College Daze: Follow the Light

Author: G28Here
Version: 0.064b
Last Updated: 2020-09-14 16:27:53


Review by aps
Version reviewed: 0.064b on 2020-09-16 03:17:30

For what is currently in the game, there's a surprising amount of depth, narrative options, and other choices, and they all feel somewhat meaningful. Thankfully the back and forward buttons are present allowing you to explore all the choices if you're gunshy about committment like I am.

Gameplay is a basic CYOA game with stat build, but the writing is well done, the story is interesting, and the characters feel like they are well-written, although the large cast and the use of porn star pics to represent them meant that, personally, I started losing track visually of some of the characters, and also sometimes forgot their names. Fear not though, as the game provides a way for you to refresh yourself and keep track of all the characters so it's not too overwhelming.

This is still a linear game, from what I can tell, but there is a large amount of replayability based on the choices you can make and the fact that you can't explore all the pathways in a given playthrough. I don't know if this kind of branching structure will continue as the game fleshes out but given the quality of the writing so far I have high hopes that it will retain this level of quality and narrative storytelling.

Not to oversell it, it's still a porn game, but it's always nice when these things are well written and have an engaging story.


Review by Stuff123
Version reviewed: 0.059a on 2020-09-06 02:05:03

Oh my god! Love this game, it's fantastic, wonderful, and prime fap material. Like, one of my favourite play online games on the site.


Review by blehtastic
Version reviewed: 0.059a on 2020-09-05 14:25:47

This game is fucking great. Like, phenomenal. There's actual characters, a plot, etc. I know that sounds like minimal praise but for this site it's a pretty gigantic accomplishment. If I had to complain, it's that the main character is kind of a dick by default, and that it's hard to tell if your choices are actually affecting the plot or not.  Regardless, great game. 


Review by darkskull
Version reviewed: 0.056a on 2020-06-24 03:28:48

This game is really good!

i for one really like the abundance of pictures and videos, and the writing is decent as well. the fact that there are no dead ends in this game is part of what makes it fun. i'm still not sure if i've discovered all scenes. keep it up!


Review by Onedrift
Version reviewed: 0.056a on 2020-06-19 15:47:35

I actually really love this game because it captures the essence of what a horny college freshman would do with powers like this. There's a really dark storyline happening around the sex that goes on here, and there are a lot of options to go investigating the various characters. Or you can play the horny power user and miss a lot of the details that a more level headed approach will provide, which is awesome (Means replayability too!).


Review by Broccolicauliflower
Version reviewed: 0.050b on 2020-04-29 04:56:53

I can't believe I am going to say this, but I think there is too much sex here for a porn game, this game seems like it could be great but I feel like it mixes two different styles in a way that doesn't fit, while there is a story, 90% of the game is mainly just "go to this scene, choose what kind of sex you want to have and then go to the next scene and repeat" nothing you choose matters after that specific scene is over, this game is long enough and has enough depth that it is not just a quick click, fap, done game, but then when you play it you realize that's all it is, it's just too long and tedious for what is actually happening in the game


Review by seanpatrickmorgan
Version reviewed: 0.042g Full on 2020-04-06 21:50:16

I've had lots of fun with this game. Nice amounts of text and images. It has a lot of promise.


Review by bobbob9999
Version reviewed: 0.042g Full on 2020-03-27 01:31:39

While the game is obviously well written, I lost interest reasonably quickly.  And I think it's because there's just not enough feedback from the game about the choices you make.  Sure, you can see in your phone the stats for everyone, but tracking changes to those stats after choices is neither fun or praticable. The characters have heaps of pctures of them that get more lewd, but these aren't easy to correlate with the multiple stats they have. And because each encounter you have with the characters is a new scenario, it's impossible to gauge if your previous choices have had any effect, since you have no baseline to compare them to at any stage of the game.  So the choices feel meaningless, and I got bored.

Please consider implementing character stat change text, just like how your own stat changes are shown.


Review by Kishinslayer
Version reviewed: 0.041c on 2020-03-10 23:21:42

Started this game thinking "I've seen enough overcomplicated rags games to know where this is going." I don't have very good experiences with games that tell you to pick your stats in the beginning. it's usually a solid indicator of an overcomplicated game where everything is spelled wrong and the stats don't matter. turns out, I was pretty damn wrong about it. I'm not even slightly into milfs so I can't really say this game is what I'm looking for, but the sheer number of paths this game has is absurd. I feel like every time I choose something I'll see mention of it in later dialogue. I can't say that it's on the level of something like student transfer, where I've actually become emotionally attached to the characters, but this is a CLEAR cut above your average TF game. really seems like the author knows what they're doing and actually gives a shit about the game. in terms of sheer design for a tfgame, I give it a very solid 9/10.


Review by StrangeBrainwave
Version reviewed: 0.041c on 2020-03-10 14:54:45

This game is brilliant. Really well-written, lots of choices that actually seem to matter, with so many different branches that I still don't think I've seen them all. With every update, it gets better and better, and I can't wait for the full game.


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 0.013a on 2020-02-01 21:21:11

This is a really good game. Lots of paths with meaningful choices. The writing is strong. I am not a huge fan of the milf content but that is more a fetish complaint thananything else.


Review by leonais600
Version reviewed: 0.009a on 2020-01-09 09:42:29

This is very promising. The writing and presentation is fine. Each character has their own porn star pics and you can use magic powers on them for sexy scenes. There's also a lot of gameplay choice that both develops your magic powers and influences the characters at the same time. This gives replayability exploring different powers and different characters.


Review by Tafuri
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-23 21:20:44

I spent soooo long trying to get Mrs. Maywood in bed.  Either I didn't have enough time, or I couldn't figure out the right route.

College Daze: Follow the Light is a fun CYOA game following a college kid who acquires the ability to tap into supernatural powers.  These powers come in the form of lights you sometimes see floating around, and usable spells that come from those lights.  Now it isn't really immersive as far as teh magic goes.  You can only cast spells when given the option, but whether those options are available is determined by which lights you picked beforehand and how much energy you have. 

The result is deeper than I would have expected.  In its current state the game only gives you one day to work through.  Some events branch, but some are mandatory.  However depending on which lights you picked and which characters you want to follow, the scenes can play out differently.  It helps to add variety to the CYOA game while also helping the developer control the endless branching that is the challenge of every CYOA game dev.  As I indicated above, I spent a long time trying to get Mrs. Maywood into bed with me and couldn't do it.  But I chased down several of the other possible conquests with interesting results, and even used the transformation power to add new options in.  Liberal use of the 'back' button lets you constanly re-choose your powers and re-manage your energy, taking different sexy routes through the day.

That said, there is still only one day to work through in this early version.  It ends sooner than you'd like.  The energy system has potential, but can feel limiting when you see an option closed and aren't sure how to conserve the energy needed to both reach it and keep it open.  The stats are probably going to be used for checks, but at the moment they don't seem to mean much.  Also while I'm sure the options for porn stars in demon costumes was limited, the demon we meet at the end of the day looks really goofy.  Still, this is a fun time, if a little quick even with replay value.

Of note, while the author is using porn images for their visuals, they are consistent in which model is attached to which role.  This aids recognition of the character during play.  They also credit them in the game's phone system, which is appreciated given that their work is being used.


Review by mimi69
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-19 10:07:51

I think this game is going to be really good! I played it a few times and tried different ways. I wish it went for more time. 

story is very good, the idea for the game is really good. I want to see more about that when it gets longer. 

Pictures and descriptions are also very good. 

I am waiting for more update!


Review by DrElliotReid
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-17 22:17:29

Doesnt seem to be much there... feels like I played a different game to other reviews tbh


Review by TyrantTraitor
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-11 21:00:00

I decided to give this game a chance just off of the description. And let me tell you, it doesn't do the game justice.

 

I'm still fairly early into the game (Still on day one) and this is one of the better games that I've seen on the site recently. The writing is great, the images aren't too intrusive, and the content is wonderful. This is a game which has so many different possibilities and can keep growing. I do hope development and growth will continue with the game. 


Review by ronjonopen
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-11 16:42:45

I was a little worried when reading the hyperbolic reviews below, I've seen that kindof thing pop up on this site, but I was very happy to see that their descriptions of the game were accurate.

Pros: This is a great setup, it has a wonderful currated collection of images, multiple fleshed out paths and what feels like the groundwork for what could become one of the best games on the site.

Cons: Transformation is at a minimum at the moment, and you'll only get one in game day to develop and mess with your powers.

Give it a try!


Review by SladeMage
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-10 11:09:54

Great start! Feels like a complete concept that could propose a huge amount of content. Hope to see regular updates on this one!


Review by Atar
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-10 04:33:24

This game is going places! First few runs have no broken links, plenty of good picture choices, no typos, and a well written story.

 

I hope the future updates are as well done as this one!