House Sitting

Author: JaradLichLord
Version: 0.6.3A
Last Updated: 2021-06-08 02:12:11


Review by Bamppph
Version reviewed: 0.6.1C on 2021-06-01 20:39:31

I really like this game. It gives me the oportunity to immerse myself in a world that feels like it could be a real place and that is saying something for a text based game. I have played this game since it was first released and I have to say this newest udate really brought up the quality of the game. It is no longer a cluttered mess of black screens populated by white text. It finally has a user interface that expresses the state of the game visually rather than just numerically and textually. Keep it up Lady!


Review by CocoBug
Version reviewed: 0.6.1C on 2021-06-01 20:22:14

 I think the game still needs more refinement. The left Bar is cluttered with a lot of stuff and sometimes the right bar covers up the game's main text. I would say that the game is promising especially for a concept. The best part is the author is active and engaged with the community. The display of commitement to a product that works is commendable.

UI
3/5 clean and more intuitive presentation will improve this  While there are still a bunch of tabs in the left side UI bar and the links navigation can get burried under walls of text, I am personally really impressed with the new visuals that have been implemented in the UI bar. The colors of the "calendar" and progress and energy trackers sometime feel a bit jumbled with the amount of colors that can be going on. However those same additions give me a reason to look at that bar regularly.

Game play
3./5 Adressing bugs and fragility of the check system will improve this score. It appears that this new tracking system is less fragile and leads to events firing more consistently. The bugs that are still present seem to be more because the entire code was rewritten?!?(good job on getting that done, it seems like a ton of work)

Visual appeal
2.25/5 ensuring that the images are centered and of a more normal size will improve this score. Some of them take up to much of the screen making the text passages with them become to long. THe updates to the left UI bar and the addition of the character's physical appearance with the addition of the right UI bar make the game something to behold. There is so much going on viusally now. However, the main body is suffering due to the images and text not having a margin that prevents them from running behind the right UI bar. Its not always an issue but when it is it makes everything feel bad.

Story

4/5 Some of the writing is to long and some of it is too brief, however there is replay value in this game which I can't always say on this site.

Overall

3.5/5


Review by maelporn
Version reviewed: 0.5.2 on 2021-02-12 05:21:09

I really really want to like this game but navigating through the UI is an awful experience and there is nothing keeping track of the current task. That mixed with no hints on what to do next makes it difficult to remember what the next step is when playing the game over multiple sessions.


Review by Itsmbk
Version reviewed: 0.4.1 on 2021-01-28 17:03:56

Please continue updating this game as its showing a great potential


Review by BrandiSundays
Version reviewed: 0.4.1 on 2020-12-21 22:27:41

I would love to see the female crush cuck him or humiliate him somehow. 

Overall, one of my favorite games. 


Review by aloopy
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2020-12-14 01:07:02

This is more-or-less a recreation of an old non-HTML game "Gold Rush".

It uses a mechanic common in games that want an adventure feel, where you need to figure out what new and special action has appeared somewhere in the house or town and click on that to progress. It's similar to Gold Rush, and a lot of RAGS games in that respect, but relatively forgiving. It's usually very obvious where you have to go next and what you have to do. You can click through it all very quickly without having to visit every location looking for something that's changed. There are also some daily routine tasks you can do, but not many.

The way the town and shops are integrated into the game works well.

It's still in an early stage, and only the initial part of the game is present. What is done is good, but there's a lot that feels missing even in the early stages. It only takes a short time to play through the existing content, and if the same design pattern is used for the rest of the game, that likely won't take long to play either, due to the lack of filler, grind, or much in the way of any repetitive content. Possibly, that will change in future releases.

It's worth a look to see how things are progressing. There isn't really enough to keep you busy for long, so the effort is easily rewarded.

 

There is another recreation of Gold Rush currently being worked on, and it was released very close to this one.

In a previous review, I briefly compared the two, without mentioning the name of the other game, with the comments generally favorable to both games.

To my surprise, the author of House Sitting requested I removed even the vague comparison to the other game, as they do not want to be seen as "competing".

I don't want to stir up any dispute between the authors, so I have revised the review as requested, and removed my statement of preference, but I feel it's pointless. There is no way that these two games are not going to be compared in future.

Also, a comparison, or even mentioning the name of the other game would probably be helpful to a lot of people who like this game and want to try one that's similar.

It's only a matter of time before some other review compares them in detail, but TBH, that's already ongoing in the forum discussions.

If you liked one of these recreations, you will probably like the other one too; they aren't vastly different to each other. Each has a few unique points.

Both are in very early stages, so I am waiting to see which progresses best. I do have a current preference, but it could change as the games are developed.

 


Review by Nerevar
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2020-08-12 15:04:52

This is worth paying attention to.

At present, House Sitting contains quite a bit of content, but at present Gold Rush arguably took the story further and does some things better than this recreation. However, this recreation also does some very important things better.

First off, props to Gold Rush, however, one (I hope fair) criticism of Gold Rush was that you spent a lot of time running around trying to figure out what single action was necessary to advance the story, often it was very specific (click on this specific item in a specific location (from tons of possible locations) to see an option that wasn't there before) and difficult to figure out, and sometimes that could get frustrating. In this game, thus far, things are less confusing and less frustrating than they were in the inspirational successor. A little bit of searching is fine, but I love that this game, at least so far, doesn't make you go through 500 useless interactions before finding the 1 interaction necessary to advance things. I'm not sure what the optimal number is for such things on average, to avoid making things too straightforward, but it's less than was present in Gold Rush. This game also has a more gradual and nuanced transformation than Gold Rush had, and given that transformations are the principle focus of this site, I consider that to be a good thing.

Another reviewer mentioned inventory improvements would be good, which I agree with, but it's not unusable at present.

As further development takes place, House Sitting could well exceed its predescessor. There are elements of the story and mechanics that I like better in this version. Notably, writing that has more polish and gameplay elements that feel less haphazard.

This is a relatively ambitious undertaking, and the creator deserves credit for their work. Give it a try, see what's there (what's there is pretty good), and pay attention to updates. It is my hope that the current developer will continue to do good work, and finish this story. Too many games on this site are unfinished, and I don't mean that they could use improvement, I mean that the story just cuts out half way through. I really hope the developer sticks with it, and finishes this. Best wishes to you all. To the developer, thanks for sharing this with us.


Review by Zela
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 on 2020-07-20 04:27:24

There's some bugs and a few spelling errors, and it could use some better UI, but it's not bad and a faithful updated version of Gold Rush.

 

I'm looking forward to see how it will be updated forward and for it to reach content parity with the old game at least!


Review by DastardlyDoug
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 on 2020-07-17 17:42:48

I appreciate someone trying to recreate the vibe and basic storyline similar to The Gold Rush.

However, the inventory/wardrobe needs a lot of work. Too many things seem to be able to stack.

Some coding errors that need to be fixed, etc.

A little more testing before first release would have been a good idea.

Hope to see it get better. But overall a good effort.

 

###################

Thanks for staying on top of the bugs. Keep it up!


Review by Smite
Version reviewed: 0.1.2 on 2020-07-16 12:33:04

The good news:

The not-as-good news:

Definitely keep your eye on this one, but for now don't feel bad if you decide to replay the original GR instead and wait on this game a few updates for the bugs to shake out and content to grow before giving it a playthrough.


Review by BgCntry
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2020-07-15 20:02:35

I am so glad that someone has attempted to take this over and hopefully will take it to completion.  I eagerly await to see where this project goes.


Review by jdeuce2s
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2020-07-15 17:35:50

about time someone did this, wish i could but won't know how and don't have the writi ability to make it good. 

thanks for taking this on.