Trading Up

Author: Robin
Version: 1.0.1
Last Updated: 2022-06-21 12:23:33


Review by awkwardcultism
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.1 on 2022-06-20 20:15:15

Trading Up is a fantastic, clever puzzle game with lots to discover.

The gameplay is very similar to last year's Transubstantiation by anaisnon. This game is quite different as its tone is much less ugly and depressing.

The goal of the game is to resculpt a new body for yourself by copying and trading body parts with people in a red light district. Giving others certain body parts can warp reality, causing knock-on effects that lead to new opportunities.

You can discover a lot and have a lot of fun through experimentation, but some of the endings are pretty unintuitive. I would be interested in seeing the current hint system remade into something a bit more robust.

I think Trading Up is a strong candidate for the best game on the site of 2022. It has it all- solid gameplay, an interesting concept, and some great smut. Don't skip out on this one!


Review by treef1112
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.1 on 2022-06-18 00:06:06

Overall, this is a good and fun game.  As the others mentioned it is similar to transubstitution.

One of the best parts here, it's complete (and could easily have been complete with half the endings it has.)  If any updates come along, cool :) 

Notes for players:  You can check what parts you need by reading the HTML (I know it's kind of hard) press the 'F12' key on the keyboard, your search key and then "$end" as the term.  It won't tell you how to get those parts, but at least you'll know what to look for until a walkthrough is released.  The hourglass is only useful if you hold it when the spirit judges you and there are a few other personal endings where the item you hold is important.  Beyond that, have fun!


Review by hentaidark
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.1 on 2022-06-16 08:54:32

Similar in concept to Transubstantiation but with a focus on parts rather than personalities. Pretty well made.


Review by Twiki
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.1 on 2022-06-15 17:32:52

I absolutly adore this concept and the feeling of control it gives you its always great seeing more games likes this. Would love to see more how different changes effect peoples images more like the changes in breast sizes. I cant wait to see if you take this further.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 1.0.0.1 on 2022-06-15 13:27:42

v1.0.0.1:

Graphics in the game fit the scene well, the writing is solid, interactivity is great with a high number of multiple endings plus bonus side endings and transformations in the game are varied (but all on the MtF or FtM bent ultimately) with wildcard transformations thrown in.

I quite enjoyed playing through this puzzle game to find all of the endings. Only a few of them can be thought of as "bad endings" with the majority of them just amusing for how stupid you can play your avatar instead of just trying to get them back to their original form. Likewise you can also mess with the people that you come across and alter how their futures will be as well when the time bubble is lifted after you try to restore yourself. There was never a point in the game where I caught unable to get any ending, but you need to be mindful that once you take back a piece of your true self you won't be able to switch it away and this can lock you out of certain endings until you restart.

Recommended.


Review by LenioTG
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-15 10:51:46

I like the concept, keep it up! :D

 

I'd love to be able to swap other traits like height for example. The hints are a nice touch, but I'd like to be able to take more items with me, instead of browsing all NPCs to find the right one for each one of them.


Review by vdfvdvdd
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-14 20:02:17

Already playable but a lot of bugs in the swap mechanic. Anyway, it's good and could become better. Gj


Review by jennslut29
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-14 15:20:06

Really excellent complete puzzle game! Hot endings, lots of variation.


Review by DarkDaemonX
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-14 15:11:07

These kinds of mechanics would be great in an open world game or a CYOA game where you could use your swapped parts (or specific swapped words like the other game with this mechanic), but as it's used here, you'll get bored pretty quickly, as there isn't anything exciting you can do, I don't think anyone has the patience to get all endings and side endings.


Review by Bastard2k
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2022-06-14 15:06:13

Fun little puzzle game, makes you think about some of the options available.