Mirror

Author: Galeanne
Version: 1.0.1
Last Updated: 2018-01-30 04:18:55


Review by mlreta
Version reviewed: 1.0.1 on 2018-01-30 08:33:31

Cute! I didn't even like plain text games, but this one is better with no graphics. Your imagination can fly with this one!


Review by LordXorph
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-10-22 10:19:05

What an interesting idea! It's not a game in the strictest sense, but a gradually varying story. I haven't seen anything quite like it before. There's a few spelling and grammar errors but no big deal.


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2016-06-12 09:28:19

v1.0.0:

Amused at how it was made, but it's just an interactive piece with a short length. However this submission and its design are something that hasn't been done before (to my knowledge) at the TFGS page.

Simple stuff: you are presented with a scene and where you move your mouse alters the reality of the scene until all possible transformations are completed. Nothing more to it on the surface, but the coding it quite detailed and layered to it all on a single point of contact for the reader.

Worth a look, but I agree with past reviews in that it is too small to bother with a download; create a TFGS account instead and play it online through the site library.


Review by Haagenti
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-30 06:10:53

It might be too much to call "Mirror" a game, but it is an interesting experiment. The scope of this adventure is a single page, and you interact with it by hovering the mouse cursor over keywords. The text will then change, and your character will transform further. You can go through several stages of transformation until your image becomes "perfect".

 

The descriptions are fairly good, the changing background was a nice touch and there is a clear, gradual feel to the transformations. The obvious issue is brevity, but for a proof of concept it is long enough.


Review by Nova25
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-04 00:00:41

Never saw anything like this before, I must say.

 

It was certainly rather confusing and a touch weird at first, but it was interesting.

Very small, very short, and 'experimental' one could say.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-03-07 11:50:49

Interesting show case. Good idea for twine authors. There is no point of downloading this small file. Just login tfgamessite and use the play now button.


Review by LykaBloom
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-28 17:11:55

I have to second (and third!) the appreciation for such a simple idea.  The wording could probably be cleaned up a bit, but the overall effect of the text slowly changing with a simple move of the mouse is really outstanding.  I can't wait to see the same idea used in other games!


Review by icepixie8
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-27 14:16:45

Wow, I was shocked!

This is such a minimalist idea, with only the barest of mechanics, but the results felt so powerful!

I love this idea.  It's a testament to what you can accomplish with a simple but design idea.

1 page = 5 stars.  If there were more pages the score would be over 9000!


Review by navigator_dan
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-27 11:09:40

Really innovative. It would be interesting to see it as a part of larger project.


Review by odachi65
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-26 18:20:28

Incredible job! This game was simple and short, but also incredibly unique. There's simply nothing else out there like it. The subtle, slow changes as you move your mouse over the text worked out incredibly well. The description changed slow enough to keep it interesting but fast enough that you never felt like you were just sitting there, waiting for things to happen. I really enjoyed it, and considering its short length it's well worth the time of anyone wanting to play it.


I'd love to see something like this used in a larger game sometime. Perhaps this how the actual TF sequence is done? If so, ti'd be incredible. Either way though, I really enjoyed it.


Review by gearlordex
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-26 09:54:09

Amazing! cool idea, adding some randomization would make it even better!

 


Review by rudeawaken
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-26 00:41:51

i actually enjoyed the mechanic for the text. The text changes as you run your mouse over it.


Review by Lupis
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2014-10-25 19:44:49

yes i admit it is a test of your stripts and all.. it is not interactive though .. there is nothing to push or such it just chances automaticaly so... if there was something to do but to wait for the timer to click down the next time...