Potion Lab

Author: undercoversam
Version: 1.3.2
Last Updated: 2016-07-14 15:06:42


Review by spottyphin
Version reviewed: 1.3.2 on 2020-07-31 15:54:13

Awesome little game, ended up as a six-foot-tall lamia girl named Jenny with pink hair four arms and four breasts who remembered their past, but had accepted their new form. Unfortunately, no matter what I did, I only ever got the "maid" ending, which I didn't care for.

The game format is great, the stress/will/libido meters are a bit vague, but they work well enough, and there is a good amount of NPC interactions for the length of the game (though it would've been fun to see reactions to your changes).

 

All in all, there are only a couple things I would have liked to have seen:

-A "romantic" ending, where you can choose to abandon Merlin's tower and go off with an NPC lover. (Like I said, I could only get the maid ending, so don't know if this is already in there somewhere.)

-A "finalizer" potion that lets you decide to remain in your current form permanently, possibly altering the memories of everyone (including Merlin himself) to think you've always been that way.

 


Review by leonais600
Version reviewed: 1.3.2 on 2019-04-28 20:24:02

Perfectly good quick TG fun. Nothing serious.


Review by Phenoca
Version reviewed: 1.3.2 on 2017-10-23 15:34:47

Great game. Very rewarding.

Great replayability! Beat it twice in a row on hard mode ^.^

@Author: This line shouldn't be possible with snake tail: "You're on your knees, facing your reflection in the mirror."


Review by Soulfeaster
Version reviewed: 1.3.1 on 2016-06-20 22:48:59

This honestly has to be one of my favorite games currently, it is really well written, requires a lot of thought, and is altogether a great game! I would easily give this a 5/5 and reccomend playing it as it has insane replayability.


Review by spadge
Version reviewed: 1.3.1 on 2016-06-14 00:03:21

What a simple way to make an entertaining and excellent game.  I could wish for more options and a broader experience, but what is here is a pleasant way to spend an hour or two...or more.


Review by ovenbunny
Version reviewed: 1.3.1 on 2016-05-07 01:07:14

This game was way more fun than I was expecting. It managed t entertain me far longer than it had any right to. All I can say to that is "Well done! Keep surprising me! andYou Rock!"


Review by Dragon_ANGL
Version reviewed: 1.3.1 on 2016-05-04 17:06:47

As stated, this is an erotic version of the Mastermind game. That said, the added content of trying to find the right combination having...interesting...results, is needed to separate it from just another find-the-combination game. In addition, as I'm sure most players do, I go for the purposeful transformations, trying to get as wacky as possible before Merlin returns, with or without discovering what the antidote's formula is.


Review by Sol
Version reviewed: 1.2.1 on 2016-04-24 21:58:22

This gmae is one of my favorite games on the site, because not only is it fun but it's also more or less COMPLETE. I love being able to play a game I enjoy without knowing it will eventually abruptly end with an "End of current content" message. Too many games on this site take a longtime to update, and very few are actually ever completed.

Despite the complex mechanics working in the background, this game has a nice and simple goal: mix potions and hope they don't (or do ;)) turn you into more of a woman. There's also a good layer of strategy around the idea of managing your time, minimizing your inhibiting transformations, and learning the patterns of potions you previously made. 

All in all this game is very enjoyable to play, has good and easy to understand writing, and it won't levae you disappointed with a lack of updates. This game may not be complete, but in it's current state, and even in its early stages, it pretty much was. All future updates, to my understanding, are to make the game even more interesting and intuitive. 

One of the best games on the site *thumbs up*


Review by lenal
Version reviewed: 1.2.1 on 2016-02-15 17:24:36

I really enjoy this game. I was always a fan of Mastermind and similar kinds of logic puzzles, so putting TF themes into the mix is great. I wish there were a little more indication of why some changes don't happen. For instance, I couldn't get the Octopus spell to work from regular legs, but it worked from a mermaid tail. Cat and bunny spells never did anything. I assume stats figure into that somehow, but it's not clear how. Similarly, it'd be nice to have some additional options for exploring your body and interacting with people at the bar. A way to get gold beyond just poking around in the lab would be nice too, since being stressed out and broke doesn't leave you with many options. 


Review by RedGhost
Version reviewed: 1.2.0 on 2016-02-08 09:59:17

v1.2.0

Still very enjoyable to play. Breast enlargement if limited if that is your thing and pregnancy is still just single child if that's your thing, but everything else is still well set. Only found one bug with this version (too many potions of the same type at the same time causes a text error), but that's the only one found on this beta playthrough.

 

v1.1.0

I quite enjoyed this latest version: the time extension possibility was nice to have after playing the real time limit, just to see how far you can mess yourself up before your identity snaps. I can see that there are possible future options that can be added at the bar, but everything else seems fine. I've got nothing else to add: it's a good thing. :)

 

v1.0.0

Despite being a trial-and-error puzzle game, I quite enjoyed it.

The descriptions were good, the set up was humourous and reasonable, the possible changes were many and varied with the chance of success being good if you had a lucky start and got two or more right on your first three tries.

But the 12 hours time limit versus how long it takes to make single potion colours is harsh. Throw in the extra time penalities given on some transformations and if you get a really bad mix on your first five attempts you're screwed without a hail mary lucky hit.


If the story gave you 72 hours instead of 12 hours with the boss being away for the weekend instead of just the one day, then I would have gotten more enjoyment out of this game. But it is a sadistic and fiendish little puzzler, which kept me coming back so I can let it go for now given it's an early concept work. That and I took a look at your code work, so I understand the complexity you're working with here on major edits.


Please keep working on this. Thank you for your submission. :D


Review by kylec78
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on 2015-12-24 00:10:09

Really enjoyed the game, and have continued playing it to see the different possible changes. The only thing I think could be added would be further interaction with patrons at the bar. That could be a lot of fun after some of the changes have occurred! Great job


Review by sirwolffe
Version reviewed: 1.1.0 on 2015-11-17 21:22:13

This game is really well done and fun to play. I replayed it about 20 times in one night seeing what I could do. It counts as a finshed game for those of you who won't try an incomplete one.


Review by Xodiac
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-24 05:35:54

Not a bad idea, but the fact that there is no hint at all as to what each potion does is a turn off to me.  There's simply no way to tell what'll happen, which means there's no way to "aim" your changes.  Some might find the total uncertainty of what'll happen to be appealing, but I didn't.


Review by Kyril11235813
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-22 20:42:35

You think a long torso is bad?  I managed negative legs.

A decent start, but it could do with more time and less randomization - not because of difficulty (I've twice solved it on the first brewing), but because most of the fun is in seeing what transformations occur.  And a review of limits on some of the removal changes.

Seriously, what does a negative leg even look like?  And how does having two make me less able to brew things than not having any legs at all?


Review by sathirran
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-20 21:48:52

Interesting concept, but there isn't enough time to do much of anything. This is particularly a problem with the completely random potion effects. Hopefully it will improve as development continues.

The ending also doesn't really account much for your changes. Usually it's just disappointing that all the changes tend to have little impact, other than making it even harder to do anything in the given time, but in one case, it had a funny side effect:

"...You stand at 5'7''. You have no legs...."

That is one long torso.


Review by Senko
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-20 20:51:12

Its an interesting and fun game but there's a few things that are drawbacks in my opinion (may have been an idea to include as a "hard" mode).

1) Random potion effects

This is purely a taste thing but as far as I can tell each potion you drink has a random effect which means if you stumble across a transformation you like its impossible to reproduce it in a latter game or track effects to try different combinations. For example in 1 game a specific mixture might give you multiple breasts but the exact same mixture in the next game changes your hair colour. It'd be fun to be able to identify what combinations give what transformations so you can go for a specific form as your final state.

 

2) Varying potion numbers

This is definately making the game harder since so far as I can tell (may have just been my games so far) each colour is used once but you might need to waste turns making that colour wheras mastermind you always had all colours available to try different combinations. That can make a given round literally impossible to win especially with some transformations increase the number of turns you need to spend doing anything.

 

3) Actions aren't entirely intuitive

It took me a few turns to relize that I could mix/look for potion types rather than get random ones each turn as the options are go over your notes/mix a potion intiallly and only when you select one of them and get to that step that the extra "look" and "Actions" options appear on the left to let you see how you look or mix/dump/look for new options.

 

Aside from those like I said its a fun little game. If you like random transformations its well worth a look as long as you remember you may not be able to "win" if you want to be able to trigger a specific look other than human male this probably isn't the game for you. Its also all text based so don't be expecting any pretty pictures when you try it. Overall I'd probably rate it a 6.5 out of ten, the program works nicely and the writting is creative and reasonably detailed but there are a few drawbacks and things that aren't to my taste as indicated above. Please be aware I DON'T scale on the seemingly common 1-5 = horrible, 6 - 9 = good and 10 = amazing scale so many places seem to use these days. 6.5 is well above average but there's room to improve.


Review by AlexandraBun
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-20 20:12:35

It's an interesting idea with a lot of transformations. Would be better if it had more than 12 hrs, option for nonrandomized potion effects (I actually didn't know this until I started to map it out), the actions "find more potions" and "dump potions" actually do the same thing.Would be nice if they did something different.

 

Other than that, good start. Would like to see more.


Review by Arael
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-20 11:22:05

I had the same problem as Baylith. I worked out that the solution was "blue blue blue green" but I didn't have enough blue potions to make it. Crafting each blue potion takes two hours, which would mean that it would take 6 hours to make the potions, and then a seventh hour to mix them. I had six hours left when I found the solution, so it was impossible.


Review by Baylith
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-19 21:26:21

The game is alright, but i feel like being denied certain colors in each try can really make it impossible to "win" a round. Most certainly when the color you got multple of comes up as a right answer.


Review by Three Beers Down
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-19 20:48:43

It's a fun logic game with a bit of a transformation twist! Not much else to say, there's enough randomness that a few rounds might be extra challenging but it's simple and it gets the job done.

I'm looking forward to more updates, such as more game modes (as the description said as of this review, you can't repeat specific potions - every 'wrong' answer gets you a surprise!) so you can play around transforming yourself.


Review by Barradin
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-19 12:58:36

This is a simple, fast, code breaker game in the vein of Mastermind as described. The transformations are varied, and the writing is a good hook.

The 12 hour time limit should definitely be enough to solve a 4x4 grid, even with the potion brewing time. Just don't waste your hours brewing potions until you're ready for the final product!


Review by Rfpnj
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on 2015-10-18 18:28:03

The time limit seems a bit harsh with some moves taking upto 3 slots. However overall a unique game on this site.