Changing Room

Author: DesiDee
Version: 1.0.0
Last Updated: 2020-01-10 11:50:52


Review by apewty
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-20 22:12:05

Very well made. Short, but can be replayed a few times. Overall, very high quality and recommended.


EDIT: Everyone's welcome to their opinion, but for a game to be posted a single time as a finished product and it seems to run from beginning to end, and does what's advertised, that's a win in my book. Now, if you love chocolate and complain about the strawberry tart, that's on you. Be honest with your opinions and admit your biases before posting!

 

EDIT: My feelings are far from hurt. I'm laughing at the irony that someone who thinks nothing is above criticism gets their panties in a bunch because someone might have criticised them! Also interesting that someone who gave a criticism that a game takes 5 minutes to play writes a review that takes longer to read, and is by far much duller than said game. Carry on making this place so much better with your... contributions. 


Review by CrystalGeyser
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-20 19:04:34

Not that great to be honest. Easy to get bewildered by the novelty that it's got "3d graphics" (as some people in the reviews already have), but apart from that, there's really little to write home about. Essentially this feels like an experimental tech demo than a game (which is what the creator describes it as). Sluggish movement aside, you'll be finished with this game in about 5 or so minutes.

Gameplay boils down to a word guessing game.  It's hangman, but instead of forming a little stick guy on the gallows, the player character turns into a woman.  Clicking 5 or so objects (in a very small room) from an fps perspective to figure out the word (or name in this case), with the player having some sort of tf after each item. Though to be honest I only really noticed after the final 2. The mirrors are all too low and foggy to really see what's going on at all. Though you can see the player model by looking down, so that's a thing.

Writing isn't all that great, honestly subpar. Especially considering this person's earlier game (Perchance to Dream), which was well written, had depth, well thought out and planned, had a neat premise/setting, and interesting mechanics. This is just your typical "revenge tf" styled fare, complete with douchey frat jock, and an overly-zealous, revenge-seeking chick that was wronged in the past by the MC. That's about how deep it goes as well. It's all surface level. Which is disappointing to me, since I really enjoyed this author's writing style and professionalism with his last game. 

There's no replayability to be found, the name switches up so you can't just load back up and guess it instantly,  but you'd be hard pressed to actually guess the name before any significant changes happen that lock you into the default ending (Which happens after about 3 clues). Item placement stays exactly the same.

As far as graphics go, they're alright I guess for someone's first delve into 3d game design. Speaking from a place of actual 3d experience though, they do leave a bit to be desired. Player model is okay at best, with the face being pretty ugly. Odds are the creator just took a DaZ model or something similar and ported it into the game. It's fine, but not really what I'd call attractive in any sense. Not to mention there's some real bad deformations going on in the wrist area whenever the player's hand does anything. As far as the room goes, it's all pretty "this is my first 3d" tier. That's not a bad thing, and they'll only get better with practice, but things are really out of proportion and really basic. Textures and lighting could use some work as well. Again, this sort of thing will only get better with practice, and if the creator decides to continue with the whole 3d thing, they definitely should practice. Outside of just making games to release. Personally I'm of the camp that 3d doesn't really add anything to this sort of thing (mostly considering that most 3d porn games come with appropriate amount of jank and lack of quality). But the creator is free to explore whatever avenues they want to tell the story they want. I just don't consider this to be a particularly good one.

Overall it's an alright experiment, and as described, is mainly an entry for the "Escape Room" contest. It also achieves what the creator set out to do, a tf game from a first person perspective (though all the changes are narrated in second person), so I can't fault them for that. On it's own though, it really doesn't stand all that well as all that great a game, and compared to their other game (Perchance to Dream), it's severely lacking in almost every facet. 

Gonna give it a 4/10
3d was an interesting experiment that took some bravery, but I think the game overall suffered as a result. 
Still, looking forward to other games by this creator. Definitely one to keep an eye on.

 

*Edit*
Just because something exists, does not excuse it from criticism. Just because someone made something and put it out, does not excuse it from criticism. The other people in the reviews saying something is "unfair" because negative points are raised are wrong. This isn't an echo chamber, if all you have to say are nice and pretty things with cupcakes and rainbows, then nothing will improve. All the points raised in this critique/review are valid. Just because something is "half" of something, doesn't excuse it from critique. And just because a review is negative, doesn't make it invalid because it hurts your feelings to read it.


Review by navigator_dan
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-20 14:15:02

I'm surprised by negative reviews here. It is what it is, a little game or half a game - as the author says in his comments.

I say: well done, ignore unfair critique, go forward and create more. Thanks for your work, DesiDee.


Review by freya102
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-17 09:11:50

pro


- Its 3d

 

con


- it uses unreal engine and runs like garbage

- no options screen to disable the horrid motion blur

- buggy the object transitions can get stuck and your character can get locked to position breaking the game forcing a restart

- there is nothing to do beyond solve the name

- seems like more a tech demo for animations than a game

- no way to turn the audio off, be warned playing the game with the sound on


Review by someperson1423
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-16 21:34:11

Awesome little game, especially for basically a tech demo/proof of concept. Very short and simplistic, but that is what it was designed to be.

 

PLEASE keep at this. I'd love to see this implemented into a more in-depth game. Pie-in-the-sky dream, having something like Trap Quest combined with 3D, first person graphics would be exceptional.


Review by Aethar
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-16 12:47:56

Cute little game, and it entertained me about as long as the arthor suggested it would.  It's not perfect of course, but as a tech demo/experiment, it is certainly successful at that.


Review by PlatonicNebula
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-15 22:21:18

If you've ever wanted to look down at your body to see your dick shrinking away and jiggling breasts growing on your chest, this game is for you. It makes me wish I had a VR rig. If I have one complaint, it's that the camera does not stay in the character model's head during the transformation sequences, breaking the illusion. I wish the game simply didn't have the stumbling animation. If I could have another complaint, it's the lack of an inverse y-axis option, but at least this isn't an action game. Other than that, it's basically a tech demo, there is only one ending, and the number of transformations you've experienced isn't competely relevant to the end sequence. I managed to guess the answer without touching anything one time, and as soon as I activated the ending, my character was suddenly at around stage three or four of the transformation, though the skin texture featuring body hair was unchanged, so that was kind of funny. None of that detracts from the experience, since it is clearly meant to be a short romp in which you get to watch yourself change from a first person perspective, and that's unique enough to be worthwhile, though I certainly hope there's more of that kind of thing to come.


Review by efindumb
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-15 10:07:13

It's a little annoying trying to navigate around the room but it's not meant to be more than an ode to the early/mid 90s computer games. It's cute, even if a bit cringe-inducing for some of us old enough to "get" the look of the game


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-15 01:20:04

Cute, very cute game. Felt a bit like an old old PC CD-ROM game called Myst, and had plenty of stuff to interact with.  This was super short, and would do well as the intro to a larger game, but was still good.  The models were well done, interface had that kind of glitch with the movement stop tho.  Can't save, eirher, but not sure you need to with its length.

 

One feature I rlly rlly liked was that the name is randomized, so you can't just go to the closet and solve it!  Nicely done!  =^_^=


Review by Noknet
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-12 19:14:05

For what it is, it is well done.   The game ends when the transformation is complete (and follows the directions given from there).  The end.  Story is over.

 

This isn't the only game that has taken this approach, but I will never understand why people take this approach.  It seems to me that this is the beginning of a story, not the end of one.  Imagine if the story of Harry Potter ended after he took the train and saw Hogwarts for the first time.  "Harry Potter discovered that Hogwarts was a school run by wizards.  The end."

 

Once transformed into a woman against his will, how does she adapt?  What happens next, after she escapes this strange room and enters the outside world?  The adventure would be just beginning.


Review by luchoxzx
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-11 18:25:44

To bad that it´s complete cause it´s an awesome game. the graphics and the mechanics are good and the story as well, tho pretty short. i´d like to see and extended version one day. 

 


Review by wp12mv
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-11 17:59:19

wow! this game blew me away! great concept. liked it alot. little short, and little rough around the edges, but that's nitpicking. this game is worth playing!!!!


Review by Mile
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-11 03:45:11

Fantastic.

 

The pacing, the movement speed and the way you move during transformations is awesome.

I didnt try this with my Rift, but I imagine that to be awesome. Try to bind the camera to the head node though!

 

A small bug: When interacting with the items i sometimes got stuck until i interacted again.

You should mark what you are about to interact with as well.

 

PLEASE continue with this!

 


Review by anezka
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-11 00:31:25

Short but fantastic. Now if only there was a VR version.


Review by royalslut
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-10 17:40:50

Very well done, I love it! Maybe add a way to keep the twig and berries :)


Review by Mojopoop
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-10 12:35:12

Really really liked the concept for this game! Wonder why there isn't more stuff like this around.

Hope you make more like this some time, only complaint i really have is that the camera might be a bit too high and of course that i wish there was more.


Review by udders
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-01-10 12:35:12

A fun little game, quick but pretty cool set up.