Henshinko!

Author: Judoo
Version: 1.0.3
Last Updated: 2022-02-11 11:50:29


Review by Hito125
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on 2022-02-11 23:43:54

This is fun! It's a very interesting mechanic, with a reasonable amount of story around it. I had some frustration in the beginning not being sure if it was even possible to get a good ending, or how to manage it. But once I looked that up (try to minimize your TFs), I enjoyed it. Worth playing!


Review by aegis7
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on 2022-02-09 20:39:33

It's certainly a unique game. There's reasonable depth to the progression of the TG, the artwork is decent, the overall story fairly reasonable.

Ultimately, what holds it back is that it's just Pachinko, for better and for worse. It's a novel idea, and the gameplay is fairly fun for the first few playthroughs, but ultimately what TG and ending you get is often down more to luck than any relevant skill. It makes it quite annoying when you're shooting for one path in particular, or trying to get a specific ending.

Having more control over what path you get on subsequent playthroughs, either by removing certain paths from the machine or giving the player more control of the ball, would mostly fix this issue.

It's still worth a playthrough, maybe a couple if you're really into the randomness of it. Otherwise, it's hard to recommend a completionist runthrough.


Review by Red-XIII
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on 2022-02-09 02:40:44

TF pinball. More pinpall than TF. And if you hate pinball like I do (which is something I managed to forget till this game reminded me) then I'd suggest staying away.

On the TF side you get about 4-5 short playthroughs worth of content resulting in 6 ending. Achieved by sticking to one of the 4 "life directions" or to neither one of them. It's not particularly lengthy or deep, but it's solid. Well, solid except for the whole "determined by painball pinball" thing.

On the technical side, some UI elements go off-screen and you don't get to save the game or rebind the controls. But overall it's passable.


Review by Canton
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on 2022-02-07 13:07:56

I was very skeptical about the concept and absolutely wrong to be. It's a fun little game! You consistently manage to release surprisingly well made games that have stretched the genres of what is typically found. Real impressive, mate. 


Review by Stanicus
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on 2022-02-07 12:33:30

Pretty fun overall, a few endings to go for to add some replay value. I do wish i could go back and view endings/path's i've already completed, as you dont get a ton of agency when it comes to which path you end up on. It's all very dependent on luck, which is fair, given it's essentially pachinko. Definitely worth a try!


Review by vdfvdvdd
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-06 12:10:25

Pretty good for a first version, worth 10mn of gameplay for now but it could become a pretty cool game with time, i'll keep an eye on it


Review by Upsetti
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-06 11:10:35

Game is fun, purely tg concepts. Graphics are great, story written well from what I've seen, I'm sure I've not seen the majority of the text. Highly recommend trying if it interests ya, I can understand if ya aren't interested in playing pachinko though.
Game is simple, control a ball through a pachinko board. The goal is to collect money and perhaps gather points for a TF archetype. I'm sure there are some spots where you might end up stuck in some maps but I've found that in most cases you can control the ball out when you want to.

Big ups for the dancer tf, big fan of that tf.


Review by MugTreecko
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-06 05:25:11

It's insta-M2G Pachinko. that's it that's the game.

--

It's okay. Given the tags I was expecting a bit more variance / modularity in TFs, in exchange for bits about your life (kinda like "the pen is mightier" or "mightier than the sword", but with a pachinko machine to determine what changes) but having set 'realities' where your career is now ___ suits the story and theming too. Mechanics are pretty solid; there's enough subtle control to let you influence the story path you want, but trying too hard usually just ends up missing out. Also feels quite grindy if one wants to find all the story paths / art.

On the bright side, you're not directly punished for choosing to revert the changes at the end, which for this site is a nice change of pace. Also Judoo has a great track record for fairly polished games, so at least one playthough is worth your time.


Review by Nemo
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-06 00:39:20

Fun concept, unfortunately needs some work on the mechanics.  I hit a portion of the pachinko machine repeatedly (far left side bottom) where a poorly placed bumper put the ball into a loop where it would bounce off the wall, slide down to the bumper, bounce off the bumper and hit the wall again.  This caused me to be unable to proceed.

I like the concept and it was indeed a good time but I could not get past this point in my first two playthroughs.


Review by Ketria
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-05 22:45:07

Game is fun.

On day 7 I found a game-ending oversight. The course has an area that teleports you to a closed-off section. It seems you're intended to just fall through quickly but I tried to stay in it and get as much as I could. I fell back to the bottom of the area and was wedged in a tiny corner that didn't touch the gravity reverse icon and I couldn't move. So I was just stuck there for all eternity. Otherwise very good game.


Review by HoratioTheGreat
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-05 21:41:58

I cannot say enough positive things about this game. What an absolute treat. The pachinko game element is fun, the colors are jazzy and pleasant, the transformations are just the right length to keep things interesting, though I didn't get super deep into any single one. While some might find the lack of control frustrating, and in the future perhaps a scene viewer would help track scenes and endings, I haven't been this delighted by a game in a long time, let alone a first release. Hot damn.


Review by brandonaaronson
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-02-05 20:02:02

This is a remarkably addicting game. :)