Perchance to Dream

Author: DesiDee
Version: 1.0.1
Last Updated: 2019-08-20 10:32:25


Review by blodgett66
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2020-01-11 19:16:48

I've only finished 3 of the outcomes, but I enjoyed them all so far. Great game, polish is very nice as well. Good work.


Review by bobkelpie7
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2020-01-11 01:54:05

Great progression and very hot, plus it is actually complete.

If you are into a transformation game with mental changes you should definately try this one out. It also feels like a game with a goal instead of just a visual novel.


Review by Buridan
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2019-09-07 13:22:04

Really good game.

You are tasked with incepting a close relationship with a rich CEO. To do this you dive into his dreams/memories at a time in his life where he was particularly vulnerable and lost, and go through the same day again and again trying to get close to him. The day is reset, but his feelings about you are not. Over the course of 8-12 loops, your aim is to build up a relationship with him in his memories so that you can then take advantage of it in real life.

There are various activities you could do throughout the course of the day, most of them with a % probability of success. You can increase the likelihood of success by using "Body" or "Charisma", but each time you do, it increases a counter that slowly transforms you as his subconscious adjusts to your manipulation. You can try to position yourself as his best friend, or love interest, depending on your inclination.

Gameplay-wise, this is solidly in the lifestyle grind sim subgenre where you go through a daily routine, but a couple of things make this one of the best entries in this subgenre. Firstly, unlike many of its peers, it's not grindy. By default, you get only 8-12 loops to accomplish your objective, and the progression is balanced with that in mind. Every loop feels like there's something new and significant happening. There is very little filler, and the game doesn't outstay its welcome. Secondly, the looping nature of the gameplay has an in-universe explanation, which makes the repetition feel intentional rather than making you feel like you've bumped up against the limit of the game.

(Sidenote: there is an endless mode, but I don't recommend it as it runs into the exact issues I just praised it for avoiding. Sometimes it's better to not see the seams.)

The game is also a lot more polished and visually appealing than I've come to expect from brand-new HTML games. This is a feature-complete game, with no janky code or "under construction" pages. The visual style is tasteful and pleasant. The writing strikes a good balance between being descriptive enough to pull you into the story but not too much as to be overly verbose. The prose doesn't go any crazy places, but is good enough to carry the game through a lack of explicit images.

Overall, this is a solid 9/10. Agree with one of the other reviews: this is a classic.


Review by Goldendawn
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2019-09-04 00:33:58

I love this game - there is a lot of stuff that changes from time to time in the game as you progress :) It is a very well thought out game and something I will be playing over and over again :D


Review by ff87
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2019-08-28 07:47:29

Nice game. Every day is a repetition but a bit different, and it doesn't get boring (until the PC is totally bimbo for a few days).

The endings are a bit of an add-on: save and quit every day, to find them all.

For further development, a bit more state from earlier days could be kept. Choices from earlier days becomming default, or influencing preferences.


Review by awkwardcultism
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2019-08-25 14:45:30

This is likely to go down as this site's best new game of 2019 in most people's minds. Stylish and immersive, with a good amount of gameplay and strategy. It's the new must-play. Start it up and you'll understand why in the first five minutes.


Review by ziztazlut
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2019-08-19 02:45:12

Perchance to Dream is an instant classic. While I encourage the author to expand the story and add more polish where they see fit, this game can be played and replayed already. This is the sort of game I aspire to make. Although I'd love a more open world, there is already so much to explore. I've only seen one ending so far and I'm motivated to see just how many endings I can find. <3 keep it up and I look forward to seeing your future work!


Review by lurkingbutpleasant
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2019-08-18 02:32:03

I'm still trying to get all the endings, but I've had a lot of fun so far.  Well done!


Review by Tyamor666
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2019-08-17 16:30:34

First off, I'd like to thank you a ton for submitting this game in its final, polished state. The UI is great, and leagues above most of the games on this site. Well done. Multiple endings highly encourage several different playthroughs, and I see myself returning to this game frequently. Honestly, my only real suggestions are possibly adding an avatar so we can see our characters development through the game, and a list of which endings we've unlocked. Great work.


Review by GwenTFGfan
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2019-08-16 23:48:36

Perchance to Dream is a rather fast and fun game. Just as the creator of this game stated, the game itself offers a very linear play-through. The replayability suffers as the beforementioned game play design.

A great effort was put into varying both the options and interactions with the main NPC as your character's "level" goes up. It keeps the gameplay refreshing. A solid, decent game for its style.

 

Suggestions:

1. Some sort of "ending-list", for those who are keen to see the game's endings through. If possible, can set it to unlockable (i.e., you can check the list to see what other ending is still left).

2. I know this game is already consider finished. I do wish the PC was given the option to confess his/her wrong doing.

3. Maybe introducing  day-specific events or just random events in general... Or certain locations that only become avaliable after certain days...

 

Thank you for making the game. I enjoyed and had fun play the game. Good luck and look forward to your next development!


Review by Case Scenario
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2019-08-16 22:40:49

For my money, this is easily one of the best games on the site.  It's wonderfully involved, detailed, well-written, intuitive, aesthetically pleasing, and polished.  You should be very proud.

I'm not sure if I can make any criticisms, aside from a rare typo here and there (the epilogue in the ending I got had "$femname" in place of the character title).  I look forward to replaying this again and again, looking for those different endings!  Thank you for your efforts.