Playing Both Sides

Author: Ailius1
Version: 1.072
Last Updated: 2019-09-23 18:09:27


Review by Voldo
Version reviewed: 1.071 on 2019-09-03 13:33:44

Don't worry about the "feminist overtones", it is actually satire and it is attacking more the leftist ideology than the right (see the town where citizen must give everything they have to strangers). As RPG it is not that bad, you will eventually find the way to win all battles but is not overly obvious. The story is nice and it really does let you pick your enemy, you have a certain say on the story, and if you want to look for other endings it is not too hard when you know how to get money and levels. Not a masterwork but worth a weekend.

 


Review by anthonydafox
Version reviewed: 1.071 on 2019-08-10 16:06:37

The game Is Fine. the Feminist Overtones are Irritating, Idk don't know if if Part of the comedy or What else. but Its Very annoying and Ruins the Fun for me.


Review by Pakhawaj
Version reviewed: 1.071 on 2019-08-09 20:54:22

The reviewer below quit the game before the tutorial period ended! I'm a little bit further though not much. The battle system is surprisingly good and gets more complicated once you get past the first bit.

I feel a bit sorry for the protagonist, but I always do in these sorts of games. His romance is so wholesome! I want them to last forever!


Review by Jellotath
Version reviewed: 1.07 on 2019-08-08 13:44:37

Combat is a bit janky.  It's using rock/paper/scissors style mechanics that are common in one on one duelling systems, but it plays kind of awkward, with multiple opponents and actions proceeding in a sequence instead of having one "throw."  I only found myself parrying because enemies seem to have a heavy bias toward using either parry or attack.  I checked out of the narrative as soon as the fake-rape-accusation came up.  It's just handled really awkwardly and the entire situation makes the revolutionaries seem completely insane, or rather more specifically, like caricatures designed to look just as bad as their oppressive government.  I'd already been feeling a bit meh about it when the main character's witch girlfriend Jane-Jetson'd his wallet to go shopping, so at that point I'd had enough and just called it quits.  Maybe there's some fun TF content, but I'm not picking the game up again to find out. 


Review by Goldendawn
Version reviewed: 1.06 on 2019-07-04 02:56:15

Well I don't see what you have done as anything to do with politics - and in fact I have enjoyed the game a lot. I am happy to see you doing posts, and keeping it going - what you have done already is a lot, and it is fun and interesting to play with. I do agree I would have loved to see slower physical transformation, but if you keep the mental changes slow, things you can try to compete against, and really a part of the story - I think this is going to be a cracker of a game! Great work - please keep up with it :)


Review by MoonSquad.Inc
Version reviewed: 0.60 on 2019-03-17 20:21:21

Nobody gives a shit about your politics. This place is for fapping and doing things that wouldn't be possible in the real world, not engage in debate. Can't take a game seriously if they put politics into it, right wing or left. Also kind of weird you have a whole "might makes right" kind of thing seeing as how that's a right wing mindset yet you have what looks to be left wing beliefs here.

 

Game wasn't that bad other than that. 


Review by 6power
Version reviewed: 0.60 on 2019-03-06 16:33:20

I liked this game. The comabt systm has potential and so story, keep up the good work. 


Review by Seleroan
Version reviewed: 0.60 on 2019-03-05 10:46:42

I like how this game plays with the JRPG combat standards.  There's a little bit of a paper/rock/scissors aspect to it, but once you get some magic and a few levels, the strategy opens up quite a bit.  It gets really interesting once you get into a mage duel.  

Basically, elemental spells will alter the combat "environment" such that they affect subsequent spells.  If you cast "water" then the environment becomes "wet" so cold is more effective, lightning will stun, and fire is nullified.  Handy if you are fighting a mage who likes to cast fire all the time.

That said, the way that enemies spawn is a little too quick currently, and they move a little too fast.  So it becomes quite easy to get hemmed in by three or four spawns at the same time and have to fight your way out.  People who don't like RPG combat will probably not like that.

Also, I would have liked it if the initial transformation was a little more drawn out.  Currently, it's just a "bamph" sort of thing with little fanfare.  The mental transformation is much more interesting.  Kudos there.

Looking forward for more.


Review by bane89
Version reviewed: 0.60 on 2019-02-25 20:30:14

i like this game, a good base with an interesting story. i am looking forward to seeing the completed game, although i'm saddened to see there will be no more relases until the game is finished as this may take a long time, or it may just never get finished like many games on this site. but overall it's worth the time it takes, especially with the random counters reduced as that would have been my only complaint.


Review by Houdini111
Version reviewed: 0.5 on 2019-02-24 03:07:12

The "Play Now" button should not be a link for downloading. It should only be used for linking to online versions of games that do not require downloads. 

During my time with the game, I encoutnered two major issues:

I encountered an error when attempting to read the (important) book in the library: "Failed to load: img/faces/characters.png", which is a picture that does not actually exist in the game data. It got stuck in an infinite loop of trying to load it. I made a copy of pre-existing files and renamed them "characters.png" and "characters.rpgmvp", which bypassed the issue.
I was able to softlock myself after getting the boat, by visiting the town on the north side of the island from the boat, which keeps it there. Exiting the city puts you below it, and going up (to where you'd be able to interact with it to get back on) puts you in the city.  

On the good side:

The game has a few entertianing little jokes and whatnot. Those were appreciated. 
I was quite surprised at the amount of content there is in this intitial release.
The combat seems like it has some decent room to grow, and isn't grindy at the moment.
The opening premise is entertaining enough, and could certainly be expanded into a full game. 
Some may dislike it, but I enjoyed the lack of explicit content. To me, it's a breath of fresh air when a game doesn't feel the need to... get dirty.

On the not so good side:

Encounters are bit too common in my opinion. There were times when I was lucky to go a full second of walking without an encounter, and there isn't much of a reason to fight; levels don't do that much and the only things to buy are consumables that would only be used in battle.  

 

So with all that said, I enjoyed my time with the current release of this game. I give it my approval, and look forward to seeing what the future holds for it.

 


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 0.5 on 2019-02-24 01:45:05

Well, so far so good, but there's an error message when grabbing the covenant book in the library.  I think something is supposed to trigger once it's read, but it just keeps flashing the error message instead.  Combat system is better than some, altho maybe needs some fine tuning.  Didn't find any TF's yet, tho might be behind the error event.  Didn't blow myself up with explosives in cave, or intentionally lose any fights.  Like where this is going, but will wait and see...  WAIT!  What's that sound...?  *looks around corner*  BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  X_X *holds up sign saying OUCH*