Inner Self Development Program

Author: Carnile
Version: 0.2
Last Updated: 2021-12-06 00:06:46


Review by cd1997
Version reviewed: 0.2 on 2022-07-04 21:18:27

Incredible UI, great visuals and art style, nice gameplay ideas with pleasant sound effects and animations, quite short and somewhat linear and repetitive at the moment.

I like the ideas behind the "inner self development program" even though it's a pretty common dynamic. I like the art style, it's very polished and fresh looking, kinda anime but not super stereotypical. The physical/actions progression seems a bit stair-like, you shave, then a big jump with everything else, (and so far that's it). The "psychological" progression is a bit more subtle. I think it's fair.

The UI as i said looks amazing, and it's relatively good in terms of use. It's not perfect, because the phone for examples glitches a bit, nothing game breaking, just small cropping errors, and some awkwardness when selecting icons. A change I would make would be the time something takes to show a "help bubble". if you hover over stuff for a couple seconds it tells you what it is but i'd map that to the right click, or i'd make it quicker on hover


Review by Kolka
Version reviewed: 0.2 on 2021-12-07 19:41:54

So the short of it is this: ui good, design good, small bugs here and there, general lack of content, great polish for the content that does exist, sussy mc and his roommate

Now to elaborate:

The stylistic rendering and handdrawn renders make this game artistically distinct. It's an interesting concept, using unity engine to make a renpy looking game. It feels like renpy in all of it - spacebar dialogue skips, multi-choice dialogue options, and a more conversational style of play. While not the only game to have handdrawn characters and sprites, it is definitely one of the better looking ones.

The UI does have its bugs, and a general lack of polish to game states can be seen by saves bugging out. This is more of an issue in the newer 0.3 version on patreon, but it's likely due to it being an alpha preview. UI lacks certain accessibility features like DPI scaling, ability to enlarge large interfaces such as the mobile screen at the bottom right, which makes text pitiably unreadable without a fancy shmancy monocle.

The gameplay is more of a concept at the moment. You have your routine setup which is enabled by energy which is recharged during sleep. The current options are university and mall(only v0.3+). A lot of core routine functions haven't been implemented. While it seems easy to add new content, due to the author relying on custom renders, this significantly increases the scope of development and the time it takes. However, the releases so far indicate a narrow focus on content and quality, as opposed to unrestrained breadth of development that often overtakes the art. So, while the gameplay is there in its barebones, it is quite polished, and the writing isn't bad, nor the story continuity incoherent.

So, I guess the overall conclusion is that this one will be a slow burn. Due to the amount of effort it takes to polish each segment of the game, we'll be spoonfed little tidbits of content. This game is basically perverted education in university and with better visual flair. I still hate the looks of mc and his roommate, but the content, even in its limited form, is pretty good.


Review by bobkelpie7
Version reviewed: 0.2 on 2021-12-06 20:27:05

All the annoyances from the inital version have been fixed and things are a lot more stream lined now.

The content in the new release is really good. This is shaping up to be a "next gen" trainer.


Review by KRanseyer
Version reviewed: 0.2 on 2021-12-06 06:33:28

Could be a nice game, but this bubble-stuff is killing me. I click like hell, but some of them don't even react aaand... "You fail" and do it again (and again, and again)...


Review by Centrophy
Version reviewed: 0.1c on 2021-11-19 18:58:48

I kind of hate this for various reasons but I'm sure I'm in the minority. Let me go through my thoughts and see if I can get out all the things that made me annoyed as I played. First of all this is a game where you play as Alex. Alex is not the player's character. It is immediately apparent that this will be a somewhat linear story where the character will only proceed down one path with the filling out of the questionaire. It's not for the player to fill out - the player character will answer it all with few exceptions where you can choose between two choices - the questionaire's questions are all multiple choice with four choices but the player can only choose between two sometimes. The player character will fill it out without player input. Yeah, I kind of hate that. It's like a JRPG where choices are meaningless and the player is just along for the ride.

My next issue is with the university itself. What kind of school is this? Who would choose to go here? What do they teach? It seems like they don't teach anything useful. It's like some kind of weird fetish school that teaches alphas and sissies but not things for careers. Every interaction with the staff (two characters done through text and email) is done with some sort of new age flowery cult speech. Every answer is about making the students into what they should be or whatever but that's vague as hell for a place that's supposed to be real. In the meta knowledge genre savvy sense, we all know what it means, but the character never really seems to question anything. What are they even learning in class? What are his goals for graduating from here?

The only content available is the generic computer porn option where the character can choose to look at porn on the computer (but that option is always for the player who gets impatient waiting for the porn to happen to the player character). You unlock more porn options through doing the "conditioning" assignment which doesn't make any sense unless the character knows they are going into a sissification/sex based course. I don't understand how the minigame works. You click floating buttons to a beat but I'm not certain the beat matters. I only know you can fail by not clicking anything and letting the bar on the bottom right rise. The problem with the game the same as what is wrong with the UI. Nothing is ever really explained, it took me a little bit to realise that you needed to double click clothing in the closet to put it on. I kept trying to click it once or click drag but did that did nothing.

The art is also not to my taste. It's nice but it reminds me a lot of a yaoi comic without the giant hands and the pastel colors. It could be better but know that this will be a linear voluntary game where the receptive player character gets introduced to the sissy lifestyle. I don't know. I probably won't try this again but it's obviously not a low effort project.


Review by SluttyDanny89
Version reviewed: 0.1b on 2021-10-19 07:42:31

Don't quite get it. The dev warned about little content, but no content is a lot more accurate. I wasted my time clicking through eight days and nothing at all happens. And the beautiful interface doesn't count for anything, on a slow clicking game with no content at all. Never saw any sissification tasks, any tasks whatsoever, any human interactivity (imagine a game where a professor sissifies her student and you don't even get to see her lectures). All in all, this is really barebones and doesn't have the makings of a fun game in its current state.


Review by qaeron
Version reviewed: 0.1b on 2021-08-21 12:14:18

This game has one of the prettiest UIs in this genre - as well as the one of the nicest art directions. However, as the author says, content is almost non-existent: one minigame and several make-work actions to repeat. The extensive wardrobe/paperdoll is useless. The biggest con, to me, is the wasting of / disrespect towards player's time: each possible UI action is animated w/o possibility to skip. Ending a day takes 5+ seconds while literally showing a timer! Fapping action is real-time (!!) and unskippable. Talk about grinding...


Review by custardscone
Version reviewed: 0.1b on 2021-08-12 13:49:03

Possibly the best looking first release I've seen, art's adorable, no idea what the review below me means by calling it a bit homophobic lol. Reccomend you check it out and consider supporting if you can, looks really promising.


Review by doom12321
Version reviewed: 0.1b on 2021-07-31 15:15:46

For a m/m game, its so feminine and focus more of female porn. This seems homophobic.


Review by klumzee
Version reviewed: 0.1b on 2021-07-29 18:40:58

Really amazing start. Great art, great concept. Definitely needs a save system as it grows and the grammar is a bit off, but still good enough to convey the story clearly. Looking forward to future updates for this one.


Review by Tolkien46
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2021-07-22 15:22:10

Interesting.

Beautiful art work, an interesting premise for the game.

Lot of clicking (bubble popping) so if your Carpal tunnel is playing up you might avoid this.

The creator might want to get someone to help with the syntax for the English language.

As an Alpha it is pretty good and look forward to seeing how this develops.


Review by arynlamingtons
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2021-07-21 17:05:44

This game seems pretty promising so far! The art style is great. It's still super early so hopefully the days become more fulfilling with possible class scenes added in. There are some typos throughout, and the language seems to be in portuguese(?) for some of the display stuff. The options don't work nor language settings. That being said, the premise seems really fun and I'm excited for what comes next!


Review by cr0ssdre55er
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2021-07-21 16:42:14

Great game thus far. It would have been a little easier if it was put in how to resist early on. Also i hope the creators plan on putting in a way to shop for clothing


Review by darqnees
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2021-07-21 13:21:02

I can see the potential of the game and I absolutely love it. I interpret that there are certain shortcomings as a purely Alpha version. You need to fix the Options section (make it work) and enable changing the resolution, and the volume of the music was too loud for me. I think there is no save system because it is an alpha version, I hope you add it soon. 2. I would like to inform you that there is no page change in the documents and that we have selected random options.


Review by gabysissy
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2021-07-21 12:27:38

Really liked what I saw so far, art looks really good, the premise of the game is really nice and unique plus with the content we had right now it was able to see what we will get in the future so really good start, I'll definitely consider becoming a patreon in the close future :D


Review by neoeric
Version reviewed: 0.0.1 on 2021-07-21 12:23:08

Wow. It's a really great start, so far.

This game can be my dream game easily in the end, probably.

I would like to consider to be a supporter If the game is this good.