Monline

Author: Revilo
Version: 0.8.4
Last Updated: 2020-10-16 19:16:38


Review by SurpriseDelight
Version reviewed: 0.8.4 on 2020-10-17 09:43:47

I can see why this game is so popular. I found plenty of paths to explore and liked the characters overall. I do wish there was more consistent development - a few bugs but overall I'd just like to see more content and additional quests. I've replayed though to be able to pursue different paths. Overall, it's definitely a game worth playing !


Review by newsbox
Version reviewed: 0.7.10 on 2020-06-04 00:40:54

Just finished upto the mansion mission. (honestly the most annoying part of the game.)

Great "little" game. I am one of those completionists so I am trying to find all the endings. Enjoyable most of the time, with an occasional bug. Crashed twice while moving to new screen (I remember the boat in the sewers was one time, and I thing the 1st time was probably the boat around the mermaid). So pretty solid.

Story is pretty decent, that being said I have a feeling I already know the real ending. The game didn't pull you in, instead it copied your personallity. The real you still exists in the real world.  or at least that is my guess.

Excited to see the game continue.

 

I would like 3 major things to change, especially when you have branching endings.

- a guide of where to go or do, other than the mermaid mission I don't think there was anything telling me what my objective was. Lucky this game is fairly liniar (your expected to follow the story).

      - and track which endings I got, or missed for good. Like you can't get this ending because you already made nice with so and so.

- let me quickly skip the bad ends. Honestly, if I am not paying attention or get some bad roles (or i don't know what I am doing) I find it is quicker to shut the game down and restart it rather than run through the ending to load the game.

- let me reside the window, not sure if its a limitation in RPG maker, but My window is a tiny little thing on a 3440x1440 screen. Not fun sometimes.


Review by Magistrate
Version reviewed: 0.7.8 on 2020-02-28 13:21:17

I was told the game got 4 hours content, but I easily spent 8+ hours checking everywhere, alternative paths and side quests.


Basically it is an RPG set in a SAO-like background. Not having a leveling system is a plus side for me. Transformations usually take place as bad ends, but there are exceptions in alternative paths. Transformations are also temporary in those cases.


I like the story. In terms of characters the MC might be too simple, but there are many successful examples, (like Alaru).


An interesting RPG overall.


Review by relattic
Version reviewed: 0.7.5 on 2020-01-08 14:02:01

one of my favorite games of the site. about 4 hours of content is there.

the development has slowed down a lot since a year ago it was also 4 hours of content there.., but at least it's all quality content and game development is a LOT of work...


Review by kingeagle11
Version reviewed: 0.7.3 on 2020-01-02 20:10:54

One of the best game on this site. Lots of content/path and option for nearly endless playthrough.


Review by Diabolos
Version reviewed: 0.7.3 on 2020-01-02 04:17:00

Simply saying, Monline is an Adult SAO, but with monstergirls and...other stuff. As the MC, you get to fight other monstergirls. Winning means you get to play more, losing means fap material. Although this review is vague, you should get my meaning. Play it. It's one of the best games on the site.


Review by Gromelon
Version reviewed: 0.7.3 on 2020-01-02 00:20:08

Monline is going strong lately. Very much so. Game that was incredibly slow to develop and felt empty in many places got reworked in just a year to the point where I can recommend it to any TF fan. Now granted, it is still far from being finished. But the jorney to the point where content stops is much longer than most games offer in complete state. Better, too.


Review by CutieFur
Version reviewed: 0.6.11 on 2019-08-08 04:45:32

I adore the writting of this game. You are so random joe blow, Kid?

i sure hope not cause after all the fun and enjoyment of beating wasps up is over and our NOT Navi takes us to the city this game rapidly goes off rails from delightful if not droll RPG rated E-10 for comic mischief to full on AO and while US the player of the player know this is coming i cant help but feel like the main game was NOT supposed to be hacked with so much boobage.

yet while this is happening the police are not involved and the sane people have not disconnected their headsets and complained to the company about being strangely blackmailed despite having what i can only assume as very early game crap and coins. But i digress. no this hacker seems to be a magical man as if you get fucked in the game you get fucked in real life.

If you transform into one this worlds now (admittedly) more colorful and sexier cast of characters that is now your life for REALSIES. Truly you play the Most dangerous and wet of games.

and there are TF chances in places where you least expect them say the wrong thing to some dude BOOM your a cow girl, eat a piece of cheese your now a squeaker with itty bittie titties. And of course the battling system while not very intricate is satisfying enough, while some enemies can have out right broken combos all is survivable. failing a fight (that you are supposed to win) or just getting on your knees and begging for a quick and painless magical girl contract results in you joining the ranks of the many and i mean MANY females both big small slimy furry scaley hot or freakish. For our main Bad guy, Robin, seeks to fill (presumably his) world to the brim with a vast harem of monstergirls.

on the way you will meet various SPC (story progression non playables) and witness their fates with very little you can do to stop and of course our two main characters a player who's about as clueless as you but more gunho about fighting and An NPC Girl with a nice past and a MASSIVE hate clit for the sex addled minds of monster girls usually (without you) killing them in brutal and often spectacularly snuffish ways you will learn more about her later.

your goal is simple the means of obtaining it... em not so much, win the game, keep your dick, try not to get fucked. depraved, wholesome, and even downright cinnamon roll innocent humanoid babes await you.

see how long you can survive in a world where it seems is drowning in estrogen and possibly just plain girl juice. Or... maybe that's not your intentions if so lots of "bad" endings where you and your new female virgin vessel await defiling.

Have fun but keep in mind there are some (albeit) rare instances where you can get softlocked so remember to keep your litany of save files on standby in case things go horribly wrong and you can no longer progress.

one last thing beware the WARDEN.

Love Ya all ~ CutieFur 


Review by meem
Version reviewed: 0.6.9 on 2019-07-06 21:28:48

lots of varied tfs, along side having a story and lots of side content. combat isn't horrid and is a fun game when you arn't trying to just focus on tf content.


Review by aegis7
Version reviewed: 0.6.3 on 2019-01-20 05:24:26

This review is probably going to come off a lot harsher than I mean it. But so many reviews I look at seem so completely divorced from my experiences with the game, I feel it's important to clearly and unambiguously state my opinion on the game. 

Let's start with the gameplay. Enemy damage is all over the place. One of the worst offenders is the Kappa, a common enemy from the second zone. Their basic attacks would routinely do about 20 damage compared to my healthbar of 350. Totally reasonable for a nuisance enemy. However, it could also use a special attack at will, called raking claws, which could do in excess of 150 damage. If it spammed that ability, which in my experience it often did because it's so tanky, fights with them quickly depleted my healing items or straight up killed me. This is probably the most extreme example, but most enemies I have fought have similarly overpowered abilties that they can spam like crazy, turning completely mundane fights into unwinnable siutations. 

Every single enemy has a gimmick passive that range from annoying to completely infuriating. The Mermaids, also in the second area, have a passive that does minor damage for free every turn and has a reasonable chance to blind a character as well, which makes them dodge pretty much everything thrown at them. This, combined with a two hit combo (Drown + Kiss of Life) that was routinely killing my party in just a few turns, and you have situations where you lose a fight purely because of RNG. Others are less annoying, but ultimately don't add anything in terms of strategy or depth. The wasps in particular have a passive which basically taxes you health every turn they're alive. This doesn't chang anything about how I fight them or my overall strategy. If these were just limited to boss or miniboss type monsters, and added a layer of strategy to overcome, then I'd be more forgiving here. 

Player progression is very minimal, and nowhere near linear. As opposed to leveling up, your character gains points that can be used to unlock skills or passive buffs. This does not manifest as extra health or defense, which would go a long way to make fights easier. These skills are mostly entirely useless. Your first unlock is an ability called Blade Rush, which does normal damage twice. This one attack costs less AD and does just as much or more damage than any other attack you unlock through this system. The only expection is the AOE ability, which is useful against groups of 3 or 4 enemies. Other attacks either have downsides, or do noticably less damage with a small chance of causing a minor status effect. On top of that, equipment was rare in my experience. I didn't get anything during the second zone that improved my combat abilities. The bottom line is that you never feel as though you are getting stronger or are more capable, and with the monsters being so random in terms of difficulty due to RNG it just feels unsatifying. 

Finally, healing items are precious, especially in the first area, and yet heal so little compared to enemy damage output that it often won't even save you in a combat situation. If you start losing, your only hope is that RNG will have the enemy use weaker abilities for a while so that you can DPS it down. Attempting to heal with the basic potions will often result in the net gain of like 30 health, which is barely noticable. 

Next up, the game has a nasty habit of establishing rules, and then immediately breaking them. The worst example of this in in the third area. This mostly consists of a mandatory stealth section, with a lot of waiting for enemy patrols to very slowly move to the point where you can get past them. Anyways, right off the bat the game establishs that the doors are magically sealed, and that you cannot open any house doors yourself. Next, a little later on, you are pinned by a succubus. The game then establishs that you have been magically immobilised by her, and you are in a dire situation. So what does you character do? Immediately run and open a supposedly sealed door, in flagrant disregard to two rules it just set up. It's hardly the only example.

In the second area, there is an ice chest that you need to melt in order to get a key to open some cell doors. Nevermind why the enemies would freeze it in solid ice in the first place (I suppose they never intended to use those jail cells ever again?). In the same area, there are torches that, when I interacted with them earlier, stated that they did not generate heat, as the occupants of the cave disliked heat. Fair enough. However, the solution to the puzzle is to use those torches to like a stick on fire that you can use to melt the chest. Why establish that the torches don't generate heat if you require the player to use them to melt ice, a action that requires heat? Right after that, in the boss fight, a NPC states that killing the main boss is sufficient, and that we do not need to kill the additional enemies to win. This was followed immediately aftter by me killing the main boss and the fight not resolving, which flew in the face of both the fight I just did and a previous bossfight where killing the main boss did win the fight despite additional enemies still being present. 

The transformation sequences are mostly as a result of bad ends, and are usually instant, offscreen affairs with pictures of monstergirls and a brief text description of what happens after. Generally, I found these pretty unsatifying, although there were a few exceptions, which I'll cover later.

I feel I need to make special mention to the starting of the third area, in which I navigate through an incredibly foggy area, filled with irritatingly tanky enemies which sapped MP and unclear obstacles, only to be confronted with a wall. I then needed to backtrack all the way back to the hub of the second area, find the single unmarked house in the entire village which is now open, find a small and incredibly easy to miss item on the ground of said house, and then walk all the way back to the wall before I progressed. This irks me so much because you had managed to avoid excessive backtracking in the previous area by just teleporting me where I needed to go, but I now needed to spend like 5 minutes on a completely mundane and unnessisary fetch quest before I could even access the next zone. 

Beyond that point. the third area is a nightmare in terms of instant death stealth and frequent progression blocking bugs. The only way to get through it without running into such a bug is to interact with a person after you have already interacted with them, and in a way that didn't seem to trigger for me when I did it, and you are locked out of once you leave that small area. 

Oh, and for whatever reason, the sound of rushing water seems to play in every single area, to the point where I just turned off the background sound effects altogether. 

Alright, that's a lot of negativity, I'll do some positives now. 

Overall, the story is solid, if somewhat generic. The characters are mostly fine, and the High Succubus trolling the character was kind of interesting. 

The transformation variety is unmatched, and there's enough content that they're bound to be something your into (As long as you like monstergirls, that is). Some of the transformations are much better and more detailed than others, particularly the mermaid path ones. The mermaid path in general was quite well done, and certainly the highlight of my playthrough. 

Movement is better than standard RPGmaker games, although the sprint toggle took a bit of getting used to. Being able to move on the diagonal is very nice for sidestepping enemies. 

Item boxes are well hidden, and reward exploration. If they had more worthy loot, such as armor, or better healing items, all the better. 

Finally, I'd like to make some recommendations. I'm not trying to discourage the author of this game to give up, rather I'm trying to show them how to improve their game.

Start with the combat. Rebalance enemy damage to be consistant. Status causing abilities (Or other very powerful abilities) should have an internal cooldown or otherwise made less spammable, especially for groups. Remove the pointless passives from generic enemies, and repurpose them for the bosses. It makes far more sense for the bishop to be able to blind you than every random mermaid you encounter. If you're going to give enemies very damaging abilities, consider making them charge it for a turn. This would give the headbutt ability a distinct purpose. Healing should be about doubled for standard potions, Hi-potions can be left as is. If you're going to go against rules you've established, put in an ingame reason for why. EG, for the succubus encounter, maybe that door's seal got destroyed by Aralu in the battle. Then the succubus shows up behind you, blocking the one exit from the area and forcing you to run inside, rather than go against her immobilisation. Completely remove the start of the third area backtracking, as it only serves to waste time. I recommend moving the item to the river village, and have your character pick it up before heading into the demon zone. 

Look, I'm not trying to hate this game. Many others have struggled against RPGmaker combat systems in the past. Little Bitch Academia springs to mind. But seeing so many players praising this combat really has me scratching my head, and the worst things going forward is for the creator to think no improvements need to be made. You have a solid foundation here, and this game does do things right. Just please fix the issues with the combat and scenarios and I'll happily amend this review to reflect that. 


Review by Terrone 2
Version reviewed: 0.6.1 on 2019-01-16 15:32:57

i love this game, is a very exceptional game but for now i will rename this version in  "monline prepare to im stuck here edition" please add an a cheat system on game for evading eventualy  block player bug


Review by ccccccccc
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2018-07-13 15:48:36

By far the best TFTG game i found on this site and i seen ALOOT of games.

The story is fun, the characters are well written and the world changes constantly which makes the game new and interessing.

But the best part of this whole game are the TF's. THERE ARE A TOTAL 131 OF THEM? AND THEY ARE ALL GOOD!

10/10 would get amnesia just to play this again


Review by Masurama
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2018-06-08 05:04:36

This is still and by far the best RPG Maker Ace Game I found here! The Game itself is Huge and open after you complete your first Tasks which is great and gives allot Choices to the Player. There are a BIG amounts of Endings and still I can't manage to find them all, in addition with some other Optional Things.

The main Character is funny in his own way. The Fight system is great, not to Hard nor to easy. Now the downside of it is that the World is so big it's easy to miss something even if you take many Hours of Searching Areas, talking with People, interacting with Objects and fighting or losing against Monsters. it so much you always feel you miss out and you do in the End. 

But back to the good stuff I like that the Areas change later to make the World even more interresting. I'm not gonna Spoil anything.

If this game would be complete I would even dare to buy it, but as long its Free I'm not saying no to it. What is really the biggest Downside that you did stop working on this great Game and therefore Players like me that would like to see more Content of this are forced to wait and simply this results in losing Interrest is great Games like this.

Now I hope this Feedback helps out and hope my English is not to bad ;)

Really would like to see more, maybe sometime we will and look forward to see more of this sooner or later!


Review by Hapless
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2018-01-28 17:54:55

Overall a fun game, although at some points it leaves you guessing wha to do next, and I keep seeing references to an arena, and I've yet to find it, any ideas?


Review by Arothe
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-10-15 15:14:54

We're nearly approaching a year since the last update, and I hope that just means the creator has been taking their time for the sake of quality (and given the content so far, I think that's the case). I know Revilo still lurks this site, so I'm hoping that's also a good sign.

Put bluntly, this game is the best game on this entire site that I have played (and I have played A LOT of old and new, free and not). I love the music choices, the art, the game mechanics, and wide range of possibilities. It has a lot of content already, despite being a 0.5.4 version, which excites me to think of what 1.0 will be like (almost DOUBLE the current content, I expect). The puzzles are exceedingly simple, and I would like to see future puzzles have more depth to them, since you're going to the trouble of having them.

The choice of game engine was very wise, honestly. And personally, it really hits the nail on the head with my own TFTG XXX fetish. And despite having a ton of that content, it's done in a way that it never gets stale. The writing is simple, but immersive all the same, and you can really feel the plot as you play through it, and I get a sense of pressure slowly building the further I get into the game, which keeps it from feeling like a "spam z" fest.

The Forest Zone is simple, just like it should be, and really sets the tone well. That's about all there is to that. The Ocean Zone is a bit intimidating at first, but if you remember to stock up on cucumbers you'll be fine. Not sure what to consider the corrupted town since it isn't its own zone, but that's where the game starts to show signs of what direction it's going, and where the imagery really picks up its game. The Desolate Zone is easily the most complex, and bursting with content to be discovered. It also keeps up the difficulty with the whole infection arc. Also, Kim is my favorite character in the game.

*SPOILER ALERT!!*

The desert has some AMAZING scenes, but has its own problems. Being incomplete, it's forgivable that it has a fair amount of MAJOR bugs. Any time I try to go through the date with Bastet, there's are certain points where you basically freeze in place forever (which point you freeze up depends on varying conditions that can be controlled); and don't get me started on the issues the mine cart bug causes (it's not worth abusing since it bugs up just about anything with cutscenes involved, even if you "fix" it). Also the whole manticore thing is infinitely repeatable, and other than for finding bad ends, there seems to be no purpose for having anything to do with Echidna. I understand that many people are frustrated with the prerequisites for the inn and fireplace access, but it kind of makes sense, so I can't really complain. I really liked most of the bad ends in this zone, and I'm extra excited for what the next zone will have to offer. Also, I'm really hoping we'll see Fera again.

*/SPOILER ALERT!!*

Apparently I still haven't found all the different variations of bad ends in the game though, because the open version has images I defenitely haven't run into before. Especially regarding the strip club. I hope that perhaps the school will be "reopened" in future versions (perhaps once all the zones are completed?), because that looks like it would have been fun.

I'm hoping to eventually see the game include things like long-term decisions (where a seemingly unimportant choice you made in a past zone can have reaching effects later in the game). And maybe even permanent non-ending consequences (though perhaps that's wishful thinking). Looking forward to updates in the future, because this game is too good NOT to finish! :D


Review by pokerface17
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-10-07 08:04:34

well this is my 1st review so here i go:

the good part :

the graphic of the monster and the various ending.

the fight kinda simple but difficult at begining

and hey it's still progressing. 

the bad part:

various bug

1 ending that i know how to get but not accesable

and 1 particular enemy that often come out but not worth killing.

overall:

it is a nice game and enjoyable but have few flaw 

for new guy, search the discuss page you will find come clue how to progress.

 


Review by Shayoko
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-10-04 13:48:43

The good
Monster girls
The enemy battlers and some avatars look great
The Arena (refight enemies)

The bad
swearing, a lot of swearing

Grammar needs improvement which includes cut off text.

loading the game in some areas is slow. like if you are using the boat,Demons reach or Arena

a few spots look like they have the wrong avatar. (mostly early game)

you can skip going to the story town at the start. by using the forest east passage.thus skipping the guards that stop you

The story doesn't make sense. it is suppose to be a MMO yet you can feel pain and pleasure. become immortal (ironcally this is brought up) or see some things that would be illogical for a game world. or things that may clash with the rest of the world. and that of course is ignoring the real world issues of this game.
and then you have your character questioning (many times) why he turns into girls or special beings when at the very start of the adventure the guy who put you there explained it...

Overall

I did enjoy the experience, but it is flawed and if polished could be a good experience.


Review by LowestShark
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-09-14 23:55:08

I like this game because a friend of mine showed it to me during a RP for the Monster Girl universe. But I'm just not seeing how to progress from already the Cowgirl, Cucumber girl, Fish girl, and the Bee girl. Everything else has been just locked away. The demon's Reach is "too dangrous" as of right now, the west side blocked off and nothing else to do. No walkthrough or hints to progress the story. I know its only in 0.5.4 version, but from how you said there was multiple pathways why are they locked? Is there a secret way to unlock it viva doing that one fish girl quest and not fail? I was looking all over and those are the only endings I found so far.   


Review by Azur
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-08-21 09:19:16

 

This game is amazing, it might be one of the best rpg maker independent projects i have ever come across. The people who say that there is no sex in this game unless you count the ending yes that might be true (you do get some sexy pictures though) but this game is all about ending. Good ending bad ending amazing endings. I have never been happier to throw myself at a game over screen. Many of the losses are amazing intricate stories. Some of them are absolutely fantastic. Dark Angle White angle is all i am saying :) They even threw a megaman X story line in there with a twist. I have been snooping around on this site for a long time downloading tons of stuff, but this one made me want to write a review. I have played hundreds of porn games i love that stuff. This one easily ranks in my top 10. Amazing job and keep up the good work :) 

 


Review by medli
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-08-04 05:11:33

Absolutely amazing game, with well over 10 hours of content so far! I have no idea how this game doesn't have more likes, honestly. I didn't come expecting much, but I've already spent well over a week playing though this game. There's a story behind every transformation, and losing any battle will lead you to one of them, as well as certain items and talking to npcs.

Only complaint is that I wish there was a way to view specific endings, I've been through so many, but I don't want to miss anything at all! There's no real "guide" so you're blindly trying to find a lot of the stuff that might be hidden in the game. The beret is a great example, if you use it when you find it you're led to one of the many transformations, but if you use it anywhere else you can turn into a girl. (Until you do the quest for it, then it stops working sadly.)

The battle system is simple enough, and fluid for the first section of the game. At first its a bit of a challenge, since you have few items, and healing requires a lot of money. But soon after there's little to no challenge in anything. You're forced to surrender to see each ending. Would be nice if you could up the difficulty a bit, so you're kinda forced into the transformations, instead of surrendering to all of them. Most of the end-game mobs hit like 25 damage, when you have 500-1,000 health and are hitting hundreds and have 3 or 4 party members.


Review by manarak
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-06-23 08:12:24

I can't write as raving reviews as the other reviewers.

Why is this game rated XXX ?

There is no adult stuff in the game, except maybe some anime pics and texts of the bad endings.

And this brings me to the second point, the game feels like a regular RPG maker game.

 


Review by aaaac
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-06-23 00:28:01

This is one of the best games on the site. It is most accurately described as a big fun mess.

Big: there is a lot of content, over 100 endings, five big areas to explore. To give an example here are some of the endings, five variations on the turned into a slime-girl ending, one happily married ending, one happily married endings with the player as the bride, one happily married ending with the player as the mind-controlled bride, three stuck at the north pole endings, one transformed by a magical hat ending, two bunny girl endings, a huge number of turned into a monster girl ending, etc, etc….

Fun: the setting doesn’t take itself too seriously, the writing and characters are enjoyable, the main character has a “huh, okay” expression constantly. The endings are varied enough that you will eventually find something that you like. Combat which can be a drag in other rpg maker games, is horribly unbalanced in the player’s favor. Most endings have really good pictures to go along with them. There is a dedicated lose skill so you can quickly try new endings.

Mess: it’s super easy to miss content, the only guide to what content is available is an easily missed optional area. The game spends three zones teaching you to explore everything and then starts the fourth zone with a constant poison effect (it works thematically but is so frustrating), then there is a zone that is a giant maze populated by swarms of frustratingly high health enemies.

I complain but that is only because I played the game to exhaustion after I discovered it, and still regularly visit the site checking for updates.

I cannot recommend this game enough, everyone should try it at least once. Save often, grind on bee-girls or kappas until you steamroll everything, and always explore.


Review by Garmus
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2017-03-31 06:47:31

Despite having a few bugs with the save system, the game is quite enjoyable; I really like the Arena, which serves as a "free battle" mode, as well as a gallery of bad ends.

 

Despite how big some sections seem to be, there´s always a path to be found if you have a bit of patience.

 

I can´t wait to see the full game completed ^^.


Review by Cadmea
Version reviewed: 0.5.4 on 2016-12-26 12:00:39

This is pretty awesome. The only things that's making me a bit sad is that I can't run around as one of the monster girls and it immediately skips to an ending when the protagonist transforms. Wish there were skills to transform into defeated mobs.


Review by luzy12000
Version reviewed: 0.5.1 on 2016-12-19 10:07:47

sam vor me all save datas in the new area don´t work


Review by Lioth
Version reviewed: 0.5.1 on 2016-12-19 09:50:38

Overall a great game, however there are an issue that I can't figure out how to fix. Sometimes when I try to load a save with data from the new area in 0.5.1 the game completely freezes. Here is the save file http://www.mediafire.com/file/1ctbj3ulrhb6sr1/Save05.rvdata2


Review by Blaziken
Version reviewed: 0.4.4 on 2016-08-23 09:20:20

i'm quite big fans of this game now~
saved all ending ss *cough*

wonder is it possible to add skill to transform into defeated mobs or not

btw will a road between desolate zone and coast opened in next update?


Review by Loreweaver
Version reviewed: 0.3.9 on 2016-01-13 18:29:12

The good:

The world is large.

No Random battles, and when you do have to fight it's not very hard, assuming you've gotten the starter equipment.

All deaths result in a short transformation story during which you turn into female humanoid of some kind, along with pictures!

There are a TON of great endings, which seem to get better the deeper you go into the game. There are more than 70 endings!

The expression on the main character's face makes me chuckle every time. I don't know if it's intentional, but to me the expression says, "I don't get it, but what the heck, why not?"

 

The bad:

Like most games on this site, this game is incomplete. As of version 0.3.9, the story ends with a "magical pot" blocking your path forward. Unless there's some hidden riddle that I misunderstood.

Many of the roads are diagonal, which is a direction RPGMaker games don't do very well. Traveling diagonally for a long distance is annoying.

There isn't much guidance on how to progress the story. For instance, I ended up grinding money back in the starter villiage to buy equipment before I discovered that I could simply complete the cow quest without fighting anything. A lot of time is spent just wandering around wondering what to do next, and when you do stumble across something, there usually isn't much story to it unless you are defeated.

Save often, you don't want to have to start over from the beginning. Press 'X' to bring up the menu. Also, it's the only reasonable way to see all the different endings. Remember F12 will instantly return you to the Start screen.

 

Conclusion:

Despite a few minor problems, this is a good game. You can tell the creator put a lot of work into it. It takes dedication to implement more than 70 endings. My only disappointment was that all transformations result in an ending, rather than contributing to a larger storyline. I look forward to playing more of the story if it gets another update. It has been a long time since the last update.


Review by Seleroan
Version reviewed: 0.3.9 on 2015-10-12 03:49:29

This is a good game all in all.  Lots of things to do, very interesting enemies, lots of ways to get transformed, etc.  Unfortunately, it's pointlessly easy.  Once you've actually aquired a weapon, you are an absolute monster, and there is no turning back.  I'm just glad that there's a skill that forces you to lose, because I'm pretty sure that it would be impossible otherwise to see the endings.  The enemies that are capable of hitting you are far and few between, and even they barely scratch you.  At one point, I took off all of my armor just to see if that would make it better, but even then they would only hit for 5 or 6 damage.  Also, some of the skills have TP requirements that are way too high.  The enemies do have to survive long enough for you to build up to them, after all.

It might be nice to include a hard mode for people who want to actually be engaged with the combat.  An enemy that can't damage you is not an enemy.  It's an annoyance.


Review by otherwise-six
Version reviewed: 0.3.5 on 2015-08-19 18:21:09

Monline was really engaging! The dialogue is hilarious, especially the later interactions between Kim and Eric. The battle system wasn't overly difficult which was a bonus for me as I want my battles to add to the story, not get in the way of it like a lot of the more grindy RPGmaker games around. A lot of people have commented at the size of the zones and I can see where they're coming from. Personally the large sizes just fuelled my love of exploration but the realatively small amount of interactable content in the spaces left me feeling a little worn out after a while. The endings of the game are one of the best parts as they're unique, varied and sexy enough for almost anyone to find a few they really like! The ending numbering system allows the player to keep track of what they've found and gets completionists like myself excited to find more (I was a little disheartened when I discovered some numbers just weren't implemented yet and I had been wasting my time looking for them, but so it goes with unfinished games). Overall I really like this game so far! I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for future updates!


Review by Sairus323
Version reviewed: 0.3.5 on 2015-05-20 08:32:52

this game is great, but i've notised some bugs like words not fitting on the screen (resulting texts like "thanks for your h..."), bud the worst bug i met on certain map: where you must go to another zone after City zone you're getting stuck in one place, not being able move neither to next zone nor back to the city... 


Review by Shmoj80
Version reviewed: 0.3.4 on 2015-03-05 22:43:09

Probably my favourite RPG maker game on here. There is a huge amount of content here and I haven't played through all of it yet. I think the only thing I would do differently is add some TF's where you play hindered in your new form and if you play your cards right return to normal.


I agree that the maps are large but I wouldn't say it's a huge deal. Quick solution to help might be you can get a key item map for each zone that pulls up a little .jpg of the area. Keep it up and hope to see more!


Review by Althalus
Version reviewed: 0.3.4 on 2015-03-03 19:24:43

Seems pretty cool, however the map sizes are so big and empty it takes forever to get anywhere.


Review by Thtoneguy
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2015-03-01 06:34:10

First off, love the game. nice bits of humor the transforms i've seen are good, and its not too hard so one can easily pick which transformations occur.

 Now then, issues I personally had with the game.

   1 The maps are huge. This isn't so much an issue to begin with when there are monsters populating everything. I can cleave from one to the next, but once they're gone, they don't respawn. This means that forever after, I have to walk through an empty map that just takes forever when I want to go somewhere.

  2 The sound of the dude practicing in the woods is rather obnoxious because the map is huge and theres no way to turn it off aside from muting the game entirely.

  3 There isn't much direction on where to go next. I think you were going for an open world feel, which is cool, but because of 1 its tedious trying to figure out what else there is to do.

  4 While I personally enjoy my smut being easy, I took out the Sahaguin boss in two rounds using lightning strike and a normal attack. I did crit on one of them and had the best equipment available at the time, but it still seems a bit broken to me.

Something that wasn't really an issue, just something I always like to know with in progress works is where the end of the current story is. I really have no idea if I've done everything, but I can't seem to advance anywhere. I just beat the Nereid, and talked to everyone in the village.

I'll prolly add more to this as I either think about it or come across it, and if anything I mention is because of its in progress status please disregard it.


Review by kierkier16
Version reviewed: 0.3.1 on 2015-02-28 22:38:03

I'm glad you're working on this game again!!  It really is great!


Review by Fallout33
Version reviewed: 1.4 on 2013-11-03 13:17:25

Yea, I agree with Mimo; it's a good game, but it also has the blockade right before the bee hive cave.


Review by Mimo1987
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2013-09-28 10:01:47

i like the game so far but i get stuck in the wall when entering the hornet cave.