Apocamorphosis (AMS)

Author: Anonynn
Version: v0.34D
Last Updated: 2019-11-04 15:10:55


Review by zxc
Version reviewed: AMS v0.34B on 2019-08-04 10:56:01

There seems to be tones of content,
but no way to get at it.

For example: there are tones of transformative items. But you may only search each room once, you do not always find something and you can't save scum.
So despite there being many items, you cant use them.

This happens at many levels, in fact every mechanic in this game is very detailed, and almost all can't be accessed outside of the debug tools or serve no real purpose.

It's got a lot of potential, I hope some day it gets finished.
but I strongly suspect that years from now, they'll still be adding more features.

Download it, play it, reach the end and wonder "is that it?"


Review by CowTits
Version reviewed: AMS v0.33B (Public) on 2019-05-09 13:50:29

I like some of the ideas and mechanics in play, it's just that there's nothing to do with them, so it doesn't make much difference. There's almost nothing to do and the few things there are don't always trigger or work. I like the new camp intro but it's transition to the original opening makes no sense and you don't really get anything out of it. Meanwhile, the house in the woods is still the only place you can really explore but most things have little to no interactions and none of your decisions or exploration impact anything aside finding some clothes and money. The dialogue quickly runs out to either being bugged or incomplete with its impact on your relations with characters having no meaning. Making it back outside still leads to a series of dead ends very fast with nothing to do than walk laps and forage for camping supplies. And for a transformative based game, I think I only found about three transformatives(one you're always given at the start) in the three times I've played through this. I just don't get how there can be so little game and content for such a long time.


Review by neutral22
Version reviewed: AMS v0.33B (PTB) on 2019-04-21 19:48:26

I'm not really sure if I can recommend this, at present time.
Sure, there's a LOT of text in the game, but it's development has been an absolute mess, to put it lightly.

It's been in development for YEARS (not weeks, not months), and the devs have
still not been able to finish the first story zone (inside of a giant wooden trunk with goblins).

Do try it, there's a lot of good ideas and writing, it's just that development seems to be spinning in the mud.
Adding systems (that doesn't add much to the game) and lots of other stuff, that still leaves this a skeleton
of a game, with good ideas, systems that don't do much, and very little story to actually explore.

Again, good grades for the many good ideas they have added to the game, but there's still, so little actual game.
I hope they will add more of a storyline over time, and not get distracted by adding more and more features
that doesn't help the game moving forward (storywise).  2 ...3 years? Is a long time to write the game's first proper zone.

There's a lot to enjoy, for sure. But once you reach the end of what little story there is, the world's best character creation
won't help you from enjoying it. I hope actual writing picks up. This game has potential, but it won't be finished for the 
next couple of years, at this rate.

All this said? I want the game to succeed as well. But if you ever want to see an end to the project, the story has to star moving forward


Review by DarthSparda
Version reviewed: AMS v0.97D (PTB-Full) on 2018-08-06 10:17:06

Amazing game so far I love where this is going.  Still a work in progress so not much content but the game does get updated regulary and the creator is active so that's a big difference to alot of the other games on this website.  Character creation is getting more detailed with more updates so it's a plus for alot of us RP fans.  Will be updating my review as time goes on keep up the great work and I can't wait to see the future progress of this project!!! ^^


Review by SubmissiveKittyDurgn
Version reviewed: AMS v0.97B (PTB-Full) on 2018-07-04 17:51:21

So, I have been encountering an issue as of late, at least on mobile, since I am without a PC due to it going up in smoke from a power surge.  The issue is quite simple, but as for what is causing it or what is the remedy for it, I have no clue.

 

 

It happens whenever I try to load a save that includes the premade character option.  I have not tried the othfer 3, but as for the Neko premade character, it happens without fail whenever I paste the save data and hit the OK button to load it.  The game simply is stuck loading the data.  It does not progress and it shows the same text, minus the options for a character start or save loading.  

 

 

“Creation Room

 

 

Please Choose From The List Of Options Below”

 

 

The rest is black, just like the rest, just without the options of creating a new custom character, a premade, or loading data.

 

 

I can send the save data through an email or PM if need be, but I do not know if that will help at all.  If it is of any importance, I saved in the tutorial(after the escape from the horde), much like I always have, but I later saved somewhere in the house and do not have the data of the first save, as I had progressed from there.

 

 

I know not why it does this, but it is extremely disheartening as it removes the ability to use a premade character’s save data. Well, more along the lines of, you just can’t load it.  You can start off as them just fine, it’s the loading issue that negates the purpose of using them.  I an unaware if this works without an issue on an actual PC, but as for mobile users, this is a giant pain to deal with.

 

I also noticed during my own character creation, loading the save data would sometimes cause stats and other values, such as sexuality and mood and other things, to be changed.  It is random when it does it, as far as I know, but when it happens, it is a very saddening issue, as it ruins the custom made character.  Again, happens on mobile, not sure about regular Pc users.

 

 

I love text based stuff, and this game has my interest and I am deeply into it.  But those two issues are a hinderance on playability without having to restart.

 

 

The ability to save ones data and post it into a document or on a note, is extremely handy.  I advise keeping this as an option, as you never know when locally saved data derps out and becomes fucky.


Review by zugzug
Version reviewed: AMS v0.97A (PTB-MidPoint) on 2018-06-12 05:05:59

I like how the transformation works, hope you make an event related one too, I enjoyed it even while still on alpha stages, I can't wait for new updates.


Review by Ayami
Version reviewed: AMS v0.96A (PTB) on 2018-03-20 09:30:00

The game itself is a 7/10.

 

The reading and ambition is something that I truly enjoyed about the game. However, there are too many bugs to really enjoy the game fully. To start off 1. the save. Oh please save me on this part or I am doing something wrong. Everytime I save the huge line of text and symbols onto a textfile and try to reload with that text the game itself doesnt save right. I lose hp when i load in meaning my max hp is gone. I lose my perks like Escort or whatever perk your choice was and my height changes to 3 ft. 2. There is a bug that isnt gamebreakinglike the save, but really really irritating. Sometimes the screen will decide to permanently scroll down all the way meaning that you have to scroll up for couple sec to read the text and when you choose another option it scrolls back down again. This would be totally fine for me if I could save and avoid it, but less I cannot. I hope these bugs get fixed and I can try the rest of the game without having to ragequit out of frustration. Good game imo though and everyone should give it a shot.


Review by WolfsDrgn
Version reviewed: AMS v0.96A (PTB) on 2018-03-17 01:53:14

To be honest, I could't figure out how to play this game.  The font was so small I could barely read it.  When I clicked on "Create Character" all I got was a blank line that said "Type here".... Type what?

managed to get past that by just clicking "random" for everyting. Then could't do ahything else. Just a blank screen.  Saw a buttone that said "Look" clicked that and got

"type here".... again Type What

It was to frustratiing for me to continue. 


Review by slairaartora
Version reviewed: AMS v0.9.5D (Public Hotfix) on 2018-02-27 21:49:27

I'd like to give this game a good review, as the author has great writing and imagination. Unfortunately, despite 2 years of solid development (and 1MM+ words!), the main storyline ends after...one event. Seriously. I thought I had gone crazy and was missing some connection to the rest of the content, but the game really does end as soon as it starts. Now, if you pick up the toy in the shower, you can get something like 17 different highly-detailed imagined sex scenes as you masturbate, but the entire main plot goes: Talk to goblin girl, unlock door, talk to wizard, fetch box for wizard, leave tree, fight a few zombies, jump off cliff. Fin. You can go from start to finish in about 3-5 minutes if it's your second time through.

It's really frustrating to see such a cornucopia of content all pointed in the wrong directions. Until the "game" part of this game gets some TLC from the author, I have to advise that you keep your expectations very low. There's still some interesting stuff buried around the tutorial dungeon...but that's all there is.


Review by Valerion
Version reviewed: AMS v0.9.5D (Public) on 2018-02-24 16:55:07

I think this game really needs a map.


Review by emils
Version reviewed: AMS v0.9.5B (Public) on 2018-01-24 21:43:11

Despite being in development for over two years, this game is a buggy, broken mess. I started up the game and was met with an error message in the opening screen. I also soon found I was unable to save, using either Quest's built-in save function, or the save button in the action bar. Attempting to do either gave me two different, very long error messages.

After I gave up on trying to save, I started playing more into the actual game, and quickly ran into many more problems. The starting area is very incomplete, and I was running into placeholders almost immediately. In less than 10 minutes, (most of which was spent wandering around aimlessly) The game gave a message that I had reached the end of the completed content. If you know what you're doing, you can get to the end of the game in under a minute.

All that said, I think that once this game has all of its issues sorted out, and more development is done, it will be very good. The writing is good, the character creation is unique and amazingly detailed, and the setting (or what little of it I saw) seems interesting. I managed to find one major transformation (from the maid outfit), and I genuinely enjoyed that. It looks like there's a lot more transformations to find in the game even at this point, but it's a pain to find them, as the items that cause them are randomly generated, and only have a small chance of appearing at any given playthrough, and since I couldn't save, I had to restart the game and make a new character several times just to find the maid outfit.

To summarize, this seems to be a very ambitious project, and has the potential to be incredible, but right now it's hindered by numerous bugs and lack of content.


Review by ripclaw52
Version reviewed: AMS v0.9.5A (PTB) on 2017-12-26 02:18:27

Would it be possible to include a "cheat" option in the game.


Review by Neraam
Version reviewed: v0.9.4B (Public) Hallow\'s Shroud on 2017-10-14 21:35:13

Is there anything to do in the forest after you've jumped the cliff? Or is it still placeholders


Review by Nail1212
Version reviewed: v0.9.4B (Public) Hallow\'s Shroud on 2017-10-14 03:55:53

I canit look lonk to download? Where is it?


Review by Jazzy81
Version reviewed: v0.9.4A (Patron Beta) on 2017-09-20 10:30:59

Seems like it could be fun, however after ten minutes of setting up my character I tried to save it, which led to a popup with the text I needed to copy and an immediate crash when I closed said popup. After this I was unable to reload the character I had just created.

Until you fix the save/load game feature (extremely important in games like this!) I will not be playing this again. Just glad this didn't happen after 2 hours of gameplay...


Review by sadarsa
Version reviewed: v0.9.3A (Patron Beta) on 2017-09-18 11:46:04

2 years in development, regular updates...

and yet not much has changed since it released. I'm convinced that this is an attempt at a cash grab through patreon.


Review by Midnight_Omni
Version reviewed: v0.9.3A (Patron Beta) on 2017-09-18 02:47:46

This is just an unfinished house with an impossible to win fight afterwards (miss miss miss miss miss.) No content and a clunky system featuring multiple textwalls without any erotic interest. Avoid.


Review by haidaran
Version reviewed: v0.9.3A (Patron Beta) on 2017-09-18 00:50:05

Anyone know where i can get the engine for this game. Pls msg me


Review by trell
Version reviewed: v0.9.3D (Public) on 2017-08-22 07:44:51

well it might have some ideas... but a he end it feels still like a concept.

the gameplay is weird, hard + full of placeholders. there is a long way the become (felt) an alpha.


Review by Frigidsquid
Version reviewed: v0.9.3A (Hotfix) on 2017-06-24 20:02:38

I've played this game and find it very enjoyable.  It's obviously in it's earliest stages, but I think has a lot of promise.  I really like the look of it it's prompted me to look into making my own games using the system that this programmer has.  

Keep up the great work.  


Review by mysteriousforce
Version reviewed: v0.9.3A (Public) on 2017-04-25 03:58:07

There is pretty much nothing in this game except for introduction (very long one, longer than 90% of games on tfgs) which mostly consists of setting explanations. The promised "Play Time: 2 1/2 to 3 1/2+" is probably in minutes (I've played ~5 times with different starts and achieved the "end of content" about that fast after I've read completely everything on the first time in about half an hour).

The only finished part is the very beginning: character creation, how you're getting ambushed by zombies and get taken away by wizard (when going to meet him face to face you receive warning that further is unfinished content). There is indeed some content further, e.g. you can talk to wizard and read more setting explanations, but trying to do anything is impossible - either its unimplemented (e.g. I couldn't figure out how to give the box) or it is unplayably buggy (e.g. winning against male zombies is impossible due errors appearing because of incompatible types somewhere in damage calculations). Maybe there is sex, but you'll probably have to crawl to it through bugs by trial and error.

The game itself tries to be something like CoC - you're walking around in a fantasy world consumng transformating stuff, talking to characters and fighting randomly popping monsters - although with a much worse UI. The writing seems good, although there are annoyances here and there - like calling dick "bodonkodonk" or something like that (are you 10?), but the setting is still a mystery to me - the more I read it the more questions popped up: although the world seems like a standard fantasy world with kingdoms, magic, elves, orcs and a looming threat of external forces of corruption there are also flushing toilets, showers and tennis shoes present which seems really contradictory.

Again, there's nothing in the game so far other than a long introduction. Installing Quest and rebooting will take longer than playing (unless you're interested in reading what differences there are between original and transformed goblins and what it takes to master conjuration and the moral consequences of killing zombies etc etc etc).


Review by shakey2
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.8 on 2016-08-17 01:37:48

This isn't a review so much as a complaint I felt the need to voice. Why is personality tied to the NSFW setting??? It's like you are saying sympathetic/serious people don't have sex drives -_- Now I'm forced to change my character design just to access the content I want to experience...


Review by d101232
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.8 on 2016-08-16 18:53:11

i can't put anything into the backpack did the command change or what

and yes i know this isn't a review but i need to know if it wasn't then can you fix it please I NEED INVENTORY SPACE!   


Review by Erik1986
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.6 on 2016-07-23 16:48:43

Promising aldo rough on the edges for now.

 

I realy didnt know what to expect when i first started playing this, but suprisingly i found it to be alot of fun. Why? Well it felt different then the usual guy-getst-turned-girl, or the adventure world with anthromorphic sexed up people. It is cliché, yes, with its standard trope of elves, dwars and other fanatasy races, and itts main story sofar isnt very different either. Yet it was the writing that caught my attention, not because it was flawless, but because it showed to me alot of potential to be more then yet another sex romp.


So i will refrain from spoilers, simply saying that the way the auther discibes the MC's journey and the enviroment around him/her was something i realy liked alot. While reading i can sometimes get lost in the world he tries to sketch for us, well done on that. It is still too early to say much about the whole game, it has some nice content, but not enought yet to truely keep you occupied for long. That isnt a problem though, since sofar i feel its worth the wait.


Now there are some thing i noticed, one is the abundance of overstating basic things, like hair colour, or the fact that your using your (insert race)hands to stroke your hair. In general, you dont need to name those details that make up your characters apearance in every paragraph, it's fine ocasionaly, but do it to often, and it loses its use. So i would sugjest toning donw on using things like hair colour, race height and other physical traits in each of your scenes and instead let them flow more naturaly. For example of a scene:

 

------BEWARE OF SPOILERS--------

 

"No! You can't just give up like that, can you? There has to be a way out of this! Despite your doubts, a renewed determination sweeps through your feminine figure. You can make it! You just have to push yourself harder! Lifting your arm, you wipe the sweat from your brow with your bicep, and then drag your elven feet onward down the last of the rolling hills, although you’re so tired you almost trip and tumble down it instead."

------BEWARE OF SPOILERS--------

 

Now this paragraph shows the use of bold and underscored words or sentences that are not realy neccesary to use. As the player you know your and elven MC, you chose to be one, same for your sex. Personaly i would just leave those out unless they are important, such as in a conversation with a npc (who usualy will act one way or another depending on what race/sex/atractiveness/etc you are i take it) You can use "examine me" to get most of this info at anytime anyway. I also doubt you will use your feet to whipe your brow, so using your arm, hand or part of it is sort of implied already :D

 

Now these are just sugjestions from my part, so take them as such and do what you believe is right for the story and writing. All in all i will definitly keep a eye out for future updates. Good luck.


Review by zerocatch22
Version reviewed: 0.9.8.4 on 2016-06-30 22:15:48

I really want to like this game, but I just can't.

To the author's credit, the game does update fairly frequently, and it shows improvement every single time. The interface is pretty much finished, and it's certainly one of the most artfully crafted Quest games that I've played on the site.

The problem is that despite the amount of work put into it (and there is a lot), there's never a lot of content. No, let me rephrase that: There's certainly a lot of text, and certainly a lot of items, and certainly a lot of dialog and interactions in the game, but so far there's not a lot of things to do and almost no places to go.

What do I mean by that? For a game that's supposedly set in a post-apocalyptic world, you spend almost the entirety of the game (at this point, I have no doubt the author intends to extend it) stuck in a house, and not an especially big one. What's more, many of the rooms that are there are empty, and the ones that have items that you can interact with generally don't give you much interaction. So far I've only been able to find one character TF in the game (not counting getting mauled by zombies), and it's presented in a voluntary hand-over-fist style that just isn't that interesting. I'm sure that there are more to find (I think), but wandering around a cramped space looking for them just isn't very gratifying.

The worst part is, because it is updated so often I keep downloading it thinking that there's going to be some big inrush of content, but that rarely happens (most of the updates are just bug fixes).

All I can say is, keep supporting this game; it has vision but lacks scope. It will get there, but it has a long way to go.


Review by Jindary
Version reviewed: 0.9.7.4 on 2016-02-21 19:14:35

Found this game on a different site (which actually led me to find tfgamessite!) a while back and i am really happy to see its being updated.  Love whats there so far and look forward to exploring more.

The puzzles are just hard enough and the writing really gets me into the character and searching around is fun. 

 

only downside is very little erotic content, but Im not complaining as the game is still being created.


Review by bommie
Version reviewed: 0.9.7.2 on 2016-01-24 14:17:33

i never got out of the tree house. i find the clues that are given very poor and would recommend highlights.


Review by Pandion
Version reviewed: 0.9.6.6 on 2015-11-26 21:39:54

This game is hands-down my most eagerly anticipated. I'm glad to see that it's recieving updates.

 

The game only really has one area available as of this review, but exploring the house is a ton of fun, as is talking to it's two residents. There's some TF elements in thus far, and I'm looking forward to seeing how the TF systems are fleshed out.


Review by Ramses
Version reviewed: 0.9.6.4 on 2015-11-14 14:59:53

Great the game was good before but the look every direction before you moved thing was so redundant it made me quit playing relatively quickly. Havening much more fun with it now. Will up date this review after I have had time to play through it a few times :) !


Review by yinlotus
Version reviewed: 0.9.6 on 2015-10-15 05:32:52

Edit: Quest engine gave me troubles but I am loving the game so far.


Review by Joe Steel
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-08 00:29:01

I thought this was well-written and probably very much on target for its audience.  Alas, I wasn't one of the intended ones, because I though the fairly random transformations were off-putting and I found myself backspacing to avoid transformations and thus not advancing the story.

I encourage the author to continue this, because it is clearly a game in a niche which is popular.  Even though I don't care for this sort of game, I recognize quality when I see it.


Review by Anon21
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-07 10:43:55

[EDIT] Ooops.

Long story short, I accidentally ran the wrong version (0.5.5 not 0.8.0). Previous review deleted.

In more detail, I blame the Mega download service. Recently I have found that normal mega downloads (using just the browser) don't work. I have to sign up to the Mega service and go via the 'cloud drive'. It's all a bit fiddly and sometimes confusing. :(


Review by drizzzit
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-06 15:15:52

I kind of agree with the last reviewer, so let me restate a few concerns hopefully clearer.

First this looks really interesting, the setting and house have my interest.  It constantly feels like I should be able to accomplish more that I do.  So that leads to some frustration because ultimately I find very little to do.

Much of this might be the engine.  Quest looks like an acceptable crossover between pure text and a Rags click style, but perhaps its not.  I'm not smart enough to think of other word combinations beyond what you call out in the text or what can be done on the room and inventory menus.  As such I never seem do much.  So yes I can find, pickup, touch, open, etc but not much happens with those commands.  Is there more?  If so I've missed it.

So like the last reviewer, I seem to forget what the project is each time you post.  I read your blog when you update and it still doesn't trigger a memory, so I download, start, LOVE the character editor and then frustratingly find next to nothing to do.  I've talked to the two characters in game, looked in a mirror, stole a cloth, opened a curtain, washed up a few times, touched a few items, etc.  None of this did more than give a little more text.

So great setting, I keep thinking I might be interested, but perhaps I should check back in a few months.  Building this is very hard and I don't doubt the work you've done at all.  If this has been a rewarding learning experience then thats great.  Content wise it feels like must users might be disappointed at the moment.


Review by sathirran
Version reviewed: 0.8.0 on 2015-08-05 20:59:42

Every time this game updates, it's the same story for me. First I can't remember what it is. Then I download it and remember that it seemed interesting and I get my hopes up. And then immediately..... nothing works. Nothing ever works. You start off with access to a lot of items, and not a single one of them does anything. Try to equip the machete? "I don't understand your command." Wear any of the clothes? "Error running script." Use the journal? "You can't use it." Look at the freakin journal? "Journal Entries do note [sic] work yet as of Version 0.4" Considering this is Version 0.8..... yeah.

Apparently there's now a character customization section at the beginning, but for now it just delays the disappointment. I'm not going to waste my time getting all the way back to where I was in the previous version, since I remember the long, boring, empty journey that was capped by an abrupt end. Last time I played, there was literally nothing to do but talk to one character. And walk.

Tl;dr, could be good but isn't. I'm not going to bother from now on, until everything in the opening 5 seconds of the game is no longer broken.


Review by Draquiem
Version reviewed: 0.2A on 2015-06-14 18:42:10

I've been following this game for a while now (in it's previous incarnation) and like it so far.

 

A couple of bugs I've come across (right at the beginning) and you probably are aware of already:

1)

> wear Plain Bra


Error running script: Error compiling expression 'item.worn = true': CompareElement: Operation 'Equal' is not defined for types 'Object' and 'Boolean'

2) The content of the packpack seems to be counted as content in your pockets, so when you grab a few dyes, you can't pick up any more, even if you place them in the backpack.

3) Perhaps by design, the goblinesque woman doesn't have a button for talking to her. I happened to be curious enough to try that on my own.

 

Well, anticipating what this game will turn out to be when you're getting some more writing in. Keep it up.


Review by revv
Version reviewed: 0.2A on 2015-06-14 16:22:08

Nice descriptive writing, the crickets at the beginning add a nice immersive feeling. Even if the repeating message was somehow irritaitng. I could not figure out if I am running out of time before the horde approaches and panicked then I noticed the single enemy has already arrived. So back to figuring out the engine

Many of the items and Hannah could use some more click funtionality. 

The content is quite short and on my first try I managed to shut in myself in the black room before meeting Hannah but what I have seen was interesting enough.

Rated: Fresh


Review by felixdahn
Version reviewed: 0.2A on 2015-06-14 15:46:29

Nice start, but with the exception of "Hannah" I'm not able to interact with anything.  Is that the current state of play?