Growing Up

Author: Yorekani
Version: 0.5.51.24
Last Updated: 2015-01-13 22:28:34


Review by ssm0use
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2016-11-17 09:19:14

Very well thought out interactive story.  It focuses much more on relationships than sex or changes, but those concepts are still present in a way that isn't the sole focus.  I found myself enjoying how little glimpses of a culture pretty different from mine leak through in the writing.  They aren't obvious.  It's just that my life experience is different so they kind of stood out to me.  For example, rice is a staple in the characters meal preparation.  In another scene, the characters are calculating expenses and forget the added expense of traveling by bus.  Since my life revolves around going everywhere by car, this kind of jumped out to me.

Others mentioned how they experienced a big "Nooooo ..." when getting to the end of the content.  I definitely felt that too.  But I'm excited that running through the story again and making different choices gave me a very different story.  So there is a lot of story here that is fun to read.  It's worth taking the time to experience it rather than trying to skip ahead to the "good" parts.

My only gripe, though minor, is some of the paragraphs run together.  This is most likely a programming issue in twine.  Twine is easy to use, but produces awkward text on the page sometimes. 

Big thumbs up to the author and hope to see more by him/her in the future.


Review by fyfy
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2016-10-21 07:06:38

Why don't all the "great" games on this site get completed.....


Review by Proverbs24_16
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2016-06-19 08:03:03

"Nooooooooo...."


This was me when I got to the line of "This is currently the end of the game."

 

It was such a well written story, and it was genuinely involving.  I could actually relate to the direction I pushed the story, and the romance seemed genuine.

It certainly leaves you wanting more.


Review by ChaosRagnak
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2016-05-02 02:13:41

This is by far the "game" that i have enjoyed the most from this site. It really feels like i am reading a great novels with the bonus being i get to influence the story. Expertly written, great character development. The impacts the choices we take really takes me back to my own childhood, teenage days and the start of adulthood. The only sad part in this whole thing is seeing that the last update was at the start of 2015. This is a must play even while not completed and if it does get finished, probably the best storytelling game on this site and many others.


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2015-11-14 04:05:20

I played late...started around 1AM and it's now 4 AM ^^

 

Beautifully written, beautifully drawn out possibility wise, interesting potential for the rest and well, I thoroughly enjoyed.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2015-05-31 23:30:55

A nice game talking about slow change. I have to complain about the text formating though, making the story so hard to read. 


Review by joegc001
Version reviewed: 0.5.51.24 on 2015-05-29 17:41:21

Really loving this game. 


Review by renonymous
Version reviewed: 0.5.50.22 on 2015-01-13 15:30:48

If you LOVE character development, this is your game. Unfortunately, for the moment, there's not much else going on. There are a lot of diverse paths to meet new characters as well as options which affect you, but literally no sexual content currently in the game. I must've tried 5 different playthroughs, looking.


Definitely worth keeping an eye out for, however.


Review by madnessmaka
Version reviewed: 0.5.50.22 on 2015-01-13 02:56:57

This is the first game that I've played on this site that I've felt obligated to give a review for. It's incredible, really, how talented this writer is.

Sure, there wasn't any sex (at least during MY playthrough) but I really started to feel an emotional connection with the characters and with the story itself. It's well crafted, VERY well executed, and definitely shows the time and care that was put into writing it.

I cannot recommend this game enough to anyone who likes storytelling and thoughtful character development.

Or, in other words, "5 stars! A plus! 4 stars!"


Review by TremorFang
Version reviewed: 0.5.50.22 on 2015-01-12 23:05:16

Quite a good chunk of content in this already, and the content that is there is very solid and fairly well done. Its rated R, but what I've played of it thus far, there's no cursing and very little sex. Only talk about body parts and nudity. I'd love to see an X rated version some day, but only when the writers vision is made their way first.

Good job on the game thus far.


Review by coretex
Version reviewed: 0.4.31.17 on 2014-06-03 19:35:39

Great story, great presentation, even with it just being the initial parts of the story. It has great potential and can’t wait for more.