College Daze: Follow the Light

Author: G28Here
Version: 0.024c
Last Updated: 2020-02-09 14:41:00


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 0.013a on 2020-02-01 21:21:11

This is a really good game. Lots of paths with meaningful choices. The writing is strong. I am not a huge fan of the milf content but that is more a fetish complaint thananything else.


Review by leonais600
Version reviewed: 0.009a on 2020-01-09 09:42:29

This is very promising. The writing and presentation is fine. Each character has their own porn star pics and you can use magic powers on them for sexy scenes. There's also a lot of gameplay choice that both develops your magic powers and influences the characters at the same time. This gives replayability exploring different powers and different characters.


Review by Tafuri
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-23 21:20:44

I spent soooo long trying to get Mrs. Maywood in bed.  Either I didn't have enough time, or I couldn't figure out the right route.

College Daze: Follow the Light is a fun CYOA game following a college kid who acquires the ability to tap into supernatural powers.  These powers come in the form of lights you sometimes see floating around, and usable spells that come from those lights.  Now it isn't really immersive as far as teh magic goes.  You can only cast spells when given the option, but whether those options are available is determined by which lights you picked beforehand and how much energy you have. 

The result is deeper than I would have expected.  In its current state the game only gives you one day to work through.  Some events branch, but some are mandatory.  However depending on which lights you picked and which characters you want to follow, the scenes can play out differently.  It helps to add variety to the CYOA game while also helping the developer control the endless branching that is the challenge of every CYOA game dev.  As I indicated above, I spent a long time trying to get Mrs. Maywood into bed with me and couldn't do it.  But I chased down several of the other possible conquests with interesting results, and even used the transformation power to add new options in.  Liberal use of the 'back' button lets you constanly re-choose your powers and re-manage your energy, taking different sexy routes through the day.

That said, there is still only one day to work through in this early version.  It ends sooner than you'd like.  The energy system has potential, but can feel limiting when you see an option closed and aren't sure how to conserve the energy needed to both reach it and keep it open.  The stats are probably going to be used for checks, but at the moment they don't seem to mean much.  Also while I'm sure the options for porn stars in demon costumes was limited, the demon we meet at the end of the day looks really goofy.  Still, this is a fun time, if a little quick even with replay value.

Of note, while the author is using porn images for their visuals, they are consistent in which model is attached to which role.  This aids recognition of the character during play.  They also credit them in the game's phone system, which is appreciated given that their work is being used.


Review by mimi69
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-19 10:07:51

I think this game is going to be really good! I played it a few times and tried different ways. I wish it went for more time. 

story is very good, the idea for the game is really good. I want to see more about that when it gets longer. 

Pictures and descriptions are also very good. 

I am waiting for more update!


Review by DrElliotReid
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-17 22:17:29

Doesnt seem to be much there... feels like I played a different game to other reviews tbh


Review by TyrantTraitor
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-11 21:00:00

I decided to give this game a chance just off of the description. And let me tell you, it doesn't do the game justice.

 

I'm still fairly early into the game (Still on day one) and this is one of the better games that I've seen on the site recently. The writing is great, the images aren't too intrusive, and the content is wonderful. This is a game which has so many different possibilities and can keep growing. I do hope development and growth will continue with the game. 


Review by ronjonopen
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-11 16:42:45

I was a little worried when reading the hyperbolic reviews below, I've seen that kindof thing pop up on this site, but I was very happy to see that their descriptions of the game were accurate.

Pros: This is a great setup, it has a wonderful currated collection of images, multiple fleshed out paths and what feels like the groundwork for what could become one of the best games on the site.

Cons: Transformation is at a minimum at the moment, and you'll only get one in game day to develop and mess with your powers.

Give it a try!


Review by SladeMage
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-10 11:09:54

Great start! Feels like a complete concept that could propose a huge amount of content. Hope to see regular updates on this one!


Review by Atar
Version reviewed: 0.001b on 2019-12-10 04:33:24

This game is going places! First few runs have no broken links, plenty of good picture choices, no typos, and a well written story.

 

I hope the future updates are as well done as this one!