Healslut

Author: daviezwei
Version: 0.4G2
Last Updated: 2020-06-21 00:06:21


Review by trix
Version reviewed: 0.4G2 on 2020-07-04 13:06:46

I almost didn't try this one, but I am having so much fun with it. The immediate appeal is the gorgeous renders. Everything, especially the titular character, is beautiful. I wish I knew how to make stuff look this good. But beyond that, the writing is so good: so well-written, engaging, light and funny. Several times the dialogue has made me laugh out loud, certainly more than any other game here I have played. I don't know how close to being finished this is, but what I have played so far is more fun and better made than lots of games I have paid money for.


Review by surlaverge
Version reviewed: 0.4G2 on 2020-07-04 09:18:23

This game deserves a better title.  I passed it over countless times simply because I don't wanna play support... EVER.  Very very good game though!  Also the writing is very funny, and very clever.


Review by Hatha
Version reviewed: 0.4F on 2020-06-04 14:44:55

This review functions in some regard as a response to the previous one. 

To that end, expect some degree of spoilers.  

I've been a backer of this game for a while, so my general approval should be obvious.  

The choices in this game don't really change the plot dramatically so much as just just the general tone or flavor of events.  The main character (Sparkle) can either annoy the shit out of everyone or function as the linch pin of the group, literally being the only thing to hold some parts of it together.  

The character relationships are also definitely a high point in my mind.  Most of the characters generally have some depth to them.  With relativly few exceptions, characters tend to be much more than your surface impression of them.  And Sparkle goes from being an agoraphobic introvert with massive sexual repression to being someone who willingly offers up BUTT STUFF just to make someone happy.  The time scale of events in the story is really only a handful of days, the idea that the main character even changes THAT quickly is honestly a bit much, depending on how you look at it.  

I'll also go out on a limb and say that Roopah has really come around as one of my favorite characters.  If I could summarize her in two words it would be "coping mechanisms."  And even the team leader who comes off as being kind of a heartless dick ends up being a much more thoughtful person that you can feel a lot of sympathy for, depending on your choices.  

The game is at roughly the halfway point, I for one am excited for everything it has yet to offer.  It offers some of the funniest dialogue and best character development of any game on here and whatever anyone thinks of 3D renders, there's a lot of effort put in to make sure the game looks beautiful throughout.  

I highly recommend this game. Your choices really will reward you with a different experience and any path I've taken offers some kind of rewarding outcome with characters that grow on you as you spend time with them.  


Review by Skitterskulk
Version reviewed: 0.4D on 2020-03-10 12:34:46

This game is really fun, well done, sexy, and has some really great art.  Most XXX games only have skinny girls with giant breasts, but this game caters to many diferent tastes in shape.  The story is fun, if relatively linear, but it also means that with each update we get a lot more of the story. I LOVE the characters, they all have very interesting, iconic designs, and all have their own personalities.  The writing for all the npcs is really fun. Lel in particular is a favorite, she has some really great character development, moreso than any other character, and her art is fucking INCREDIBLE.

I really really want to love this game, and I wish this review stopped here.


HOWEVER, with each installment, I find that I like this game less and less.  Like, a lot.  The big problem is that the main character never, ever, learns or changes.  It is established early on that your character is a bit of a weirdo dickhead, and spends the first part of the game exclaiming things like "What?  You can't be serious?  You can't expect me to do that?" as well as making constant MMO references.  But then that just kind of... continues.  Even when you learn more about the world, and start to establish relationships with the other characters, the moment the next story beat happens you are back to "What?  I can't do that?  You're nuts!"  The main character goes from stereotypically unlikable, to unlikable, to I'm gonna rage quit this game if they complain one more time.  SO the longer the story goes, the more I dislike having to deal with them and the more I dislike the game.

Even when the main character AGREES to somehting, there is just endless, constant bitching about it.  Like looting.  I can totally see them being put out and confused to what a looter's job is at the beginning, but the character never settles into it.  after every battle, complaining.  complaining again afer you know you can't complain, then complaining more.  you are gagged to stop you from complaining, then the moment you are un gagged, you complain some more.  You complain in every situation while the other characters actually DO things, yet inexplicably you are the person who determines what they do at a crossroads.

Even when you agree to free use, you KEEP COMPLAINING.  I mean, the character should figure out at some point that free use means free use and either stop it or go along with it.  I mean, you agreed to it and all.  Can't you maybe have some character development and maybe start to like the things you agree to instead of constantly moaning and groaning about it?

It gets to the point where you just fucking HATE your character, and the other characters inexplicably liking your character, when all you are is a complete and total bitch to them, becomes off putting.  It gets to the point WAY beyond being a brat, and even then a brat is such because they like it, not because they just complain all the time and are confused about everything.  If you started out irritating and terrible, and then learned to be better as the game goes one, that would be amazing.  then you would really start to like your character more and more, as their relationship with the party gets better and better.  Sadly, no, this never EVER happens.

The unlikable, grating, ungrateful, dim, petualnt, whining, asinine, inept, resentful main character makes what would be one of the best games on this site, and one of the best ren'py games I have played period, into a slog that is NOT sexy and just irritating.


Review by Innocience
Version reviewed: 0.4A on 2019-12-21 22:55:23

Renpy Visual Novels tend to get convoluted and lose scope of all the possible routes they want to implement but only lead to their authors abandoning their project due to sheer size. However, this is not such a VN.

Game length / structure:
Instead Healslut tells a linear story with dozens upon dozens of different nuances, outcomes and flavours.
Think Telltale story telling but with much more facets and choices that actually influence stuff in an authentic way.
I've counted about 80-ish decisions in 0.4a, about two dozen that have deeper implications and about a handful with real meat. Depending on your previous decisions larger chunks can be missed though it may never feel as if something's missing. To give some perspective: After some 5 runs of the game in an attempt to view all the dialogue new small scenes still pop up. In terms of player choices it clearly bests Telltale.
You can be done with a single run in a few hours but you'll most likely miss out on quite a few great scenes.

Game content:
In 0.4a the bulk of the story and character work focuses on the MMO group although there is a (as of yet) inconclusive mystery main plot and an underdeveloped real-life side plot.
The group hierarchy and dynamic between the MMO characters makes the bulk of the story so far, all of which are well written, quirky and likeable. I'm particularly looking forward to seeing bottom girl get all bossy - though all of that depends on your previous choices.

Conclusion:
There's real quality here with great dialogue, characters and player choice. The linear format of this story gives me great hope Healslut will eventually lead to a satisfying finish and it's clear DavieZwei knows what they're doing. A+ rated game as far as I'm concerned.


Review by forced2be
Version reviewed: 0.4A on 2019-12-09 04:51:45

Whaa! This is really well made. And very complex for a story where you can choose different paths! Thank you for working on this game, it's one of the best TF game thingies that I've played. I love the different personalities and the choices and the outcomes. It ticks all the right boxes.

I want to give it 10 out of 10 ⭐'s as a game in progress.


Review by MagPie
Version reviewed: 0.4A on 2019-12-09 00:37:58

Though it's really a story more then a game, it is incredibly fun to go through. The character dialog and banter is very clever and witty. Sometime's it makes you laugh and a few times you get get dark insight to an even darker world.

 

All in all i would like to say i hate this, but "that loophole is now closed". So, I must say, I am thoroughly enjoying it. 

 

It is written very well with the characters each uniquely portrayed. It certainly is a fun little wonder you have here


Review by rubberdolltami
Version reviewed: 0.4A on 2019-12-07 13:36:08

Amazing game! I can't remember the last time I came across a game with this feeling of quality and sexyness! Can't wait for the next updates!


Review by leonais600
Version reviewed: 0.3b on 2019-11-18 20:17:46

This is a high quality game. Good UI. Good characters. Good choices. Very funny. The only thing it needs is more of the same.


Review by angeloftears
Version reviewed: 0.3a on 2019-11-06 04:52:27

Wonderful game. The story is straightfforward so far but you'd better to save each time when decisions are made. I would rate 9/10 for this masterpiece! 


Review by mollydeal
Version reviewed: 0.2f on 2019-10-09 08:14:39

one more enjoyable games of this site entertaining and story is intresting go goblins


Review by JustJustin
Version reviewed: 0.2f on 2019-10-08 09:27:49

This is a well-written game with some sexy scenes, some great humour and a surprising amount of content for where it's at atm.

It's already of the high standard I expect from this author, considering previous works like No Money Down Blues, which is to this date one of my favourite games on the site.

If you like either the description or previous games, I highly recommend this one! I for one can't wait for another update!


Review by Prince of Elsewhere
Version reviewed: 0.2e(r1) on 2019-09-30 19:58:17

It was an enjoyable game to playthrough. There are a lot of interesting themes mixed in and the game went in an interesting direction I did not see coming. I am interested to see where things go in future updates.


Review by anonmr
Version reviewed: 0.2e(r1) on 2019-09-29 13:17:28

the game doesnt take itself too serious which makes it absolutely hilarious

 

honestly one of the best ones i've read on here 


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.2d on 2019-09-25 23:52:39

End of current path : I want moarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

 

I laughed quite a bit.

 

Best story yet of yours.


Review by fercavenaghi
Version reviewed: 0.2d on 2019-09-23 22:09:34
I have played No Money Down Blues by the same creator a few years ago and it's incredible, really, how much his writing has evolved. There are a lot funny dialogues, sexy events and diverse paths to meet new characters as well as options which affect you. It's well crafted, well executed, and definitely shows the time and care that was put into writing it. The transformation - unlike its predecessor - it is well made and original.

There wasn't any sex (at least during MY playthrough) but I really started to feel an emotional connection with the characters - specially Lel - and with the story itself.

I cannot recommend this game enough to anyone who likes transformation themed games.

Review by KimSmyth
Version reviewed: 0.2d on 2019-09-17 13:42:20

Literally one of my current favourite games, absolutely love it💜! Can't wait for more. Keep up the good work. 


Review by FollowBob
Version reviewed: 0.2d on 2019-09-11 07:00:12

Really likeing the game so far, the fact choices matter without branching into seperate routes is very compelling and avoids common issues like dead ends or slow plot creation. Most characters seem to have some level of personality developing and breaking out from their inital sterotypes slightly in a way that hints at more in future, meanwhile art, sound and writing quality all remain top notch. It is essentailly a linear story at this stage, but I hope it remains fairly linear and continues to flesh out its story as it contnues to develop. My one gripe would be that a lot of the apparent choices so far make no impact, and aren't clear what impact they may have later down the track. For example you armor? There are 3 choices, seems to be cosmetic. What do you eat? Again three seemingly identical outcomes. A certain goblin that can be unhappy with you and if so does the same thing regardless of what you say, or a suprise ambush where you see three more choices yet the attacker just leaves regardless. That said, do replay and have a look around, some clearly "bad" decision making allows very interesting situations you'd have no way of expecting when trying to solve the puzzles offered perfectly.


Review by Uhhnonymoose
Version reviewed: 0.2c on 2019-08-28 21:21:04

I cannot say a bad thing about this game. It's easily the most promising thing on this site. The creator has quite the resumě. I can only fawn over this game. A++

Update to say that as time goes on I am continuously proven right in my assumption that this will be the greatest game of the year on this platform.


Review by verycoolname
Version reviewed: 0.2c on 2019-08-28 13:19:26

interesting and potentially entertaining, although I dislike the designs of some of the enemies. I'm not a fan of looking at the deliberately ugly stuff some people put in games like this.


Review by liamburns
Version reviewed: 0.2c on 2019-08-28 09:39:37

This is really becoming my favourite game FAST. I've liked all of the developer's previous games, but this one is the most involving, well-written and captivating of all of them. Can't wait for updates and really hope the nice story keeps going places. The characters are interesting, the premise is fun and there is a lot of promise regarging where the story can go.


Review by Capt
Version reviewed: 0.2b on 2019-07-19 17:48:15

I really enjoyed it so far. I hope to see further development because there is tons of potential here.


Review by Kasaix
Version reviewed: 0.2a on 2019-06-24 00:56:35

This is an amazing game so far. Really, any game by this creator is bound to be great. FAP is a favorite of mine. I can't wait to see where this one goes.


Review by themadqueen
Version reviewed: 0.2a on 2019-06-23 14:59:51

On paper, I should hate this game. I'm not into high fantasy settings for TG. I'm not into games that involve the main character becoming another gender through VR while remaining male in reality. I'm not into the whole idea of a "healslut" period. 

 

So it's a real testiment to what an amazing job this author has done that I love this game anyway. Both the renders and the story are incredibly high quality and engaging. Even if the premise doesn't seem like your thing, definitely give it a chance. 


Review by Antonaqua
Version reviewed: 0.1e on 2019-06-06 02:21:48

Great game so far! Hits home especially for me!

Now, some requested feedback:

The male voicelines were unexpected and threw me off a bit, the female ones were welcome :)

Animations and renders were especially good

Now, about the game:

The game is short, with few decisions, but is showing a lot of potential... like most of the games on this site.

Ren'Py games require a lot of work, but Ren'Py is superior than other engines if time and effort is put into it.

Don't let this discourage you, I just want to see more of this game and I wouldn't want you to burn out because of the engine :)


Review by Echo Hollow
Version reviewed: 0.1e on 2019-05-29 18:23:40

As usual, daviezwei brings us an excellent well-written game.  It is amusing; top-kek, even.  The art is surprisingly good.  And it even appears to be well-tested and non-buggy.  What more could we want?  :D


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 0.1d on 2019-05-09 02:36:37

Davie Zwei is quite a good writer - I've played their previous game, Fanucci's Amazing Pizza, which exuded huge amounts of charm and was delightful, sexy fun. Healslut is just starting, but what's here is a fine combination of sexy, funny, and smartly written. All signs point to Healslut being Davie Zwei's best work yet, and that's saying something! I'm eagerly looking forward to more.


Review by RVB
Version reviewed: 0.1c on 2019-05-05 11:46:31

There is not much content yet (a minute or two after "transformation"), but this most certainly has a lot of potential and looks good so far.


Review by AleksandrLynch
Version reviewed: 0.1c on 2019-05-04 18:24:59

This is definitely an interesting idea for a game, and a departure from the author's past of HTML games. At the same time, there's really not enough content to give a full opinion of the game. However, I'm sure it will be great if it gets finished. After all, this is from the same person who made Just an Adventure Through Time and Space. Which, while unfinished, is a wonderful game.


Review by Exotica
Version reviewed: 0.1c on 2019-05-04 04:23:07

ok So this is a demo, Just be warned it starts off slow then gets extremely interesting with the change and then suddenly it drops you.

 

Granted a Demo is a good start point but i was knuckled down to see a few fun things but las there is only about 15 or 20 minutes of content and even then it is mostly plot set up.

 

Perhaps more will come soon.

 

Started off nicely once you signed the contract and got the new module loaded........