LAMP

Author: Humorotica
Version: 0.77
Last Updated: 2021-10-12 15:53:57


Review by CrystalGeyser
Version reviewed: 0.77 on 2021-10-13 02:04:14

TL:DR - It is what it is, nothing more.

As it says, it is what it is. By that I mean what you see is what you get. Everything is written competently, and humorous at times. Images are linked properly (though apparently they didn't work before). And the game as a whole functions as it should (though there were the occasional HTML errors that popped up as a result of typos or not closing tags properly). But it just seems to be missing something that elevates it into something more.

The overall feel can pretty much be described as those early Twine games where people didn't really know what to do with the engine, what was possible with it, or just looked at it as a way of writing CYOA stories. For a first foray into the medium though, it's about as good as you can expect. It does have that feel though like it's the dude's first project in Twine, and he made it to learn and thus kind of made jokes for himself and stuff in the writing. You know, like instead of writing "Hello world!" to be cheeky you'd write "Hello Clevland!" instead. Because of that, a lot of the writing feels a bit too tongue-in-cheek in a way that's doesn't really come off as "funny" but more disjointed than anything.

The writing itself is competent though, there's not many spelling errors and the dude clearly knows English. Though passages themselves seem to be a bit heavy on text and I often found myself skimming a lot of it. That's more of a "me" thing, but breaking up the text into chunks can help some people's brains from turning on "skim mode" when they see a dense bit of text. Especially when they're in full horndog mode.

I think the endings themselves aren't worth their playthroughs though. By that I mean the "reward" at the end of a story thread just seems to fall flat. Often times they don't really go how you'd expect, end abruptly, don't capitalize on the situation presented, or just kind of fizzle out. Thankfully the game is short, and provides links back to story branches to check out all of them, though none of them really stick out to me.

Some issues I had with the game itself would be the videos mainly. For some reason all of the videos don't loop, and so when they finish they just stop and require you to play them over again. I think the dialogue text could use some work as well. White text with neon highlights isn't the best thing to look at on a dark background.

 

But yeah, the game is short enough to warrant a play, and you can pretty much finish all the endings in about 45 mins. Others may appreciate the game a bit more than I did, and for what it's worth it is a pretty complete experience. I just felt like it was missing a spark that it desperately needed to take it from someone's experiment in learning Twine to something a bit more engaging. I've got no doubts the dev's capable of it now after putting this out, so if they do release something else in the future, I look forward to checking it out. So yeah, best of luck to ya.


Review by willnotwork
Version reviewed: 0.77 on 2021-10-12 22:58:14

This was an interesting and fun little romp — and as promised, broad but not deep. It's a little unfortunate that someone who spent so much time on metatextual jokes would overlook something as common as case sensitivity and platforming, but easily remedied and allowed me to complete several paths.

 

If you're looking for a smutty CYOA, this is a good choice.


Review by CrawlingMadness
Version reviewed: 0.66c on 2021-10-09 18:56:01

Overall a fun and at times introspective smut game (0.66c still has a few broken image links here and there and not too big a fan of the sound being on on the mp4 files, but whatever).

Overall, I think it's great to read how people approach topics that hides behind certain fetishes. If that's the reason some aren't big fans, I guess it is what it is. It's written in the description: "4th wall breaking," and it didn't disappoint. not like Dennis.  


Review by Wittyusername
Version reviewed: 0.66c on 2021-10-09 13:46:09

Don't listen to the boomers in the reviews, this game is great


Review by Hatha
Version reviewed: 0.66c on 2021-10-09 07:53:41

I'm glad they tried for some comedy.  Some of my favorite stuff on this site has good amounts of humor.  Sadly, comedy is difficult.  

 

The intro to this obnoxious.  It quickly killed my interest as it went from one pointless joke to another, like speed running every attempt.  It was all mostly just complete filler that didn't need to be there.  There's numemrous pages of content and broken images that could be deleted from this entirely and it would have no negative impact at all.  Many of these jokes may have actually been okay if there was any relevant context, rather than just having them as a speedbump to the existence of content.  

The text formatting is awful.  I found it just outright unpleasant to even read dialogue in this.  

 

This probably could be a lot of fun and become something people love, and maybe that's why it's frustrating.  But as of right now it's almost trying to make itself unpleasant to read.  


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 0.66b on 2021-10-08 14:01:00

It a start. As it stands there isn't much in the way of gameplay and the choices you do make do not all have an impact on progression, but rathet get you variations of the same events as determined by the path you start on with your 2nd wish. I think personally that we need more choices and content for each wish and more story surrounding those changes. Its good for 1 full playthrough.


Review by Dracilla
Version reviewed: 0.66a on 2021-10-08 06:50:44

With the current version (0.66a) this puppy is broken hard core with only 1 out of every 10 image/video links working, largely its a few gifs that are functioning but even the player portrait promptly kicks the bucket. That aside seems like your typical transform make a wish situation where sometimes you get what you ask for sometimes you get turned into a goblin. Think after some (lot) of bug fixing it will be more entertaining.


Review by Isel
Version reviewed: 0.66a on 2021-10-08 03:43:26

Honestly, it's kind of boring.

The opening sequence is tedious, the fourth-wall style humour is not that well implemented and none of the interesting choices or characters have any impact on the game. The genie seems random in what wishes get granted, in the sense that I don't feel like I can work towards a goal. Not even in the 'have my plans thwarted by a trickster god'- kind of way, either. Just.. random.

There's no worldbuilding, no setup, no impetus to care about any of these characters even though they are supposed to be impactful to the main character. While it is slightly novel in the way it legitimizes poof-style transformations through its internal logic, it just ends up kindof boring this way, and the syntax and the way it handles being read by the player is irksome.

Gonna give this one a pass.

 


Review by prismgoy
Version reviewed: 0.66a on 2021-10-08 03:19:58

Lämp, i want you Lämp

Møth, we cannot be toghether

This window is only a temporary obstacle,

It's not that

Then what is it?

The power is going out

No Lämp

I'm dying, Møth

No Lämp, you cannot leave me

You have to let me go, Møth

Do not give up on me Lämp

You have to le-

LÄMP...


Review by bandit
Version reviewed: 0.66 on 2021-10-08 00:36:43

So many broken links.....