Escape the Citizen Factory

Author: dextersinister
Version: 1.0
Last Updated: 2019-12-29 22:35:57


Review by Lets
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-01-20 12:14:20

I think the "art" was put there just to get a media element to it.  Sometime less is better.


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2020-01-03 09:54:23

have no problem with the art, this game is not for a quick wank anyway. like that it is more of a game than most on this site, although not sure about replay value. are the escape room - like riddles always the same? seems so.


Review by Buridan
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2020-01-02 16:05:35

Good writing and interesting premise, with Trap Quest-esque gameplay. But the art really is intensely offputting, to the degree that it actively detracts from the game's quality. Would strongly suggest the dev at least put in a text-only option, at least until the art can be improved. The writing is certainly strong enough to sustain player interest on its own.


Review by CowTits
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2020-01-02 02:57:56

Neat Premise is completely overshadowed by sub-par gameplay and art that's the stuff of nightmares.

Do not recommend.


Review by CreoErgoEst
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2019-12-30 18:29:13

Yikes.  I can't tell if the game is good due to the presentation.  The layout and UI are terrible, the art is grotesque (hip joints don't work like that), the default info is dumb, and there's nothing at all that would hook most people.  Don't bother.


Review by MemeDaddy0
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-03-16 22:01:05

artstyle is too off putting

i tried giving it a chance though

the story overall is good enough

but the artstyle is kinda mood killing for me 4/10


Review by MistleFrost
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-03-16 19:09:11

A good start. I got frustrated with the game in its alpha release. I could explore part of the map but could only interact with one object. It might be because my Internet signal lags, might be because the game is still in alpha. I can't tell from where I sit.

Looking forward to updates.

 


Review by pedoune
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-03-01 22:39:44

Oooh yeah, the uncanny valley is strong with this one. Like, Palpatine strong. The writing is fine, but the portraits need either massive reworking so they don't look like a 2-D rendering of something from a nightmare fuel 3-D graphics glitch compilation video, or removal (either complete or optional). At this point it's a massive boner-killer, which is a pretty big demerit for a XXX game.


Review by splingmer
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-03-01 15:16:56

Dexter is a good writer, but dear god the graphics are horrible. 

This has the same graphics generator as Throne Of The Size Queen. Characters are terrifying, misshapen parodies of human shapes. Because I can't find an option to turn the graphics off, I'm forced to call the game unplayably bad. 


Review by kithrin
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 23:50:14

i agree about art, and 'selectable' gender to me, doesnt ean between shemale and female, as breasts stay on starting charecter no matter what


Review by razorblademan
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 21:16:15

I am fine with the art style. I prefer to just look at any form of art and then imagine it in my own style. I was a huge fan of Boobjitsu Matriarch and love the vibe of this game as well.

 

With that being said, I would love the author to explore the Dynamic Avatar Drawer for art. Its quite nice, and would make the art job easier, allowing more focus on gameplay. Great work so far!


Review by Althalus
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 19:35:06

Reminiscent of The Broken Sensor by JoeForest.

 

As many of said, the images are...distracting.

 

This is definitly a case of less is more. I'd reccomend removing the images, or using Dynamic Avatar or something.


Review by TheMartial
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 18:04:14

I'm not all that picky when it comes to art styles, having enjoyed a number of games with little more than paper-doll graphics, but yikes. I got as far as the first page where the graphic shows up, and quit right there. It's bad enough that it spoils the text - I can''t not look it, it's very eye-catching, but not in a good way. Legs don't attach at the flank of the torso. 


Review by Rust Kaiser
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 17:44:11

I'm gonna be honest, that art style is horrific. So horrific I lost all interest in playing. Please find an alternative, as what you're currently using hurts to look at.


Review by Bourbon
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 16:39:25

Here's a foreword: I like dextersinister's games in terms of mechanics. He's improved a lot in that regard, and at the very least tends to focus more on the -game- side of TF-Games. That's very good, and it takes a good amount more skill than what I have. They're even pretty funny at times.

 

But please, please, for the love of whatever you think runs the cosmos, stop using that goddamn art style. It is jarring as all hell, and forces me to stop playing. It ruined Throne of the Size Queen, and, while it's at least not at the forefront here, it's a substantial stylistic siphoner of my enjoyment. I can't say I like the game when I have some kind of blobby gorilla mean-dogging me in the upper left corner of the screen.


Review by GreatJT
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2019-02-28 15:37:21

I really wanna like dextersinister's games. They're usually quite well-written and have actual gameplay mechanics. But the artstyle he's employed in the last few games are just so unappealing that I can't deal with it. I haven't played a bunch of one of his games since Boobjutsu Matriarch.