Fame and Fortune

Author: Sheriden
Version: 2.5
Last Updated: 2021-05-06 12:11:21


Review by the Morrigan
Version reviewed: 2.5 on 2021-05-07 13:10:08

So first, while this is TECHNICALLY a transformation game ... I guess ... we as players never actually see the MC as a male, and the transformation process is glossed over and essentially ignored. Personally, I hate this kind of thing in a transformation fantasy.

Second, this is not an RPG or a CYOA. There is barely any "story" to it at all, and what there is exists entirely in the introductory passage. In fact, it's barely a GAME at all, being more a set of game rules like an extremely limited version of a tabletop game like D&D. As far as I'm concerned, it's not actually a computer game (and definitely not a "Complete" computer game) when the player has to handle all the random number generation herself, via either outside RNG sites or (as is actually suggested) by rolling her own dice!

Since RNG, along with status tracking, is and integral, basic piece of every game engine I know of, this is a near-unforgivable oversight on the writer's part.

Still, the game does have a certain appeal as a resource control game with about four resources to control. It can be played through in about half an hour, does have some replay value and, most importantly, is actually fun to play. I'd give it an 8/10 if the author would simply add the necessary random number generators to the game, but as-is, I'd say it sits at about 6/10.


Review by Shouden
Version reviewed: 2.5 on 2021-05-07 04:38:00

If you like this game, you should check out Back Street Girls - Gogudols on Netflix. It's about three gangsters who are forced to become pop idols to pay off a debt.


Review by mimi69
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2021-05-05 20:19:03

I like this game. It is neat and different, but still fun and pretty fast to play. 


Review by prole
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2021-05-05 17:15:51

I don't really like the interface of this game - it's not very responsive at all (at least on my end). However, the content is very enjoyable and there's a TON of different choices to make to shape whatever you desire from the game (as long as what you desire is idol debauchery and sexy times).


Review by sigvin
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2021-05-04 17:22:29

it makes no sense to me that this game has such high praise. the interface is refined in a sense by using fully graphic elements, but they're terribly designed. there's no attention given to what information is more or less relevant to the decisions the player has to make; it's all just purple text boxes that make the information run together just as much as if it were displayed in a wall of text with no separations.

and the instructions are insufficient. what does "How many lateral moves did you make on the above 4 rows?" mean and what effect does it have on the character or system? does it add points or subtract them? do perks cost points or add them? what *are* the points, what are the limits on them, what are the limits affected by, and how can the player see how many points they have?


Review by HoratioTheGreat
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2021-05-02 21:42:52

Very very cool. Slick interface, and hot content. I wish there were little stories for the jobs, but I also recognize that's an intense amount of extra content for such a large game already.

A bit weird you have to manually do some tasks, given how much of the game is automated, but these are just quibbles. 9/10, one of the single best "ending hunting" games I've ever played, if not the best.


Review by ismir
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2021-05-02 20:02:58

Fun little CYOA, takes just a few minutes to play through once, but can be played multiple times.