Crossdressing in Camelot

Author: stickyicky
Version: 0.15.11
Last Updated: 2021-01-16 02:57:17


Review by Frinkleton
Version reviewed: 0.15.9 on 2021-01-09 17:46:27

Honestly I am not a fan of these RPG maker games as they always tend to be in tiny little postage stamp sized windows and acres of one line text boxes with scenes spanning multiple paragraphs.

 

I played the "anime" version dunno what the different between the versions is but figured I should say. 

 

 

While this does have scenes spanning multiple paragraphs it gets a bonus just because I can make the window big enough to see.

 

Content wise it is a good couple of hours with some well written scenes. 8/10

 

Outfits to make yourself cute are incredibly few but I managed to get some fun combos.    3/10

 

Very little grinding honestly alittle too easy. ~/10

 

one thing I would like to see is just straight up more outfits. this is a real short fall.

 

 

 

In its current state I'd give it a 7/10 for an rpg maker game. 

Because it has potential and was actually reasonably fun to play. 


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.14.11 on 2020-12-19 05:16:15

Its a perfect example of s fact that a story and map setting are fine in html but plays out lame in the specialised rpgmaker.

the story has the potential to be entertaining

the fun part is lame or text only in an rpg maker game it is way below than a frog poo

The way it handles the xxx text ruins it

the rpg part is not cohesive at all

The fact of a direct port to rpgmaker without map modification and the way that the author think like its still a html game makes me sad and ruins the game true potential.

Ps:if you are wonder what kind of potential this game has. Its on the lvl of Perverted Education, Magical camp.


Review by Wittyusername
Version reviewed: 0.14.9 on 2020-12-10 15:07:20

I think the move to rpgmaker has really badly impacted this games playability, and im not saying that because i dont like rpgmaker I quite enjoy rpgmaker games I think the big problem is how the content that was ported has been ported. For example at the beginning of the game when you are just learning about magic you get a long paragraph of text describing whats happening when you could have shown what was happening in the game like when youre told oh you made a small flame appear you could have made flames appear using the rpgmaker engine. I think changes like that would make the game far more enjoyable to play at least for parts that were ported as i have not yet made it to the later parts of the game.


Review by Strikerman
Version reviewed: 0.14.7 on 2020-12-06 19:37:03

I liked the game when it was in HTML. RPG Maker doesn't do anything for me.


Review by QuantumKat
Version reviewed: 0.13.10 on 2020-11-05 20:19:26

 

Well.. was a subscribed follower of the HTML version, but since it went to RPG Maker.. nope.  I'll pass.  I truely dislike the gangly bobbleheaded look of the RPG Maker graphics, which completely ruin it for me.  So.. while it had potential, I'll never find it in RPG Maker.  Good luck, hope it comes together well!

 


Review by dazann
Version reviewed: 0.13.10 on 2020-11-05 19:22:57

From what is there at the moment its ok. I would say its more in the Alpha stages then in Beta. IMO i think the next big update should be focused on the town and getting it done rather then having that little hub. I also want to say that you should pick a style either render or anime and stick with it rather then both once you have gotten a major amount done for one then you can think about adding the other.


Review by trippers
Version reviewed: 0.13.7 on 2020-10-24 11:09:08

I couldn't get much into it, to be honest. I had played this back when it was a text game and enjoyed it more, I think because I didn't really expect to see images of the sex. But the more this looks like a proper game instead of just a choose your adventure story, images are badly needed. Once this creator teams up with an artist, it'll be something definitely worth checking out. Really if you have a patreon, you should invest some of that money to commission what your game needs to succeed.


Review by AloneTaco
Version reviewed: 0.11.6 on 2020-07-27 01:37:37

This game isn't for you if you don't want to start out as an already feminine looking guy. I usually don't like it if the mc doesn't start out 100% male looking and I know other people feel that way too so this is just a heads up.


Review by CrystalGeyser
Version reviewed: 0.11.6 on 2020-07-26 03:46:42

It's bretty good.

Though I also don't get the swap to RPGMaker. As it doesn't really add much value to the end-user so far. In fact, it makes things a little worse imo. It probably makes things a bit easier than dealing with a Twine/HTML nightmare, and the dev was doing something akin to dungeons later on in the game, but as it is the engine swap makes it a real chore to actually play.

First and foremost, this is a text-heavy game. There's images (even a few commissioned ones iirc), but 80% of the content is in text form.
This is perfectly fine. I like my games to be descriptive.
Extrapolate that to RPG maker, and instead of having an entire passage in front of you that you can read at your pace or skim for the good parts, you have to absentmindedly mash the confim key as the text rolls by at a snail's pace (even at the fastest setting).
This wouldn't be a problem, if the game was made with that sentiment in mind, and kept things relatively light in terms of text. But since this is a port of a twine game that was already heavy on text, reading anything is an absolute slog.

This in my opinion, is the most damning thing about the game so far. It may get some polish down the line, and I hope it does, but as it is now, I just can't bother with it.

If the encounters were engaging, I might be more inclined to.
Right now, they're quite few and quite boring. Though I couldn't be assed to go super far into the game. Something that would take around 20-30mins in HTML form now take hours due to the text boxes.
The combat and skill-tree in the HTML version were kind of neat, but in RPGMaker it falls pretty flat.

If the environments were fleshed out a bit more, I might be more inclined to.
The way the game is set up right now, is that there's a little hub on the world map, and you just teleport to specific rooms in town. It's fine for early stages, as the content is more important, but I still kind of find it to be really cheap, since the places themselves aren't much to write home about either.

For what it's worth though, I like the game. I thought the HTML version was really fun. Hopefully the RPG maker one can shape up better, but the barrier to entry for me will always be the huge amount of text that I'm forced to go through. I'm not opposed to reading, but I am opposed to having to read at a fixed pace that's slower than I read. Especially when I know at one point I didn't have to.
That being said, one thing I thought was neat about the RPGMaker version was that you could customize your character at the start. I don't see that much in that engine. Though any changes that your character has later on in the game doesn't seem to have any effect on you visually. I couldn't even find a description menu for your character's appearance, and I'm pretty sure the HTML version had one of those.

All in all, if you've never played it, give it a try. If you've played the old version, try it but keep in mind the growing-pains from the engine swap.


Review by MichealRein
Version reviewed: 0.10.4 on 2020-06-12 21:07:15

I played this a while ago in the HTML version and actually kind of liked it. I have no idea why it's now in RPG Maker, and it seems to have even less content than it had in the html version.

The art's also not very good imo and the town structure doesn't even exist so why was this even changed from html to rpgmaker?


Review by Red-XIII
Version reviewed: 0.7.2 Patreon|0.6.11 Public on 2019-10-17 21:27:58

Definitely not the best engine for RPG combat, but since this one is more about writing than about fighting this works better than alternatives would.

So far there's only “technical” images here. A dungeon map, skill tree images etc. All content is text-only.

 

The writing gave me a distinct impression that author would make a great secondary writer, but not much of a lead writer.

Various character interactions and side quest are written about as well as one could wish for. I dare say perfectly. (Or at least that's my opinion)

However plot is nowhere to be seen. The whole thing reads as a slice of life about an adventurer with nothing but his day-to-day questing.

Witch would be ok, I guess, if we had an MC with a personality.

We don't. That's nowhere to be seen either.

His reason for wanting to be an adventurer so badly? Not explained.

Closest thing we have to that is a mention of him running out of money.

Which should stop being an issue (plot-wise at least) as soon as he's good enough to slay lizard-men. (game-play-wise, strangely enough, as soon as you stop getting exp from lizradmen you also stop collecting money from them, go figure)

Without a well-defined reason to drive those actions of his I just can't mentally place him inside this slice of life story. “I couldn't become a warrior but I've been told I could become a sissy sorceress, so let's do that, because why not?” is what his “story” reads like. Either I just don't “get” willing subs, or this is not a well written one.

What's baffling is that none of this applies to any secondary characters. Their motivations and positions are pretty darn clear and well-written, only MC is out of place in his own story.

So what I'm getting at is this – if you are dead-set on lead-writing your own projects, work on being able to hold your content together with something. You need either stronger character aspect to work the character development angle, or an interesting plot to work the plot angle. Ideally both.

And if not, join with someone who can already do the above.

As it's is it's still worth a read, but …

If your game HAD the above it would be the the best piece of writing on this whole f-ing site (imho).

 

P.S. This is based on 0.6.11


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 0.7.2 Patreon|0.6.11 Public on 2019-10-13 23:44:54

Let me start off by saying... when I first played this a long long time ago, I hated it!  Mostly bc, while it was kinda interesting, there was nothing there for so very very long.

 

That being said, decided to pick it up again, and it's become quite a good game for spending an hour or so!  Still very much prefer RPGMaker and RAGS, but can still definitely appreciate what this game brings to the table.  Fave thing would have to be the cursed outfit tho, was fun to let it change my character!  Definitely liking and subscribing!


Review by Cadmea
Version reviewed: 0.6.7 on 2019-08-17 15:01:32

Not much content, but what's there is solid.


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 0.6.7 on 2019-08-16 13:23:40

good game so far, with a novel battle system. The leveling shows promise but is both clunky and limited. So far it is mostly a feminization game that is moving (possibly) toward full tf. The tf has yet to be fully implemented. It will be interesting to see where it ends up. 

Edit for .6.7 from .5.0: Content is added regularly and there is not much yet, but we have had our first major addition which does not include any new TF content. It works really well for the story and hs been utilized somewhat to explore some of the changes the MC has undergone and how those affect them. I think the author could explore that side more. With this expansion of the stories scope I am nuch more excited to seeing new TF content in future updates. I feel like it will now be more than just a click and fap game even though it works very well for that now.

 


Review by GodfriedD
Version reviewed: 0.5.0 on 2019-08-06 13:17:16

Great game with frequent updates. I love the progressive feminization and I would love to see that start manifesting more and more as the game progresses. A small amount of appearance customization might be nice, but the game is solid already. Keep on doing what you're doing.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.3.4 on 2019-03-01 11:59:06

It is a linear story, so far, that well chopped into bits and pieces like a game. I have to admit that the result looks great so far... I like the stat... thou they are not doing anything right now. Looking for the future updates.


Review by clint
Version reviewed: 0.1.02 on 2018-12-01 05:16:16

Love it so far, keep up the good work! Adding images in the future would be awesome


Review by Erbosch
Version reviewed: 0.1.02 on 2018-11-30 22:10:35

Love what little there is .  Very fun.  Cant wait for more...  So please make more =)


Review by Baylith
Version reviewed: 0.1.02 on 2018-11-30 01:09:26

this game has a decent concept, though the femization from the lizaardman fails, made you eventually untouchable by their attacks. you may want to rework your defense values because losing to a monster over and over again should not make you stronger than them,


Review by Houdini111
Version reviewed: 0.1.02 on 2018-11-29 21:51:23

 

It's a pretty good start. It's a fun enough start, but there's not much. The proof will be in the updates. 

 


Review by erikababe93
Version reviewed: 0.1.02 on 2018-11-29 12:30:34

Very interesting story, loving it so far! Game mechanics are simple but very well done. Some spelling and grammar errors (lots of "your"s when they should be "you're"s). Would love an option to be able to choose whether you're wearing boy or gorl clothes. Can't wait for more! 


Review by DesRed
Version reviewed: 0.1.02 on 2018-11-29 02:22:12

Created an Account just to the review this. 

The magic system is really too clever and I loved how picking a different element cause both the previous and selected element to combine their attributes.

Honestly look forward to the more dialogue and the eventual story.

Also kinda wish Beatrice would have said SOMETHING about the red panties before the MC whips out their dick.

 

 


Review by Dab_Master69
Version reviewed: 0.1.01 on 2018-11-26 22:24:50

Great start so far.

I do feel images would add some immersion to the story, though I can see trying to find images for this type of story to be difficult considering it revolves around fantasy and what not.
Perhaps if you were an artist, you could draw some images or pictures for this story? Or maybe even get another artist to do it.

If you can't though, text only is definitely still acceptable by me and I'd assume lots of people. Perhaps find a unique way to structure your story though. This includes an interesting side bar, icons, etc.
I see lots of potential in this, so I encourage you to update whenever possible. I see many promising games such as this one just disappear due to no updates and I hope that you keep active with this game.


Review by Mark5592
Version reviewed: 0.1.01 on 2018-11-26 00:34:30

Like it so far can't wait for updates


Review by WolfSaint
Version reviewed: 0.1.01 on 2018-11-25 21:31:11

Good story, needs more content but has good potential.
Subnote: Can I get an option to to increase boobs over increase butt size, ie save my ass but leave the rest exposed.


Review by raska42
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-11-25 12:38:20

It's a good start, definitely will be keeping an eye on this to see how it progresses. Definitely has a feel of games like magical camp and many of the M2F magical girl games on dlsite/dmm. Hoping that it takes a slightly unique direction to make it stand out, but even if it doesnt it's well written so far which should still make it enjoyable reduardless. Only issue (and I use the term loosly) I have is is that you have it tagged for planned content/themes, not current ones, but that's a pretty standard gripe I have about games on this site.

Bug: Ice->Lightning throws an (ignorable) error in combat

 


Review by gabysissy
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-11-25 09:44:52

Text only games are a turn off or me, the story seems pretty well written but I need the images to really dive into the story, hope in a future update you could add some images, that would improve the game in my opinion, but still, great texting!


Review by lightningshifter
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-11-25 06:04:28

It would be nice to have a forum topic for this but I thought I would add some input due to seeing promise with this html game. It is an actual game rather than a CYOA which is a plus for me. It has simple and straight-forward mechanics that are easy to pick up. I'm still exploring the content at this time to see what all I can do but, it appears to have some forethought put into the magic system. Casting spells in different orders can actually lead to different battle effects triggering on a turn. Try ice and fire or ice and lightning for instance. Fire and lightning are also a good matchup.

I did notice a few error blurbs during combat, however, nothing actually stops your gameplay. This is all a very good sign because I'm accustomed to sugarcube/twine games hitting deadends in games like this. You should keep going with this and try to bring the game to completion. It would be nice to have more games like this completed in the format you are using.


Review by lianneadamson
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2018-11-25 05:13:41

This has potential. I enjoyed what was there, the hints at what's to come are intriguing, and it's quite well-written. Looking forward to the next update.