Pandemonium Classic: Unity Edition

Author: throwawaylady
Version: Beta 5 patch 3
Last Updated: 2021-10-10 20:52:27


Review by aaaac
Version reviewed: Beta 4 patch 2 on 2021-08-06 17:13:58

Probably one of the greatest games on this site. That's a big claim but it does something no one else does, does it well and does a whole lot of it. (Full disclosure: I helped in a pretty big way enable this game to be made. The character creator program needed mods found, I found a lot of them.)

Overview:

Pandmeonium classic is a survival arena game where a group of girls find themselves in a manor and have to try and escape before they get TFed by the monsters that show up. It's basically an FPS where you run around the mansion trying to find weapons and ways to escape before the monsters TF you. The game doesn't end when you get TFed, you just play as a monster trying to TF the other humans. Except for the other Pandemonium games nobody else does this. There are 80+ kinds of monsters each with their own TF sequence and style of gameplay as them.  Also in it's favor is that you can modify just about every setting in the game which lets you make your own sandbox of fun.

Art and design:

The art's functional, but more importantly expressive and does an excellent job of conveying what the monsters are like. It's all 2d sprites made in 3DCG. The mansion is pretty barebones, but it's obvious the focus is on being easy to understand over being pretty.

Gameplay: An FPS sort of thing but with a focus on melee. It does the job, but isn't exceptional. The problem that keeps it from being great is that the melee isn't much fun. NPCs move erratically and turn so quickly that actually catching one to hit can be a challenge sometimes. They added range weapons so if you can't get the melee down you can still defend yourself. I'm not sure what they could do differently to fix melee though, I doubt they have the budget to make a TF dark souls. Every monster has it's own gameplay gimmick which is impressive, although balancing is an ongoing progress. Perhaps most importantly ways to win were added so you have a goal to work towards. A lot of the gameplay is enjoying losing is fun until you figure out the systems on offer.

TF content: Great! There is a lot of TF in a lot of varieties hitting on a lot of popular themes. Each monster has it's own flavor but every monster has a volunteer variation which is a nice touch. Also has four seperate insect girls, bee, ant, mantis and moth. One thing to watch out for is that there is almost no sex in this game. If you want sex and TF this isn't the right game.

Conclusion: I really recommend at least trying this game, it's something no one else is doing. If you like monster-girl TF and the related corruption and mental changes it's a must try. If you just want a lot of TF sequence it's also good to pick up.


Review by xkira1995
Version reviewed: Beta 4 patch 1 on 2021-07-29 21:55:21

Newest link for Beta 4 patch 1 isn't working properly.
Tried to download Windows version.


Review by ambiguous
Version reviewed: Alpha 5 patch 5 on 2019-10-28 13:18:46

I've been really enjoying the development of this game, and at this point as a sandbox I'd say it's definitely surpassed those that came before it.  The unique behaviors of the different types of enemies is excellent, and the gameplay itself is pretty easy to balance to what you want.  I did want to provide a few points of feedback, as per A5P5: 


Review by emils
Version reviewed: Alpha 5 patch 3 on 2019-09-30 16:33:53

I've been following this game since the first version, since I was a fan of the original. At first I dismissed it as a clunky, broken, and unnecessary remake. A lot of time and updates later though, this game has turned into something pretty great. The gameplay still feels awkward, but the sheer number of transformations and options make this one of the most enjoyable and replayable games on the site. 

Kudos to the developer and everyone who helped with the 3d models, for providing regular updates and constantly improving the game.


Review by Shalassan
Version reviewed: Alpha 3 patch 2 on 2019-07-24 16:10:44

Well it's HoP in 3D like dungeon crawl and it could be fun but ...

For a game based on transformation, you actually don't see the transformation happening to your character cause in 1rst person view ... It's a bit strange. The descriptions of the transformation are written in a console so small you can't really read it, and all happens so fast. To be enjoyable at least you should turn into some sort of vanity camera when you can't control your character anymore and something is happening to cause, cause right now i can't see the point to play the game.

 

Hope it will be fixed in future versions so i can edit this review.

 

 

Edit 24/07/2019 : The above have been mostly fixed and the author is quite reactive for bug fixing. That sounds good for the futur of this game.


Review by Jondei
Version reviewed: Alpha 2 patch 1 on 2019-07-11 20:54:03

Loving the extra content that's been added into this version of the classic mode. Great work and I'll be keeping an eager eye out.


Review by Unicron9999
Version reviewed: Prototype 8 patch 3 on 2019-04-02 20:52:06

It's really getting somewhere! The new rooms and map have hugely improved my immersion and enjoyment and with a full roster of monsters and players, I think the only way to go from here is to increase the ways the players can interact with the world. Right now they can only attack, or be attacked, but is there any way they can directly help one another? And any ideas for monsters fighting eachother? 

Or even specific scenarios with bonus features! I can't wait to see where this goes. 


Review by Illanya
Version reviewed: Prototype 7 on 2019-03-28 10:22:20

the concept is nice, but it could use some allround finetuning:

 

- Get a better navigation tool, like a decent map. It's hard to navigate as it is now. Especially when as a monster you need a specific spot like nest/tube.

- Combat if it can be called that is just too 1 sided, your hits hardly count, mobs kill you very fast. Also there isn't a round count, so if you get caught flat footed you are usually dead before you can even face your assaulter.

- As a mob, players run way to easily making it almost impossible to fight/trans them.

- It could use some basic instruction manual on what does what, especially a what to do as a monster to transform your target.

 


Review by w21dbb
Version reviewed: Prototype 5 on 2018-12-17 11:31:23

Played and can see where this is going, not bad, keep up the work!


Review by therandomestpersons
Version reviewed: Prototype 4 on 2018-12-08 00:15:38

I'm not sure 're-remaster' actually works considering there already is a 'House of Pandemonium Remaster' that is both significantly farther along in development and recieves consistent updates. Just my opinion though. 


Review by BigPervert
Version reviewed: Prototype 4 on 2018-12-06 11:32:47

Oooh, interesting! HoP was great, and this could be a fantastic successor to the arena area. Will definitely be keeping an eye out for future developments!


Review by ceciestuntest
Version reviewed: Prototype 4 on 2018-12-06 07:44:00

This is a good start (prototype 4). It's just a simple version of HOP in real time, but I follow it, I want to see the evolution of this game. Continue !


Review by Saltyjustice
Version reviewed: Prototype 4 on 2018-12-05 05:37:13

Hi. I'm SaltyJustice, the guy who makes HoP:Remastered. It's not a gross hijacking. I've talked with the author extensively about this, encouraged it, provided assets, and given support and advice.
Also, Passalel has rather explicitly given the go-ahead for other developers to make games based on his stuff. Go wild, people.


Review by Dapoodapoo
Version reviewed: Prototype 4 on 2018-12-05 05:09:08

So this game isn't by the original auther and the team who works on the real one didn't say any thing about this on their blogs or patreon from what I can see. 

Sooo..this is looking kinda like a gross hijacking of someone else's stuff.