The Succubus Next Door

Author: ChocolateBar
Version: 2.0
Last Updated: 2016-08-31 03:55:17


Review by Aaronmgold
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2021-04-06 03:18:14

This is probably one of the best succubus transformation stories i've ever read, the detail is great, the choices you make are pretty impactful, and its a bit of a bittersweet end that this most likely won't be continued further, i still reccommend giving it a go, as there's a lot of awesome twists and turns with this story, and unlike so many others out there, despite it being incomplete, this is the most complete type of this story i've read so far. totally worth.


Review by awokenchange
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2020-10-28 21:12:01

Excellent. Great story, good writing, fun transformations. What more can you ask for?


Review by IonaItova
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2020-07-22 08:15:14

This game, while very old on the site, is a very good play and read. I'm pretty sure it's never going to get more chapters which is a great shame because the characters are great, the story is enthralling and the writing is Above S Grade. If you haven't played through this at least once, I highly recommend it.


Review by ilion
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2018-05-30 12:44:52

Awesome game!
Deep into the experience of a holy warrior turned into a member of opposing faction and sexy about exploration of being a lustful succubus.


Review by Exploosives
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2018-04-01 21:14:25

Let it be known that my account exists entirely because I wanted to sing the praises of this game. Liked, subscribed, tl;dr on the review is a thumbs up.

Is it a good game? Depends what you're looking for. If it's gameplay, well, it's there, it's probably at least a little fun - I enjoyed it, but I've always enjoyed CYOAs which might make me more simple than others. But what I value most is a good experience, and damn does this provide. Choices are nice (if occasionally lacking), but I love the characters and their interactions, both with each other and their environment, and the story itself is just a tonne of fun. I booted the game up at 9pm to test it out for half an hour and finally dragged myself away at 2 in the morning once I'd exahusted most of what I wanted to do. And I don't want to harp on the cliffhanger, people have lives after all, but I bring it up for a very strong reason: when I realised I couldn't go further, it fucking stung. But you know what? That means I am invested, fiercely. I've developed an attachment to these characters, to the protagonist I had influenced and the people around them. I want to see how this story concludes. Even if it's just a literal railroad as we don't get a single choice up until the climax, I don't care, I am in. And that's the sign of a solid experience.

I love this. G fuckin' G, ChocolateBar. Whether you complete this or just keep working on your preferred projects, I'm rooting for you. Keep up the good work.


Review by willnotwork
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2017-12-18 22:36:21

Impressively deep, and impressively large. More of a CYOA style than an IF, there doesn't really seem to be much in the way of challenges or puzzles, although there is a lot of choice. Most of it is even meaningful!

 

I had a lot of fun playing and exploring, and recommend it for people looking for a longer corruption-oriented game with less focus on straight sexual scenes.


Review by Kasaix
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2017-04-08 03:38:05

This is a good game. I played to the end, and it ends at a cliffhanger. I know it's a long shot, but I would like to see it finished someday.


Review by Nova25
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-12-28 13:57:25

(Kinda annoying that we can't make additional reviews and are stuck always editing the first one...)

(v2.0)
I remember back quite a while ago, how I liked the unique 'fun and natural' style this game had... And I'm glad to see that it didn't lose any of what made it great. I'm happy to see this is being continued.

More details on the forum.

-----
(v1.7.4)
Truly sad thing that this is, most likely, never going to be continued...

Fine piece of work. Personally, I believe there's definitely merits in, one day, finishing 'this' HTML game.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-09-02 10:41:56

v2.0:

I found myself very impressed with this submission.

Writing is great and very detailed (some spelling mistakes but nothing too significant) and the only code errors I found were the references to bust sizes that were off due to the original base code being one description while the event code referring to another description (I'll catalog it and note it on the TFGS forum thread to help the author later), but it wasn't game breaking. The lack of images in this game is not a detriment with the strength of the writing allowing you to clearly understand where you are, what the scene is and what is going on around you at all times.

Transformations are many and varied, with the likelihood of your avatar being transformed increasing depending on what level of craziness you follow in the story. It does reach a point in the tale where you can begin to pick off when you know a choice is likely to transform you, but that just increases the fun if you're intentionally trying to do that. Scenes that you can find your avatar in are also varied with some random encounters written into the game, which do work well and are not linked to your transformations in whether or not they occur.

Interactivity in the game is good with items that could can potentially pick-up or receive through your event encounters, but you'll always be on a main linear path progression forwards through the story. This is well handled however by multiple branching choices that tangent off the main tale for a time before you eventually end up back on it, allowing you different things to encounter with each playthrough and seeing the deeper consequences of your choices each time around.

Code-wise, the game is very solid. As mentioned before the only errors I found were with bust size references and there was this one point on the new content where there was an extra bracket on a choice, but it was not severe or game breaking.

Having played an earlier version of this game but not reviewed it then as it was very alpha, I am pleased with the progress that this submission has made and it is one of the best games here at the TFGS. And that is not a statement I make lightly compared to some of the heavyweight author submissions already at the TFGS.

Very recommended.


Review by Durast
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-09-01 21:26:40

When We heard that this series was being put on indefinate hiatus, We were both sure that We would never see an update to one of our faverite series and incredibly saddened that once again another great work had ended prematurely and returned to the cybernetic ether.

We are overjoyed to see The Succubus Next Door return to active nurturing.

It is amazing game with measurable corruption levels, limited (but very sexy) customization, relatable and realistic character interactions and communication, and a great story of loss, learning, and coming to terms with reality (as indiscriminately cruel as it can be). Varying paths hold choices that seem to hold true weight and cause you to think before immediately clicking on the next tab.

If you love games about demons, corruption, transformation, lots of hot and random sex, and varying combinations of those elements, We would heavily recommend this game/story.

Welcome back to TFgames, Chocolate Bar.


Review by aerial_ace
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-09-01 06:56:05

Easily one of the must plays now with this latest update, other then one route being blocked by a small scripting error and some spelling mistakes very enjoyable look forward to the next update


Review by MajorTF
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-09-01 05:46:55

Man I love where this has gone, but that clifhanger is killing me! I hope you keep working on this it's right up my naughty ally! 10/10 :)


Review by TheeSpongeman
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-09-01 00:27:47

NO!!! That's not how numbers work! 1.0 implies it's finished! 2.0 implies it's finished with extra content! Why is there a cliff hanger? Why isn't this finished? Why such a cock tease!!! AAAAAAAAAGHH


Review by Hatha
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-08-31 16:24:05

I have to admit I never played previous versions of the game.  Ultimately because it seemed like it had gotten some lukewarm reviews. 

I'm happy to report this game...er interactive story, is definitely engaging and worth playing. 

I was initially hesitant about a sword and sorcery backdrop, but that is a problem quickly remedied by plot.  I haven't even gotten very far, at least that I can tell, but I've enjoyed it thus far.  There seems like a lot of options and the author has put some real effort in to trying to write a good story, beyond a simple wank-piece.  Little things like naturalistic dialogue go a long way.  I wouldn't say it's completely unpredictable, but I don't feel like I know exactly where the plot will go from one moment to the next.  Some surprise is a great feeling when a lot of these games get repetitious.  It also features one of my favorite elemenets; behavioral choices inflicting physical changes.  It makes the whole "involuntary change" thing seem more tangible. 

At this point I'm happy I never played it before because now there's plenty of content for me to check out in the future.  This definitely went to towards the top of the list for me.


Review by revv
Version reviewed: 2.0 on 2016-08-31 11:16:34

Fantastic update to an interesting game before, now it is a must play.

However I would love to have the option to choose a female name somewhere.


Review by Shadowhawk
Version reviewed: 1.7.4 on 2016-03-27 21:13:20

Hot.

Good story - certain parts even made me kinda depressed, and am all fired up over the plottwist the current version ends on.

Decent amount of consideration for stats and earlier choices - Even the Vagina size influences how one or two scenes play out.

There's a bunch of short games here that got more initial excitement out of me.

But I'll gladly proclaim this the best non-abandone Twine-game on the whole site.

 

Carry on with your glorious writing!


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 1.7.4 on 2015-10-26 22:13:42

I'm sad. This is so far a very very very very interesting game. I just played through it once and at first I thought it might be ''meh'', but the more it went forth, the more I got into it up to the point that it ended...and then became sad. I need to go through it again and be a very naughty person :P


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 1.7.4 on 2015-01-28 02:34:35

I have finished the story up to the "to be continue". It took me over 3 hours. It is a well written story in the light hearted mode. It is a good read.

That being said, I have a few point to make. First, the story is sad, unless you go for the enjoy transformation path. However the background of the main character really does not fit the corruption path too well. How would an old goody save-the-world-hero going corrupt suddenly without some serious torturing or deception? 

If you pick the "pure" path, the story forced you otherwise abruptly in the late scenes, probably because of the lack of development time.

Then there are some bugs too, say she became he in some of the scenes.

With the discontinue of the story I guess it is not the immediate interest of anyone to check this out.


Review by Scheherazade
Version reviewed: 1.2.5 on 2014-10-12 14:16:14

This has a very well thought out story, believable characters, and a fascinating history of what so far seems like a parallel sort of world. The transformation gives you a lot of options over your new appearance and your interactions with those around you give you a few fun little side stories. The main story is fairly linear, but it's also really, really, good. I am definitely going to be following this one! 


Review by HemiPwrdDrone
Version reviewed: 1.2.5 on 2014-10-02 14:25:11

That was fantastic, eagerly awaiting completion.


Review by masteruknown
Version reviewed: 1.2.5 on 2014-09-28 15:48:52

one of the Best things I've played, Very well written.


Review by rawd441
Version reviewed: 1.2.5 on 2014-09-27 21:20:00

Love it!


Review by Ippherita
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-09-18 13:53:31

the game story is well drafted and looks really promising! the main character is well developed, nice! hope to see more consequences of our choices made~

 

black background with white letters is the best! made reading so much easier!


Review by ragm54
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-09-12 16:44:55

I only want to make a quick analysis: White letters with black background, not a good idea


Review by rudeawaken
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-09-09 12:25:53

i really love the way this started out and cant wait for more


Review by Hazzah
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-09-09 06:03:06

Keep up your perfect work, can't wait to see more ^^


Review by HypnoKitten
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-09-09 05:13:04

Oh wow - this is off to a great start!  I am loving the writing (novel-like yet quite hot), potential for game-play, realistic characters, great set-up.. I'm actually on the edge of my seat wanting to find out what happens next!  Rock on :)