A Visit to TG Island

Author: hellihalli
Version: 1.0.0
Last Updated: 2020-10-20 22:46:58


Review by Mario64
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-29 20:24:39

A pretty fun CYOA game with plenty of endings.

 

Google Slides is a weird choice of engine and it has some issues but it isn't all bad. Loading times can be a bit slow however it does seem to improve as a session goes on. It has the nice benifit of allowing the player to jump to any slide which does mean it is very easy to find a missed ending. It does also mean that if a player wants to go back and redo their previous choice they need to take note of the previous slide's number in advance or hit restart and repeat all of the decisions they took to reach that point. 

 

While it is quite fun navigating can be a chore. This could be improved significantly with the addition of a return button on each slide to send the player back to the previous slide.


Review by Tolkien46
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-24 12:36:16

An interesting CYOA visual novel. However the "engine" it uses is a bit flaky.

If they can transfer it to a more stable platform it would be pretty decent.

Not bad, engine lets it down.


Review by awkwardcultism
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-24 04:25:17

There's a nice simplicity to this; it reminds me a lot of all of old RAGS games in a good way. However, the strange engine it runs in is so atrocious and frustrating I can't recommend playing it. The author should seriously consider looking into porting the game into a better engine as well as a better spell checker. 


Review by tedruge
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-23 02:44:32

Fairly Liner, but I did enjoy the multiple endings with pictures and a description. Despite the linearity there are small off shoot choices that contain consequence, which I like. I look forward to seeing some other options hopefully open up. 

 

Kind of awkward the game is in Google Slides at the moment, which works and is probably familiar and easy for the designer to use. I can’t help but feel that this would go well as a twine game. The change though may slow down game creation and I think I’d rather have more paths to fap to. 

 

Overall I enjoyed it. It had endings, interseting small event, and pictures. As one of the ealier reviews read it is find the transformations which is great fun.


Review by jjars898
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-22 07:17:59

Most if not all of the transformations lead to an immediate end to this interactive story, but they all come with sexy pictures, so it's good for a quick rub.

This would be a great game if it was created in anything other than Google Slides -- an interface that was apparently never intended for gamemaking. Every single interaction is clunky, slow, and liable to glitch out.


Review by kinjiru
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 23:42:25

Interesting idea but the grammar is relatively poor in the intro, which is distracting. Also, restarting and re-tracing your steps repeatedly isn't particularly fun. Sexy concepts and images, though. It wasn't particularly difficult or skillful to find the path to 'win'.


Review by aegis7
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 20:22:13

It's a pretty standard fare choose an ending and get a TF game. At most, you get a paragraph or 2 and a picture to describe it, so nothing complex or interesting really. Variety is kinda nice, but undercut by how underdeveloped the TFs actually are.

The only other thing worth mentioning is the format, which is horrendous. Unlike other games of this sort, this is literally a slideshow with hyperlinks. The key flaw with this, though, is that there's no easy way to go back to the previous section once you hit an ending. With the way this game is structured, you will be hitting endings pretty much constantly. And so you can either fish through all the slides trying to find where you were before, or you restart again and go through the same choices. This happens over and over again.


Review by blehtastic
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 14:19:13

I've praised games for this before and I'll continue to do so; this game is an incredibly simple "find a transformation" game. There's nothing else to it, and that's alright. I wish the actual transformations had more detail but it can't be helped.


Review by IonaItova
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 11:04:21

The Game is fun, for being basically a CYOA. If you like Visual Novels give this one a try.
Also Ending three is ABAB no ABAA.


Review by foxdsx
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 06:17:03

Hi

here goes nothing

i like the idea

The base story is ok

images stolen but stil fine

this text format is something of the past better forgoten for ever


Story flow and integrity is Horrible

it has been fine 20+ years ago


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 04:18:23

It is simple. the intro is great but the ending comes abrutply thereafter. I would love to see more development.


Review by Eschation
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 04:13:37

The "pop-up" mentioned in the previous review wasn't a pop-up for me, probably due to my settings. I think it may have opened a new tab to continue the story. I don't know why it does that, but it's not a significant impediment to proceeding, unless your browser auto-blocks all pop-ups and you can't manually override.

The game is very basic though. The writing at first gave me hope, but some of the choices are pretty arbitrary and you're just working your way towards some TG ending or other.

Maybe some people will enjoy it, but it's not my cup of tea.


Review by Thtoneguy
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 02:35:36

the game is great and has a lot of content and good content at that. i really cant wait to see the other paths. there's just one problem i really have. its done in a slideshow and if i misclick it takes me either forward or backward a slide which isnt always to the previous page. i would suggest switching over to twine if you can as its basically designed for this type of game.


Review by Butt-Man 3000
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2020-10-21 01:49:54

Its simple and short, but really enjoyable, I'm very excited for more!