Runes of Chaos

Author: HLF
Version: 0.4.4.1
Last Updated: 2015-01-19 17:02:01


Review by deathwing25
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2017-03-31 20:03:57

good game but i am stuck that amazon quest search tears of  the goddess!

ans thhat find clue aboout fey(raided farm quest)


Review by 123deoliveira45
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2016-09-07 01:57:47

does anyone can please give me their saves of this game?

i just got to the end of the demo but that is just too much to see and i'm sure i missed tons of secrets, so if anyone can give me their saves or at least give me hints or something like a walkthrough i would be really greatful, thanks in advance.

 

Btw, this is an awesome game you should really try it


Review by spadge
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2016-06-13 00:42:00

I'm with those that don't understand the poor reviews for this game.  It's an excellent piece of work that requires you to have an attention span a little longer than is required for a twitter post.  Sure some of the maps could have been condensed a little, and the random encounters can get in the way (like so many other rpg's), but it's clear that a great deal of effort went in to the making of this and it deserves the people who play it to put in a little effort too.


Review by Loreweaver
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2016-01-13 19:14:48

I agree with Anon21, this game is a lot better than most of these reviews give it credit for. It's like half the reviewers had never played an RPG before. I found a transformation without even leaving the first Village (Talk to the priest over 20 times until he gives you a quest). My favorite quest was in the 2nd area by talking to the old woman who appears near the circle of mushrooms, but there are so many good stories here. I think the real tragedy is that a lot of the good stuff is completely missable if you aren't paying attention. My one critisism is that the battle on the small bridge seems too hard for an unexpected ambush battle. Er, also, this game could use a few shiny stars to indicate points of interest, and maybe some road signs too. It took me awhile to realize a certain town had an entire port district that I hadn't noticed...

This is a really fun game. I was super disappointed when I reached the end of the game and realized the author has given up and moved on to a new project. I invested a lot of relationship points into the ghost girl and was rewarded with a cool side-story and secret dungeon. In fact, one of my favorite things about this game was finding all the secrets. There must be a way to complete my harem party, only one man stands in my way!


Review by Anon21
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2015-10-04 08:05:17

This is a good game. A lot better than you might think from some of the other reviews, although admittedly it does take a while to get going. The fights get harder and the plot gets more interesting as the game goes on.

 

It does have some flaws, though. Battles become a bit strange when you have so many NPCs supporting you - the system works best when you have four or so active party members. The reputation system doesn't give much feedback. Maybe I'm doing it wrong, but I haven't found any extra dialogue / scenes for your favorite characters yet (I got stuck on the continent with the elves and amazons - haven't finished the game).


Review by inira
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2015-06-30 14:38:10

The random encounters are maddeningly tedious. I found it impossible to progress past the second city with the brainewashed townspeople, at which point I was level 13, which I'm assuming wasn't the intention. I gave this terrible game four hours of continuous gameplay (as attested by my save file) trying to somehow wring something fun from it, but all I got was one insultingly easy random encounter after another ad nauseam. As far as I can tell there are no TF themes.


Review by Lormar
Version reviewed: 0.4.4.1 on 2015-02-07 00:34:53

It took a bit of effort to get into this one. The encounter rate is a bit high and some of the maps are still too big.


But once I actually got into the meat of the story I had fun, most of the characters have their own voice and some of them are right up my alley *oh Josephine*.


The best recommendation I can give is that you should soldier through the first few areas it really does get quite good and it would be a shame if people missed it just because of the somewhat lackluster opening.


Review by Kei-chan
Version reviewed: 0.4.0 on 2015-01-10 14:24:21

Spent an hour and a half with the game.

The maps are all enormous, and largely empty, and there's a painfully high random encounter rate. On top of this, there are eventually enemies who will cast a debuff that decreases the power of your auto attack, rendering the dull random encounters even longer than they need to be.

I quit playing when, after a half hour wandering the castle dungeon, searching for whatever a switch I had flipped had done, I decided to ascend the final staircase to what I assumed was the boss encounter. Instead, I received an instant bad end, which was in no way telegraphed, and which I wasn't warned away from. Just terrible.


Review by XHollow1
Version reviewed: 0.3.0 on 2014-08-08 22:23:56

so far so good, i got the girl ninja on my team, got the ice helm for ana, solved the whorehouse puzzle and im stumped. the 2 buildings on the dock lead me back to the inn when i enter them and i dont know where else to go, the weird gem i got isnt being accepted by the amazon queen


Review by tzeshern
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2014-07-23 06:00:30

You are doing a great job. Keep it up. Hoping to see girl love girl ending and the boys can choose to remain as girl forever XD


Review by thewideninggyre
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2014-07-14 13:29:53

Having played to the end of the previous version of the game from the time of this current version here is my review.

This game is fun. The items and weapons are useful for the most part and using the guard function in the succubus battle to try and survive the instant kill attack was well telegraphed enough that you can figure it out if you try all your options. It turned a battle I worried might be impossible into one that was challenging but fair! The games combat encounters while numerous are not too overwhelming once you level sufficently and they remain challenging to an extent though I did notice some decline in said challenge once you reach about level 10+ but due to the shortness of the game this is nothing to worry about.

Decisions dealing with the story are often fun to make.They are usaually minor but the fact that there have been multiple paths given at certain events that allow for some variability is something I am glad to see. While I certainly hope this is expanded upon more in further updates such as the current one, as I am about to restart playing the new version, I will be looking forward to this aspect quite a bit.

While most of the side quests are extreneous I must say they are fun to do and entertaining despite being short. They give rewards that are not overly powerful but are useful and add to the game somewhat well. The gift system has the potential to make the game very complex and a good addition that adds some variation to how endings are earned in such games.

As for the game over all I would say that it is one of my favorites on the site in terms of where it is going and I only wish for a forum page to give help and advice on it in the future.


I may update this review with future versions but for now I am enjoying this game and looking forward to future releases.


Review by Gwyndolin
Version reviewed: 0.2.3 on 2014-07-10 22:30:29

I really like this game. Though I'm not sure (didn't checked it) I think a lot of the spelling mistakes have been fixed since the previous version (altough the punctuation is still a bit lacklustre). The story so far is interesting enough to keep me playing, but it would ne nice if there were more interaction between the characters. Right now I really want to know what Valarie is after and if she really is the villain or if she is just used by an greater evil (maybee the guy who influenced Orbert?). Obviously the game is still a bit bugged, but that is to be expected. Most annoying was that "Destroy Magic" does't worked against Vaes' defense spells. I also agree that the healing spell of Ana's minions are too strong, but with a bit of luck that fight is possible to win, even without grinding. Just focus down the minions and use Ilaria's "Curse of Chaos" to debuff the enemies. Also use "Guard" whenever Ana (Daemon Lady) gathers energy for her next attack, so you can dodge the instant death. I enjoyed the book reality level; the transformations were fun. It would have been even better, if their minds wouldn't have been  altered immediately after the transfomation but rather gradually.

The game has a lot of potential and I look forward to see future updates. Good job so far.

 

/edit: Just realized that you are actually able to give the gifts to people while using the "X-binded" key. I only discovered this by accident, since I never saw that button used (at least not without an explaination). It made my playing experience much better. Esspecially since I was now able to finish the maid side quest. Also the dialogs were very entertaining.

You should add the forum link to this page's "disucussion/help link" to make it easier to find the thread to this game. Also something like a text file with the patch notes after every update would be very helpful, so one can quickly see for what changes they should look for when they test a new version.


Review by FallenAngelJunisu
Version reviewed: 0.2.1 on 2014-07-07 13:26:12

Ok the game while neat is a bit broken. Not sure if it is just me, but the fight against the demon lady and Elric is super broken? Heal 3?? really? and the demon ladies insta kill? THis makes me not want to continue playing, I would consider removing heal three and the insta kill and putting two other abilities in. Thjat is just my opinion though.


Review by blazedummy
Version reviewed: 0.1 on 2014-06-15 09:41:06

I like this game. It has grammar and spelling issues in almost every sentence, and there was an issue of sprites not showing up during a cutscene, but I really like the plot and characters. The difficulty of the game is a bit high, but I like that consumables, namely potions, actually matter and need to be used wisely. Additionally, this is about the only RPG where I found the "Guard" action actually useful due to needing to heal Alan via Life Drain and not wanting the main character to take much damage while I picked off the last enemies. I look forward to seeing this game develop further in the future, keep up the good work.