Bimbocalypse: Rise of the Bimbies

Author: Judoo
Version: 0.7.0
Last Updated: 2020-05-22 12:41:31


Review by Tafuri
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2020-02-25 21:56:54

The game actually has a pretty interesting loop to it, with a couple issues.  One: the graphics aren't intuitive.  I wasted a lot of time getting stuck on trees I thought were bushes, houses that looked like parking lots, and fences so thin they didn't look much like barriers.  On the opposite side of things the sidewalks look a lot like walls, meaning I instinctively avoided areas I could get through.  Some of the map designs feature dead ends that need to be braved for samples.  The game warns you about them, but they still feel unfair.  Immunity is hard to like since it has to be used the moment you pick it up and only lasts a few seconds. 

The art is cool.  The transformations are something I looked forward to.  I do hope there are future plans for the in-game sprites to look more appropriate and maybe get some art for narrative descriptions.  The controls could be made a liltle more streamlined.  I'd like to play this one-handed if possible.

I actually think this could be really cool, but it's held back by some issues that could easily be fixed. 


Review by jjars898
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2020-02-16 08:08:33

The new artwork is even better than before, the new character feels right at home among the other two, and I appreciate the counter that lets me know how long my immunity will last...but I really miss being able to control the action with the arrow keys. Using WASD is just so much clunkier.


Review by MilitaryAaa
Version reviewed: 0.2.0 on 2020-02-15 16:33:07

This was fun to play, went through all three characters and got further with each one. It does get surprisingly hard, more than what I expected, I think the furthest I reached was mission 8 but I'm sure if I try again I'll get further. obviously, I also enjoyed the slow transformation of each guy to Bimbo, the art was good if a slight issue on their outside lines with the game. It be intresting if something would happen the more infeced you'd become, like in the text saying the Bimbo's were faster the higher infection score you had there's be a slight increase to speed and for the high leves you'd accidently infect other people so you'd have to plan around the civilans. I reccomnd this to anyone on TFGS. It's short and sweet with a good challenge to it and more to come.


Review by relattic
Version reviewed: 0.1.1 on 2020-02-04 10:37:30

Just awesome. This game feels like a very fresh idea.

I would love to see the transformation being a bit less linear and a bit more story. Maybe when you get hit there could be little story bits.

But the idea and the first version are great! 


Review by CowTits
Version reviewed: 0.1.1 on 2020-02-02 03:34:03

Best part of the game(being transformed) gets you a game over. Lame.

Controls also not very responsive for this type of maneuver heavy type gameplay, feeling very floaty.


Review by CrawlingMadness
Version reviewed: 0.1.1 on 2020-02-01 18:13:32

Good 20 minutes of gameplay. Fun to see the ai of the bimbos aren't automatically homing missiles which makes it possible to dodge them with some planning.

Really would like some sound options to mute or adjust the sound effects. Graphics can at times be hard to tell what's flat ground and what's solid objects, some shadows might help there. Still, I understand this is a sort of prototype to learn Unity, so I don't expect too much more work will be done with it. It is what it is and it's worth a playthrough. Looking forward to whatever comes next.


Review by ziztazlut
Version reviewed: 0.1.1 on 2020-01-30 22:40:56

This is a fun little game! I hope for more content and gameplay!


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2020-01-30 07:53:08

Hm its an interesting game

Gameplayb is like pac mac but inferior to it

character art is good

Difficulty adjustment is badly in need in some maps

no explanation of controls or power ups

Transformation in a one way train execution will loose its atraction fast

Sum:its a funn but unbalanced game for one or 2 play


Review by BigPervert
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2020-01-30 06:46:53

It's a bit like Pac Man except with bimbos. The graphics are great and the gameplay is great, I'm looking forward to future updates! The only quick changes I see are making the first lines of the story either go slower or have it set to click/keypress to advance since the tutorial moved by so quickly and I was lost for a few seconds, and then the addition of volume controls would be nice. Otherwise, the bugs were just small collision issues, like having the bimbos stop chasing in certain spots or when they were on top of you.

 

Awesome work as always, Judoo!