Life at University

Author: Bluey
Version: 0.52
Last Updated: 2021-02-22 14:31:06


Review by MikeMike
Version reviewed: 0.52 on 2021-02-26 08:09:37

Am at 109 days in at this review.

The game is very much in the same style as Life Choices and took a lot of inspiration from it, then its not Girl Life as some reviewers mentioned and it's not Life Choices. It is it's own game that uses a lot of the same mechanics - and thats not really a bad thing.

I did like the game. It got a lot of potential but it do lack the polish and gameplay adjustments that the games that it took inspiration from already have, but I am sure that these will come when the game mature over time, so I do hope that the developer will have the patience to continue to develop on this game for a long time to come and continue to add more content to the game because it does feel "empty" after a while (Especially when going 100 days into the game) and does feel a lot like a click fest through a lot of the game that ends up making it feel tired, but thats all something that can be adjustet over time. 

What I personally felt were lacking were more triggered random content, more life in the game, more everyday things that won't nessesarily bring the game forward, but will make it fun to explore and will give it more "life" for the player to interact with - in a sense. It lacks content the further that you get ahead in the game, so I do hope that there are plans in place to keep the player occupied and entertained for all the 303 days that the game seems to be lasting.

One thing that I did feel dragged it down were that you can't switch jobs, you cant leave a job and then return to it later on and the way it is right now then the jobs feels boring after a while, they lack the feel of movement and acomplishments that for example Life Choices really manage to do well, but thats also a game that have been around for a few years and had time to mature, while this only have been around for a little more than a month, so do keep that in mind when you play it. The jobs do end up feel repeatably really fast and you don't get the feeling if something will happen later if you stay on for a while because the progress are almost nonexisting so you will end up switiching jobs out of boredom, so some improvement are urgently needed at that part. But thats also part of game design so hopefully the jobs will get expanded on and improved on in the updates to come.

Should you play it? Yes I absolutely think you should give it a try.

 


Review by DarcWing21
Version reviewed: 0.52 on 2021-02-23 09:40:05

As has been said, far too click heavy. Plus, if ever a game needed a glory hole option, this is it. Trying to get corrupted should not be this hard. An adult theater, a porn store, lingerie, any one of them should help lower morale and it should stay lowered until you actively seek to raise it by going to confession, working at the soup kitchen, etc. Other than that, I enjoy the game.


Review by tfgsRandomGuy
Version reviewed: 0.51 on 2021-02-16 15:00:06

To me, there are 2 issues:

1) A lot of things take waaayy more clicks than they need to

2) Corruption takes a long time and a lot of effort.  This character doesn't get corrupted by their word or even their own body's desires.  They/you need to really WANT it, and that makes for a lot less fun a game


Review by Mellybean
Version reviewed: 0.40 on 2021-02-05 14:36:19

The game is in a similar vein as others in the catalog here, but in no way a 'ripoff' of anything. useralexis points to another game of similar vision, but doesn't even note that the game they referenced is a similar game to Girl Life released over a year before the one they inappropriately linked. Being in the same vein as another game on the site is not necessarily a ripoff. The numer of times I see these nasty types of comparison on review of new games, when we haven't even learned the full path, direction, and content included makes no sense and puts off new creators from sharing early iterations of their vision. If a creator states they will not have lactation and you feel you could do a similar game but focus lactation, you've made a different game, enjoy it or don't but don't smear a new creator in the Reviews section. Negatively comparing a game with 5 years of development and 3 figures per month patreon subscription to a game released 3 weeks prior that already has 4 updates makes you look silly and like a playground bully. 

This version of the game itself is both fun but a lot of work. The interface requires multiple clicks to perform menial tasks that ought be either automated or rolled into one daily 'task' button. The media on the game needs compressing, formats are also in abundance. MP4, JPG, GIF, etc. 400kb background shots right next to 20kb background images next to 10MB animated GIFs are bloating the download quickly. I'm sure these things can be remediated in future versions. I look forward to what the future will hold for this game.


Review by useralexis
Version reviewed: 0.21 on 2021-01-18 07:57:02

This "game" is literally a rip-off of life choices, but worse.

Life Choices (tfgames.site)


Review by sadarsa
Version reviewed: 0.20 on 2021-01-16 12:53:08

WAY too grindy, after about 60 days i just gave up and closed it out.

It could be interesting if it was done differently, as it is, it's just an annoyance.


Review by TotallySane
Version reviewed: 0.20 on 2021-01-15 21:05:27

Really not bad, more content that most games after release, but especially school seems grindy.

My biggest gripe is the tedious Showering, Shampoing, Shaving, Lotion, Makeup and perfume every morning.

Please make that automated, that it you can choose to automatically apply everything after sleeping, that you dont even have to enter the bathroom, that'd be much appreciated, my fingers hurt from doing everything manually.

Back button would be cool, or at least an unstuck tool that teleports you home. If you have an XXL ass and try to get another operation the link is missing. Didn't save for a while when that happened, so that's when I quit.

But then again, for an initial release I'm impressed.