Transylvania

Author: Somnium
Version: 0.1.50a
Last Updated: 2019-08-14 11:35:54


Review by Hatha
Version reviewed: 0.1.50a on 2019-08-15 22:25:00

The basic game mechanic in this game is something I've been dying to see executed for a while now and I think the creator nailed it.

I'm eager to see where it all goes.

I would definitely like to see locally hosted images, I download games and play them offline later, so I essentially miss out on all the art.  


Review by ziztazlut
Version reviewed: 0.1.50a on 2019-08-15 08:15:29

Fantastic game. Very engaging mystery and although the erotic content is sparse, it really feels deserved when you reach it. The writing and overall production value is something that all authors on this site should admire and all readers should consider supporting through patreon.


Review by Kyrael
Version reviewed: 0.1.50 on 2019-08-12 13:27:38

Transylvania is a game that's hard to talk about because it's just so great to experience unspoiled, so I'll stick to the generic parts:

It has a lovingly crafted setting that invites exploration and experimentation while its characters are intriguing and erotic and always hint at more than meets the eye. The core mechanisms work well for its premise. The writing is superb and constantly manages to leap between foreboding, evocative, creepy, sexy and evocatively creepy in a sexy way. The art style is certainly a change from all the usual porn gifs, but it wonderfully fits the genre.

A word of advice, though: Do not expect quick masturbation fodder as soon as you click Play. There is more than a bit of exquisite erotic writing in there, but the story builds up to that over some time to go from "mundane student looking for an interesting summer job" to "lots and lots of sex". Additionally, the setting's horror aspects are often presented in a sexualised way, but they are not defanged.

The current version of the game (0.1.50) has a good chunk of material that can keep players busy for some time and will not leave you hanging (though perhaps wanting for more).


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.1.49 on 2019-07-10 10:25:53

It is an interesting game for sure.

Its at an early phase with basic sketch art.

As for game mechanics : it is that i hope many developer learn from as a positive example.


Review by filament
Version reviewed: 0.1.49 on 2019-07-10 03:53:09

I've really been enjoying this one. 
The setting's cool and I like the concept a hell of a lot.

I really like the use of secrets as currency and then using them to buy permanent upgrades. That's so well suited to a game with a loop like this.


My biggest complaint is the strange "reflecting on my life" - about the relationships, pets, etc - every time you use a bead. If it's going to be significant in the future, I'd say keep it as-is, but its a bit too slow and feels irrelevant at the moment.


Review by annika
Version reviewed: 0.1.49 on 2019-07-08 10:50:12

Oh my!

If this was some movie's first 15 minutes, I would call it a promising gem and a future piece of art. Something like a Groundhog Day with a dark and twisted world built around it. Well written and highly recommended, even while unfinished!


Review by HelloworldIizded
Version reviewed: 0.1.49 on 2019-07-08 03:09:17

One thing I noticed is that if the time is XX:05, it will display as XX:5 on the clock


Review by HypnoKitten
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-29 23:04:03

Fantastic art, writing, concept.. and it left me very much curious to see more of it!  Best of luck!


Review by Skadia
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-26 16:49:17

Never reviewed a single game before, but I have to for this one. It's so immersive and very different from most other games on this site. I was really sad when I arrived at the end of the current content, and I really hope you're going to finish it. 


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-25 11:48:31

Same as Alex the MC  after leaving the Antiques Boutique I realized it is  1 a.m. after having started playing the game about 4 hours before. The past hours were gone, unexplainably. I write this to illustrate the quality of immersion. In my playthrough to the end of current content (after having chosen 2times the butler outfits) I did not encoutner any XXX content, so I´m a bit surprised the XXX tag was set. However I prefer slow progression over instant access to wank content and do not see this low level of lewdness as a disadvantage.


Review by corby
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-24 13:33:35

Really, really good writing and a world I can't wait to explore further!

 

Review by ronjonopen
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-24 05:39:14

What a delight! Production quality seems exceptional so far, and though the story only advances a short amount of time the hooks are all there for something truly inspirational. Looking forward to the next update!


Review by prismgoy
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-23 22:14:28

Oh man, I'm liking this one. Wonderful writing, interesting setting, and loads of potential. I hope the author finishes this one, this is something I'll be keeping a close eye on.


Review by Echo Hollow
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-23 21:37:24

This one is really good.  Ranks up there with games like The Weekend and Wanton Cove.  Looking forward to more!


Review by Unicron9999
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-23 18:21:38

Amazing production value, immersive writing and art- this is already a great game and I'm dying to see more!


Review by vengeance1980
Version reviewed: 0.1.48 on 2019-06-23 17:54:45

I like the art style and the setup.  Please keep it going:)