The Ember Institute

Author: GlitchDoll
Version: 0.0.1.0 Hotfix
Last Updated: 2021-06-12 07:23:31


Review by ecostarr
Version reviewed: 0.0.1.0 on 2021-06-11 14:56:13

I'm really loving the new direction of this game. The potential for some really hot and interesting content is here. I'll be following this closely as a consequence.

If I have any concerns, it's that the Dev is biting off more than they can chew. I was surprised that switching from male to female didn't have a huge effect on some of the paths in this first installment. But, later down the line, there are a lot of potential paths to manage, and the MC's ability to both play submissive and dominant characters could become harder to implement, without a lot of time and effort.

I'm also curious if the Dev intends to switch to sissy and trans porn for the sissy path. I hope so. If I have any massive critique of "The Company" it's that the Dev of that game too often relies on straight porn even if you are playing a trans or sissy version of the MC at the time. There's plenty of that content out there, so I just don't understand the hesitancy of using the content.

The amazing thing about this game so far is that your choices really do matter. I went back and replayed several possible directions. Sometimes the content loops back in on itself (for instance, you can get morning scenes with Madison, even if you make several different choices--but there are other choices where you never see these scenes). So it is possible to see some scenes despite your choices, but there are some key choices where you don't see all the content without replaying the game.


Review by Jarwellis
Version reviewed: 0.0.1.0 on 2021-06-10 13:10:24

This is huge for first upload.

Design, pacing is perfect.

Damn, I want to create a game in twine. But you all rising bar too high :)


Review by Silky_Layla
Version reviewed: 0.0.1.0 on 2021-06-09 14:22:01

Yep! This is gonna be a good one.

Also, highest compliments with the characters... Especially with Ava.


Review by Zoeylicious
Version reviewed: 0.0.1.0 on 2021-06-09 06:09:36

I'm loving the production value of this game; the layout of the pages is so nice on my eyes and the game creator really put some thought into the different images.

This also shines thru in the story which so far has a nice pace and I'm enjoying the descriptions. So looking forward to reading more <3

 

update for version 0.0.1.0

This game keeps amazing me, there's tons of content and it keeps the replay value high even though we're not that far into the story.  I really enjoy playing this one.


Review by Centrophy
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.2 on 2021-05-22 23:55:15

This could potentially be good but the intro already has a a huge sword hanging over its head. That is of course the positives will eventially turn into negatives if done poorly. That thing that is giving me pause is that there are so many branches already and we haven't even started. Just from choosing your hobby, to choosing one of the sisters, to taking the job or not all have various very divergent branches. All of these branches mean that unless the dev can account for them later or do the less popular Telltales method of merging and disregarding player choices the odds seem pretty good for the dev to get bogged down. That said, I love the content that's in the intro. I love the various branches and I'm looking forward to seeing more.


Review by JamieOaks
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.2 on 2021-05-10 21:07:56

Definitely a mostly polished intro - to a game that will hopefully be made. So far, it is all setup and no consequences.


Review by Fakesmurf
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.2 on 2021-05-10 05:51:27

At a very early stage, but what can be seen/tested looks promising.

The writing is good, the pictures are selected well so far and the story seems to run in the right pace.

 

Will be watching this one with interest.

 

Fakesmurf


Review by Aggressive Zone
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.2 on 2021-05-09 14:55:41

Interesting start, but we dont have much to go on yet

Its mostly a build up to a story that looks to have a variety of options

 

So im very interested and hope it continues to develop


Review by DarkDaemonX
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.1 on 2021-01-23 22:39:24

I hope it doesn't become a game where the player can only follow the institute's orders, there has to be a way to get rid of them after all, aside from the obvious branches already in place, I think that would be an important branch as well, from a story telling perspective, from a realistic standpoint, it would be easy to win a court case against them, because of the privacy they breached, and they obviously hacked you, which is illegal, but that will probably not be what you'd have in mind, although it could be some kind of epilogue.

 

I always disliked that if you refused to go along with the sissification, it either shows you just a scene with "congratualations, you win. The End", or it just makes you go down the road of compliance anyway, does nobody have any interest in writing a story branch for resisting, and actually being succesful with it? That's at least what I think every time I see situations like that, I want a challenge, not just "You're going down this path whether you want it or not, nothing you can do about it", believe me, that gets boring pretty fast.

 

I hope you won't put hypno in this game, it's overused if you ask me, and it's always displayed as a miracle method, being able to achieve anything with everyone, I'd like to see some actual character development this time, instead of just using shortcuts or a "cheat option" (hypno in case you were confused).

 

If those things get added, this would be a 7/10 at the very least, with the chance to get even better.

 

On a side not, I don't think the player character is actually "sissy-curious" just because he bought female underwear, crossdressing doesn't mean you're a sissy, I feel sorry for you if you thought it was, that just means you still have a lot to learn. 

 

Crossdressing doesn't necessarily imply submission.

Crossdressing doesn't necessarily imply you want cock.

 


Review by SimonWilliamson
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.1 on 2021-01-23 02:49:58

Obviously early days, but there's way more content than I would have expected for a 0.0.0.1 release. Hopefully the author's decision to have the player start off as a bit of a sissy already will prevent things from getting bogged down and stalling in the early game, which seems to happen to lots of otherwise promising games. I like what I've seen so far and I've subscribed to see where this one goes.


Review by Lotharin
Version reviewed: 0.0.0.1 on 2021-01-23 02:03:32

Well, it's interesting for sure; and while there's not much content currently, there's definitely enough to draw me in.

 

I look forward to future updates.