Updated: 2021-01-12 02:31:00


Review by jjars898
Version reviewed: 0.12.2 on 2020-12-15 21:46:58

I love it! The main gimmick of a pair of AR glasses to add or remove fantasy elements works just as well as I'd hoped, including having good reasons to take them off. The story is engaging even though it doesn't take itself seriously.

One of the stated purposes of the game was to show off a lot of art, and it certainly does, especially after the second day. I'm quite impressed by the collection!

The cast is just stereotypical enough to be colorful. The edges of the tropes that make up their personalities were blurred as much as the rest of reality by the time I was done.

The jokes were great. I'm still laughing at the "Fist Wizard" class. Just...everything about it, including the fact that it's one of the most effective strategies in the game.

One thing that bugs me is that Raw Mana doesn't drop very often, and I ran out of the ones given to me over the course of the story before I saw all the TF's, so I have to grind a whole lot in the hedge maze hoping a rat drops one. Also, there are at least two "special" TF's in the game with multiple stages, but it doesn't look like they can be completed at this point in development.

I eagerly look forward to further updates!


Review by soprano54321
Version reviewed: 0.11.1 on 2020-07-13 06:14:02

A breath of fresh air. It doesn't take itself too seriously, it doesn't overreach in what it's trying to do, it knows just how to pitch dialogue and visual / timing gags to keep things rolling along. There's a whole lot of content to find and play through but at the same time you're not really bogged down in dungeons or having to hunt every distant corner to find it all. It's chill and relaxed and a good time.

Bonus points for being an RPGMaker game that clocks under 100Mb.


Review by greenson
Version reviewed: 0.9.1 on 2020-03-22 14:48:07

After played this game, I have to write some comments for this.

This is a fascinating game with a lots of gosh darn funny puns and memes.

I try to share it to some guys but they don't really know English.

This game is real awesome with good structure about the game settings and background transition.

I highly recommend this if you want some good plot with interesting gameplay.

Of course if you feel it hard to push forward, don't forget your 'Story mode' Badge!

(Actually if you don't even want to use the story mode badge a single time, you must try to dig all the elements in the game. Trust me, there's a lot of potentialities there you might not get it.)

I think I might say too much praise with emotion, haha.

--------Freaking Nonsense for game but some concerns for every player---------

Nowadays I know everyone might get some serious shit like COVID.

Just keep it safe, no matter what happen, never give up.

Isolation now can be the most inexpensive and effective solution. Medical Face Mask can be your best shield for COVID if you're lack of daily necessities. 

Everything I want to say is to stay safe out there, no matter who you are.


Review by w21dbb
Version reviewed: 0.7.1 on 2019-12-10 00:55:41

Fun game, story is funny at times a little short atm but good.

Some fights are a little lopsided but other then that they are good.


Review by PViewer
Version reviewed: 0.7.1 on 2019-12-09 23:36:12

I've played this from back in the day when It was like 2 areas, the park was partially completed and I have been enjoying it. Keep up the good work.


Review by animenotreal
Version reviewed: 0.6.1 on 2019-11-23 14:43:43

Great game so far. The only thing that I find lacking is the main character's personality. I feel like he doesn't say much in the game, which make all that hapens to him have less meaning. If this gets fixed, then this game may become 9/10 game.


Review by ZevJimmu
Version reviewed: 0.4.1 on 2019-03-28 11:12:41

So far the game seems interesting. I will say though that there needs to be some kind of balancing to be done. The final boss of the third task seems a tad overpowered, since he has high attack power, can confuse your team, and summons two of each enemy you've fought over this task to aid him, I wound up dying about 5 or 6 times before I managed to beat him by spamming watermelons. As to the three fairies guarding the guardian cat (I'm guessing this was for the side quest about the animals" The fact that all three go before the main character and one of them has a spell that can one-shot him at full health that she uses exclusively, it's jarring, especially since the main character is the only healer. I think that the cost of healing items needs to be lowered (who charges $100 for a cup of coffee?).


Review by Gweddry
Version reviewed: 0.4.1 on 2019-03-22 18:16:31

It's very short, yet what little there is is absolutely great. Custom art everywhere, transformations everywhere, and it's monstergirls so you get to see something new every time. Finally a game where one can see others transformed rather than it being restricted to the MC alone.

 

The content itself is tightly packed and very rich and the art is all being done in the same style (maybe the author draws it himself?), so it fits together very well. Only things I'd criticise would be the fact that the MC transformations seem to lack any real impact – they are EXTREMELY easy to get, have no custom art, and barely get acknowledged unless you go stand in front of a mirror where they are specifically pointed out to you. Into it ties the item merging mechanic which adds the item's stats to yours AND gives you another transformation AND can be used repeatedly with the same items. It is somewhat balanced by needing to get a semi-rare resource that limits you from spamming it, as well as needing money to buy the items, but I've found both to be readily available in abundance without even needing to try (besides, it's not like you really need the stat boost either. The game's pretty easy). I would recommend a reworking of these mechanics, so that the transformations get rarer (it's alright in the hedge maze, but the moment you step into the orchard, you're likely to accumulate them at a rapid pace unless you specifically choose to avoid them) and more impactful while limiting the item merging in some way (perhaps only special items can be absorbed? I ate like 10 hats and headbands to get a larga statboost, it's pretty ridiculous).

 

Looking forward to future updates.


Review by Capt
Version reviewed: 0.3.2 on 2018-12-23 03:47:47

Just got around to playing it. This game is GREAT! I am eagerly awaiting another update. <3


Review by sirwolffe
Version reviewed: 0.3.2 on 2018-12-16 22:08:23

BEST MIMIC EVER!!!!!


Review by Noknet
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2018-09-29 14:28:23

Regarding the music - I would like the ability to turn it OFF.


Review by BustyDemoness
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2018-09-29 14:08:28

I like the concept and gameplay so far.

 

Right now, There's a few things that bug me and I think can be improved.

 

One, when plugging in a controller, the D-pad will not operate at all. And maybe it's just me with thumbsticks or how they're read but it becomes a little infurating when you're trying to go left/right but instead can't stop going up/down.

Two, ABXY controls on a game pad are not accurate. X and Y seemed to be partially swapped in function. I also think it would be better to follow a more standard pattern or enable control customization.

Three, the music was a little loud so it would be nice to adjust the volume.

 

That aside, I do hope there's more updates to this and plenty of improvements to come.


Review by Ayami
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2018-09-27 17:59:04

Second Update is not that bad. However, just some fixes(featuers?). In the forest maze the blue and red flowers are passable meaning u can technically walk on the hedge, you might want to fix that. Secondly, there are some dark pixel on the ground for the pc might want get rid of that its just irritating.


Review by icarue
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-09-17 02:46:28

Very good start! Interesting premise, ok art (It's good and consistent, but the protagonist sprite is not cropped very well) and interesting main mechanic (can see a lot of puzzles comeing from it, depending how physics work in the game) So far I don't know if the changes are physical or virtual, and it might be a good idea to mention if they are physical.


Review by therandomestpersons
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-09-16 17:41:33

The game does indeed seem *really* short so far, but decently comedic.

Also you really need to make sure the font wraps properly so it doesn't just go off the text box into the weird void or where ever it goes. Being able to properly read descriptions is nice after al 


Review by TotallySane
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-09-16 15:48:31

Fun game intro, it's pretty short as of yet (or I missed something), but it shows promise. The mechanic to switch between VR and reality by pressing A is great. I just hope that the author manages to ship out more content before the contest ends.