Changing Blade (+ hard difficulty)

Author: icarue
Version: Hard Patch
Last Updated: 2021-08-31 15:33:59


Review by Iiie
Version reviewed: Easy patch on 2021-03-05 04:45:04

Very interesting gameplay! Tactical gameplay is something new in rpgm tf games!
I noticed that it's another case of game filled with only female companions though. First three at least? I wish tf games incorporated more male characters for the protagonist to interact and romance with.


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: Easy patch on 2021-03-03 05:09:20

I played the initial release, the story is short but for a proof of concept it exceeds expectations. 

The newest version however will not run on my computer as my antivirus is flagging it. Even disabling the antivirus completely does not seem to work, it seems to be a Windows compatibility issue.


Review by Kishinslayer
Version reviewed: Easy patch on 2021-03-03 02:16:08

Finally got around to finishing this, and gameplay-wise it's honestly excellent. Once I got the hang of the bindings it really just felt like classic FE, and I didn't know how much I missed those janky old days. I understand the complaints others had about the story being to short, but considering the author specifically said it was a proof of concept, i have absolutely no problems with it. Icarue's art has steadily improved over the years, as has his writing, and these are some of his best characters yet. I'm not super into demon girls, but the MC is absolutely adorable. The transformation content is very light, just some mental TFs sprinkled here and there, and depending on how many you go out of your way to grab you'll get the bad end. This really isn't a one-handed sort of game, it's just a short fun game for people who like og fire emblem and icarue games.


Review by MugTreecko
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-03-01 18:16:16

Pretty good for a first release. While it's not always clear what's going on at first to a new player, the maps and difficulty were pretty solid.

I played the version with Fog of War; I noticed especially on larger maps it would take longer to update the 'fog' after each move; if you could somehow localise where these checks are made, that would definitely improve the experience! There's plenty of room for polish - for instance: variation in tiles to help maps be less monotonous (and measure movement), mentioning the weapon triangle at some point or that units return after each map ("oh no the cavalier died retreated again lol") might be worth looking at.

As a TF game, there's not a lot here but what there is isn't that bad and I appreciate the slower nature of the changes. Unlocking magic towards the end of the game was a lot of fun, especially when the PC can finally tank (magical) attacks!

 

tl;dr

If nothing else it was a fun experience, but I feel it'd be the same if you removed TFs from the game.
Left feeling like it was a prologue to a larger game that doesn't exist yet, given the length and endings. Oh well.


Review by rickro
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-02-27 00:18:58

Artwork is alright, though the MC in particular is pretty cute. As someone who's played Fire Emblem, I thought the difficulty and gameplay was alright. The length of the game was also okay, but I was hoping it would be a bit longer. I liked the branching path and how it was implemented but wanted more content like that in the game. Hopefully the creator works on that a bit more if they create another game like this, which I would like them to do. This game was fun, and I like the writing especially concerning the MC's changes. Not enough people get that it needs to be drawn out and not instantaneous, but this creator does. It's what I most like about their work, and this game follows that.

 

Overall, the game is fun. It's worth a play even if you're not a big Fire Emblem fan.


Review by comodo50
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-02-26 19:31:18

Really liked this game, finished it once already while taking all the chest (BECAUSE LOOOOT)

The best chest to take are corrupted sword and corrupted bow, def.


Review by Aliryt
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-02-26 00:32:49

Hello
(Google translator)

I like your games. Easy to control, interesting plot. Perhaps this game is also interesting, but I tried to play for about 15 minutes, nothing worked and then deleted it. I understood how to manage, how to conduct battles, but it is difficult and unpleasant for me.
I really hope that someday you will make this game on a more outdated game engine (rpg makeк mv / mz), but easier to manage than this new and very advanced SRPG Studio.


Review by jjars898
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-02-26 00:13:40

I unfortunately reminded myself how bad I am at Fire Emblem-esque strategy games...but so far, so good!

All the TFs are text only so far; the only images are stock game sprites and basic character portraits. If this goes the way of the author's other enjoyable game, Bimbo Quest, the number of images will probably improve in a later version.

The writing is solid, the author's English is intelligible, pretty much typo-free, and mildly witty, which are always welcome qualities compared to many games on this site.

Finally, the one huge problem: As soon as I finished the second level, the game engine started to seriously lag, and I couldn't bring myself to slog through it anymore.