Underneath the Labyrinth

Author: midsan
Version: 0.1.28 Full build
Last Updated: 2022-07-25 00:12:38


Review by aloopy
Version reviewed: 0.1.18 Early build on 2021-10-31 06:21:55

This is an interesting project. Maybe when it is further developed it will be quite propular.

Pros:

 

Cons:

 

The biggest issues are definitely the writing - which can be hard to understand, or just doesn't read well - and the poor UI experience.

The UI is most annoying in combat, but the sense of uncertainty about whether a click did anything, and whether the game is stuck or being slow spoils the experience quite a lot. If this can be fixed it will be much nicer to play.

I think the author needs to team up with a good writer who is a native speaker if they want to make a good game in English. Perhaps in the author's native language it is better.

 

The Skyrim graphics used look they were rendered with very low settings and are not up the expectations of Skyrim screen-archers. The author should probably re-do them with a high-end ENB in place.

 

If the author can do more of the more strategic part that seems to be planned, with different towns, cities, etc. it will become a lot more than a simple RPG with only one dungeon; that would be great to see.

I think there's a lot of potential here, but currently it doesn't take long to see most of the content.


Review by Fantasist
Version reviewed: 0.1.17 Early Build on 2021-10-14 15:11:53

The transformation art is very well done! Excellent pacing.  I would enjoy seeing a fork where the main character completes the transformation into their future self and enjoys more sexy times.


Review by prettystupid
Version reviewed: 0.1.15 FullBuild on 2021-09-04 14:01:07

Overall, a fun game with great atmosphere and a nice transformation.

 

Graphicallly, it's good, not the greatest, but it looks nice and the images serve their purpose. The game has good atmosphere and an interesting plot so far, though there's not much plot progression yet. Despite that, there are a good couple hours of gameplay. The combat is functional, but not too challenging, and doesn't wear itself out. It does a good job of forcing you to manage your resources as you progress through the labyrinth.

 

There are some grammatical errors, but they're minor enough that you can generally ignore them. The overall structure of the writing is fine, and each character manages to have a distinctive voice, so it's easy to read. The biggest gripe I have is that the game is a bit slow to respond to input.

 

This is already a fun experience with some well done corruption and transformation, and it's a solid foundation for what could be an excellent game as the story progresses.


Review by JNBackup
Version reviewed: 0.1.12 Early build on 2021-06-27 16:42:14

great game for many reasons, and there's still plenty of room for this game to become better!
i could say much more, but i assure you that the vibes this game gives are amazing.

My only feedback to the dev is that Timers, or transisions from page to page should either be fast, or show a "please wait" even if its only 5 seconds, im mainly talking about going into combat, etc.


Review by GameOn
Version reviewed: 0.1.11 Early Build on 2021-06-13 18:41:55

Agree with UI bug fixes being the most important thing at this point. Just got stuck in a fight unable to click on anything. Pretty good game otherwise.


Review by Taris
Version reviewed: 0.1.9 Full build on 2021-05-26 23:49:20

I really like the game, I hope they add more enemies in the next updates

It has a lot of potential


Review by HentaiLord
Version reviewed: 0.1.8 Fullbuild on 2021-05-11 15:53:23

The game has a lot of potential, and the grammer mistakes are mostly ignoreable. the biggest issue I faced however is that the UI was prone to bugging out, making it impossible to click on any option, as well as the exit button being invisable 90% of the time. before any additions to content the game needs a once over for bugs and glitches, especially if the player spam clicks to skip text.


Review by Sol
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 hotfix v.2 on 2021-03-11 00:49:23

Has potential to be a really good game, but SERIOUSLY needs an editor for the spelling and grammar correction in the dialogue. It's very hard to get into a game centered around reading when you're constantly having trouble making sense of what's written.

I don't think I can really enjoy this until the dialogue is fixed, but despite that the rest of the game seems to be shaping up fairly well and I really like the premise.


Review by MugTreecko
Version reviewed: 0.1.4 hotfix on 2021-03-08 05:33:24

There's an unpolished gem of a game here, but at this point it's too rough to really get into.

Combat often bugs out, leaving me unable to select the 'attack' option, special skills or what not, although I can still use cheats or load a save. I gave up after getting stuck in the same position each time (defeating an enemy with an overhead swing), what really makes this harder is the lack of proofing the dialogue has. Please be mindful of spaces around variable names, and especially copy / paste each new passage (and old ones once you have time) into a google document, so at least there's some slight grammar checking.

There's something interesting here and I want to find out what that is, but this early on I'll wait for the writing and the gameplay loop to be improved before I try again.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2021-03-05 00:17:50

This game is a text based adventure game with 3D generated mc, npcs and enemies and some very well drawn 2d computer graphic. I really want to know what engine this game is developed in, or could it be a custom made game like Hornstown. The gui isn't compactly built like CoC or Lilith's Throne but it is definitely well thought out. The author has chosen a slightly naive font that doesn't all fit into the vibe but otherwise the game looks impressive.

The game mechanism is clever too. It skips many of the traditional rpg nonesense and leave there only the juice and meat. The adventure in the labyrinth is straight forward and easy to figure out. I can't think of any better implementation for text based adventure game.

The hentai images goes well with the story, too. They arn't the top notch images you would find on deviantart but they are definitely well made.

There are a few bugs here and there. AP, or the lack of it, carries to the next battle. My character was surprised and he didn't get any AP in the next three engagements with the enermies, despite full rested and healed in between.

Anyway, this game has good potential. I am definitely having my fingers crossed for this one.

p.s. you can only save in the traven or campfire when you rest.


Review by tinakorn1957
Version reviewed: 0.1.3 on 2021-02-27 08:26:51

How to save game?


Review by tommiboi595
Version reviewed: 0.1.1 on 2021-02-13 23:03:34

Desperately needs some proofreading, other than that I'm personally not a fan of the forced mtf, but that's just a personal preference. It has promise. EDIT: ironically, I made a spelling error in my original review


Review by art926
Version reviewed: 0.1.1 on 2021-02-13 22:32:32

It's nicely made and the story is interesting. But looks like it's just one more game that forces you into MtF, no matter how dominant you're trying to play.


Review by Unicron9999
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2021-02-12 21:57:25

Lots of content and very ambitious- though I'm encountering a pretty rough bug. I unlocked the flee skill, and now my character runs at the start of every battle! I can't fight enemies anymore.


Review by Abbey Chase
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2021-02-07 16:08:42

This game has so much potential! Really loved playing the first version.


Review by Shmoj80
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2021-02-07 15:21:45

It's got potential. We'll have to wait and see how things go.

 

I think I have two main concerns right now, both of which are fixable. Please have the sound turned off on the main title page and then either have a button there to turn it on or have an options page for this type of thing.

 

Apart from that, just try and have somone do some proofreading on your passages in game and make corrections needed as you find them.


Review by fartmandoo
Version reviewed: 0.1.0 on 2021-02-07 14:30:23

Well done, your attention to detail is top notch so far!

The transformation elements are exactly what I look for in these games, so I might be biased, but this a wonderful start.

Unique dialogue with NPCs and commentary about each phase of the transformation was a nice touch. I'll be following closely for updates!