To My Office, Ms Taylor

Author: BaleonRosen
Version: 1.1
Last Updated: 2021-09-07 01:31:10


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-09-22 08:34:17

v1.1:

Interactivity is high with the way this game is essentially a "Groundhog Day" time loop, the writing is solid for an all-text game and there are no images. Transformations in the game right now are limited, but it'd be spoiling to discuss this further when the game has hidden story paths that you've got to loop through the game multiple times to find with 20 possible endings.

After playing through this game for a solid half hour and finding pretty much everything with brute force loop attempts, I have to admit it felt more like a grind than enjoyable. Nevertheless it is interesting and a different way a Twine game has been presented in a while with the time loop mechanic.

In two minds on this one. You'll either love it or hate it.

Cautiously recommended.


Review by Eric Force
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-09-17 17:19:52

How the fuck are people confused, sorry frustrated by clicking links, buttons, and god damn checkboxes. Do they not get off unless a jacked up army man clad in body armor screams at them to cross the bridge and shoot the baddies while calling them a limp dick soyboy?

7/10 bad; not enough profanities aimed at my micro penis.


Review by Onedrift
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-09-10 12:12:24

Well written, wonderfully paced, especially as this is a looping game. More information means more paths which means more information, etc. Love it.


Review by comisar
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-09-09 12:55:45

Needlessly hidden options for maximum increase frustration. Work of art my ass.


Review by MugTreecko
Version reviewed: 1.1 on 2021-09-09 09:53:32

10/10

This is a very cleverly written and coded twine game, and a stellar example of what can be done with the engine and a good hook. I did miss a few endings at first as I skimmed over some of the more graphic passages, but it was fun to explore all the different paths and see where the story goes!

There's quite a few times where I wondered "oh wait, now that this has happened, what of that?" only to realise that you've saved yourself quite a bit of effort by having some paths be mooted when others are in play. The final ending was very well put together and the closure thereafter was quite excellent; not to mention I spotted no typos, code errors and only one errant capital letter!

tl;dr - Play this if you're in the mood for an excellent, if kinky mystery / thirller. 's good stuff, but give yourself time to let the hype settle.


Review by Volendi
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 21:21:43

It was an interesting set of stories... quite difficult to find all endings but kinda fun to see what will and won't work to get a new ending.

EDIT: Good to kill a bit of time with, I recommend it.  Fair warning, all text.  If this is a deal breaker, move along.


Review by Khold1
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 19:25:38

I've played a lot of games on this site, so I don't say this lightly: this is one of, if not the best, games on this site. Period. The reviews piqued my interest and didn't disappoint.


Review by Quinn
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 17:23:45

This is one of the best pieces of art on this site. (If I can call a text-only narrative art). The range of emotions invoked -- from empathy to horror to elation to love and on is striking.

Not only is it well-written, but its elegantly minimalist interface works superbly. Thankfully playable on its own, it does have numerous references and homages to the author's previous work, "Happy Birthday, Alex".

I was insufficiently interested in that previous work to complete playing it, but To My Office grabbed me and wouldn't let go. For me Office Triumphed over Alex in the somewhat more polished writing of Office, the superior hint system, there being logical reasons for what was happening in the iterating narrative, and (almost paradoxically considering this site) the fact not every thread had copious quantities of sex jammed into it, but often an action plot instead.

BaleonRosen should feel justly proud of this beautifully written piece of work.  And I'll be going back to give Alex another try.

If you read for intellectual and emotional pleasure, read this.


Review by Trueblades
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 13:33:26

At first I thought the other reviews were coming on a little strong. I 20% expected a link to a rick roll. 
I started playing it and still felt that way for about 5 minutes. 

Then I started getting in to it. 
Yeah this game is really well done. 


Review by danni79
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 06:50:59

I don't want to spoil anything so I'll just say that I absolutely loved the game mechanics used to progress the story, I have found at times pure text games hard to get into this is one of the few exceptions that doesn't need pictures to improve it's story.

Extremely  well written and engaging story and I'm very much looking forward to future updates 

The only small suggestion I would have would be a save feature


Review by toothshoe
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 06:46:52

Breathtaking.

 

Truly breathtaking.

 

A fantastically formatted, excellently executed masterpiece. Truly a joy to play from start to finish. This hit me with so many favorites of mine: I love a meta game, I love a female pc, I love a psuedo SCP organization, and I love this game.

 

Well done, and on 1.0 too! I look forward to future projects by this author even if they end up to be half the quality of this wonderful game.


Review by GreatJT
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-03 00:14:17

Played this game hoping for self-pleasure material, and while it's pretty hot at points I eventually stopped touching myself entirely to focus solely on the writing and worldbuilding. 10/10, do not regret. The rarest of unicorns.


Review by MGP
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-02 22:34:12

A captivating, thoroughly enjoyable, and honestly quite impressive text game. The writing quality is very solid - as you unlock the paths, you'll start to piece together some recurring themes that I found integrated quite nicely towards the story's conclusion. The whole setting and presentation gives off some SCP Foundation vibes, which definitely adds a bit of mystery and intrigue to the characters you come across, as well as some of the more unique endings. The method of unlocking new branches is cleverly implemented and fits snugly into the lore of the setting.

The visual presentation of the game is also praiseworthy - there's a very consistent colour-coding scheme, explained in the beginning, which helps you keep track of branches in the story, and assists with navigation later and some nice immersive visual effects from time to time.

In terms of transformation content, the game has a modest variety of events with different kinds of TFs to suit the reader's fancy - checking the game's tags is advised for that. I think some of them could have been fleshed out a little more as they end up being a bit "instant" for my liking, though these also make sense in the context of the story. 

Also, props to the author for releasing a content-complete game on v1.0! Not many submissions can stake that claim.

Definitely one of the best-quality games I've come across on this site - recommended.


Review by Unicron9999
Version reviewed: 1.0 on 2021-09-02 18:36:27

BLEW ME AWAY! 

This was absolutely fantastic! You owe it to yourself to play this all the way through. Try not using the back arrows for your first few adventures though, for fidelity ;P