Battle Mage Royal

Author: Tinon
Version: 0.20.7
Last Updated: 2021-07-20 19:17:05


Review by SnowCones
Version reviewed: 0.20.7 on 2021-07-20 20:52:35

This needs a improved tutorial to teach players how to play. As a BMR veteran, the newbies constantly have no idea how anything works or what to actually do. Maybe, the introductory classes could be required before meeting with other players. There should be pop-ups which could teach the player instead of just words. I have had to teach more people than I know what to do with. It's fantastic but no one knows how it works.


Review by xkira1995
Version reviewed: 0.19.4 on 2021-06-13 18:57:17

Great game! Still hoping for the ability to make players into inanimates coomes soon. ^^" Been waiting quite some time.~


Review by TVMonika
Version reviewed: 0.17.4 on 2021-02-27 22:39:50

I don't understand how to play this game.
You meet people and they just leave, before you can do anything. So you just wander around to different places doing nothing.

Explanation would be nice.


Review by soupeau56
Version reviewed: 0.14.1 on 2020-09-30 15:40:11

Initially, I didn't really understand the concept and I wasn't attracted to the idea of a porn MMO. I have to admit that I really liked the RP on this game.
At first we don't know what to say, then we end up letting ourselves be taken in by the inspiration of role play.
Even if there is hardly anything to explore and the system of movement is bizarre, there are a multitude of possible transformations, enough to modify our character and / or that of the players crossed. Enough to give free rein to your imagination.


Review by Airanuva
Version reviewed: 0.12.4 on 2020-06-06 16:18:30

This game has been slowly getting better over time. I played at first release, and it was pretty barebones; there was the skeleton of content, it just needed to be fleshed out.

It is getting regular updates that add bits and bobs to expand the content, though presently the majority of the gameplay is solely player interaction.

It is roughly similar to Transformania Time, but on a more personal scale, and more of a focus on a cohesive artstyle, and duels over grand melees.

 

It is definitely worth paying attention to this game, and checking in every now and then; I can't speak for the patreon and discord, but this game seems of actual work and quality, even in a skeletal state.

 

There are some flaws that need addressing though, outside of content which is more a matter of time:

Matchmaking

If a player is looking for a fight over normal RP, it is either calling on them to be rude and hope they don't escape, or beat up people who can't defend themselves... And annoy the folks looking for RP, or would prefer a fight mixed with RP over just a slugfest. There is already an option for marking that you are looking for RP, but there should be more. Looking for a fight, hunting items/spells, whether you are a Dom or a Sub... and then systems to allow these players to be matched with the right folks. Such a system could also possibly cut down on people constantly reloading into the same area just to try and find an encounter, and instead just have them stay in one area while it searches for a match, which could help server-side.

Matchmaking systems would cut out a number of frustrations with the game's RP systems, and likely elevate it above other games of this type.

 

Grinding

Every 60 seconds, a minute passes. Also the tiem of day changes and allows you to search for items, spells, all that good stuff. However, the game has a ton of RNG, and finding specific items or spells is a crapshoot. Pretty sure the game has a desire sensor hidden in the code...

The explore and search system is slow and monotonous. It doesn't even use up all of your actions in a round, leaving the only remaining actions as hitting yourself. You also have no guarantee to find what you are looking for even after an hour+ of searching.

The game really needs a trading system of some kind, which is on the list of features to be implemented. This'll help alleviated a lot of the grinding issues.

 

 

 

The game is a skeleton slowly growing flesh; once it has some muscles and fat on it, it's going to be one of the top games on the site.


Review by Millstone
Version reviewed: 0.9.4 on 2020-02-04 22:06:41

I checked this game out multiple times in development and I've definitely noticed how requested features do get added. Namely the friend system, which helps a LOT with roleplay.

So my overall experience with this game is that it's fairly grindy with little content. What is there is kind of meh. The real "meat" of the game is the interaction with other players, which from my experience is fairly mediocre. That's not on the devs though, people just go onto the game the poke around then dip. There are people who roleplay though, but they're pretty hard to come by. The last time I played, I ran into someone who was genuinely interesting in RP and we hit it off immediately. It was and incredibly rewarding experience.

It was at that point that I realized that the game could develop into a regular TF game and it'll be great, but the game also provides excellent tools for players to roleplay with. Fox transformations lead to interesting interactions involving... well... certain possible changes to the nether regions... which leads to interesting RP outcomes (wink wink).

The problem is that you need players to be actively willing to utilize the space. A DnD campaign is only as good as the players in it. The DM can set up this deep, interesting world... but it's ultimately up to the players to utilize the world in a meaningful way by using their imagination.

 

So far I'd give the gameplay a 4/10. It's fairly basic, and there's a lot of clicking and waiting which can get tedious. Also grinding for items is a huge chore as well, but it's technically an online multiplayer game so that's expected.

The User Interface gets about a 6/10. Again, basic but with a lot of clicking. I wish you can view an opponent's looks and inventory without having to click on social, then find the player in the recent tab. I should just have to click on them.

Art Design so far gets about a 5/10. It's also basic, but I'm sure it'll improve overtime. Art isn't a super important aspect in a game about roleplaying. The art that exists is pretty good though.

Fapability is a 5/10. It relies on current content, which is a bit lacking, and the TF aspect, which is fairly simple. However, I'd say that this score improves if you take roleplay potential into account. It adds just enough stuff to build a good roleplay off of. You just need to do some of the legwork, and you need a willing partner.

 

My requests:

Allow parties of 3 or 4 to share a room for RP purposes. It would add a ton of potential to the game.

More art of course, but that's easier said than done so this isn't a huge problem.

Better UI. There should be a button you can click to observe a player's worn items and transformations without clicking around.

Different ways to earn/find items. I'm not a fan of grinding, but if I'm given a quest with a reward then at least I feel like the past hour I spent getting an item was worth the effort.

Traps.


Review by Sabrecat
Version reviewed: 0.6.1 on 2019-08-14 19:55:21
While the game looks fun, and does look like it has a decent amount of content, a nice looking display and such. I would find the game far more fun if it had a single player only story mode where you interact with AI npc's. I'm far too shy to interact with real people in a tf porn game. When I found it was a game primarily interacting with real players I went ACK! And was out of there! Lol

Review by Shinchan
Version reviewed: 0.5.1 on 2019-06-03 03:29:10

A very fun game,  the social aspect is actually surprisingly good, being a pornographic game. It's a bit short in the tooth but I can't wait to see more. 


Review by alguienquepasaporaqu
Version reviewed: 0.4.0 on 2019-04-25 17:11:56

Gameplay is increasingly getting more interesting as updates continue. The addition of more objects, spells and interactions with defeated players could be really interesting, as well as maybe extra alterated states other than the current ones.

Good work!!


Review by zxc
Version reviewed: 0.2.2 on 2019-04-01 17:27:20

There's potental here. a lot of potental.

But the wait between changeing locations kills it for me.

currently gameplay consists of;
go to a lesson,
do lesson,
run out of spells and have to go back too your room,
wait 30s
arrive at room,
wait 1:30
go to location,
meet person,
cast spells,
wait 40s
round 2
cast spells,
go back to room,
wait 1:30
cast spells on self,
wait 1:30
go to location,
ect..


Review by Mojopoop
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-03-06 11:39:46

Really liking thsi so far! can't wait for more to be added!


Review by icarue
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-03-05 02:30:26

I feel is a weird thing to like, but i LOVED the UI (at least graphically), It reminds me of Persona 5. It could be mechanically better, small changes, doesn't need to be huge or even big. It's pretty well done overal. 

Content wise, there's not a lot, but there's a good base that doesn't need to change a lot to do a lot. Sprites don't change and the status is shown on a grid of images, so changes could be done easily. 


Review by emils
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-03-04 15:24:54

As it is now, there's very little content to be found in this game. It was also almost unplayable because of the constant errors I was getting, forcing me to often refresh the page. There have been some bugfixes since then though, so this may have been solved by now.

However, what is here seems to be the framework of what could become a fantastic game. I'm looking forward to more updates.


Review by ZevJimmu
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2019-03-04 02:04:58

Is there a purpose for the timer? Because so far it seems like it does nothing that could not be served by a "Move to next time frame" button. Also, it was not entirely clear that when you select a location it sends you there at the start of the next turn. And having spells in combat take both an action and a spell point seems like overkill. The battle system needs massive reworking in later sessions IMO.


Review by pyro32
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-03 16:32:15

The release came a bit too early, but a promising start. I'm looking forward to more content and players!


Review by Dragon_ANGL
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-03 13:53:21

An interesting character creation process. I haven't gotten much past that yet, but....as for browsers that it worked with for me, neither Internet Explorer nor Firefox worked, but Internet Edge did.


Review by EyeLoch
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-03 11:43:40

I like the presentation you've got going - though in terms of actual game content, it's rather bare-bones at present


Review by Lost
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-03 10:43:59

The game is very basic, without much to do at this point.  It's not worth playing, but has the possibility to become something more.

 

Shouldn't it be called Battle Mage Royale, not Royal?


Review by hjkhjubbbvvv747
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-03 08:56:59

Made an account, tried to unpack bags, got 1066 error, and now I can't play. Whenever I try and reselect my character, I get the same error message


Review by uytrewq
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-03 07:32:53

Amazing work! I believe that this doesn't just have the potential, but the capacity to grow. My username is Diviner, let's become friends!


Review by mystera
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-02 21:10:17

1006: unexpected error

Exit            Reload

 

Get used to it :P


Review by BlueMoon
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2019-03-02 19:29:47

Huge amount of potential, but really not much content yet.

Still, though, the framework's there, and it seems pretty ambitious. If the creator continues to update it regularly, than in time, this could be pretty good.