Battle Quest

Author: Lobsterman9999
Version: 1.0.2
Last Updated: 2022-06-21 16:27:24


Review by willnotwork
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on 2022-06-22 01:05:03

I am consistently impressed by the responsiveness and depth of the creator, and it shows here. The first update was a complete game, with good plot and mechanics. Each update has gotten better.

On the TF side, it's a little weak. Magic has an effect, and there's a transformation sub-plot, but it's optional. There is a very interesting magic posession aspect to the core story, as various named characters intereact with the plot and are changed. It's not (likely) fetish fuel, so players be aware.

I had fun, and there's a fair amount of replayability, as well!


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-15 21:21:24

Usually I do reviews when I have finished the game at least once. This time I am breaking my own rules because I think it is going to take a while because the game is lengthy, it is good enough to keep me around.

 

Battle Quest is a game, with a hint of an CYOA which means there is a story that sounds. Actually it feels like the most traditional RPG game done in twine, with the standard RPG background music. The length of the writing is just right, telling quite a bit of a story while not boring me out. I'd say this is a work well done.

It is technically well done too. There is a volume bar to control the background music in an easy to locate spot. There are inventory I can temper. There is a group of nicely organised statistic to read on the side menu.

The game was released 2 days ago and it is reaching 300 likes already. It said a lot about this game.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-15 10:39:51

v1.0.1:

Writing for this game is solid and I found it very entertaining as I worked my way through the story, though there are a few spelling and grammar errors here and there still being corrected. Interactivity in this game is very high (think Fighting Fantasy CYOA game book) with multiple exploration options possible as you work your way through the game: both at your rest HQ and from going back to older areas to grind and find random encounters you missed. Graphics used in the game are perfectly serviceable for a Twine game and fit the story well. Sounds used for the game are exclusively background music but it sets the scene well. Transformations are limited but also there for you to run into and/or avoid as you work forward in completing the game. There are multiple endings in this game and thankfully the bad endings will at least scream at you "yes, this is a bad ending if you choose it" should you dare.

Battle Quest is a very entertaining Twine game that rewards you for playing your avatar class how it thinks it should be played for the story world you find yourself in. Paladins are honest and follow their code of virtue, Thieves do what thieves do in their own fluid code of morality, Warriors fight and seek honorable battle, etc. All of the character classes have their different ways of playing the game: Paladin is spellsword (learn to love Smite & Judgment), Warriors brute force their way through (you'll love the armour breaking) and Rogues seek their best moment for the kill (with 100+ Agility you'll rarely be hit by physical attacks, leaving you to pad out Wisdom as you can for the end-game). How you start your character as a male or female does have a bearing on the game, but not a significant one unless you're really testing the limits of the Lewd-side of the game. Amusing there are also hidden cheats in the game for New Game+ players. The RNG code used for the random encounters and fights is fairly stable, but it can punish you if you've been forgetting to use your experience points to level up your character's base skills.

For specific note of this (as commented on other reviews), it is possible to beat the Troll encounter but to get around its healing you absolutely have to DPS the hell out of it. Paladins can do this with Smite spam alone as long as they're 24+ Willpower or higher while still attacking with just a Rusty Dagger but it helps a lot if you're also 18+ Strength to finish off the Troll with your Rusty Dagger when you are out of Mana and also have 14+ Agility to dodge the counter attacks to survive the fight. So keep in mind as you play that while you can get better weapons, better armor and an increased skill table, when it comes to the RNG your base skills and the positives/negatives against them from your equipment choices are the key to making it through the "Wake Up Boss" moments that will utterly wreck you if you can't run from the fight: trying to outlast some of them with healing alone is not good enough.

But there are also infinite loop traps in this game with some of the bosses, so you should save frequently and use multiple save slots. The Troll can get into an infinite healing loop if you aren't damaging it enough to counter it and the Goblin King can get into an infinite armor bonus loop (it got above 200 against me with its stun/gain armor repeated use!) making it impossible to kill with physical attacks regardless of how much Strength/what weapon you have if you can't counter the armor gain OR have attacks that bypass armor.

On the other topic of lewd stuff there are the three relationships (depending on your avatar state), getting frisky with some of the enemy and losing your self-control at the lust shrines; that's all I've encountered so far pushing my avatar to the limit without breaking character.

I strongly recommend playing this game. Smut-wise it's tame compared to other offerings on the TFGS but it is completed and fully playable right now.

TLDR: Check it out. If you want a game at the TFGS, this is one of the Top 10.


Review by Leilanz
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-14 08:12:19

Amazing game, well thought out and the story is compelling.

My only qualm is that if starting as male, after becoming a female/futanari, other than the scene from the companions acknowledging the change, the rest of the NPCs react as if you've always been female, even when you met them as male before the final change.


Review by pifpafpouf
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-13 09:49:10

This game is simply amazing,

It's so refreshing to have something posted that's already complete and polished.

My only complain is that it's so good that i would have loved more tfs cause i know they would have been great


Review by goodenoughid
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-13 07:04:56

Hands down, one of the BEST games uploaded on tfgames website. This deserves 20 out of 10.

The game mechanic is very smooth, storylines are diverse, (and all of them are immersive), great images, you name it, it's got everything.


Review by JaradLichLord
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-13 02:17:19

Wow just wow this game is so clean and displays  a true mastery of all the elements of a twine game and rpg. Give it a play, but dont expect to fap.

As for the troll being hard, I played a rogue and kick its butt easily before nerfs. I am not certain why it was so easy except I know I had spent all my xp on upgrading my agility and willpower so that I could span my abilities, hit hard and never be hit. I also prioritized buying weapons over all other items.

 


Review by Bourbon
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-13 01:14:13

That's a game-ass video game alright. I enjoyed the time spent playing, and only ran into the occasional coding hiccup. The RNG can diddle you sometimes, particularly on enemies with stuns. Some of the skill interactions are pretty funny from a mechanical perspective. Lewd content is fine for what it is, but it's not really what you're going to be here for, given how sparsely spread out it is and the fact that you can opt out pretty much entirely without realizing it.

 

That's not a bad thing. It's a fairly compelling story that can survive being told without getting doused in horny. People are talking about getting walled by the troll, but he's really not that bad for a Warrior with the iron sword from the event. I only recall two bosses really whooping my ass before I found a flowchart of skills on Soldier that just mollywhopped basically every fight. Good difficulty curve overall, would say that chapter 2 is arguably the hardest one as of 1.0.1 or whatever the first update post-release was that I played, since endgame equipment is (appropriately) nuts.


Review by drizzzit
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 20:28:58

Amazingly complete game.  Probably 6+ hours...

Very solid plot actually and well spaced advancement.  I'm assuming the other classes would have same story, but I'm almost curious enough to replay and check.

Finished as Female starting Pally. No regrets on she finished.

Can't speak for other classes, but actually used probably 80% of the spell list so I'd call that pretty solidly planned.


Review by bobsmith3872
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 16:49:10

Fun gameplay, good writing, great game overall.

 

A small bit of feeback, but it would be great if your character still remembered/referenced their original gender after it's changed


Review by anonmr
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 14:46:09

finished the game as a paladin.

its a solid game, but not much... uuh, lewd stuff innit, honestl.
had no issues on any encounter, just had to make sure i've always had at least 2 mana potions on me until i unlucked prayer.
i usually play these kinds of games trying to ruin the protagonist into becoming a sexaddicted pepega, but ... it just didn't happen here. the only sex scenes I encountered were with that demon god (or whatever she was) and the goblin at the start.


Review by Jazsalumbru
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 11:55:56

7 hours later, still going... Good game, well written. Transformation is slow going, and the lewdity is minimal and even feels a bit tacked on, but overall really enjoying this game. The storytelling is excellent.


Review by Trueblades
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 11:13:17

Fun game! The combat is a little long/grindy at the end. 
I didnt even realize the troll was a tough fight for most, I played soldier and had no issues(maybe I was lucky?).

Adult content is light and sparse but the game is quite fun over all.  

Oh and here is a small cheat unlocked in the game play. Make your title Hedge Knight when you create a character to start with a set of iron armor. 


Review by hathios
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 07:35:22

The troll smashed me to the groun.

He is healing himself until he is above 200 hp.

I started as a rouge/thief.

I tried every class and the troll smashed every one of them.


Review by max02
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2022-06-12 02:10:55

the battle with the troll is impassable, well, at least I could not win


Review by TSFgamesaccount
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-11 19:35:13

I give most games marked as complete a try, and I was very surprised to see how long this one was. It's light on the smut but is actually an enjoyable game with a nice story, definitely in the upper percentiles of this site.


Review by youisme01
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-11 17:23:47

I started playing for the smut, 5 hours later and I haven't gotten off yet but but I'm gonna save the world or die trying. Hand is crazy sore though. 


Review by jimmybob
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-11 14:39:38

It's got a dumb name, but it's a great game.


Review by Fantasist
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-11 08:02:35

Wow!  Really well made game, easily one of the best RPG games I've played on the site from a gameplay perspective.   The music fits extremely well with the story, and the battles are challenging but fair.  I actually found myself interested in the story, which is not something that happens often with games on this site.  The sexual content is quite well done, but it is spaced out quite a bit (it took me about 3 hours to complete the M2F transformation).  Also, a complete game released as version 1.0?   Absolutely outstanding work.


Review by Dracilla
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-10 23:03:43

JFC the amount of effort that must have went into this game. The fights are kind of grindy even with a broken character (High wisdom smite pally crush all the things) and for a erotic game its really hard to enjoy the erotic part sense you gettle a little bit every chapter which takes a very long time to progress through and there is no 'loss sex' you get beat you die, however as a RPG its pretty damn well made all in twine/sugarcube or the like which is even more impressive how clean and relatively error free.

 

Also for some reason most of the sex scenes are from a 90s hentai which is really jarring compared to all the rest of the art used.

 

Overall pretty interesting and intimidatingly well made, but best approached as a RPG experience with optional erotica to dig up.


Review by eros2469
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-10 18:28:58

Ok I havent finished the game yet (only finished chapter 1 so far), but this game is awesome. I love the combat sytem, the sex scenes I've gotten so far. It's a very good game with good writing and has an obivous amount of love and care put into it. Do not sleep on this game, it is really really good.