Trials of Taihra-Firanae

Author: AnonymousMan
Version: 0.6
Last Updated: 2013-01-01 00:51:59


Review by Fallen
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2016-08-01 08:37:02

I'm really liking this game but i'm a little stuck at the sphinx's riddle


Review by Kahadai
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2016-07-28 07:28:53

The plot of this game is rather average, but the transformations have a wide variety. Unfortunatly, it is unfinished.


Review by fuzzbuddy
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2015-12-17 06:45:52

I like the game a lot and am impressed by the multiple paths players can take. I wish it were longer, but the content that's there is very interesting.


Review by soldatoflife
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2015-12-15 18:42:34

I only played through the most kind and brave path, but after seeing how the story evolves, as well as one ending where I accidentally grew a tiny bit too big, I can say that this game offers a good dose between temptation and doing the right thing. I hope to see this story end one day...


Review by Shoggoth on the Roof
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2015-07-17 19:48:40

I agree with HeWhoIsMany's review- this is easily my favorite game by AnonymousMan and I'd love to see it finished.


Review by HeWhoIsMany
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2015-02-05 14:08:37

Eleventh on the list, and YAY! This is easily my favorite game by AnonymousMan. The transformations are detailed, the choices are plenty, the mental changes diverse, and I just love every second of it. The only problem I have with it is the fact that it's unfinished. You know what, forget Cursed, THIS is what he should update next. 4 and a half stars out of 5.


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2014-01-04 10:57:45

A fun little game with puzzles and adventure and plenty of transformations, but the game has three weaknesses:

(1) It's not finished. The third trial and ending haven't been implemented yet.

(2) The writing skims over some of the sex and it's not as steamy as one might wish from an erotic adventure game.

(3) Awful user interface.

The awful user interface is a symptom of using the RAGS engine. A choose your own adventure game consists of text to read and choices to make. RAGS presents the text in a crampt window off to one side and buries the choices into submenus and buttons scattered across the screen, forcing the user to hunt around in order to do anything. Hunting for a hidden menu item is not game play, it's annoying.

Worse still, the game has many "bad endings"- that is, if you make an incorrect choice, something kinky and sexy happens to your protagonist and you get a game over. Bad ends are party of the fun of this kind of game- but because there's no "undo" or "rewind" in RAGS, only "reload from your last save", the game engine discourages actually trying these bad ends out.

And it gets even worse. The lengthy prologue is completely linear but requires lots of hunting for the hidden menu item that will advance the the prologue just a couple of sentences. In an HTML Twine game (see "Masculine Mystique" or "Journey Outside" on this site for examples), the prologue would just be a page or three of text, with next buttons to progress through it with ease. A game should only bother the player for what to do next when there's an actual choice to be made. If there's no choices to be made, don't bother asking the user, just go and do it for them!

The first actual choice in the game is which spell to cast from the tome- one spell leads to the actual game when things start to get fun, whereas the other two lead to game overs. One of those game overs is a "bad end" where, in a bizarre non-sequitur, you are turned into a rampaging horny giantess, a tedious scene that, even though it is devoid of choices, forces the player to constanty hunt for the menu item or button to finally progress through to a ridiculous ending.

In short, I don't know why anyone uses RAGS and its user interface violates good sense at every turn.


Review by Purple Autumn
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-12-31 10:41:56

I had a blast playing through this multiple times. Excited to see the end.


Review by rowadon
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-05-20 06:47:02

4


Review by Faye Kistry
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-05-13 07:12:59

I'd love you to finish of this game, I've really enjoyed playing what there is of it so far (and don't get me wrong, there's a LOT). Well written stuff.


Review by Pandemos
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-04-16 23:50:52

This game isn't the best written on the site, nor does it have the most ambitious story. Those are both done well, but the game's greatest strength is the depth of character development it allows and the flow/immersion of the system that develops it, which relies simply on the variety of choices it gives you as you work your way through the story and making that variety matter. Its greatest weakness is very closely related. As you're making these choices, little in the world really reacts to the character you're creating. There's a good reason given for that in game, and out of game that would probably take a crazy amount of work. I look forward to the final release. I'm sure I'll enjoy it.


Review by Trscroggs
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-02-24 10:14:31

Frankly, my favorite unfinished game.  I'd love to see more of this wonderful game.


Review by karen
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-01-28 00:24:52

This is really good.  Would love to see him finish off the final 3rd of the game if he needs a break from cursed.


Review by IshAsh
Version reviewed: 0.6 on 2013-01-20 22:48:28

Sadly unfinished at the time of this review, this game is a mostly TG themed RAGS game that is rare in that who your character becomes is actually based on decisions that you make in the game (with a pinch of random chance thrown in here or there).  The game has the character adventuring in both a real world setting (trying to cope with the effects of a self-inflicted spell, maintaining real world relationships, and dealing with a playful goddess) as well as facing challenges in fantasy settings (courtesy of the aforementioned goddess).  The clothes you wear, the tools you use, actions, interactions, and reactions all determine who you become.  Also promising to play a role in the finished product is the overall morality of choices made throughout the game.  Although by sheer scope of the project, AnonymousMan may consider Cursed his magnum opus, I feel that Trials of Taihra-Firnae is his finest game.