Shattered

Author: YedaGames
Version: 0.10
Last Updated: 2020-11-04 07:34:06


Review by leonais600
Version reviewed: 0.10 on 2020-11-05 22:10:22

This is quite an extensive visual novel now. The focus is sissyfication. The art is good. Plenty of different characters. Choices do matter. There is a good walkthrough. I think there are some structural problems in the VN but only in comparison to professional games. If this is your sort of thing then you probably will enjoy this.


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.9 on 2020-08-17 00:22:23

Oh look a Maid! (I'm always looking for such themed games)

Oh wait it's not just about being a Maid! (Character development is the most important thing ever)

Choices actually do make a difference! (Except the feminization part...which I personally ADORE!)

The graphics are amazing! (Not obligatory, but a very big PLUS)

I didn't manage to finish in one sitting! (Many games on TFGS are finished after a sitting. I prefer long slow burning stories that keep me dwelling deeper and deeper into the story. And somehow the story occasionally skips days at a time and somehow manages to keep everything fresh and interesting.)

I saw mistakes! (but ultimately they didn't diminish the story and I understood the meanings even if there were blips here and there)

And there is sex! (Not obligatory in my book for something to be good, but a bonus if done well, which it does so far (at page 10 of walkthrough, I learned that walkthroughs help to get the best ending, and I don't mind being spoiled a little bit)

Oh, and there are never enough Maids! (I'm just difficult like that, but this game really ranks high up for my love of such thematic games)

Score so far: 9.3/10


Review by MaidMarion
Version reviewed: 0.9 on 2020-08-01 14:14:10

I have to say this is probably my favourite game on the site. It has a really in-depth storyline with great lore, a lot of choices and great renders. I cant understand why its not as popular and big as say perverted education. Maybe because its because its a Ren'py game rather than a HTML or something else I really dont know.


Review by Red-XIII
Version reviewed: 0.8 on 2020-07-10 11:38:36

This should have a "voluntary" tag, really, because somewhere about half-way through the current content MC starts talking, acting and thinking like a typical willing trans that did the entire "transition" on their own and is only regretting not doing it sooner.

This is actually the one weak point in the whole writing. The game makes a statement early on - in slums, where MC grew up, there's only two kinds of people - muscleheads and their whores.

MC clearly doesn't belong in the first category, because of his physique, but would comfortably fit into the second category, as far as physique goes, and yet manages to avoid doing that for the entirety of his life in the slums.

You'd THINK that would mean that he has strong inner aversion to it, but guess what - he doesn't. In a way he's a minor glitch of society that his new mistress quickly and easily "corrected" (actually, the game itself puts it this way).

Yet if you look only at the introduction (basically the content covered in initial release IIRC - from game start till early captivity) you'd be expecting an MC that'd keep resisting till the end.

And you'd be expecting in vain because that's not happening, not even on a single path.

The game lets you steer MC's sexuality and dominance levels (and decides the path the process), but his waning masculinity and inhibitions are out of your hands.

 

The only other flaw in the writing would be the endless stream of MC's thoughts, they work and they work well, but there's just a bit TOO many of them. It's not that far over the amount that would work best, but without any breaks that endless stream gets old far easier than it should have.

 

Other than that  the writing is good.

The content is well reinforced graphically - It's comparable to playing AAA games - if a character is described wearing an outfit you get the graphics to go along with it that fit the description precisely, and it's not just clothes. Looks, many positions in various events, backgrounds/decorations - what you read is what you see. I don't remember a single disparity between the visible content and the text.

And the amount of content is staggering. It feels like even if we put all the other VN games on this site together into one big lump, this one could still give them a run for their money.

And this is huge (no pun intended). VNs are generally big on reading and the biggest issue with the other VNs on this site is how easy it is to run into stub. This is just a mild annoyance for a more game-shaped games, and even the ones that are essentially interactive fiction can get over it because they are generally just collections of scenes. But for VNs, where the entire point is to enjoy the crafted story in detail, this is a deal breaker, because a story is best enjoyed WITHOUT months-long interruptions.

I didn't actually finish this one, but by the looks of it the amount of content here at version 0.8 ACTUALLY constitutes around 80% of what a respectable professional VN could have at launch, paths and all. And on top of that, it's not structured like a stub kingdom, where there's a lot of branching near the begging but most of it leads nowhere (I'm looking at you, re:Dreamer).

Overall a great game, just mind your tastes if you're not into willing feminisation, because this MC WILL act like a willing trans no matter what you do with him.


Review by johnpacifist1
Version reviewed: 0.7 on 2020-05-31 23:15:25

Yeah, I don't think I need to make another huge review like the other people raving about this game. It's great. You should play it. Fantastic story, great scenes, awesome characters. Look down for significantly more in-depth reviews that are also highly recommending this game. <3


Review by Humorotica
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2020-05-21 17:45:51

I have been browsing this site since 2012 and I have got to say this is one of, if not, The Best games on here.  Words can not express how much I love the game and from someone that has spent hundreds of hours on here, that should be all the recommendation you need.  But if that's not enough let's talk about the details 

Story

first and foremost the, the writing is incredible.  English isn't Yeda's first language and there are some grammatical oddities that arise because of it, but in a game where I've already spent like 4 hours reading, I've only come across like two sentences that made me have to stop and go back and re read it to understand what she was trying to say.  But most of it is pretty inoffensive, wrong verb tense here and there but that's it.  Regardless of this, the story is still hugely interesting and the characters are very well imagined and written.  Most of the time in games like this, every character is about as one dimensional, but I swear to God in this game some of these character have more depth than what you would find in fucking Downton Abbey or whatever.  Part of me wants to say that her writing is too good for this kind of game, but honestly we need games like this to really elevate the genre.  This well and truly is art. If other people are ever going to take this niche seriously, it's gonna come from exposing them to games like this.

 

Graphics/art

This game uses 3D renders for all its charcaters.  If that makes you apprehensive, I understand.  Lord knows I've seen more than my fair share of games with characters who look more alien than ET.  But not only are the models and textures so lifelike that sometimes you forget they are fake, but the expressions and poses they make are so organic and lifelike that they blow right past the uncanny valley.  Not to mention that the characters are all very well designed with memorable styles and demeanors.  I can easily remember each character because of how well they stand out.  If the game mentions Vanessa when she's not there I don't have to try and think which one she is because I instantly recall she's the super hot detective chick with the cool haircut and Big Dick Energy despite not having one.  And that's not to mention the sex scenes which there are a lot of so if you are looking for content, this is the game for you

 

Gameplay

its a visual novel so the only game mechanic here is that you get to make choices about where the story goes.  But where this game differs from a lot of other games like this, is that I have made at least a dozen choices and not seen a single ending.  A lot of times when you are making choices you are really just choosing something arbitrary, maybe a line of dialogue will change, or you have to choose between the right choice, and the one that gives you a bad ending.  Your choices matter and you actually get to see them out long term.

Complaints

As I mentioned the grammar is a bit off in places and itd be nice if it got some polish.  But the main thing I'd like to see, and this might be a limitation with the engine, I don't know Renpy that well, but it would be nice if there was some sort of gallery that would let you see the scenes you've already come across.  Not only is it nice to have all the sexy content in one place, but it's also a fun way to show the players how much content is left to explore.

So yeah, just fucking download this game, you 


Review by the Morrigan
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2020-05-16 19:41:50

I've been playing this game ... and critiquing it, in its Discussion thread, since about three days after its first release. That means I've been following it since it included no more than two actual choices in its introduction. I liked it then (though I admit, I had some problems with a perceived "lack of choice" in the game at the time), but I absolutely ADORE this game now. Please allow me to outline a few of my reasons for that.

First there is the sheer, massive amount of CONTENT in this game. The current version came out April 27, so ... almost a month ago. I played it off and on for three or four days, got to a little past the beginning of Act III, and put it aside because I had other matters that needed my attention. Well, today I got up early, saw the game on my HD, and decided to start playing. I've barely left the keyboard since except to use the john or make meals ... which, since it's now nearly 8:25 at night, means I've been playing for nearly fourteen hours straight. And I'm only at the beginning of Act VI. AND I've been playing only ONE game path, the one I call the "Reluctant Rebecca," in which the MC ends up transformed by Rebecca because (s)he's shut down Melinda's, AND Simon's, AND Liam's paths, and possibly those of  several other minor NPCs (Kushari, Forthwall, etc) so that Rebecca ends up responsible for most of Blake's transformation by default, but without being able to force specific behaviors on him/her.

Think about that for a moment: I played for fourteen hours, from a starting place roughly halfway (at least in number of chapters) to where I am now, on ONLY ONE of several paths all of which have different permutations according to the decisions the player makes, and I'm STILL. NOT. FINISHED. The amount of content in this game is massive; I could have finished the entire Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy in the time I've spent playing the one pathway I've explored.


And frankly, the sheer volume of material isn't even the best thing about this game. That comes in a distant second or third, depending on whether I consider my "top two" factors separate-but-related or completely intertwined. And what are, IMNSHO, the two best parts of this game? Choice and Change.

Choice: this game's story places an incredible amount of choice in the player's hands, especially for a story about someone who is essentially a slave. And the thing is, every choice once you get past the Introduction (and some of the intro choices) is significant. A choice might not have long-term significance unless you're interacting with one of the main characters, but if, for example, a player chooses not to have sex with an NPC, well ... there might be consequences (i.e., long-term effects/significance) or there might not, but you're most likely not going to be foreced into sex with that person. If you want to see just how many significant choices the game entails, I would suggest downloading and reading YedaGames' walkthrough. Of course, so as not to spoil the surprises, I'd also suggest only reading about any scene after you've played it ... ;)

Change: this one's a little different, but extremely significant and enjoyable to me. What I most love about this game is that the feminizing influences that change Blake, our MC, are subtle. They happen gradually, and naturally, so gradually that you really don't much notice them until Act III, and so naturally that when they become noticeable, I simply accept them as part of the story. This is a massive improvement over the usual "one day you think you're a manly man, and the next you're willingly getting buggered/sucking cock/kissing a mistress's feet" trope I seem to see so much of here. This is, at least for me, a welcome change, and it displays for us YedaGames' skill at storytelling.

Now, does all this praise mean I think this game is perfect? No. Absolutely not. First and most important, YedaGames DESPERATELY NEEDS an editor. I suspect that she is not a native English speaker, and from the sorts of mistakes she makes (and from the cyrillic script one of her NPCs uses later in the game), is either Russian or from one of the former Eastern-bloc countries. But her constant switching from past to present tense, sometimes in the middle of a sentence, and her just as constant mistaking of one word for another (strictly as an example, she keeps using "conscience" for "consciousness") make this game painful to read. Secondly, the mental changes the MC undergoes are going to happen no matter how desperately the player resists them. This would ... normally ... be so important to me that it would cause me to write a negative review. Railroading, after all, is a huge sin in my game-design orthodoxy. But y'know what? YedaGames is such a skillful and talented storyteller, and she offers so much other choice in her game, that it becomes a far less important concern for me ... in fact, it's barely a blip on the horizon.

Play. This. Game. You'll love it!


Review by Tamex
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2020-05-06 14:13:47

Holy hell this game is phenomenal. I'm not even sure I can review it properly and give it all the credit it deserves.

First off, there's a ton of content. I mean easily more than 99% of the games you'll find on a site like this. And it's not just whatever choices you pick on your first playthrough, there's tons of scenes that you'll see going one route but not another so replaying it to find them is fun. But the main reason I love this game is that the characters are deep, they make sense, they come across as cliches when you first meet them but if you spend time getting to know more about what they are about then they start becoming much more complex and fun. The author has hit that level of world-building that is only as obtrusive a you want it to be, beyond justifying the plot setup in the first place. 

Also it's super hot and in ways that even though your character doesn't have much choice in some things, you the player, do. 

I really can't recommend this enough.


Review by Woodelf
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2020-05-05 19:58:12

Usually I play these kinds of games to have a quick (or long) wank, so usually I'm not interested in big storytelling, deep characters and so on when I play TF games.

But Shattered is something else. I don't know how and why, but I love it. It is incredibly well written, and the art is really, really high quality as well. Blake is turning into one of my favourite characters (ever), the story actually is really interesting, the other characters are complex and (more or less) likeable. The best thing is that even though there is LOTS of sex in it, it doesn't really feel like this is what it's all about. Blake isn't just a human sex toy, he's way more complex than that, and this is what makes it brilliant. And the story takes the time it needs, not rushing anything, building up tension and going many side routes to show us what this game's world has to offer for us. And i feel like there are many completely different shapes that Blake's character can take. according to your decisions.

If you're into feminization, play this game. If you're into great storytelling in sex games, play this game. If you're not, play it either way. You'll like it, I promise.

 


Review by Zoeylicious
Version reviewed: 0.5 on 2020-03-31 07:50:49

I'm currently on my first playthrough of the game and couldn't wait to write a review. I absolutely love it! The writing is amazing; the story flows much like the dialogues and I think it's really original. I'm really getting to know the characters and an insight in their world. To top this off the renders are lovely as well and compliment the level of detail so far in the story.

Talking about the change that is happening for the MC, this is not a black and white and really obvious change but I feel like the choices I make affect the change but there is still some inner conflict. Highly enjoyable!

Maybe I'll add something after my first few playthroughs but right now I'm going to indulge myself and dive back into the story.

 


Review by Cykun
Version reviewed: 0.4 on 2020-03-08 13:20:58

First off, I wanna say I'm really loving the game so far. There are a lot of different choices and looking at the walkthrough more than I expected lead to wildly different scenes. I do wish some of the choices weren't so easy to lock out (like getting too many gay points keeping you from getting any of the straight scenes) but it is what it is. The models too are really good, especially the facial expressions, which are usually the weakest point of these kind of lifelike 3D models. I also like the writing of the sex scenes, and I'm really glad you didn't go the route of just adding in a 2 or 3 frame sex animation with some dialogue moaning and calling it a day. 

However, speaking of the writing, my one major complaint is how Blake will never shut up. Thankfully it tapered off after the first chapter, but holy crap his internal monologue is annoying. It's very hard to get into his head and accept his POV as a character when he spends sometimes two or three dialogue boxes making fun of everything that's going on, or snarking to himself. It comes off as the writer either falling in love with his own wit or being too embarrassed about his writing and thinking the audience won't take it seriously, so he preemptively turns everything into a joke before someone else does. That might not be the case. This might really just be exactly how the writer intends Blake to be. If so, that's okay. Not really for me, but not everything needs to be. My one objective recommendation though would to be seriously tone down how much internal monolugue there is in between speech boxes during conversations. Conversations should flow naturally to draw the reader/player in, and having a break sometimes between every box of dialogue so Blake can thick about what was said and react in his head really takes away from the conversation and the flow of the game as a whole. During most conversations, I find myself skimming or outright skipping most of Blake's internal thoughts.

But other than that, like I said, this is a really good game that I'm enjoying a lot. I can't wait to see the finished product.


Review by barbar
Version reviewed: 0.4 on 2020-03-05 19:57:24

Amazeballs!! One of the snarkiest and witty writing for a game.

Dialogues or monologues are cool, sometimes a little too long but really well done. The art is super too. 

Looking forward to more... 


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2020-02-06 18:58:32

Has very well done renderings, a rich story and characters with well crafted personalities that work quite well in this dystopian world. Choices matter so you can avoid the M/M stuff. So far so good, a lot of effort went into making this! The main character is struggling with the ongoing feminziation, and there is side characters that genuinly want to help him, which makes the whole story also more interesting than most sissification games around here.


Review by sissymaid_louise
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2020-02-05 08:53:53

I am enjoying the game and my only complaint is that the storyline is not finished and you have to wait till the next update. 

 

Keep up the good work 

 


Review by PHDIKOULAS
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2020-02-05 07:11:20

The game looks nice and has interesting characters but i tried to get the femdom way and the content was minimal if any. I guess the other way has more stuff.

 

All in all a good game do give it a shot


Review by kengen01
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2020-02-04 09:23:30

Love everything about it. Some minor typos here and there, but nothing serious. I can't wait to see where the story leads.


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.3 on 2020-02-03 19:40:06

this game is only for die hard fans of the genre

the gay straight analogue in the game is bleeding out like a sacrificial lamb

it has nice graphics

found it somewhat linear and boring

its a personal opinion you maybe find it good


Review by daniitrap
Version reviewed: 0.2 on 2020-01-18 16:39:37

It ended far too soon so I guess I like it!


Review by qaeron
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2019-12-30 15:31:38

The game's clame to fame is its writing style: a motley inner monologue ranging from some bog-standard scene descriptions to a multitude of sarcastic wisecracks, nimble diversions, wordplay and wall breaking. This also somewhat carries over to (most) NPC dialogues. All the punchy and entertaining black humor (dissociated motormouthing about one's slavery!) is, indeed, not thematically consistent, but certainly unique among the games in this site (which is more impressive considering that the authors might not be native English speakers - Blinn, Kohlbassa, Borch, really?). All in all, one doesn't need the sexual aspect to enjoy the overall experience - which is not helped by completely unexceptional Daz renders. Note: the several present dialogue branches do lead to healthy chunks of unique content.


Review by 1watt1
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2019-12-30 09:26:30

I like the general direction, but I do have some complaints about the writing style:
Basically, this game tries a bit too hard to balance itself between serious storytelling and comedic relief. Generally speaking, it's better to focus primarily on one and let the other stand as a sidenote. Two examples that come to mind are "Perverted Education" and "The Making of a Slut."

PE focuses primarily on serious storytelling. The creators take the content quite seriously. As a result you essentially get a game where a meek, pervy kid is coerced into a life of sexual servitude. There's a few giggles to be had throughout the story. But the story itself remains quite serious. It's a serious game with some funny moments.

On the flip side you have TMoaS. This is the story of some idiot with poor impulse control letting the ladies in his immediate surroundings control every aspect of his life. Pretty much the whole story is a joke. There is an aura of seriousness to some events throughout the story, but that just feeds into the massive joke that is the MC's life. It's a funny game with some serious moments.

Where "shattered"'s whiting style fails is that random jokes are strewen all over the place (many of them immersion breaking) in an atmosphere that seems VERY serious. It comes off as kinda dumb to be honest. You'd be best off with the PE route for this story as the atmosphere is serious in its own right. As for comedic relief: focus more on situations that are inherently funny rather than 4th wall breaking quips that add nothing to the story in their own right.


Review by firefly.red
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2019-12-29 16:07:25

Off to a realy good start.  Well written, nicely illustrated.  Very linear so far, hopefully there will be some branching paths as the game progresses.


Review by stacytv
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2019-12-28 09:03:38

Loved it....finally a proper sissy VN game :-) Thankyou and can't wait for next update.  x


Review by ecostarr
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2019-12-28 01:22:01

Good start. It'll be interesting to see the different paths. Some spelling mistakes but nothing serious.I'll definitely keep an eye out for future updates.