The Essence of Gender

Author: ugre101
Version: 0.038
Last Updated: 2020-03-25 18:14:18


Review by Loreweaver
Version reviewed: 0.285 on 2019-04-11 23:28:24

This game is surprisingly enjoyable, even in this very early form. Having looked at the Javascript source code, I can tell a lot of work went into this game, even though it doesn't show on the surface. There's thousands of lines of source code. Like most TFGamesSite games, this game is incomplete, but it's certainly worth a look.

Graphics: 2 (Very simple 2D pixel graphics, with no animated motion. At least it's not another pure text-only game.)

Gameplay: 6/10 (This is where the game really shines. It reminds me of Corruption of Champions combat, except without the wall of text after each action. I'd like to give it a higher score, but the game is still very early. I'd like to give it a higher score here, because this was all done by one person, but I just can't.)

Story: 1/10 (You roam across the small game world freely without any pesky story getting in your way.)

Sound: 0/10 (No music, no special effects, no sound)

 


Review by Cadmea
Version reviewed: 0.28b on 2019-04-08 14:32:34

The writing definitely needs work, maybe another person who'll look it over as well.

 

What's there is already very solid. It's no TiTS or Lilith's Throne, but it's good.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.272 on 2019-03-25 22:07:17

This is WOW. A very interesting game.

My first impression of it is that it is a poorly made rpg-maker-overseeing sandbox map... but that word "poor" is a result of comparing the game to an rpg maker game with a well established resouce library as the foundation. As an HTML game built up from stretch, I really have no idea how much time the creator had invested into this. If you are expecting a text game like me, you could be totally owned. Awesome.

There are currently lots of issue. Balance. Bugs. Placeholder everywhere. But what is there can already make a pretty fun game.

My first run was stopped by a game breaking bug, turning my mascularity and all related numbers to NaN after a defeat... but it was enjoyable before that happened. I am looking forward to see a great game when it is more polished.


Review by matharo
Version reviewed: 0.195 on 2018-10-30 15:32:12

This game shows extremely good promise, keep up the good work.


Review by Metroid101
Version reviewed: 0.195 on 2018-10-29 21:41:26

Every day(every day is a couple seconds) that passes subtracts 1 kg of fat, which makes it nessecary to constantly overeat like a bear to build up food stores and prevent starvation. Stop that, make days go slower, make food system less obnoxious.

 

Edit: Vore options allowing you to recover food from enemies makes this more viable.


Review by chere100
Version reviewed: 0.18 on 2018-10-26 13:45:53

Good start. I have several suggestions. One, a nursey for your kids in the house. When they reach a certain age (maybe 18) they can move to the dorm or move out entirely. Two, the ability to name your kids. Three, I don't know if this is already the case, but it would be cool if your first sex partner decides what species you become. So, if your first parner is a halfling then you become a halfling. Four, the ability to die of old age. There is obviously time passing in the game, so this is just obvious. If you want to continue playing you can continue as one of your kids. Five, maybe a way to tell who you're attacking. Right now, when I try to target someone specific or at least of a specific gender it can be frustrating. It's hard to tell boxes apart, lol.

Anyways, even in this really basic form it's kind of fun. I see great potential. :)


Review by jjars898
Version reviewed: 0.18 on 2018-10-26 08:14:59

The combat simulator is pretty solid, but your stats quickly overshadow everyone else's...which is great, because then you can steal their attributes with impunity, resulting in some extremely weird hyper growth scenarios, such as having a pussy deeper than your body height. I hope you have some kind of plan to deal with that before you work in the image packs.

I wish there was some way to manually reverse attributes, though, because I ended up with several extra sets of genitals that have no purpose in gameplay. The only way to shrink your bits is to get rid of all of your masculinity/femininity and then set transformation to happen automatically, which doesn't get rid of extra vaginas or breast rows.


Review by austinhaney6969
Version reviewed: 0.18 on 2018-10-25 20:42:11

Looks promising, I'll wait patiently for more.


Review by bryne238
Version reviewed: 0.18 on 2018-10-25 18:05:49

Overall Really good start. I would like to see where it leads.