Fresh Starts

Author: LordOfChange
Version: 0.0.9b
Last Updated: 2021-05-04 04:35:41


Review by silverhammermax
Version reviewed: 0.0.8b on 2021-03-21 15:09:54

So far it's a very good concept, but the QoL oprtions are bugged. Every morning the debug escape has to be used as it breaks somewhere after it applies the time for breakfast and shower but before it flags them as complete. Also randomly interspersed with every action involving changing outfits.Otherwisethe gameplay is solid enough and show potential if one is into a slower burn and selecting the options for themselves.

 

I'll be keeping an eye out for some significant bug fixes, but I'm excited to try again.

---Update---

That was a wonderfully fast update and many bugs were addresed. There are still a few liying in wait, but it made the game playable enough to track trough many options. the gym still binds up making it impossible to use after your first trip, unless you manually change your outfit.

There's a very solid foundation for a game here, but very little going on without player driving or foreknowledge. I can see the framework of a decent game here building itself up and I know with a little expansion and some better in-character engagement this game could be one of the greats.

One of the major failings of slow-burn TF games is player engagement during the tedium. Strong QoL features, clear paths, and intermittent burst of activity are critical to make it happen. Fresh Start is clearly building toward those, but doesn't have all of them yet. The game is currently at a point where you can experience the tedium, then buy your way clear fo some of it via the alarm clock (When the routines are working) and outfit saving. There's also framework for more to make things easier.

What's lacking is feedback and clear pathing. Feedback on what resources have been used by automation or when something has been altered outside of the various hypnotic content the player has to choose to engage in. Clear pathing in what actions are suggested, something to lead the player to make the right choices to engage the content they want. I can see the intentions to include that sort if guidance and from the earlier glitches I encountered, it's likely the kind of reporting I'm asking about is already in the back ground, we just need it more accessible.

On the subject of intermittent activity, there's some strong flashes here and there, but there could stand to be more and they would make a great way to guide the player without having to eternally use the porn/hypno method (For instance, In several hours of playing I encountered a single opportunity to decrease dignity, but reducing dignity is needed for most of the lewd content)


TL;DR: There is massive potential here. There's framework obviously in place for something good, but the execution so far leaves the player wandering in circles with too little feedback as to what effect they're even having.


Review by sappho
Version reviewed: 0.0.8 on 2021-03-16 19:33:20

It's fine so far, and could develop into something great. The transition from "I would never buy femme clothes" to "I'm happy to go out fully en-femme" seems abrupt, hopefully that's softened as the game/plot develops.

My main gripe is the repeated use of quotes around the pronoun of a trap character, even after you know. It's just not necessary to refer to quote every reference to "her" as "she". Just use female pronouns without quotes and it will be fine.


Review by Witoli
Version reviewed: 0.0.7c on 2021-01-25 11:29:58

This game has promise but:

It starts and progresses way to slow, even if you don't want to make a wank game, there still has to be other non repetetiv content in that case.

There are so many unneccesary clicks - there is no respect for the players time if you have to click your way through five pages just to leave your house in the morning.

In its current form I couldnt continue playing it to see what you can unlock later.


Review by black_swan
Version reviewed: 0.0.6 on 2020-11-05 06:29:58

Love this so much! 


Review by PHDIKOULAS
Version reviewed: 0.0.3b on 2020-02-27 00:15:35

really interesting premise and game so far. My only beef is that some scenes are not repeatable. Some games repeat scenes too often and this ruins the game but here its every scene once. Otherwise this game is worth its download. Thumbs up dev. Obviously its 003 version so dont expect much stuff but keep an eye for this


Review by DastardlyDoug
Version reviewed: 0.0.2g on 2020-01-14 00:27:57

Like the game so far, but...

It would be nice if the saves were compatible. Since they're not, maybe make that clear since you update the game quite often.

Good luck.


Review by exprmntle
Version reviewed: 0.0.1c on 2019-10-25 21:48:02

The idea appeals - it's a life sim for someone who is a bit older, maybe older than some other MCs (Sissy Girlfriend Experience; Making of a Slut; Perverted Education).  But the game doesn't really exist at this point.

Some problems:  The time system doesn't seem to work.  I have restarted several times and I haven't been able to get to school and actually learn anything.  Maybe this is intentional.  The reminder to go register for classes is irritating for this reason.  The job allows you to work double shifts  but, if you take the second shift, it ends just after midnight which, for some reason, causes you to lose the whole day and advances you to next day (Example: You work two shifts on Wednesday.  You finish the second shift at 12:20 AM, Thursday.  Even if you go right to sleep, you wake up on Friday at 8:00am.  

I will keep an eye on this game but, at this point, the small problems make it hard for me to really enjoy it.


Review by RM750
Version reviewed: 0.0.1c on 2019-10-25 21:17:27

Very short so far and a tad rough around the edges, but fun! I like it.


Review by futatiger
Version reviewed: 0.0.1b on 2019-10-19 06:00:23

it's a great start. i look forward to more of this game


Review by odetocomplex
Version reviewed: 0.0.1b on 2019-10-19 01:39:36

nice, this is my kind of game! sexy bodily progression and interesting images!