Corporate Raider 1: Battle for the Branch Office

Author: selectacorp
Version: 1.0.0
Last Updated: 2015-09-05 18:12:47


Review by Vane
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2017-05-20 09:03:05

One of the most underrated series on this site.

Definitely also better polished than the usual twine game, this one has media and self crafted icons and GUI etc.

As others wrote, new players definitely should start with part 1. Not only is is less complex and easier to learn the basics, but also somehow data is shared over with part 2 afterwards. Not sure if the shared data is purely cosmetical (Achievements) or gives you an easier time in part 2 after having achieved a high score in part 1.


Review by JayneCobb
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-11 16:00:03

While they're fun and compelling for what they are, treat parts 1 and 2 as tutorials for part 3.  It's too rich a game to jump into, that's why there's these to help you get up to speed.  Like the first tutorial mission in Starcraft!  Still fun and immersive, but quick and linear.


Review by Qwerty3
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-11 12:19:37

A great game, to the point the only reason I'm not calling it "excellent" is because I've already seen its sequels and boy do they make this one pale in comparison. Please, keep making more of these: you've really got them down to perfection.


Review by pingguo
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-09 11:28:01

First, this is a flash game. TFGamessite does not have this category so that is why it said Other.

Then, this is an AIF, quite linear. You are often given two or three options in between pages. You randomly pick one and see if you get a good outcome. If you do not, you try to remember it and pick the other option the next time you reload. Since it is flash, sorry you do not have a back button. So you have to start over again. The erotic part is not bad, but far from nailing the principle of the game... misogyny. There are a lot of icons, which you do not know what to do or how they help the game. The point is, one of them actually matter... and you may not learn it after you hit a few failure endings.

The UI is okay. The game is complete, which is rare these days. Yet, the first time I dump the game in about 15 minutes. I did not know what to do. There are too many text and too little fulfillment. I did not even bother to write a review.

That was a few days ago.

Today I was bored. I have decided to load up part 2.

And I was totally absorbed into the game. If Part 1 score a 40 out of 100, then part 2 may as well score an 80. It is a lot better. It is no longer linear. It is actually a game which you are free to do what you want. You actually get a goal. I actually replay it 4 times until I get most out of it. Love it.

That drives me coming back to part 1 and redo it again. There are still too much text and I am still bored, but this time I get a lot more out of it.

So my advice it, take 30 minutes and go through part 1 roughly to get the background. Then get on with part 2.


Review by navigator_dan
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-06 10:07:57

Interesting.

It woud be nice to have possibility to adjust fonts and/or higher resolutions.


Review by GateKeeper
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-06 08:35:36

To start off, this is a very decent little game.  The writing and the presentation are very well done.  The game itself is pretty simple, and the interactions primarily involve the player being presented with 2-3 options to choose from.  The game is somewhat short, maybe a dozen times that you are presented with options, and about half an hour or play time.  (May take longer for some players, depends on how fast you are able to read.)  A lot of the adult content that I encountered felt more "suggestive" than "pornographic"  so if you're simply looking for spank material, you'll be dissappointed.  Alternately, if you are interested in an intelligent and well written office game with a little laughtyness mixed in, you'll likely enjoy this game.

 

I enjoyed my first play through a great deal, but by the time I reached my third play through, a lot of it began to feel repetitive as an increasing amount of repeated material was encountered with each additional playthrough.

 

Pros:

-Beautifully presented.

-Nice, crisp, consistant visuals.

-Well written.

-Short, Sweet, & Simple

 

Cons:

-Short

-Multiple Playthroughs are increasingly repetitive.

-Naughtyness was minimal.

 

PS:  Make sure to click on the "Achievement" buttons, most of the juicy stuff is hidden on those. 

 


Review by Souldead341
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-05 18:44:59

The links are located on the patreon page, in the creator posts section.  Though having the download links here would be nice.


Review by edmantgoog
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-09-05 18:29:57

there are no liks to play this game