Wish Gone Wild

Author: maximstar00
Version: 1.0.0
Last Updated: 2021-07-03 10:10:52


Review by IAmWeirdo
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-17 16:59:41

The portion currently cheap is pretty interesting, the tf is kinda hot. Otherwise, it's short, so there's not much to say in general


Review by anaisnon
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-07 09:18:03

A great start with a lot of polish, but short and mostly linear at this point.


Review by TenbatsuNo
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-06 10:47:14

Unusable on phone, since the bottom overlay takes 90% of the screen. Even in desktop mode, long conversations tend to hide behind said overlay at some points, and can't be continued. Make a phone-friendly version or leave the html file playable please.


Review by boycalledsue
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-05 04:33:01

I like the writing and I like the detailed descriptions. I'm looking forward to the next installment already.

I also liked the reading aloud, with different voices for different characters - it does add some depth.

However I also agree that this game has the potential to catch someone out and embarrass them if they're not anticipating hearing the text read out loud to them.


Review by sadarsa
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-04 23:42:46

As others have said, it needs a option to disable the voice actor. I for one really find that accent grating, the instant i heard it i began looking to find ways to shut him up.


Review by Noknet
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-04 20:20:31

The first thing I think it's important for you to know is that depending on where you are and who is nearby, you may want to turn your sound off.  Unlike most HTML games, this game reads everything out loud.

Aside from that, this is just the beginning.  As others have pointed out, it ends when Nathan (the main character) discovers that he's a woman now.  This is chapter 1 of 5, so from what I have seen, the next chapters should prove to be interesting.


Review by newsbox
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-03 19:28:40

Great start to a game. Hopefully we get to see more in the future.

 

Very well written, and seems to have a great background (coding) to it that is well organized.

Would like to see a mute buttone in game, but browser can do that just fine.

Also a back button.


Review by Eirie2
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-03 16:57:17

There is a good framework and start here, definitely one to watch.

 


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-03 15:23:47

This is not a G rated game, probably R if not X. The voices are intersting even if they took a bit to get used too.  Waiting to see how the story develops into more of a game with mechanics.


Review by chickenchaotic
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2021-07-03 12:30:54

Game mostly a prologue now. Has images and a good UI basis, so the infrastructure is there to continue for sure. The setup has promise to it, but as of right now it doesn't seem to much demonstrate its key appeals.

Given that it effectively ends with the character's initial change, there is little indication how much control over 'what kind of woman' they become. There are some choices in how they react to things, but little indication of the consequences as of yet.

As for the Disco Elysium style "influenced by a chorus of mental subsystems", that feature seems underexplored as well. While it's not entirely clear what all the statistics/internal voices are (there seems to be no way to review them), what we do experience is all fairly standard. Mental Cognition and Conceptualization, Bodily Desire, Sight Perception. Unlike the game's inspiration, as of yet these features seem to neither be stats you use to pass checks, nor louder or quieter based on how much the player invests in them. As such, they serve only as co-narrators, coming in when their area of expertise is needed. While that's charming in its own right, combined with their inaccessability and current lack of customization, they don't yet feel super interactive.

I suspect the solution to both cases is to both lean into and change up its influence. On one hand, I think having the mental features as alterable stats would do a lot to make it feel like the player gets to decide "what kind of woman" they become. This not only allows them to see quantifiably the consequences of their actions. It allows a progression towards an ideal: investing points in or earning more of a particular stat allows you to do actions only accessible, or more easily accessible, with that stat. While the game doesn't necessarily need to have say the dice rolls plus a stat that define Disco Elysium, having the stats be things you can lean into or away from, and having game consequences to that (Disco Elysium reads quite differently if you're an unimaginative brute versus a twitchy empath) would help capture a lot of the appeal of your base game.

On the other hand, I think you should consider altering the cast of mental features to suit your game. Part of what makes Disco Elysium's mental processes so fun is that beyond the mental function they represent, they have colorful personalities besides. The pleasure center of the brain isn't just a maw for sex and drugs, but a hard partying rockstar convinced of its coolsness. The center for telling and reading lies talks like a Shakespearian author, with dramatic flair to match. And while many represent basic functions, they build out into purposes the character uses in his detective work, and have goals and angles onto themselves.

I think the game would similarly pop if it were to lean into its own flavor and needs. While it still could have certain aspects that embody mental or physical functions (I imagine the desire/pleasure/lust would be in play and potentially have plenty of personality), it should also alter to keep in mind the sort of woman the main character would end up if they leaned into a particular stat. This could be further complicated by the fact that as the character is (spoiler!) possessed/guided by spirits representing fragments of people, then perhaps the cast of subfunctions shouldn't be their own mental processes, but different spirits vying for attention/fusion with the character. Rather than a brainstem pleasure center, why not a spirit representing the lust and drive to be desired of say a sugar baby? The spirit of a hard driving businesswoman with domme inclinations would fit better than a neutral flavored mental drive to authority, while accomplishing the same thing of offering that influence, and that ideal should the main character embrace it.

I'm spitballing now, and likely have rambled too long. But clearly the potential is here, but my basic critique is that it should at once embrace what works from its main influence, and allow itself to get creative with said influences to suit the game's unique needs.