The Big Day

Author: Helforster
Version: 1.1.0
Last Updated: 2020-08-24 04:10:05


Review by tedruge
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on 2020-08-29 23:56:16

Not the longest game,  but complete and with several endings to explore. If you like transformations give it a wirl.


Review by evinosor
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on 2020-08-24 20:05:59

Very short and simple, but enjoyable for what it is. A good variety of transformation for such a small game (though calling it a game rather than a standard CYOA may be misleading), the pictures are used well and the passages have a good sense of brevity and flow to them. Although the writing is nothing special, it moves quickly enough that it isn't a bore to read. A decent enough game to spend 20 minutes or so running through the endings, but keep moving if you're looking for a slow build up or detailed character writing.

I wouldn't mind seeing more games like this, short but complete games are a nice break from the giant sandboxes that end up stuck in alpha for an eternity.


Review by pfiatdigod
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on 2020-08-24 11:30:02

A nice short enjoyable game. Nothing big, but it works in what it wants to be and clicking through all the transformation options was kinda fun. maybe it could be a little bit more complex, but doesn't have to be.


Review by CrystalGeyser
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-08-24 00:20:13

Looking at Harlowe games (or whatever it's called) is a bit of a sickening affair for me; text is too big (even when making the text smaller), formatting is always pretty terrible, font is really meh, and the window is a pain to look at with how unefficiently it uses space. This goes for all Harlowe games, not just this one. So going in, I wasn't too stoked with it. Using SugarCube would have been just as easy, and easier to look at.

The story itself is pretty standard fare, and reads more like the stuff released when this site first launched, rather than anything novel or all that erotic. Not to say that the old stuff was bad, but it wasn't all that great in terms of porn material. Neither is this. The story and "gameplay" doesn't really make up for it either. There's no depth to speak of, and the game is a "choose your own ending" styled game. In the sense that you have about 1 choice and you're railroaded to the ending 2 pages later.

People act like a game being tagged as "complete" has merit, but this game is so small, even if it's complete, it seems like a day's worth of work to begin with. So calling it "complete" when it has the same amount of content as another game submitted under the "concept" tag (not even talking an ambitious concept, just a normal concept), just doesn't seem like all that much of a merit to go up in arms about. 

Basically, I didn't like it. Criticism is a bit of a mixed bag, and the people reading it and taking it are even more of a mixed bag, so don't take it to heart. It's not a personal attack, and everyone doesn't have to like the same thing you do. I'm just saying that the game wasn't all that good. I'd give it a try though if you haven't, and I encourage the author to keep at it and keep trying.


Review by blehtastic
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-08-23 15:28:37

An incredibly simple game, but maybe exactly what we need on this site. Multiple transformations, no gimmicks. 


Review by Echo Hollow
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-08-23 13:57:53

Neat little game.  Good to see something "complete".  Not very long, but it doesn't need to be.

 

I applaud the author for staying within their means rather than making something incomplete and never-finished.  :3


Review by aaaac
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-08-23 13:07:01

A short sweet m2f transformation cyoa. About three choices to get to an ending.

 

It's centered around an autocloset concept for some of the endings which might make it stand out for some people. Otherwise it's a standard of the genre. I won't say the writing is fantastic but it gets the job done and is edited which is better than I have done at times. Pictures are good and compliment the writing well.


Review by yamiflorence
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-08-23 10:13:06

Played through the entire thing. This game is cute. The story's not too complicated, basically just a fun time exploring the different routes. Personal favorite was the Vera ending. There are definitely better games than this on the site, with better visuals and bigger, more in-depth stories, but this game is just fine for what it is. 


Review by sissyjan
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-08-23 06:35:00

I finished this game (in it's current state) in 2 minutes. Is this a joke? There's nothing to see here, folks. And what there is to see is a rushed story that almost feels like a parody of games on here. Do yourself a favour and avoid it and maybe even suggest that it gets taken down cause this is just nothing.